LoopyLaura
Share LoopyLaura's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LoopyLaura's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    19
  • First Review
    14 September 2011
  • Last Review
    02 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    02 September 2011
  • Last Question
    23 October 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    25 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    02 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
LoopyLaura's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Excellent tape for all applications, sufficient for one 28" rim.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works Well
Posted02 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Pro Performance
"I wasn't really looking forward to gluing my Vittoria tubulars to my rims so decided to give this a go. I was surprised how easily it made fitting tubualrs even for a complete novice like me. Just use a bit of care sticking it centrally to the wheel, centre the tubular on the rim, pull the plastic tape out, go for a little ride, done! It took about 10 minutes per wheel. Tufo claim it only works with their own tubulars but it has worked fine with my Vittorias which I tested in a twisty and hilly time trial at the weekend. One box of tape does one wheel, with a few centimetres left over. I will definitely buy more of this!"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A purpose built sports drink mixer with a wide mouth to avoid powder spillage and a secure screw on top. Essential for a smooth, lump-free and tasty energy drink experience.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works Well
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Having persevered with standard cycling bottles for mixing my post workout recovery drinks which never seemed to mix them properly no matter how much I shook them I thought I'd give one fo these a try instead. I haven't been disappointed, it mixes perfectly with less effort than a standard bottle so is definitely a worthwhile purchase. No more lumpy shakes!"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Zegho is the most advanced cycling specific eyewear available. Developed in partnership between Assos Centro Studio and Carl Zeiss Vision Sunlens, Zegho feels different to any other sunglasses you have ever worn. Engineered for pure performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Utterly Fantastic
Posted15 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I was sceptical about these given the price but thought I'd give them a try as I felt I wasn't getting good enough all round vision and was getting watering eyes on fast descents with my current glasses. Having used them a few times now I am really glad I bought them, so much so that I have had to also buy the Werkmannschaft dark version too. They give completely distortion free all round vision and are particularly good when looking back over your shoulder. They have also solved the watering eyes on descent problem I was having. It has taken a few attempts to get the adjustable nosepiece right for me but now that it is, they are extremely comfortable, stay put and are so light that you forget you are wearing them. The yellow lens is best for brightening up dull overcast days but I have also used them for night riding and when the sun has come out they have not been a problem either. One added bonus I have found with them is that on descents you can get into a really low streamlined position and still see clearly. If I'd tried that with my old glasses I'd only have been albe to see frame! Overall these glasses are brilliant, I love them!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, no interchangeable lenses
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
Based on the standard SS.Lady and designed with eye-catching colours, this jersey is all about comfort. The ergonomic pattern design will help keep you comfortable in the saddle for longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely!
Posted22 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Pro Performance
"I was getting bored of the 'standard' Assos colours which for the most part are just the same as the mens, so was pleased to see something different from Assos just for us ladies. The new designs have taken a bit of getting used to but look a lot better in reality. I have the Violetta which is bright and vibrant which I really like and has received positve comments when worn. Fit wise the cut is the same as the SS.Lady but the pockets on the back have been changed. The side pockets appear slightly smaller to accommodate a wider double layered middle pocket which now seems just the right size to fill with energy gels. As with all Assos stuff the sizing is on the small side but seems true to the female Assos size chart.
The design / colour names are not intuitive so for clarity they are:
Violetta: Dark blue and bright pink shoulders
Adua: Orange shoulders
Norma: White and grey shoulders"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
An elastic, waterproof and breathable helmet cover, ideal for all-weather commuters who dare to brave the downpours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Great Purchase
Posted24 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I've just tested this helmet cover by riding for 90 mintues in heavy rain and it kept my head warm and bone dry. It seems to be true to size and the medium (54-58cm) fits my medium size Giro (55-59cm) helmet well. Overall it was a great purchase, the only down side to it is that it makes you look like your wearing a french beret!"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, beret-esque
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Muc-Off have now added Nano technology to their award winning cleaning formula. The Nano sized particles will remove dirt and grime from even the tightest surfaces with even less effort! Please note: pouring spout not supplied.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tap Included!
Posted20 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I was a bit wary about buying this due to other reviews stating that it didn't come with the tap as shown in the picture, but then the cost of buying 1 litre bottles of this fabulous bike cleaner got the better of me and I decided to buy this now and then utilise strong friends when it came to filling up the smaller bottles, but there is now no need for extra help as I was pleasantly surprised to find the tap was included in the parcel. The delivery man didn't look happy though, I don't think he was in the mood for a 25Kg workout!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, it's pink
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Concentrated carbohydrate energy in a convenient fast-flow gel, SiS GO Isotonic is the world's first and only isotonic energy gel with a unique patented formulation.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love 'Em!
Posted18 November 2012
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"These are great and I never ride without one in my pocket. They are easy to get down, don't require additional water and give me that extra boost I need whilst out riding sometimes. I like the flavour of the orange and blackcurrant ones but wasn't so keen on the tropical flavour so will give that one a miss in future."
Pros: High Quality, taste nice, easily digested
Cons: Expensive, limited flavours
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies LL.Habu Unpadded Bib Tights
Ladies LL.Habu Unpadded Bib Tights
The all new LL.Habu Lady bib tight is a lightweight, full-length bib-tight made from soft, insulated, ASSOS 607 and airblock fabrics. Specially tailored for women, LL 607 Lady is perfect for Spring/Fall, or moderate days that threaten to get colder.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good... Eventually
Posted17 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I bought these bacause I don't really like padded tights, I find it much more comfortable to wear shorts underneath and this also means I don't have to spend £100s of pounds on multiple pairs or constantly have the washing machine on. Anyway having used these tights for a few weeks I have decided I do like them but found them to be a bit peculiar in the beginning. This is down to the fact that because they use different materials in different sections of the tights there is a seam that runs right across your knee so you have to be careful to get them on exactly right or the seam can be felt pulling on your knee every time you pedal which started to irritate my kneecap after a while. On the plus side, once they are on properly they feel good, and are not restricitve at all whilst keeping my legs warm down to about 5 degrees, so these will be good for early winter / spring rides but not for freezing cold winter rides when it will then be time to swap to the Assos Uma tights instead."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
PALLADIO is the seatpost that solves the adjustment problem. PALLADIO lets you set the saddle very precisely - to within a half-degree of rotation - and lock it down securely at exactly the right angle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Patience Is A Virtue
Posted16 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Pro Performance
"It's funny how the Palladio Team edition has 4.5 stars but the Ltd currently only has 2 when it's essentially the same post albeit a bit lighter and a bit more expensive. Anyway, this post looks great on my bike, it's just at the right height for all of the writing to be visible so looks pretty snazzy. It has roughened carbon on the bottom section to help stop it slipping and weighs in at 180 grams on my scales for the 270mm x 31.6 version.
It seems that the issues with this sadlle are, firstly that it doesn't fit oval carbon rails. This is no longer an issue, as 3T have realeased an oval difflock kit to solve this problem, although it doesn't seem to be available on here presently (Come on Wiggle!) The second issue is the adjustability of the saddle angle. Yes this is fiddly, but reading the instructions and getting your head around how to adjust the angle by 0.5 of a degree helps a lot, otherwise you'll just be adjusting it by random angles and are never going to get it right! The good news is that once it's set it's not going to move, so a bit of patience here will reap dividends, and lets face it, once it's set up are you ever going to want to adjust it's angle again?
Overall this is a great looking lightweight post and I'd definitely recommend it."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, can fit carbon rails
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 XCR Monocoque Carbon 15 mm Layback Seatpost
XCR Monocoque Carbon 15 mm Layback Seatpost
"No-compromise" lightweight and strong XC-Racing seatpost.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice Post But Patience Required!
Posted30 June 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"This post looks good and appears to be one of the few 27.2 posts that are available in 400mm length. It weighs in at 215 grams The issue I had with it was getting the post to attach to the seat rails. It was like it was designed for seat rails that were smaller than standard! Once the seat clamp brackets were in place, it seemed like they didn't quite line up with each other to get the bolts started to secure it all together. I was worried that I was going to end up cross threading the bolts as they were not straight with the other side bracket. After much frustration I was on the verge of sending this back to Wiggle when I finally managed to get one of the bolts started and all was OK after that but I dread having to remove the saddle ever again!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, clamp design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LoopyLaura's Questions
 
The Bkool Turbo Trainer allows you to connect yourself to routes and riders from around the world. You can share your outdoor rides and indoor sessions with friends and also compete with other Bkool users.
 

Cadence Sensor Removable?

Am I right in thinking that the cadence sensor only works when paired with the BSim software on your PC yet has to be permenantly attached to the bike with cable ties? Or is it removable between indoor sessions?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
 Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
New 2011: Now with the featherlight carbon 2-finger blade and the awesome STORM SL rotor.
 

Postmount Sizing

What does the imperial size, ie 6", 7" etc refer to in the sizing of these brakes? I have postmount front and rear brakes with 160mm rotors on my bike but when measuring to see what size Magura's I might need I can't see what the 6" etc equates to at all! At first I thought it was the rotor size in imperial, but then saw you can get 6" and 7" versions with 160mm rotors so that's that theory out of the window. So how do I know which ones I need to buy? Can you explain please?
 
Products related to my question
Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
LoopyLaura's Answers
 
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 

Installing a freehub body.

I am running Ksyrium Elite S Wheels with an Ultegra 6700 10-Speed Cassette,11-28T.
Is it possible to remove the 10-Speed Freehub body and install an 11-Speed Freehub body? So that an 11-32T cassette can be fitted.
If so,does the cage need to be changed,and a longer chain fitted?
Thank you.
Best answer
You don't need to swap the freehub body for these wheels to work with 11 speed. Mavic wheels are already 11 speed compatible due to the freehub historically being designed to work with Mavic's own cassettes which are wider than Shimano. All you need to do is remove the cassette from the freehub, and behind it you should find a spacer. Remove this spacer and install your 11 speed cassette. Sorted! For an 11-32T cassette you would need a medium cage derailleur instead of short cage and probably need to add a few links to your chain too.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
Zegho is the most advanced cycling specific eyewear available. Developed in partnership between Assos Centro Studio and Carl Zeiss Vision Sunlens, Zegho feels different to any other sunglasses you have ever worn. Engineered for pure performance.
 

different between wekmannschaft & Noire

Since Noire is a bit expensive than Wekmannschaft,
1. what is the different between them?
2. Regarding the light permission, which one is darker?
3. what % of light permission are they?
4. What accessories go with them?

Thank you very much.
1. what is the different between them?

It's purely the colour of the frame. They both use the same dark lens

2. Regarding the light permission, which one is darker?

They both use the same lens so are equally dark

3. what % of light permission are they?

Don't know, but they work well in bright sunlight.

4. What accessories go with them?

A case, cleaning cloth and a band to hold them on your head if you need it.
11 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
Introducing CycleOps PowerCal, the worlds' first-ever power meter calculated from heart rate. ANT+ compatible, simple to set up and easy to use. So if you're ready to take your performance to the next level, PowerCal can help get you there.
 

to Wiggle Staff-Is this the new one or the old one?

The new one doesn't come with the calibration stick & doesn't need calibration. Is this the one which requires calibration???

Thanks
Kaushik
I'm not Wiggle staff, but having just purchased 2 of these I can confirm that they are the new version and do not include a calibration stick or need any calibration. Put it on, pair it and ride!
1 year, 3 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
An elastic, waterproof and breathable helmet cover, ideal for all-weather commuters who dare to brave the downpours.
 

wha's the correct size for a helmet in medium(56-60) size?

for giro helmet's
The medium (54-58cm) should fit fine.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
PALLADIO is the seatpost that solves the adjustment problem. PALLADIO lets you set the saddle very precisely - to within a half-degree of rotation - and lock it down securely at exactly the right angle
 

Why can't you use a carbon rail saddle?

How strange....why can't you use a carbon rail saddle with this expensive 3T seat-post. I would of thought, a carbon railed saddle would be a natural choice with a seat-post like this!
You can now, there is a replacement difflock kit available to accomodate oval carbon rails.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
With the introduction of S7, the legendary ASSOS legWarmers have been completely re-engineered, making them more technical, more versatile and better performing.
 

Do the leg warmers have an ankle zip

Do the leg warmers have an ankle zip
No they don't
1 year, 10 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford