jjgriswald
Top 10 Contributor
Share jjgriswald's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jjgriswald's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    88
  • Helpfulness Votes
    135
  • First Review
    28 December 2010
  • Last Review
    18 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review Comment
    23 April 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    28 July 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    18 January 2011
  • Last Question
    14 September 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    140
  • Helpfulness Votes
    156
  • First Answer
    28 December 2010
  • Last Answer
    10 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    79
 
 
jjgriswald's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
The Continental light quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tube, light yet still durable
Posted18 October 2014
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are nice tubes. They weighed in at 80-85 grams, so bit lighter than the standard tube, but still durable. I've never had a puncture with them, that being said, I don't wear my tyres down too thin. You can go lighter, but the extra cost and less durability is not worth it to me."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great shifter, great value
Posted10 October 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is one nice shifter. Ultegra is great value when considering performance and weight for price. My FD weighed in at 94 grams. Shifts are light smooth and accurate. Never miss a shift."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ergonomic pedal wrench to remove and replace your pedals quickly and easily.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted10 October 2014
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good quality, good value. Check your pedals first, some need this tool, others use use an allen (hex) key. Its nice and narrow with a long handle for torque"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Race level road cycling shoes built on Shimano Dynalast Technology for improved energy transfer and efficiency over long distances. Featuring an ultralight carbon sole and wide fit last for riders with wide or high volume feet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable, light and Stiff
Posted10 October 2014
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are really nice shoes. Good weight reduction from old pair. The soles are stiff and solid with a nice feeling of even pressure along the foot during the power stroke. Velcro straps are wide and the ratcheting strap over the instep provide comfortable support when pulling. The wide last is a great addition providing relief in the arch and toe box. Although the white colour would not have been my first choice, the glossy surface is easy to keep clean."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Made from extremely lightweight and wind resistant material, this waterproof vest has mesh panel under arms for increased ventilation and a 5mm zipper to make it extra easy to slip in or out of while riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Exceptionally thin and effective
Posted08 July 2014
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The first thing you'll note is how sheer the material is, but don't worry, its wind blocking is excellent and after a warmup, you'll be unzipping to cool down. I have a few other vests and I like this one the best because it easily packs down into a jersey pocket while still being effective. Fit is the same as your jersey size, the fabric stretches so you have a nice snug fit without it flapping in the wind. There's a small side zip on the right side down at the base so you can access you pockets without unzipping, nice touch."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Mono Half Frame Sunglasses have been designed to deliver maximum comfort combined with maximum functionality, in a lightweight and versatile package.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great wrap around glasses
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've given up an spending a fortune for expensive glasses as I usually get about 6 months before either scratching or losing them! When I saw these I just had to try them and was really pleased with their performance. They have the perfect cut for blocking both the wind and sun. The lens is a neutral dark grey so perfect for bright sunny days, but too dark for dawn and dusk. I'm so impressed with these and at this price I'm going to order a few more for spares!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Mono Full Frame sunglasses feature large blue lenses, perfect for maximum coverage and preventing glare, with a lightweight matt black frame for complete protection from sunlight, wind and debris.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value, excellent contrast
Posted28 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These sunglasses are just superb value! I've owned $200 sunglasses and I'd put the clarity of these as equals. And as with all glasses, they get dropped, scratched or lost. So at this price, get a few of them! Protection is great with UVA and UVB filters. The lens color is similar to amber lens so contrast is great. They may not be suitable for small faces as the width and height is slightly large. Good face coverage and blocks wind well. Give them a try, if they don't suit you, I'm sure a friend will buy them!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes. Easy to open, easy to swallow and easy to digest with natural fruit flavours that taste fantastic.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great tasting and easy to take
Posted15 November 2013
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These High 5 Energy Gels are a great alternative to some of the more costly gels. They're easy to open while riding, and the gels have a smooth consistency so they're easy to get down with out water. There are a mix of flavours, mostly of the fruit varieties and they are easy on the stomach. Definitely give them a try!"
Pros: Great Value, easy to digest
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Top of the range Dura-Ace Super narrow 7901 chain is a lightweight 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great chain, great value
Posted02 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I recently changed from running Ultegra 6703 with a Dura ace 7801 chain to an Ultegra 6700 double with a Dura ace 7901 chain. The older 7801 chain had low K's on it but I never like to use an old chain with a new set of gears. I didn't think there would be much difference, but the first time I shifted I was amazed at how smoothly and quietly the chain moved. I had to shift up and down a few times to be sure! I can only figure the newer chain design was the reason. Weight was 261 grams uncut at 116 links, I cut it to 110 links and 247 grams. The super narrow replacement pins work perfectly every time. I would highly suggest buying this chain with your next purchase!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Chainset at a great price
Posted01 November 2013
jjgriswald
fromWollongong NSW, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been running the Ultegra 6703 Triple at 170 mm (806 grams) and decided to change back to a double set up. I took the small chainring off the 6703 and ran that as a double at 750 grams but wanted to go to a shorter crank. So I made use of the great Wiggle sales and got the 53/39 Double 165 mm. I was pleasantly surprised to see the weight drop down to 694 grams! As a shorter (160 cm) rider, the 5 mm shorter arm makes a noticeable difference as I can raise my seat up 5 mm and achieve an overall 10 mm difference at the top of the stroke. This has taken a lot of strain off my knees and has increased the power stroke. I coupled a new Dura Ace 7901 chain with the new crank and was amazed at the smoothness and quietness of the shifts. For the money, the Ultegra line-up represents the best overall value in cost, weight and performance! With the newer 6800 line up coming in, now is a great time to scoop up savings in the 6700 stock!!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
jjgriswald's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Weight?

Does anyone know the weight of the 34.9?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

700 x 23 weight

What is the weight of the 700 20-25 race 28 tube?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
The Continental light quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

Weights

I thought the "light" versions were supposed to be around 80 grams. This one is listed at 99? Does anyone know what the weights are of the various road tubes by Conti? There is no listed weight on the standard tube which is a race 28, I don't see a race 28 light. I have 24mm rims so don't need long stems. The supersonics are supposed to be around 50 but they seem a bit fragile and dear. Help!
1 year, 1 month ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000 Folding Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000 Folding Road Tyre
The Grand Prix 4000 works on every road surface, transforming the demands of different styles of riding and supplies extremely long-term performance. It also achieves expectations in precision and production quality.
 

4000 vs 4000S

What's the difference between the 4000 versus the 4000S. Is it just the colours or is there a construction and weight difference.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
Whether you're looking for ultralight race or full aero, Dura-Ace has the wheelset for you. These alloy/carbon C24 (11 speed) wheels are a great choice for any road machine wanting to display nothing but the best.
 

Can I make an 11 geared cassette from Ultegra?

I have two 6700 Ultegra cassettes. a 12-30 and a 11-28. Is it possible to mix and match the gears into a 11 gear 11-30 and use it on the Dura Ace 9000 11 gear freehub? To be used with an all Ultegra Drive train, ie Ultegra Chainset, front and rear deraillers. Or would I have to switch everything to Dura Ace.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
These lights are designed for road bikes with drop bars only. The lights are placed at the end of the handlebars and replaces the Bar Ends. The Lumos light simply slot into the bar including the housing and battery.
 

How much does the set weigh with batteries?

1 year, 5 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
 USE Spin Stix Titanium Skewer - Pair
USE Spin Stix Titanium Skewer - Pair
Simpler and lighter than normal QRs.
 

Road or MTB

What are the lengths on these. And the diameter of the skewer rods. Has anyone used them on shimano road wheels with oversized axles?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
 QR Road Hollow Titanium/Alloy/Carbon Skewer Set
QR Road Hollow Titanium/Alloy/Carbon Skewer Set
Quick release skewer set with hollow Titanium spindle and Alloy lever with Carbon insert.
 

Axles are thinner than shimano

Just got these and noticed the axles are noticeable (about 1mm) thinner than my shimano skewers, so theres more play between the hub and axle. Has anyone used these on shimano wheels? I have dura ace c24s on the rear and ultegra 6700 on the front. Both wheels feature oversized axles. I don't think I should use these.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
Whether you're looking for ultralight race or full aero, Dura-Ace has the wheelset for you. These alloy/carbon C24 (11 speed) tubeless wheels are a great choice for any road machine wanting to display nothing but the best.
 

Valve stem core removal

Does anyone know how to remove the presta valve core on the dura ace supplied valve stems for the c24 wheel. There is no flat section to use a tool, just threads. I want to be able to remove the core to inject run flat liquid. By the way, love the wheel, saved 500 grams off my rear wheel/tire combo!!
1 year, 9 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong
 
 Universal Valve Stem 44mm
Universal Valve Stem 44mm
44mm valve stem with removable valve core for easier inflation. Fits most tubeless road rims.
 

length of stem?

I have dura ace c24 wheels. am I fine with the shorter 35mm stem or should I use the 44mm. since the stem mounts flush to the rim, I'm thinking the less protruding the better. and does anybody know how to remove the valve cores on the dura ace tubeless provided valve stems? theres no flat section to grab, looks one piece. I want to be able to remove the core to inject no flat liquid.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong
 
jjgriswald's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 >>>
 
Race level road cycling shoes built on Shimano Dynalast Technology for improved energy transfer and efficiency over long distances. Featuring an ultralight carbon sole and wide fit last for riders with wide or high volume feet.
 

Is the wide size suitable

How do I know how wide my foot should be to be suitable for these shoes.
E.g. If I take a size 43 then what is the minimum width for these?

Thanks.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If your normal street shoes are D width or narrower, you should be fine with the standard shoe. If you wear DD,DDD,E Width shoes, or find pressure points on the sides of your feet, especially in the arch or toes, the you should definitely consider the wide model. Flat feet are also generally good in the wide model.
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Will this 12-30 fit my 2013 Giant Defy1 and will I need a new chain?

Want to climb easier with less grinding, so will this help solve the problem? Thanks
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
andrew07788 gives some good advice. I would add that I have the gs cage and have run 11-28 and 12-30 with a compact 34-50. triple (30-39-52) and double (39-53). All combinations worked fine. The compact crank required a slightly shorter chain than the double. With the current double I can swap to either cassette without changing the chain length, the longer gs cage helps adjust the big differences from 53,30 down to 39,11 or even 30,11 on the triple. I found after using the 12-30 for a few weeks that the steeper climbs were easier but I had the tendency to stay in 30 rather than push in 27 so made no gains strength. I also missed the 11 on downhills.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

would i notice much difference between a 11-28 ultegra to a 12-28 tiagra cassette? and where would i notice the difference?

Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I have had 105 ans ultegra setups and found ultegra to be far superior in smoother shifting and less weight. since 105 is just below ultegra and above tiagra, i would think it to be a big upgrade. For the price, there is no better value for money than ultegra imo. Gearing wise, you will have gear spacing of 11,12,13,14,15,17,19,21,24,28 versus 12,13,14,15,16,17,19,21,24,28. All this means is the 11 will give you slightly lower gearing for top speed (good for downhill or flats if you can maintain it) but a larger spacing between 15 and 17, whereas the 12-28 gives you 15,16,17. Some people like the equal spacing in slight climbs of flats as in some situations, 17 can be too high and 15 too low. Its like driving a car up a hill with a small motor, you are caught between winding it out in 2nd or dogging it in third. If you have the muscle and max speed is your thing the 11-28 might be the ticket, but seeing as how you want the 28 tooth, either you climb steep hills or your strength is still developing. Most stronger riders will max out with a 25 tooth and have smaller spacing in the smaller gears. Lot to think about, good luck!!
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Chain length when going from Tiagra 12-28 to Ultegra 11-25?

Is there a need to change my chain length when going from a 12-28 cassette to a 11-25?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It really depends on how your current chain is fitted on the 12-28. If your a bit long on that, you might have to shorten up, the best advice is to check the shimano website on installation instructions on the rear mech as it has some excellent visual references on where the cage should be positioned when you're at certain gear combos, large large and small small
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
Excellent value SPD-SL compatible road bike pedals for a secure interface with your cycling shoes. Supplied with 6° float cleats and sporting a wide profile, Shimano PD-R540 are the perfect introduction to performance road cycling pedals.
 

how many cleats do the PD-R540 SPD SL sport pedals have

i have just bought these pedals today and dont know what shoes to get, i have been told they come with cleats and i need to know how many on each pedal before i buy shoes(i.e 2 or 3 cleats )
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
This product is supplied with two cleats, one for each shoe. When picking a shoe, just make sure the hole pattern on the sole is compatible with the Shimano SPD SL cleat, which is three hole triangular pattern. The shoe description will clearly say what cleat it is for.
9 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
Excellent value SPD-SL compatible road bike pedals for a secure interface with your cycling shoes. Supplied with 6° float cleats and sporting a wide profile, Shimano PD-R540 are the perfect introduction to performance road cycling pedals.
 

Are the cleats for these pedals compatable with the shimano 105 carbon pedals.

Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Yes, All the Shimano SPD SL Cleats Yellow, Blue and Red will fit the entire Shimano lineup of SPD SL Pedals from entry level all the way thru to 105, Ultegra and Dura Ace.
9 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
The dhb Mono Half Frame Sunglasses have been designed to deliver maximum comfort combined with maximum functionality, in a lightweight and versatile package.
 

What is meant by 'mirror finish' on lens.

Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Some lens, when you look at the forward facing lens, have a reflective coating like a mirror in which you can see yourself. Some mirrors are lightly mirrored so you can still see through the lens from the outside and others are full mirrors in which you only see your relection.The mirror is either silver or colored which is mostly cosmetic. Functionally, the mirrored coating does reflect light away from the eyes thus giving the wearer more shading and reduces glare. These have a light silver/grey mirror finish. I use them as my prime every day sunglasses and they are great.
9 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
The new design also allows better cable routing with less friction (especially on frames with a slanting top tube). Other features include an adjustable tension return spring and toe-in adjustable brake shoe.
 

Will these brakes work fine with my 2012 Tiagra Shifters?

Will these brakes work fine with my Felt Z6 2012 road bike. I have recently upgraded my stock wheels to Fulcrum Racing 5's and now I want to upgrade my brakes.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/felt-z6-tiagra-2012/
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Sure. They will work fine. The shifters/brake levers are simply pulling the cable and the calipers don't know the difference. They are a real nice brake!
11 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes. Easy to open, easy to swallow and easy to digest with natural fruit flavours that taste fantastic.
 

Does this product contain caffeine?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I've bought these on the 2 for one promotional and the boxes contained a mix of regular non caffeine sachets and also the Plus (+) caffeine ones.
11 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia
 
A complete top-of-the-range gear cable set designed to suit Dura-Ace 7900 and Ultegra 6700 gears. Fitting new gears or completely overhauling your gear cabling couldn't be easier - everything you need in one pack.
 

Hi,Are these compatible with shimano tiagra mechs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Yes, these cable sets are compatible with all Shimano Road Drivetrains, Tiagra, Sora, 105, Ultegra, Dura Ace. They are a top quality replacement set. Highly recommend.
11 months ago
by
jjgriswald
Wollongong NSW, Australia