Steveo0072
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Steveo0072's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Steveo0072's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    28 October 2010
  • Last Review
    10 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 August 2011
  • Last Question
    03 August 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    28 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    10 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Steveo0072's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Altura Summit Baggy MTB Shorts
Altura Summit Baggy MTB Shorts
Baggy trail shorts designed for performance and comfort in the saddle. The durable fabric construction with stretch panels provides protection without restricting your movement. Perfect for days at the trail centre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great fitting, 3 season shorts
Posted10 November 2014
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been using these for around 4 months now, so feel that I can review them.
They have been a great buy. One of the comfiest shorts that I own. When they first came, I was a bit worried about the material - they are pretty thin.
However after countless falls into brambles and 1 serious fall down a rock-graden, they are still in one piece.
They wash well, dries quickly and the padding sits where it is supposed to.
If they were to have a downside, it would be that they are not waterproof and if you are one of those people who feel the cold, they won't provide any warmth once the winter kicks in.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Renthal Lock On Kevlar Grips
Renthal Lock On Kevlar Grips
Renthals Lock-On grips feature CNC aluminium locking collars, permanently integrated with the central core, giving the ultimate all-weather security on the handlebar.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Grippy, even in the worst weather
Posted07 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these after wearing out my old cheap lock-ons.
The difference is huge. My hands haven't slipped once, even in the muddiest, wettest weather than England has to offer.
4 months in and they haven't moved, lost any of their grip and there is no sign of wear and tear.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SDG Bel Air RL Saddle with Cro-Mo Rails
SDG Bel Air RL Saddle with Cro-Mo Rails
With Chro-mo rails and plenty of colour available, this has been SDG's most popular saddle. The Bel-Air line of saddles is known for its all-around comfort and functionality.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable but with niggles
Posted23 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this as a replacement for the stock Selle Italia that came with my bike (2 years on and it had finally given up the ghost).
The seat seems well made and is comfortable, but I have a few niggles.
I stupidly bought a white saddle. It is now an off-brown after a single ride. That is my fault.
The material it is made of is also slightly slippery meaning that rough rides have you sliding on the seat.
It is also very well padded - perhaps too much for myself, who is used to a stiff flat saddle. I found that the padding at the back pushed me slightly forward, meaning that I have had to adjust the seat at a different angle than I would like.
Again, that is more to do with my prefernce for a flat saddle, so if you are looking for more padding, this would probably work for you.
And finally, the rails creak. Loudly. They have worn in a bit now, but I can still hear the odd creak. It is also something that a friend had noticed with his too (his came as stock on his Orange Crush).
I have since moved this onto my commuter bike.
"
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Mud King ProTection Folding MTB Tyre
Continental Mud King ProTection Folding MTB Tyre
Limitless play: The moment of truth for the Mud King 1.8 comes when XC riders slosh around a track/trail in the rain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good winter tyres for claggy mud
Posted23 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I ride in all weather and around here the mud is thick and the trails are rooty.
I was looking for a tyre that could cope with that, but also one that doesn't run too slowly on tramac.
These are thin tyres (1.8") and designed to run at a higher PSI, so cut into the mud (rather than float like a larger tyres with a lower psi). As a result they are not the most comfortable tyre if you are liable to get bumped around on a stiff framed hardtail.
However I am willing to comprimise for the sake of performance.
The end result is great. They are fast rolling (and I was suprised at how little tyre suck I got on tarmac) and grind through thick mud really well.
They are also suprisingly good over roots too (don't know about rock). The puncture protection is also a great bonus - although I had to sit in the rain and watch my friends fix up their Maxxis Beavers after getting caught by thorns.
Overall, a great little winter tyre at a good price.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hiplok Bicycle Lock (Version 1.50)
Hiplok Bicycle Lock (Version 1.50)
The Hiplok is the worlds first bicycle lock developed specifically to be worn on the body. It’s a seriously strong piece of kit with a hardened steel chain at its core and a Sold Secure accreditation. All Hiploks are fully adjustable: one size fits all.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Well designed, comfortable and convenient
Posted03 May 2013
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was fed-up with carrying heavy D-locks on my frame or in my backpack, so bought this after reading reviews in the press.
I'm very impressed. After a couple of rides, you forget it is there - in fact I have walked around the house for 30 minutes after a ride before noticing that I was still wearing it.
Silver rated, so I still only use it to lock it up in public areas (the local shops etc), but it looks and feels hefty - enough of a deterent to passing thieves."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Exposure Joystick with Helmet Mount & Lanyard Front Light
Exposure Joystick with Helmet Mount & Lanyard Front Light
The Joystick is an Exposure classic. Small and compact the Joystick is ideally used as a helmet light, although its versatile enough to be used on the handlebars, as a hand held torch or even as a head mounted running light.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great second light for dark trails
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Firstly I will qualify the review by saying that I realise that there are cheaper and brighter torches on the market.
However, for quality and simplicity, this lights win hands down.
The light is easy to charge, easy to fit and alter while on the trail and most importantly is waterproof and bomb-proof (my light has taken a few bangs and bashes).
The light from the unit is pretty tight. Ideal for spotting trouble on the trail.
It is also good as a backup light - however, I would class this as a second light. I don't think that it is bright enough (and the light beam is too narrow), to be used as a main light for trail riding.
However, as a second, helmet-mounted lamp, it is ideal.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good value, but only fits the average shaped rider
Posted15 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I needed something to replace my old Pocket Rocket.
Functionally it is pretty good - showerproof and the hi-viz yellow is easy to spot on the roads.
However, I'm very broad shouldered. The body around the shoulders is pretty tight, however the material around the arms are pretty flappy.
Maybe I'm being a bit picky - it is a great price for the product, if you want something to chuck in a rucksack for emergencies. However, if you are looking for something to wear everyday, or if you are broad shouldered or are carrying a bit of timber, you may be better looking elsewhere."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Attack Long Finger Gloves - 2012
Attack Long Finger Gloves - 2012
Versatile all-mountain gloves with a great balance of protection and weight.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Summer gloves, but unsure how long they will last
Posted20 June 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was looking for some light summer gloves. Didn't need padding, just something to stop sweaty hands from slipping off the grips, so went for these.
From a grip and weight perspective they are spot on. However, while the gloves fit nicely on my hand, the palms bunches up when gripping thinner grips. (They are ok on larger/more padded grips.)
I've got used to it now, but it was an annoyance when I first used them.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Attack Short Sleeve Jersey - 2012
Attack Short Sleeve Jersey - 2012
With a host of high-end features to help you manage moisture on the mountain, the Attack jersey keeps you fresh and looking good on the hardest of trail sessions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Light and airy summer trail top
Posted20 June 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"When I first looked at this top I was unsure how hard-wearing it would be on my local trails (lots of bushes, thorns and overhanging branches), however after a few eeks it seems to have survived unscathed.
The top is well designed, has a small pocket (big enough for a phone or gel/chew) and a patch inside which you can use to clean glasses.
It is loose enough to let the air in, but not so loose that it flaps in the wind.
It has a slight drop at the rear, so it doesn't ride up and there are mesh sections under the arms so you don't get sweaty. (Look at the grey version - the black sections are mesh)
I'm really happy with my purchase.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Zero Xtreme Electrolyte Drink Tabs
High5 Zero Xtreme Electrolyte Drink Tabs
Zero the new great tasting electrolyte drink from High5, now comes with a caffeine kick (65mg) - about the same as a mild cup of coffee.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
They work - but not sure about the taste
Posted21 May 2012
Steveo0072
fromTyneside
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I usually use the standard Zero tablets (non caffine version), but thought I should try these for a 50+ mile ride on my MTB.
I got the same benefits that i get from my standard zero tablets - whether the caffine added anything, I don't know. However, I will keep going with them. They keep me hydrated and don't effect my stomach, unlike a couple of other brands.
The only issue I have is the taste. I used the Tropical Fruit version, and found that I had to add a few drops of fruit juice or cordial to make it acceptable to my palette.
"
Pros: High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Steveo0072's Questions
 
 Continental Ultra Gatorskin City MTB Tyre
Continental Ultra Gatorskin City MTB Tyre
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 

What size inner tubes?

I am just moving over to Gator Skins and notice that they are very skinny tyres (compared to my previous tyres).

Should i be buying thinner inner tubes too? If so, what size do I need?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
Steveo0072's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Finish Line Brush Set
Finish Line Brush Set
A must-have kit to ensure all-round clean and fully functioning bike with the minimum of effort. Set includes five brushes accompanied by details of the multiple uses of each brush.
 

suitable for carbon fibre

can you use these brushes on carbon fibre frames(without scratching it)
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes. 2 of the brushes are suitable for frames. The other, harder bristled brushes are meant to be used for your drive train.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 Altura Summit Baggy MTB Shorts
Altura Summit Baggy MTB Shorts
Baggy trail shorts designed for performance and comfort in the saddle. The durable fabric construction with stretch panels provides protection without restricting your movement. Perfect for days at the trail centre.
 

Are these waterproof?

And if now how eater resistant are they? Thanks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No they aren't. Not even showerproof. Great shorts though.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

Does this item compact to a small size. Will if fit in the rear pocket of a rear jersey?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I would say nearly, but not quite. Great for a small rucksack, or tied to a frame, but a bit too bulky for my rear pocket.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

Sizing for tall people

Hi there, i'm 6'4" but i am around a medium build, sometimes even a small, would i be advised to get a medium size or an xxl which your sizing allocates for someone my height?
thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I found the minima sizing on the small side. I have gone 1 size up.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

Is there a mesh lining on the inside of the jacket?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, there is no lining.
It's a bit 'boil in the bag' - an emergency, packable jacket.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 

Does it come with a hood?

Hi, I was reading the description which says "hood fittings", does it means it has a hood? Im really looking for a good hooded winter waterproof jacket and if this one have hood this shall be the perfect jacket.
Thnaks a lot
:)
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm afraid the hood is a sold seperately.
(I guess that is because most of us wear helmets, so don't worry about the rain too much...)
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 

How much bum cover does the jacket give?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
To be honest - very little to none at all. They are a short fit.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Altura Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 

Confused re sizing

I am looking at one of these I'm in New Zealand so I cant try it on, I have read through the reviews and some people say get a size bigger than your correct size others say go smaller. I am right on the border between large and xtra large so not quite sure what to do and I dont want to have to return it from NZ as it will be too expensive. I am 183cm tall 85kg and chest size is 109cm. Anyone around the same size out there that can give me some idea what would be best. Been sitting at home for 5 weeks now looking as I have a broken hip after a near miss with a car biking home. Hence the jacket purchase. Cheers Andy
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm the same - I have really broad shoulders, with a 42" chest - teetering between Large and XLarge depending on brands.

I tried both - and they both fit ok - it all depends on your build, how many layers you use and how you want to look.

As an MTBer, all of my stuff is pretty baggy, so I have gone for the XL - it's a little long in the arms, but not to the extent that it hampers riding, or that anyone else notices. I can also wear light body armour underneath.

I would have gone for the Large if I was a lycra-clad roadie.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 Backpedal CNC Sealed Bearing Pedals
Backpedal CNC Sealed Bearing Pedals
CNC Machined low profile body, Double sealed bearings, Removable pins, 9/16 only, Black
 

can these take a toe clip? also how do i know if 9/16 will fit my FSA cranks?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I wouldn't think so, although I wouldn't be 100%.
They are very large pedals with metal pins. I think of them like a BMX pedal for a mountain bike.
Even if you get clips on them, I'm not sure how comfortable they wouuld be.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside
 
 dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

Would these fit over a small close fitting pair of perscription specs

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No - they are made so that they sit flush to your face.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Steveo0072
Tyneside