LoopyLaura
Top 500 Contributor
Share LoopyLaura's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LoopyLaura's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    26
  • First Review
    14 September 2011
  • Last Review
    06 May 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    23 October 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    18
  • First Answer
    25 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    11 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    6
 
 
LoopyLaura's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Our neatest and most compact chain tool, perfect for mountain, road or commuting use. Works with 5 - 11-speed chains and thanks to its' fold-out peening anvil, this is one of the only portable chain tools that can re-join a Campagnolo 11-speed chain
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy Chain Breaking
Posted06 May 2015
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"As chains have become narrower to cope with more cogs on the back they have also become harder to break. Using my 10 year old chain tool I realised it was just not good enough anymore and would be useless in a chain snapping incident at the side of the road. This tool solves this problem and breaks 10 and 11 speed (Shimano compatible) chains with ease without having to increase the leverage with additional tools. It is small enough to carry in my back pocket tools but it is quite heavy. The only issue I have had with it is that there is a rubber O ring under the threaded section which if you turn it too much will get squashed and sheared off as I found out the hard way. It seems a bit of a design flaw but doesn't actually change the functionality of the tool, I guess it's just there to stop it rattling when folded up. Other than that it is great!"
Pros: Rugged, High Quality
Cons: o ring feature design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Product
Posted24 February 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I'm on my second one of these now as after years of use the plastic gave way where the clips attach which was slightly disappointing but it was probably time for replacement anyway. I use this with the Park Tools CB-2 Citrus Chain Brite and it seems to work very well. Just fill up the reservoir attach it to the chain and back pedal for 80 - 90 revolutions and see a shiny dirt free chain again. For hassle free chain cleaning I have not come across a better solution."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The patented design easily holds front or rear wheel without the risk of scratching rim or spokes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Pretty Good - Some Issues
Posted07 December 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"These stands do as they are supposed to, hold your bike upright and despite the warning in the instructions about the bike falling over if the tyre is flat, this has not happened. If you use butyl innertubes then you will unlikely have any issues with them but if you use latex ones (like most tubulars come with) and are not diligent at keeping the tyres pumped up then this stand will mark your tyres. This is due to the fact that the metal frame at the bottom where your tyre sits has no padding or even width to the edge of the metal so instead, the 1mm thick metal edge will dig into your tyres if they are allowed to go flat and left for a few days. After pumping the tyres back up there is a noticable indentation into the rubber where the stand has been. I have gotten around this problem by firstly trying to keep the tyres inflated but now also use a section of cut up sacrificial old tyre across the bottom of the stand to take the brunt of the indentation should I forget for a few days. I'd recommend this stand for butyl innertube users, but if you use latex it may be better to look elsewhere."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive, marks tyres
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Gain motivating feedback with the Forerunner® 220 GPS running watch featuring distance, pace, and connected features like automatic uploads to Garmin Connect™.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Love The Watch But Has Some Unresolved Issues
Posted26 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"It's funny how this model has had some bad reviews yet the 'premium' model has been raved about when they are essentially the same watch only this one does not come with a heart rate monitor strap. I bought this to replace an old polar watch and wanted the GPS functionality that my old watch lacked. It's been a great purchase, I really like it. I've had no issues with the watch itself, it is lightweight, paired quickly and easily to my existing (non-Garmin) ANT+ HRM strap, and picks up the satellite lock quickly and has never dropped out. The screen is bright and clear, although sometimes I wish I could have 4 pieces of information displayed at once instead of being limited to 3 but it's a minor gripe. The biggest issue I have had is that it does not seem to be compatible with the Samsung Galaxy S3. Connecting via bluetooth with other devices such as a tablet works as it should but it will not sync at all with the S3. Researching this problem on the internet reveals a lot of people having this issue and as of yet it appears to be still unresolved by Garmin, and hence it loses a star from my rating. Other than that this it is a really great running watch."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: samsung galaxy s3 issues
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Fast and simple bike parking solution, Durable and rigid design, Fits all bike designs including models with disc brakes
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works As Expected
Posted26 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"This stand is a simple solution for not having to lean your bike against the wall. It works well with most wheels but does not work with Zipp wheels unless you are prepared to force the hub into the stand."
Pros: Durable
Cons: no zipp wheel compatibility
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It Worked For Me - But Patience Required
Posted07 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Used these to fit Di2 cables to a non-Di2 frame and seem to have stuck well with no issues for the past 6 months. Before applying, it is essential that the area of the frame is properly clean and dry. It took quite a lot of pressure and a few excercises in re-pressing of the sheath to get it to stick properly initially but once it had stuck it stayed put and it has been fine ever since."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Make your bike blinging with these Alloy CNC Valve Caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Colour Co-ordinated Bling!
Posted07 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"These are by no means essential but add bling to your bike and don't break like the plastic ones do. Used them all through the winter last year and they still look as good as new. Just make sure you keep an eye on where you put the cap when fixing a puncture at the side of the road."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: upsets when lost
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A precision-made secure mount for your Garmin Edge/Forerunner that is Compatible with all Edge/Forerunner units that utilise the quarter turn bike mount system, and is fully adjustable for the different size units.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works Well But Prefer The Old Model
Posted07 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Does what it should and holds your Garmin securely out front, but I don't like the lack of adjustability for smaller Garmins such as the 500 which is left stuck out far from the bars and can't be held neatly just in front like the previous model."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Excellent tape for all applications, sufficient for one 28" rim.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works Well
Posted02 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Pro Performance
"I wasn't really looking forward to gluing my Vittoria tubulars to my rims so decided to give this a go. I was surprised how easily it made fitting tubualrs even for a complete novice like me. Just use a bit of care sticking it centrally to the wheel, centre the tubular on the rim, pull the plastic tape out, go for a little ride, done! It took about 10 minutes per wheel. Tufo claim it only works with their own tubulars but it has worked fine with my Vittorias which I tested in a twisty and hilly time trial at the weekend. One box of tape does one wheel, with a few centimetres left over. I will definitely buy more of this!"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mix Master Shaker Sports Drink Mixer
Mix Master Shaker Sports Drink Mixer
A purpose built sports drink mixer with a wide mouth to avoid powder spillage and a secure screw on top. Essential for a smooth, lump-free and tasty energy drink experience.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works Well
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Having persevered with standard cycling bottles for mixing my post workout recovery drinks which never seemed to mix them properly no matter how much I shook them I thought I'd give one fo these a try instead. I haven't been disappointed, it mixes perfectly with less effort than a standard bottle so is definitely a worthwhile purchase. No more lumpy shakes!"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LoopyLaura's Questions
 
 Bkool Turbo Trainer Package With Cadence Sensor
Bkool Turbo Trainer Package With Cadence Sensor
The Bkool Turbo Trainer allows you to connect yourself to routes and riders from around the world. You can share your outdoor rides and indoor sessions with friends and also compete with other Bkool users.
 

Cadence Sensor Removable?

Am I right in thinking that the cadence sensor only works when paired with the BSim software on your PC yet has to be permenantly attached to the bike with cable ties? Or is it removable between indoor sessions?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
 Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
New 2011: Now with the featherlight carbon 2-finger blade and the awesome STORM SL rotor.
 

Postmount Sizing

What does the imperial size, ie 6", 7" etc refer to in the sizing of these brakes? I have postmount front and rear brakes with 160mm rotors on my bike but when measuring to see what size Magura's I might need I can't see what the 6" etc equates to at all! At first I thought it was the rotor size in imperial, but then saw you can get 6" and 7" versions with 160mm rotors so that's that theory out of the window. So how do I know which ones I need to buy? Can you explain please?
 
Products related to my question
Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
LoopyLaura's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

Do I have to buy a new shimano 11 speed cassette

I have a dura ace di2 set up on my main bike. Will I have to buy a 11 speed dura ace cassette to use this bike? I also have a ultegra 10 speed bike, will this work without a new cassette?
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You'll need an 11 speed cassette to use your Di2 bike assuming it is 9070 but it doesn't have to be a Dura Ace one, any Shimano (or SRAM)11 speed will work. The Kickr comes with a 10 speed 11-25 cassette so your Ultegra bike will go straight on with no problems.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Wahoo TICKR X is more than just a heart rate sensor, the X is a full on device free workout tracker. Built in memory allows you to workout without your smartphone and auto-sync later.
 

Can I use with garmin edge 800 ?

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The staff answer is incorrect. As this is dual Bluetooth and ANT+ it will work fine with Garmin devices as any ANT+ HRM should. I have used this with both a Garmin 500 and a Garmin 800 with no problem at all. It can also be connected to both Bluetooth and ANT+ at the same time if you so desire. So the answer to your question is definitely yes!
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

Does this ship with a campagnolo cassette?

I know I need to buy the campagnolo freehub separate but what about the cassette? Could I use my own 10 speed one on there?
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
This only ships with a Shimano cassette. Once you have the Campag freehub then you can use any 9/10/11 speed Campag cassette either a new one or your existing one.
6 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

calibration; computer?

does it need regular calibration / regular maintenance like e.g. power tap? and can i run the session just of my iPhone without using Wahoo computer?
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Wahoo recommend re-calibrating every couple of weeks or after peroids of inactivity. Calibration can be done directly from an iPhone or Android device and is really easy. After warming up for 10 minutes or so, using the Wahoo Utility app pedal the trainer up to 23mph and stop pedalling. Wait for it to spin down and confirm calibration is finished and that's it.
8 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

iphone / mac / app

what apps can i use in conjunction to iPhone apps on my mac computer to control / store data ? i do not use iPad / can i control the whole trainer from my iPhone? can i run trainings from mac book? where can i find demos of apps suitable for this kicker? the website doe snot seem to list any particular apps or compare them?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You can control the Kickr completely via your iPhone using the Wahoo Fitness app which is pretty basic but does allow control of power based workouts. I'm not sure about Mac applications but something like Trainerroad works with Macs. They don't do demos but do a 30 day money back trial instead.
8 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
 CycleOps Powerbeam Pro Trainer
CycleOps Powerbeam Pro Trainer
Cyclops have designed the PowerBeam Pro for the most demanding riders. The PowerBeam Pro offers the ultimate, real-world feel while allowing you to control the variables of training so you can be as efficient as possible.
 

Is the Garmin Edge 800 compatible with the Cycleops Powerbeam Trainer, or must I buy a Joules GPS headset?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've had my Powerbeam connected to my Garmin Edge 800 and Garmin Edge 500 and they have picked up the ANT+ data from the unit with no problems at all.
8 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

Do I need an Ipad / Iphone device for initial set up or can I go straight to a PC based solution with an Ant+ dongle?

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Depending on the PC solution you have in mind you don't need an iPhone / iPad as calibration can be done directly. Trainerroad and Perfpro for instance both have this feature. Also if you have a newer Android device you can use this too so it's not totally limited to Apple products.
8 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
 

Used off the internet?

Can this be used without connecting to the internet? I am aware that it needs power however can I pre-download routes/training plans to use when there is no internet access or does it become a normal 'Power Trainer' that can connect to my phone?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It does not need to be connected to the internet to work but does need a power socket. You can do power based workouts by connecting via bluetooth to a phone / tablet and using the Wahoo Fitness app. It's then up to you what other training software you want to use. Both VirtualTrainer and PerfPro do not need an internet connection to control the trainer and probably others too so definitely no internet connection required to use this trainer.
9 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Shimano 105 5800 groupset has been revamped for 2014/15. Now in 11 speed, these components draw down technology from the Shimano Dura-Ace and Ultegra groupsets.
 

Why is the diff sizes?

What is the diff in sizes (170 and 172,5)? In other words how do i know which one is fit for my bike? Thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
170 or 172.5 refers to the crank length, either will fit your bike, it's more down to which one fits you. Standard is 170mm but if you have longer legs then 172.5 may be better.
10 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Shimano 105 5800 groupset has been revamped for 2014/15. Now in 11 speed, these components draw down technology from the Shimano Dura-Ace and Ultegra groupsets.
 

Front Derailler

Braze on or clamp? or do we have a choice?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's braze on as per the description:

Shimano 105 5800 Braze- on Front Derailleur
10 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford