CairnBanIan
Top 100 Contributor
Share CairnBanIan's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CairnBanIan's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    71
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    17 December 2010
  • Last Review
    16 August 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    21 January 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    04 May 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    07 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    20 August 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
CairnBanIan's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Designed to last longer, Endurance®+ is an exclusive Speedo fabric which is 100% chlorine-resistant, resists snagging, and is 20 times more fade resistant than any other swim fabric. Featuring 4 way stretch technology for added softness and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good training Jammers
Posted16 August 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought a few of these now for my son. Good value, decent longevity."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Speedo Fastskin LZR Racer Elite 2 Jammer delivers intense full body compression, sophisticated low-drag fabrics and world-leading technologies, to maximise performance and racing efficiency. Now with a 40% increase in durability of water repellency.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Kit, Choose Size Carefully
Posted31 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"From Club to District Galas and even International Events these Jammers are ubiquitous.
Son delighted to receive these and feel like a pro!
Sizing is tricky though, choose carefully. As an example, son usually buys a 28" speed jammer. Speedo LZR Size Guide equates this to a LZR size 22" which in reality is completely under sized.
Trial and error will get us there. After the events I've discovered a few swim parents who have been through the same experience.
Dear Speedo , please review your sizing guides for this product!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: unrealistic sizing guide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Air chuck elite CO2 Tyre Inflator Push-To-Inflate technology for fast, easy & controllable single-handed CO2 bicycle tyre inflation! Only 17 grams! Fits Presta and Schrader valves.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Addition to Seat Post Pack Spares
Posted31 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Small and light and fits easily into small seat post pack - can quickly inflate to a higher pressure than standard hand pump. Great upgrade for on board spares"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Addition to Saddle Pack
Posted31 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Small and light and fits easily into small seat post pack - can quickly inflate to a higher pressure than standard hand pump. Great upgrade for on board spares"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Single spoke version which fits all cateye computers including cordless.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wheel Magnet
Posted01 July 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Quite bizarrely a stone is flicked up bounces off the frame bounces into the spokes breaks off my wheel magnet never to be seen again, the stone also causes a flat. Simple replacement of cheap part."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Delicious tasting, nutritious Project ZV8 Energy+ Bar contains a unique, easily digestible blend of ingredients engineered specifically for the nutritional demands of endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
tasty
Posted01 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these are a tasty alternative t gels which i personally struggle with. enjoy."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Comet set features 2 innovative lights. The COB LED's provide 100 lumen output for the front and 30 lumen output for the rear light. The rear light comes with both seat post & saddle rail bracket.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Light Set
Posted01 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great wee light set, with charger and usb cables, for general commuting and darker wetter weather these were great with fellow riders commenting on the brightness and the novely and attractiveness of a different shape of element / beam. I have one gripe with these is that i purchased them given the statement they have a bracket for saddle rails , perhaps i had not thought this through but its nigh on impossible to use he seat rail clamp for this rear light and fit mty seat post pack on also. bit of a pain really but does not retract from the fact i think these are good quality good value products,"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: bracket / setpost pack conflict?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Speedo Boys Fastskin Elite Jammer is designed for the swimmer with serious competitive objectives. Body Stability Web and low drag Fabric technology deliver greater stability and a more hydrodynamic profile, making movement almost effortless.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Feel Faster, Go Faster
Posted01 July 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well these were son's firstFastskins which gives a number of plus points including a great pair of colourful race ready jammers, jammers which give kudos to his swimming wardrobe whilst poolside and the "feeling" he has gear which goes faster through the water. Dont know what the technology is worth... tenths? hundreds? a whole second? I reckon the feeling of wearing and having recognised top brand and the fastskin name is worth something in itself to the approach. Ah yes , slaves to brands and marketing at such a tender age! He did however react to the fit. Going with sizing recommendations we went with same sizing as training jammers - the fastskins are indeed a tighter more compression style and fit. It took him a few wears to get used to them. THey look great too. All round good purchase"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Put Your Mind At Ease
Posted01 June 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I shod my wheels in Contis GP4 Seasons about 18 months ago and have suffered one flat only due to large shard of glass. These are mosrtainly not worn out yet but I've bought a new set for a 300km sportive I'll be doing in Sweden this summer. I really do recommend these and I'm perfectly happy to buy a new pair as a gift to my bike before heading off to the continent for my first foreign sportive. Excellent product."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Maximum comfort, a hydrodynamic profile and wide peripheral vision with less head movement all make the Speedo Fastskin Elite Mirror Goggle a key weapon in the armoury of the serious swimmer. Now available in an exclusive Blue and Red design!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fast skin Goggles
Posted25 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Funky set of eyewear for the pool, the limited edition has a few more colours for you to mix n match your cossies with. My son has a pair of these and I've noted the mirror / surface layer get scratched quite easily which spoils the appearance somewhat. The googles do come with a protective bag which I'd recommend using to store your goggles in between swims."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
CairnBanIan's Questions
 
CairnBanIan has not submitted any questions.
 
CairnBanIan's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Air chuck elite CO2 Tyre Inflator Push-To-Inflate technology for fast, easy & controllable single-handed CO2 bicycle tyre inflation! Only 17 grams! Fits Presta and Schrader valves.
 

Full flat or deflated?

Is this type of inflator only useable on a fully flat tyre? Or am I able just to tweak the pressure in my tyres when they are slightly deflated?
If this can be used for tweaking a deflated tyre, if the adapter is left on the top of the canister will this keep the CO2 in till the next time it is needed?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
i inflate using mini pump as far as i can , usually about 75/80psi... then top up with co2. in wet n cold weather ive also used co2 from fully deflated to get the job over as quickly as possible.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
A triple compound brake pad for use with Shimano brake systems.
 

How many per pack? Is this a set of two pads?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Was when I ordered a pack...
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
The Speedo Fastskin LZR Racer Elite 2 Jammer delivers intense full body compression, sophisticated low-drag fabrics and world-leading technologies, to maximise performance and racing efficiency. Now with a 40% increase in durability of water repellency.
 

Do each of the lzr elite 2 yammer bear a valid Fina-approval label?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, looks like it.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Tiagra swap to Ultegra

Currently running a Shimano Tiagra 4600 12 - 28T 10 Speed Cassette with a Shimano 105 5701 Rear Derailer. I'd like to run the Ultegra 6700 12 - 30T 10 Speed, my question " is it a simple swap of just the cassettes only?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
In principles yes but you'll need to check your rear derailleur has the tooth capacity to cope . If I remember correctly short cage derailleur has total tooth capacity of 33 and I think the long cage version is 39 tooth. The tooth capacity is the difference between nos. of teet on caste top to bottom and same for front chainset added together.
4 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Size help.

I'm 6' tall, 41" chest, 32" waist. Not sure whether to go by my height as would seem baggy round my waist.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm you're height but bigger built, using an xxl, perhaps try xl.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
This bar is made from precision drawn 6061 alloy, double butted which means it's thicker inthe most stressed zones, thinner in the non stressed zones and is less weight with additional strength.
 

Bar width

Hi,

My shoulders are 43cm (shoulder blade to blade)

What size bars should I order?

I've never ridden drops before.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I believe most bars are measured from the centre of one handle to the other. If you mean shoulder joint to shoulder joint I'd go for a 44 or 46. I've read it's best not go narrower than your own measurements as this can be uncomfortable and even restrict breathing... Good luck.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Racing suits for the younger generation, using adult technology. Manufactured using Xtra Lite Lycra; which features a water repellent Teflon coating.
 

Are these jammers Fina approved?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Budget end of hydrophobic coated materials. Son says he could feel the difference in the water, fina yes I'm sure. If son is happy , I'm happy.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 Altura Raceline Bib Tights
Altura Raceline Bib Tights
Multi-panels cycling tights with thermal lycra legs for insulation on cold winter road rides. Raceline tights feature a Ergogel seat pad for pressure relief and an ergonomic fit for long distance comfort and performance.
 

I'm 6'5" tall I looking for some full length winter bibs good quality what do you recommend ????

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Same height. Trying DHB vaeon pro this year... Good choice , good value, maybe not suited to zero/ sub zero temps though...
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Is this warmer than the vaeon Zero Bib Tight?

Hi there. What temperature is the Pro rated for? I see the Zero is rated for -2 to 8 deg. Will the Pro be a good substitute?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Using the pro, good but purple legs at seams in sub zero temps, zeros said to best for winter temps from DHB range.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

size query again

what size would be best for me - 46in chest, 38in waist, 30in inside leg(inseam)
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Similar sizing with longer legs.... Xxl suits me fine.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow