CairnBanIan
Top 100 Contributor
Share CairnBanIan's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CairnBanIan's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    14
  • First Review
    17 December 2010
  • Last Review
    23 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    21 January 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    04 May 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    07 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    20 August 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
CairnBanIan's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Replacement precision CNC machined chainrings for either Shimano or Campagnolo systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy Update & Maintenance
Posted23 June 2015
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Had to bite the bullet and invest in new chain rings - easy to fit , simple job, chain skip has now disappeared!"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The exclusive SiS Pro Yellow Cycling Bottle, as used by Sir Chris Hoy, features the unique Easy Mix System. This has been designed to deliver fast and accurate mixing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Water Bottle
Posted31 May 2015
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well, it's very bright yellow so it won't get lost too easily poolside. Oh yes, it holds water too."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo Pool Surfer Thong Flip-flops
Speedo Pool Surfer Thong Flip-flops
The Speedo Pool Surfer Thong Sandal features a soft Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU)upper section; providing superb comfort and fit. Rapid drainage holes create superior underfoot comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it says on tin
Posted27 March 2015
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Funky colours, poolside protection and comfort whilst hanging around at galas."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Unleash your animal instinct with these Funky Trunks training jammmers, comfortable, eye-catching and made for continual use in chlorinated water.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Reaction
Posted27 March 2015
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got a positive reaction when swim son was presented with these. Could have gone either way with the funky coloured animal paw prints I guess. First set of funky trunks jammers for training so we 'lol see how they last compared to usual speedos..."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo Fastskin3 Elite Goggle
Speedo Fastskin3 Elite Goggle
Maximum comfort, a hydrodynamic profile and wide peripheral vision with less head movement make the Elite Goggle a key weapon in the armoury of the serious swimmer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Goggles
Posted27 March 2015
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Happy to replace these with pair of same following accidental damage. The plain coated lenses are both cheaper and longer lasting than the mirrored ones."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Speedo's training aids are designed to help you get the most from your swim workout. The Tech Paddle was designed to promote optimum hand position in the water and improve stroke technique
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Training Paddles
Posted25 November 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
""My Arms Hurt!"
So says son after first sets using training paddles.
Not entirely a surprise as he's working hard and these paddles help target arms and shoulders.
A recent introduction to training sets these paddles are a first time hit!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A swim training aid engineered to increase your speed through the water. The Speedo BioFuse Fin helps improve your leg strength and ankle flexibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Training Fins
Posted25 November 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
""My Thighs Hurt!"
So says son after first sets using training fins - perhaps not entirely a surprise as they help target Quads during training sessions.
These fins are a new addition to training sets and are an instant hit."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to last longer, Endurance®+ is an exclusive Speedo fabric which is 100% chlorine-resistant, resists snagging, and is 20 times more fade resistant than any other swim fabric. Featuring 4 way stretch technology for added softness and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good training Jammers
Posted16 August 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought a few of these now for my son. Good value, decent longevity."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Speedo Fastskin LZR Racer Elite 2 Jammer delivers intense full body compression, sophisticated low-drag fabrics and world-leading technologies, to maximise performance and racing efficiency. Now with a 40% increase in durability of water repellency.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Kit, Choose Size Carefully
Posted31 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"From Club to District Galas and even International Events these Jammers are ubiquitous.
Son delighted to receive these and feel like a pro!
Sizing is tricky though, choose carefully. As an example, son usually buys a 28" speed jammer. Speedo LZR Size Guide equates this to a LZR size 22" which in reality is completely under sized.
Trial and error will get us there. After the events I've discovered a few swim parents who have been through the same experience.
Dear Speedo , please review your sizing guides for this product!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: unrealistic sizing guide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Genuine innovations Air Chuck Elite Tyre Inflator
Genuine innovations Air Chuck Elite Tyre Inflator
Air chuck elite CO2 Tyre Inflator Push-To-Inflate technology for fast, easy & controllable single-handed CO2 bicycle tyre inflation! Only 17 grams! Fits Presta and Schrader valves.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Addition to Seat Post Pack Spares
Posted31 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Small and light and fits easily into small seat post pack - can quickly inflate to a higher pressure than standard hand pump. Great upgrade for on board spares"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CairnBanIan's Questions
 
CairnBanIan has not submitted any questions.
 
CairnBanIan's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Genuine innovations Air Chuck Elite Tyre Inflator
Genuine innovations Air Chuck Elite Tyre Inflator
Air chuck elite CO2 Tyre Inflator Push-To-Inflate technology for fast, easy & controllable single-handed CO2 bicycle tyre inflation! Only 17 grams! Fits Presta and Schrader valves.
 

Full flat or deflated?

Is this type of inflator only useable on a fully flat tyre? Or am I able just to tweak the pressure in my tyres when they are slightly deflated?
If this can be used for tweaking a deflated tyre, if the adapter is left on the top of the canister will this keep the CO2 in till the next time it is needed?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
i inflate using mini pump as far as i can , usually about 75/80psi... then top up with co2. in wet n cold weather ive also used co2 from fully deflated to get the job over as quickly as possible.
10 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
A triple compound brake pad for use with Shimano brake systems.
 

How many per pack? Is this a set of two pads?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Was when I ordered a pack...
10 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
The Speedo Fastskin LZR Racer Elite 2 Jammer delivers intense full body compression, sophisticated low-drag fabrics and world-leading technologies, to maximise performance and racing efficiency. Now with a 40% increase in durability of water repellency.
 

Do each of the lzr elite 2 yammer bear a valid Fina-approval label?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, looks like it.
10 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Tiagra swap to Ultegra

Currently running a Shimano Tiagra 4600 12 - 28T 10 Speed Cassette with a Shimano 105 5701 Rear Derailer. I'd like to run the Ultegra 6700 12 - 30T 10 Speed, my question " is it a simple swap of just the cassettes only?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
In principles yes but you'll need to check your rear derailleur has the tooth capacity to cope . If I remember correctly short cage derailleur has total tooth capacity of 33 and I think the long cage version is 39 tooth. The tooth capacity is the difference between nos. of teet on caste top to bottom and same for front chainset added together.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Size help.

I'm 6' tall, 41" chest, 32" waist. Not sure whether to go by my height as would seem baggy round my waist.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm you're height but bigger built, using an xxl, perhaps try xl.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
This bar is made from precision drawn 6061 alloy, double butted which means it's thicker inthe most stressed zones, thinner in the non stressed zones and is less weight with additional strength.
 

Bar width

Hi,

My shoulders are 43cm (shoulder blade to blade)

What size bars should I order?

I've never ridden drops before.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I believe most bars are measured from the centre of one handle to the other. If you mean shoulder joint to shoulder joint I'd go for a 44 or 46. I've read it's best not go narrower than your own measurements as this can be uncomfortable and even restrict breathing... Good luck.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 Maru Junior Performance Boys XT1 Pro Jammer AW13
Maru Junior Performance Boys XT1 Pro Jammer AW13
Racing suits for the younger generation, using adult technology. Manufactured using Xtra Lite Lycra; which features a water repellent Teflon coating.
 

Are these jammers Fina approved?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Budget end of hydrophobic coated materials. Son says he could feel the difference in the water, fina yes I'm sure. If son is happy , I'm happy.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 Altura Raceline Bib Tights
Altura Raceline Bib Tights
Multi-panels cycling tights with thermal lycra legs for insulation on cold winter road rides. Raceline tights feature a Ergogel seat pad for pressure relief and an ergonomic fit for long distance comfort and performance.
 

I'm 6'5" tall I looking for some full length winter bibs good quality what do you recommend ????

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Same height. Trying DHB vaeon pro this year... Good choice , good value, maybe not suited to zero/ sub zero temps though...
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Is this warmer than the vaeon Zero Bib Tight?

Hi there. What temperature is the Pro rated for? I see the Zero is rated for -2 to 8 deg. Will the Pro be a good substitute?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Using the pro, good but purple legs at seams in sub zero temps, zeros said to best for winter temps from DHB range.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

size query again

what size would be best for me - 46in chest, 38in waist, 30in inside leg(inseam)
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Similar sizing with longer legs.... Xxl suits me fine.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow