dieterstein
Share dieterstein's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
dieterstein's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    26 October 2010
  • Last Review
    30 October 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    26 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 October 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
dieterstein's Reviews
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice and warm but very snug
Posted30 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
dieterstein
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good fleece, pad, and manufacturing quality, very happy all round. The only slight niggle is that the legs are very tight. The size and cut are fine otherwise, length, butt area etc, zips are good, it's just that the legs are a bit on the compression fit size. I bought a medium size and I'm 5'10 1/2", 69kg and my thighs and calves aren't particularly big."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, warm, good pad
Cons: legs a bit too tight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Basic Bottle Cage
Basic Bottle Cage
One piece injection moulded construction bottle cage
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap, cheerful and functional
Posted06 February 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
dieterstein
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Now let's see how long it lasts. Feels a bit flimsy but might just be sturdy enough,"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_150 AW11
Merino Longsleeve Zipneck Baselayer M_150 AW11
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin. This version of our popular Merino range is available with a zip neck to increase ventilation when the going gets hot.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable and good fit
Posted29 December 2011
dieterstein
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Does what it says on the tin. Surprisingly warm given that it is quite thin and amazingly not scratchy in the least (how do they do that?). Sadly managed to make a hole in the elbow on day 2 of wearing it by coming off the bike while rounding a bend and hitting a slippery patch. My ealnbow looked a lot worse than the shirt would have indicated. On the plus side, I have washed the garment about 10 times since and the hole hasn't got any bigger."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Science in Sport 800ml Narrow Neck Cycling Bottle, with mixing measurements for SIS products.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Can a bottle do what it says on the tin?
Posted26 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
dieterstein
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"There isn't much to say other than it does what you expect. It is not designed by Versace, not made of Kevlar, and does not come with an ejector seat, but you put water in and you can drink from it, just as you would expect."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
well designed rain jacket
Posted26 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dieterstein
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Fortunately haven't had to use it in the rain yet but wore it on a recent 60-mile ride (with a cold early morning start) as a windbreaker. Originally was apprehensive because the sizing guide on the website told me I needed a medium but usually I need to by L or even XL in cycling clothes. As it was, M was exactly right and it's a perfect fit.
The jacket is well thought through, with zipped armpit vents and pockets at the sides and a back flap. Zips are easy to operate and even though the jacket packs reasonably small (I roll it up and it's the size of an 800ml water bottle, so would fit precisely into a bottle holder, although I tuck it in the back of my jersey when I don't need it - I only have one bottle holder), it feels sturdy enough.
Yes yes, a review of a rain jacket that hasn't been tested riding through pouring rain for hours on end is a bit wussy, but let's face it, in terms of road miles travelled with the jacket, most people will ride many more miles dry, having taken the jacket as a precaution or as a windbreaker, than actually wearing it to keep the rain out.
There is another dhb rain jacket on the wiggle web site, but why anyone would ever buy a rain jacket that has no zip in the front and no big zipped armpit air vents is beyond me. Rain jackets are designed to be impermeable, which means that not only will rain be kept out, but also sweat will stay in. Unless you have appropriate venting, you'd soon be wetter (with sweat) than you'd be without a jacket in the rain.
I recommended the jacket to a friend and he also bought it."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, well designed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
dieterstein's Questions
 
dieterstein has not submitted any questions.
 
dieterstein's Answers
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Does the dhb Signal Jacket 2011 have a breathability rating?

Not sure I understand the question - it's a rain jacket so it's designed to be impermeable; here, the 'fabric' is some sort of plastic material and no air or water can pass through, in or out. Sure you can get Gore-tex or similar fabric that keeps water out but lets a little bit of air through, but not for 55 quid.

That said, it's got a zip all the way down the front and armpit vents, and that's as much breathability as you get in any rain jacket that costs less than the bike. Chances are, unless it's raining really hard or the outside temperature is below 5 degrees, you'll be riding with at least the armpit vents open.

I recommend the jacket.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
dieterstein
London