Malc58
Share Malc58's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Malc58's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    26 October 2012
  • Last Review
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    26 October 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Malc58's Reviews
 
The Brooks Cambium saddle is made from vulcanized natural rubber and organic cotton canvas enhanced by a thin layer of structural textile for added resilience making it uniquely flexible, maintenance-free with all Brooks legendary longevity .
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best saddle I've owned and used!
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Malc58
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The men's Cambium C17 is beautiful to look at and quite honestly the most comfortable saddle I have. I have two bikes, one a steel Surly Pacer and the other a Parlee Z5 and decided to put C17 on both.. I bought the slate grey for the Parlee, the other is natural. I prefer the slate grey colour.
It is important to set up the saddle properly—fore and aft on the rails and seat post as well as perfect saddle height. I find the style of this saddle requires and extra 5mm of saddle height over modern racing style saddles, as it has a noticeable give to it, which of course it's designed to do.
My first C17 has been rained on, washed and is wearing very well.
Many of my previous racing saddles were uncomfortable after an hour—with a good pair of bib shorts I can rides for 5 hours in relative comfort. It's not for those who are overly concerned with weight as it weighs about 415grams, but what price comfort? And besides, the weight isn't noticeable when you're on your bike!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
 
The all new Blaze rear light combines the fully rechargeable internal battery technology characteristic of the Exposure range with the Flare to offer an awesome high powered, long buntime rear light.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Powerful light in a small package
Posted27 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Malc58
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've owned quite a few makes of lights but this is my favourite. It is light, and nicely finished and very easy to use and fit on the seatpost. I also own the Hope District rear light and as I have two road bikes got fed up of switching it from one to the other, plus, I wanted a light with no cumbersome battery. This has the battery built in and the red band method of fitting is quick and easy.
There are no fiddly buttons, the top button here is very responsive in switching between modes (I use flashing mode all the time) and, so far, the band attachment seems very secure. What's perhaps more important is it very bright..even during daylight. The battery hasn't run out on any of my rides yet as I keep it topped up every few rides. It takes a while to fully charge via usb port, so simply remember to keep it topped up.
I'd strongly recommend this light based on my experience of owning cheaper and far more expensive lights. I use it riding in daylight too... it's so bright!"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Probably the lightest, strongest alloy seatpost in the world.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Well made and beautiful
Posted07 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Malc58
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this seatpost as a present for my son. In silver finish it looks stunning, fits perfectly. There is an assurance of reliability when using Thomson posts—they just work! Whether this is worth the extra over the 'normal' elit post is a personal choice; but needless to say it's special and my son loves it."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Winter tights with an s5 seat pad and a light and fleecy RX fabric construction for insulation and comfort in cold conditions. With a paired-down design and an ergonomic race fit, LL.Uno tights are the ideal for riders focussed on the essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb fit and performance
Posted26 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Malc58
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've owned and ridden Assos' more expensive line of bib tights but this time I wanted to try their new Uno tights...they are cheaper!
I prefer the fit and do not notice the performance difference other than the lack of foot straps. These have a fairly tight grip at the ankle so do not ride up your leg but are a tad more difficult to put on. I think the best thing I can say is that they are worth the money. The pad is as comfortable as the higher up range and so far durability is excellent. I'd definitely get another pair when the time comes."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value for money...
Posted26 October 2012
Malc58
fromCumbria, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this tool because I wanted to make sure my Chris King headset was inserted correctly without any risk of damage and also because it was less expensive than more famous brands. It can also be used to insert certain types of press fit bottom bracket cups. The price enabled me to afford the Chris King adapter set making a good job perfect. It's simple to use, just remember to reverse the sliding metal cups so the large surface area presses on the headset (it comes packaged with the narrow ends facing each other as the photo shows). If you don't have the correct adapter cups its best to press each headset cup in separately with a narrow end cup in the frame. It's well made, heavy and operates smoothly. I does the job."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Malc58's Questions
 
Malc58 has not submitted any questions.
 
Malc58's Answers
 
The Brooks Cambium saddle is made from vulcanized natural rubber and organic cotton canvas enhanced by a thin layer of structural textile for added resilience making it uniquely flexible, maintenance-free with all Brooks legendary longevity .
 

Does saddle give much friction on Lycra bottoms?

I am very interested in this saddle. But one issue I am having with my current saddle is that it slightly grips to my lycra shorts and starts to either wear lycra down or prevent much sliding movement.

Does the C17 give much friction or not much at all?
I haven't noticed the saddle limiting movement when riding and I wear lycra too. It isn't slippery, like some saddles, but neither does it lock you in place. I do like to remain fairly seated and positioned 'just right' on my saddle. I would not say it is a racing style, but it is very comfortable.
4 months ago
by
Malc58
Cumbria, UK
 
Probably the lightest, strongest alloy seatpost in the world.
 

Does it fit ??

Hi there ! Does the thomson masterpiece seatpost fit a SELLE ITALIA SLR FIBRA with carbon rails ( oversized 10mm ) ??? PLEASE LET ME KNOW ASAP.. ... CHEERS

BEST REGARDS
I think it will. I have fitted a bontrager RXL Carbon saddle with carbon rails that are not round but 'oval'. You can fit any round rails too.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Malc58
Cumbria, UK
 
Probably the lightest, strongest alloy seatpost in the world.
 

saddle compatability

will a fizik kurve bull saddle with carbon braided rails fit this seatpost clamp system.
Yes it will.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Malc58
Cumbria, UK
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 

will this work on Chris King headset as well as integrated headsets?

How does the quality compare with a Park Tool equivalent?
Yes, but its best to use the Chris King adapter set kit to ensure a perfect job with no risk to the CK headset. I did.

CK headsets are precision engineered and most have an aluminium cup...not a good idea to damage it.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Malc58
Cumbria, UK
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 

Will this headset press work with a 1.5" headset, or are adaptors available? Thanks.

Yes, that's what the stepped chrome sliders are for...they adapt to fit inside the frame.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Malc58
Cumbria, UK
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 

Does this work with press-fit bottom brackets and with 1.5 to 1.1/8 reducer headsets?

Yes it does.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Malc58
Cumbria, UK
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 

will this work on chris king headset without the special chris king headset washers that protect the bearings when pressing

Yes, but it's not recommended. The Chris King headset comes with a 10 year guarantee, will probably last much longer; so why risk it for a few pounds?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Malc58
Cumbria, UK