austroadrider
Top 500 Contributor
Share austroadrider's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
austroadrider's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    13 December 2010
  • Last Review
    04 August 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Answer
    27 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    24 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
austroadrider's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Dura-Ace rear derailleur with lightweight carbon cage and wide link design gives quick accurate shifts, and unmatched drivetrain efficiency.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
best mech derailleur
Posted04 August 2014
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"excellent fast shifting, what else would you expect."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racing only
Posted20 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"So what people want to know is how these compare to gp4000.
They are slightly lighter. They do roll better. Puncture resistance is better, however, both tyres front and back, got a puncture and both were unrepairable= tyres in the bin. Front lasted 300km, rear a few thousand km.
I switched from gp4000 due to poor puncture resistance and poor quality sidewalls. I will keep using these schwalbes a few more times, but summer use only. Conti 4 seasons for winter"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2013
Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2013
Racing 5 are designed for everyday use and training. An optimum proposal from Fulcrum which guarantees excellent quality.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap winter wheels
Posted20 July 2013
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good cheap winter wheels, not a patch on my zeros, winter or training use only."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
Grand Prix 4 Season Fold. Road Tyre (2) and Tubes
2 Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection complete with presta inner tubes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for winter
Posted20 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these tyres for winter riding in perth. So far have only done a few hundred km but they appear much more durable than 4000 or ultremos which both puncture at the sight of glass on the road.
Side wall protection is dramatically better than 4000 and ultremos and the tyres are a bit harder to fit on.
Couldn't really comment on rolling resistance as I put them on some cheap winter wheels, which i bought at the same time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
how can you justify Durace over this?
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"this a solid workhorse of a cassette. This is a consumable part. The ultegra cassette is a fraction of the price of a Dura-ace one. I have Di2 shifters, use a KMC X10-93 chain, and this cassette. Though next time id go for a 23-11 rather than 25-11."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Continental quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good if you need a long valve
Posted24 November 2012
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Personally I would rather the short valves. they look better and are lighter."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High quality replacement inserts for all Shimano cartridge brake road blocks.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
they are ok
Posted24 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"what everyone wants to know:
They are softer than shimano, so they wear easier but wont damage rims as much.
they dont come with replacement grub screws- i need to use pliers on one now.
undecided whether I'll go back to Shimano..."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features, Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 BMC Team Bib Short - 2012
BMC Team Bib Short - 2012
High velocity race bib shorts with the same aerodynamic performance construction and distinctive graphics as worn by the BMC Racing Team in the 2012 UCI pro tour.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
very comfortable
Posted24 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"very nice outfit, comfortable, looks great and fits well. the sizing chart provided is accurate. cant fault it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Park Tools Master Link Pliers are designed to help remove and replace master links in modern chain systems, although not needed when new they are invaluable on a used chain which can become 'stubborn' when attempting to separate the joining link
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
must have
Posted24 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"if you don't like getting your hands covered in grease trying to get the quick link out, then this is for you.
Though for a glorified set of pliers- these are expensive."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The KMC X-bridge configuration guarantees faster shifting and smoother riding.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great chain
Posted24 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
austroadrider
fromPerth, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Main reason I switched to this chain from Shimano is because of the missing link which makes cleaning so much easier.
Keep it well lubricated as I was caught in the rain a few times and surface rust did form afterwards.
Shifting is fairly smooth, but thats likely mostly due to the Di2. In summary, this chain is much cheaper than a duraace chain, and is of similar weight and it features the quick link."
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
austroadrider's Questions
 
austroadrider has not submitted any questions.
 
austroadrider's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd. Also new, is the mega-drive hub flange and a great new graphics makeover.
 

Are tyres generally easy to get on and off these rims?

I've heard lower-end Fulcrum's can be troublesome.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's nothing to do with the wheels. Higher end tyres are softer for better grip. These soft tyres are also easier to fit.
11 months ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Upgrade advice: From 11-25T to 11-28 Ultegra

I have a Mekk 3G Potenza 105 (http://www.mekkbicycles.com/Potenza-SL-5.0-105.aspx) that has Shimano 10 Speed 11-25T cassette. Am I able to upgrade to the Ultegra 11-28 without problems? Should I change the chain at the same time?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yep I would change the chain too
KMc chains are the best
1 year, 1 month ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

If I install this cassette in 11-28t in place of a 105 5700 12-25 cassette will I need to add extra links into my chain?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Depends how tight your chain is anyway, but if its more than a few thousand km you should prob change it anyway
1 year, 1 month ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Upgrading from a Tiagra 12x28, 10-Speed

I have a Giant Defy 1 (2012) and I'm wanting to upgrade from the factory set up (Tiagra 12x28, 10-Speed running 105 shifters and derailleurs). If I upgrade to the Ultegra 6700 10 speed and a suitable chain, do I need to change any other elements of the set up or will this all be compatible?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
That will be fine
1 year, 1 month ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
1mm spacer designed to sit behind your cassette on the hub.
 

Is this the correct spacer to fit a Shimano 105 10-sp cassette to Fulcrum wheels with 11-sp hubs?

I'm looking to buy some Fulcrum wheels with 11-sp hubs but I'm using a 10-sp cassette. My understanding is that I require an additional 1mm spacer over and above the spacer supplied with the wheels in order to fit the cassette correctly.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The wheels come with a spacer for 10sp shimano
1 year, 1 month ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

would this work with my shimano 105 2012 rear derailleur

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes
1 year, 1 month ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

size

If I got 23mm would they fit on Fulcrum racing 7 rims which i think are 24mm. Everyone I ride with has narrower tyres - currently I have michaelin 25mm (?) which look v big. What do you think about thickness of tyre?

ta

Andy
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes,
1 year, 1 month ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Are these the same as Schwalbe Ultremo ZX HD?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes
1 year, 1 month ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

23 or 25mm ?

Does anyone have any comments re 23 v 25mm both in general and for these tyres in particular ? I understand that in general the difference in rolling resistance is minimal so I am inclined to go with 25mm for extra stability ?
Cheers
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
unless your an old woman, go for the 23mm
1 year, 7 months ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Upgrade from 12-25 105 Cassette to 11-23 Ultegra

Received the Ultegra 11-23 Cassette as a gift, it will replace the old 12-25 (105) Cassette. My concern is will there be any chain length issues and will this change make hill climbing much harder than the old 12-25?
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
chain length wont be an issue.

yes the 23 is harder than the 25, how about you go up a hill in your 12-25, but don't use the 25, then you know you'll be right.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
austroadrider
Perth, Australia