jonjanner
Share jonjanner's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jonjanner's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    24 January 2011
  • Last Review
    15 April 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    22 February 2011
  • Last Answer
    22 April 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
jonjanner's Reviews
 
 dhb Turbulence Windproof Cycling Jacket AW12
dhb Turbulence Windproof Cycling Jacket AW12
Slim line windproof shell for real riding. dhb’s lightweight jacket, offering fantastic wind protection and packed feature set to put it at the top of your wish list.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
special
Posted15 April 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"nice and light.def for riders that ride rather than those that cruise as you wanna be generating your own heat as this will keep it all in where you need it but you will get cold once stopped.so dont stop till you get home.very good price too"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Fire XC Pro design offers excellent traction and cornering in just about any terrain without the penalty of high rolling resistance or soft fast wearing tread compounds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality never changes
Posted11 October 2011
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"ive been riding for a very long time and once i tried these tyres i wondered how ever i had managed before.if you have several wheelsets then there are for sure tyres for all occasions but if you want a competent set of all rounders then look no further."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano Mineral Oil Bleed Kit is all you need to bleed and maintain your Shimano hydraulic Disc brake system
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it works
Posted06 September 2011
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"total doddle to use once the aprehension of bleeding my own brakes was overcome.tis simple clean and works"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
amazing
Posted03 July 2011
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"made of rubber attatch a pump to the valve and it inflates fits inside a tyre to enable you to ride your bike safely and comfortably.like i said.amazing.this idea may catch on."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
poodles
Posted22 April 2011
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"these pedals are far away from the top of the range but if you want a reliable sturdy hassle free pedal then look no further.got mine i n white for that colour coded look.nice."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The HG53 is designed for use with Shimano Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed drive-trains and is recommended for Deore and Tiagra drive-trains.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
choo choo chain
Posted16 April 2011
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"very affordable chain for reliable and efficient shifting.makes me happy."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano's CN-7701 Hyperglide (HG) series 9-speed compatible chain is recommended for XTR and Dura-Ace drivetrains
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality moment
Posted22 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"this chain feels solid crisp and exceptionally accurate when shifting.seems the only downside to this chain is i dont see me buying anything cheaper ever again."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
HG80 Mega9 cassette featuring light weight minimal design sprocket carrier.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
retro rear end
Posted22 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"have bought this item for a fully rigid carbon hardtail and could not be happier as the marginally harder ratios feel no different on such a light bike so eating the competition should be a breeze.(thats the plan anyway)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, dinky looks
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
super moto
Posted22 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"these tyres are scary out of the box as they have a protective coating that makes them feel way too hard to be good but have no fear as this soon is removed to reveal a nice grippy contact area that still needs respect in the wet but in the dry are a total hoot with good top pressure for a mtb slick and very cool looks like a super moto tyre.
standard price tyres but with free tubes to take the sting out of the wallet.
buy enjoy rip and ride.
have put mine on a fully rigid carbon hardtail (scott scale20 with on-one carbon fork).dandy.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, sexy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 E530/DT370 Mtb Wheelset
E530/DT370 Mtb Wheelset
A great set of reliable mtb wheels for all aspects of mountain and enduro applications.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
silky smooth
Posted24 January 2011
jonjanner
fromplymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"these wheels are smooth out of the box a lovely matt finish to the rim , these do look quality maybe a matt black hub body and spokes would have completed well good stealth look.i really like the dt hubs.plus i got these half price."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
jonjanner's Questions
 
jonjanner has not submitted any questions.
 
jonjanner's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 

What inner tubes supplied by wiggle will fit this tyre?

wire
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 

Which inner tube for continental sport contact 26x1.3

I bought a box of 5 of the 26 x 1.3-1.75 continental inner tubes thinking it was in the correct range for the sport contact 26 x 1.3 tyres.

When I received the package it says 26 x 1 3/8 - 1.75 which are bigger than 1.3 I think??? Should I have got the Tour 26 slim, as the continental web site seems to say that in their table?
always go by the suppliers guidelines whenever possible.it seems you may have excess inner tube material which can cause creasing but then again you may be lucky.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 

Will this tyre fit my 20-559 wheel rim?

this will only fit a 26inch rim so no i dont think it will
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 

Fitting Continental Sport Contact MTB Tyre With Tube

Hi, looking to put this tyre on regular moutain bike which currently has 1.95 moutain bike tyres on- will the 1.3 version be compatible with the rim?
thank you
yes but maybe a higher pressure tyre would be better but you may find that 85 p.s.i is enough for you.nice tyre though.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 

My current tyres are size 700x38. Is the size stated the rim size they will fit or the actual tyre size?

these are for 26 in wheels you need road or "racing bike" tyres
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 

Would size 26x1.6 road tyres be ok as replacements for a standard mountain bike tyre - since this size is immediately available please? Thanks

most certainly
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 

Could I put these tyres on some Alex DP17 disc rims?

Currently running Schwalbe City Jet tyres which are 26 x 1.5. Have run them for the last 4 years and they must have done over 4500 miles on my daily commute. Have started getting a few punctures so was wondering whether it was time for a change.
yes for sure
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

i have a pair of Shimano SH-MT21 shoes. are they compatible with these pedals?

as long as they are both mtb pedals i should think so
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
The Sport Contact has a rolling resistance comparable to some of our road bike tyres, it's THAT fast! Those in a hurry will benefit from the new features which make the tyre more resistant to punctures than the old Avenue Semi Slick.
 

tryes currently 26 X 2.10 will these tyres fit please?

yes they will and they are great fun once the shiny surface has worn off after the first ride.more like super moto tyres really.go for it.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth
 
 Hoops Pro2 Rear Mtb Wheel
Hoops Pro2 Rear Mtb Wheel
With the Pro2 hub being so versatile, Hope now offer rims from DT Swiss, Mavic and No Tubes to create a complete range of wheels suitable for all uses - on just one hub. For the XC crowd, the ever popular DT XR400 is now joined by the Mavic XC717 & No Tubes Crest. This means that tubeless is now a real option and there is a rim to suit every XC need. Double Butted spokes and new XR400 and EX500 rims - these wheels sets are laced and meticulously hand finished in the UK. For the more aggressive rider, or those riding bigger bikes & terrain - we have added to the DT Swiss EX500 with the Mavic D521 and No Tubes Flow rims. Again, this gives the option of a tubeless setup and a choice of dedicated freeride rims. We finish the Pro2 range with a classic - the Mavic 721. No other options here - why would you need them? This combination builds into a bombproof, thrashable and reliable wheelset that fits just about any frame and fork axle type. The 3 XC rims (400, 717, and Crest) all come as QR wheels with the fronts having a 15mm conversion in the box and the remaining rims come as QR, but this time with a 20mm conversion in the box.
 

Do you have NO STANS wheel with 150 mm hub ?

no
3 years, 6 months ago
by
jonjanner
plymouth