CairnBanIan
Top 100 Contributor
Share CairnBanIan's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CairnBanIan's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    60
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    17 December 2010
  • Last Review
    14 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    21 January 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    04 May 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    33
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    07 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    14 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
CairnBanIan's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Chain Life Extender
Posted14 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Simple easy to use piece of kit should be part of your bikes planned preventative maintenance kit. I've proven to myself regular cleaning can significantly increase the shelf life of both chain and cassette especially since the roads are wet and gritty for 6 months of the year. A small investment for much in return by way of savings. Manage to drop and break my last one of these happy to buy a replacement."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Water Bottle.
Posted02 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well, they hold water, straightforward enough and quite robust. Sorted."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cycling specific sock, with mesh construction cuff to keep you cool in the summer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Socks
Posted24 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Attractive and lightweight, these have only seen action on the turbo over the winter months and at the gym. Looking forward to warmer weather where shorts , nice socks, short sleeve jerseys and sunlight will raise the spirits. No issues with these whatsoever."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Maru Junior Boys XT2 Pro Jammer gives young swimmers a chance to utilise the same high-specification technology as the Maru adult range. Super soft with a high 2 way stretch, this suit also improves circulation for a competitive edge.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Entry Race Jammers
Posted24 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The price for jammers moves up a notch when descriptors such as chlorine resistant, compression fit, long lasting etc is supplemented with 'hydrophobic' 'water repellent'. As entry level hydrophobic materials go the Maru Jammers are colourful eye catching and carry that fina approved logo... The kind of thing that eagle eyed youngsters notice on each other's suits when it comes to race meets. So if you want some eye catching colours, a fina logo on your race jammers and some hydrophobic material technology to boot then these xt2's and indeed the xt1's are great value. I've noticed that the maru range is very popular at junior age meets and certainly see more of these than say the speedo lzr range which is at the other end of the price scale. With growing youngsters, why invest more?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The 45cm Arena Men's Trace Jammer features an inner brief for added confidence, and is manufactured from Max Life fabric, which provides excellent chlorine resistance, a superior fit and a superb range of movement.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Loud & Proud
Posted24 February 2014
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well, these are certainly colourful ! Good set of jammers, no issues at all."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Winter tights
Posted15 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Finally wore out my north waves. Usual great service from wiggle. Xxxl was great fit I'm 6 ft 4. Description states some compression qualities ... A nice fit but nothing tight. Bought the grey ones and wished I'd had the courage to order some of the coloured panelled ones. First impressions are positive and I look forward to seeing how these shape up over the winter months."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Maximum comfort, a hydrodynamic profile and wide peripheral vision with less head movement make the Elite Goggle a key weapon in the armoury of the serious swimmer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted15 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well, just about everyone else is wearing these at the Race Meets, so the request from Marine Boy duly came in. They look the part and I'm certain the ergonomic styling will be worth A few shavings off his PBs. Look the part and immediately gave rise to big grin."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
This Mesh bag is perfect for carrying all your training aids in. With its simple, spacious design the bag allows airflow and drainage for quick drying.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Speedo pool mesh bag
Posted10 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well, the red one is certainly bright enough, bright enough not to be forgotten ? Time will tell!"
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Core Medium Holdall is a hardwearing, everyday essential bag. Speedo are the first brand to deliver a full and comprehensive bag collection that has been specifically designed to meet the needs of the swimmers of all levels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Holdall
Posted04 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Simple well designed pool side Holdall with compartments to seperate wet gear. Attractive bag."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This shoecover aims to keep you visible and protected. A fleecey inside keeps you warm while the simple, effective closure system and the fully taped inside make it great to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Be Seen
Posted04 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CairnBanIan
fromGlasgow
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are stonkingly fluoro in colour and will assist being noticed by traffic I'm sure. Yes they will probably cause a few admiring glances from other riders too, and perhaps some laughing reactions too! Fit well over my 48 shoes. Will help to keep feet warm and dry. Sealed zip is a nice touch though I prefer zips/ closures at the rear of the overshoe - these have closures to the side over the ankle and for me a wee bit more fiddle to put on , I guess it depends on your flexibility. Consider these a great addition to winter wardrobe."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CairnBanIan's Questions
 
CairnBanIan has not submitted any questions.
 
CairnBanIan's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Racing suits for the younger generation, using adult technology. Manufactured using Xtra Lite Lycra; which features a water repellent Teflon coating.
 

Are these jammers Fina approved?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Budget end of hydrophobic coated materials. Son says he could feel the difference in the water, fina yes I'm sure. If son is happy , I'm happy.
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Multi-panels cycling tights with thermal lycra legs for insulation on cold winter road rides. Raceline tights feature a Ergogel seat pad for pressure relief and an ergonomic fit for long distance comfort and performance.
 

I'm 6'5" tall I looking for some full length winter bibs good quality what do you recommend ????

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Same height. Trying DHB vaeon pro this year... Good choice , good value, maybe not suited to zero/ sub zero temps though...
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Is this warmer than the vaeon Zero Bib Tight?

Hi there. What temperature is the Pro rated for? I see the Zero is rated for -2 to 8 deg. Will the Pro be a good substitute?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Using the pro, good but purple legs at seams in sub zero temps, zeros said to best for winter temps from DHB range.
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

size query again

what size would be best for me - 46in chest, 38in waist, 30in inside leg(inseam)
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Similar sizing with longer legs.... Xxl suits me fine.
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
This shoecover aims to keep you visible and protected. A fleecey inside keeps you warm while the simple, effective closure system and the fully taped inside make it great to use.
 

are there reflective strips on the back?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
The yellow material is fluoro.
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
This shoecover aims to keep you visible and protected. A fleecey inside keeps you warm while the simple, effective closure system and the fully taped inside make it great to use.
 

Are this made of bulky neoprene fabric or lite Lycra material?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Lite rubbery texture with warm lining.
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
This shoecover aims to keep you visible and protected. A fleecey inside keeps you warm while the simple, effective closure system and the fully taped inside make it great to use.
 

do they strech?

i have size 52 feet will these strech over the shows or wil it be to tight?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Using over 48s... Prob could stretch a bit more if asked.
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

I'm 6'4", 175#, 33" waist. What size is best? What would be the inseam?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Really like these shorts. I'm same height and buy xxl and are a good length both inseam and overall. you're skinnier than me perhaps the xl instead?
4 days ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
This shoecover aims to keep you visible and protected. A fleecey inside keeps you warm while the simple, effective closure system and the fully taped inside make it great to use.
 

Welke maat?

Welke maat dien ik te bestellen bij het gebruik over de Northwave Celsius GTX MTB winterlaarzen maat 43? Gaat de L 41-43 passen of toch best XL maatje groter nemen?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I've found these to be a good match for my shoe size so xxl for 47s.... Give it a go you can always change them.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Inseam length

I'm 6' 4" but have a 38" inseam and 32" waist (yes I know that's very odd) - would any of these sizes fit me?

Suppose if I got a smaller size they could just be calf length?

What's the returns policy?

Thanks,
Ed
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm 6'4 too with 35 leg. These fit well and could stretch out and inch or so I'm sure. As they are winter tights and it's been winters and cold I'm wearing with long socks and overshoes... Long ankles overshoes would certainly help. My previous pair of northwaves bib tights xxl were longer than these with excess leg material. Sorry but the model of the north waves escapes me.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
CairnBanIan
Glasgow