CairnBanIan
Top 100 Contributor
Share CairnBanIan's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CairnBanIan's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    89
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    17 December 2010
  • Last Review
    24 August 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    21 January 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    04 May 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    39
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    07 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    20 August 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
CairnBanIan's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
Red silicone band to fit Exposure's Flash, Flare and RedEye Mk2 lights.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple & Light
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A simple and effective way to secure my Exposure Flash & Flare Lights... lightweight too. Despite the bright red colour I seem to find it easy to lose these. a replacement pair."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TORQ Hypotonic drinkis 100% natural and hydrates you better than an electrolyte tablet. 6 hypotonic sticks per pack.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flavoursome
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nice tangerine flavour to this product, a wee variation to others I've tried. Flavoursome enough so all good."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EXPIRY END OF OCT - The whole NEW and improved flavour range! Can't decide which is your favourite flavour? This variety pack allows you to access the full collection of Wiggle Nutrition fruit flavoured carbohydrate gels for an instant energy boost.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tasty
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Gel Bars. They don't always get good press. The range of flavours here from Wiggle are actually pretty tasty. They'll do nicely."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does The Job
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Light , Easy to Fit , Holds Water Bottles, Just what its supposed to do. Sorted."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Flashlight Compact-XT Waterproof Jacket has all the lightweight, breathable and waterproof features of the Compact, but with the additional luxuries of an adjustable hem and cuffs, and multiple pockets finished with aquaguard™ zips.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Waterproof
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought for son. Sure is Fluoro. Reflective bits will work well in darker conditions, Proved itself waterproof on first outing. It is foldable and packable but one of those which folding up int a fist sized pack its a bit ore substantial than that. Wil roll up into a back pocket and fits into a larger sized saddle pack. Good quality . Like it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float. Each option sold as a pair
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tried, Tested, Trusted
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Since first buying road shoes about 10 years ago I've defaulted to these yellow shimano cleats with the greatest amount of float... fit and forget. Job Done!"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Aeron Roubaix is a new improved version of the top-rated Vaeon Pro Roubaix Bib tight. At the heart of these tights is a top-level Tour Air chamois to support you over endurance distance rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DHB Winter Warmers
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these at the tail end of spring having worn through an old pair of Northwaves. Got a few wears out of these before the warmer weather kicked in . Warm , toasty, comfortable and natty with the fluoro yellow design. All Good. With autumn kicking in now , I'll be getting to use these again sooner than I'd like!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A high value combination of excellent fit, comfort and stiffness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Value - Look God
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sons first road shoes to go with first road bike. Yes we've had a few "cleat falls" but there you go. These mavics are great value at the price on offer. We went for the white and red ones which look quite cool , sole is stiff enough without being carbon uber stiff... simple Velcro straps and a ratche make adjustment easy. Son loves them - thinks he's a proper cyclist now!"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
CoolMax® fabric keeps your feet dry and fresh while a mesh front helps with ventilation and breathability for those hot days of riding. A 9cm cuff height isn't too long or too short and maximises your cyclist tan!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Summer Socks
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lightweight, cooling , snug, warm enough , nice colours , match my shoes. All good!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
dhb's Classic Bib Shorts are designed for all levels of cyclists and for all cycling activities from cafe runs to GranFondos. Elegant design and top performance evolved from dhb's own Aeron Race shorts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value Bibs
Posted24 August 2016
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having used Aerons myself for a number of years I was hapy to purchase DHBs for my son who is starting out on his first road bike. DHB offers great value and quality. He loves them and is starting to get used to the idea of "commando!""
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CairnBanIan's Questions
 
CairnBanIan has not submitted any questions.
 
CairnBanIan's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Genuine innovations Air Chuck Elite Tyre Inflator
Genuine innovations Air Chuck Elite Tyre Inflator
Air chuck elite CO2 Tyre Inflator Push-To-Inflate technology for fast, easy & controllable single-handed CO2 bicycle tyre inflation! Only 17 grams! Fits Presta and Schrader valves.
 

Full flat or deflated?

Is this type of inflator only useable on a fully flat tyre? Or am I able just to tweak the pressure in my tyres when they are slightly deflated?
If this can be used for tweaking a deflated tyre, if the adapter is left on the top of the canister will this keep the CO2 in till the next time it is needed?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
i inflate using mini pump as far as i can , usually about 75/80psi... then top up with co2. in wet n cold weather ive also used co2 from fully deflated to get the job over as quickly as possible.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 Clarks Road Brake Pad for Shimano Brake Systems
Clarks Road Brake Pad for Shimano Brake Systems
A triple compound brake pad for use with Shimano brake systems.
 

How many per pack? Is this a set of two pads?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Was when I ordered a pack...
2 years, 1 month ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
The Speedo Fastskin LZR Racer Elite 2 Jammer delivers intense full body compression, sophisticated low-drag fabrics and world-leading technologies, to maximise performance and racing efficiency. Now with a 40% increase in durability of water repellency.
 

Do each of the lzr elite 2 yammer bear a valid Fina-approval label?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, looks like it.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Tiagra swap to Ultegra

Currently running a Shimano Tiagra 4600 12 - 28T 10 Speed Cassette with a Shimano 105 5701 Rear Derailer. I'd like to run the Ultegra 6700 12 - 30T 10 Speed, my question " is it a simple swap of just the cassettes only?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
In principles yes but you'll need to check your rear derailleur has the tooth capacity to cope . If I remember correctly short cage derailleur has total tooth capacity of 33 and I think the long cage version is 39 tooth. The tooth capacity is the difference between nos. of teet on caste top to bottom and same for front chainset added together.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Size help.

I'm 6' tall, 41" chest, 32" waist. Not sure whether to go by my height as would seem baggy round my waist.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm you're height but bigger built, using an xxl, perhaps try xl.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
This bar is made from precision drawn 6061 alloy, double butted which means it's thicker inthe most stressed zones, thinner in the non stressed zones and is less weight with additional strength.
 

Bar width

Hi,

My shoulders are 43cm (shoulder blade to blade)

What size bars should I order?

I've never ridden drops before.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I believe most bars are measured from the centre of one handle to the other. If you mean shoulder joint to shoulder joint I'd go for a 44 or 46. I've read it's best not go narrower than your own measurements as this can be uncomfortable and even restrict breathing... Good luck.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 Maru Junior Performance Boys XT1 Pro Jammer AW13
Maru Junior Performance Boys XT1 Pro Jammer AW13
Racing suits for the younger generation, using adult technology. Manufactured using Xtra Lite Lycra; which features a water repellent Teflon coating.
 

Are these jammers Fina approved?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Budget end of hydrophobic coated materials. Son says he could feel the difference in the water, fina yes I'm sure. If son is happy , I'm happy.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 Altura Raceline Bib Tights
Altura Raceline Bib Tights
Multi-panels cycling tights with thermal lycra legs for insulation on cold winter road rides. Raceline tights feature a Ergogel seat pad for pressure relief and an ergonomic fit for long distance comfort and performance.
 

I'm 6'5" tall I looking for some full length winter bibs good quality what do you recommend ????

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Same height. Trying DHB vaeon pro this year... Good choice , good value, maybe not suited to zero/ sub zero temps though...
2 years, 5 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Is this warmer than the vaeon Zero Bib Tight?

Hi there. What temperature is the Pro rated for? I see the Zero is rated for -2 to 8 deg. Will the Pro be a good substitute?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Using the pro, good but purple legs at seams in sub zero temps, zeros said to best for winter temps from DHB range.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Pro Padded Bib Tight
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

size query again

what size would be best for me - 46in chest, 38in waist, 30in inside leg(inseam)
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Similar sizing with longer legs.... Xxl suits me fine.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow