LoopyLaura
Top 1000 Contributor
Share LoopyLaura's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LoopyLaura's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    14 September 2011
  • Last Review
    26 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    02 September 2011
  • Last Question
    23 October 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Answer
    25 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    26 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
LoopyLaura's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Gain motivating feedback with the Forerunner® 220 GPS running watch featuring distance, pace, and connected features like automatic uploads to Garmin Connect™.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Love The Watch But Has Some Unresolved Issues
Posted26 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"It's funny how this model has had some bad reviews yet the 'premium' model has been raved about when they are essentially the same watch only this one does not come with a heart rate monitor strap. I bought this to replace an old polar watch and wanted the GPS functionality that my old watch lacked. It's been a great purchase, I really like it. I've had no issues with the watch itself, it is lightweight, paired quickly and easily to my existing (non-Garmin) ANT+ HRM strap, and picks up the satellite lock quickly and has never dropped out. The screen is bright and clear, although sometimes I wish I could have 4 pieces of information displayed at once instead of being limited to 3 but it's a minor gripe. The biggest issue I have had is that it does not seem to be compatible with the Samsung Galaxy S3. Connecting via bluetooth with other devices such as a tablet works as it should but it will not sync at all with the S3. Researching this problem on the internet reveals a lot of people having this issue and as of yet it appears to be still unresolved by Garmin, and hence it loses a star from my rating. Other than that this it is a really great running watch."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: samsung galaxy s3 issues
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Fast and simple bike parking solution, Durable and rigid design, Fits all bike designs including models with disc brakes
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works As Expected
Posted26 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"This stand is a simple solution for not having to lean your bike against the wall. It works well with most wheels but does not work with Zipp wheels unless you are prepared to force the hub into the stand."
Pros: Durable
Cons: no zipp wheel compatibility
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It Worked For Me - But Patience Required
Posted07 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Used these to fit Di2 cables to a non-Di2 frame and seem to have stuck well with no issues for the past 6 months. Before applying, it is essential that the area of the frame is properly clean and dry. It took quite a lot of pressure and a few excercises in re-pressing of the sheath to get it to stick properly initially but once it had stuck it stayed put and it has been fine ever since."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Make your bike blinging with these Alloy CNC Valve Caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Colour Co-ordinated Bling!
Posted07 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"These are by no means essential but add bling to your bike and don't break like the plastic ones do. Used them all through the winter last year and they still look as good as new. Just make sure you keep an eye on where you put the cap when fixing a puncture at the side of the road."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: upsets when lost
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A precision-made secure mount for your Garmin Edge/Forerunner that is Compatible with all Edge/Forerunner units that utilise the quarter turn bike mount system, and is fully adjustable for the different size units.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works Well But Prefer The Old Model
Posted07 October 2014
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Does what it should and holds your Garmin securely out front, but I don't like the lack of adjustability for smaller Garmins such as the 500 which is left stuck out far from the bars and can't be held neatly just in front like the previous model."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Excellent tape for all applications, sufficient for one 28" rim.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works Well
Posted02 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Pro Performance
"I wasn't really looking forward to gluing my Vittoria tubulars to my rims so decided to give this a go. I was surprised how easily it made fitting tubualrs even for a complete novice like me. Just use a bit of care sticking it centrally to the wheel, centre the tubular on the rim, pull the plastic tape out, go for a little ride, done! It took about 10 minutes per wheel. Tufo claim it only works with their own tubulars but it has worked fine with my Vittorias which I tested in a twisty and hilly time trial at the weekend. One box of tape does one wheel, with a few centimetres left over. I will definitely buy more of this!"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mix Master Shaker Sports Drink Mixer
Mix Master Shaker Sports Drink Mixer
A purpose built sports drink mixer with a wide mouth to avoid powder spillage and a secure screw on top. Essential for a smooth, lump-free and tasty energy drink experience.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works Well
Posted17 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Having persevered with standard cycling bottles for mixing my post workout recovery drinks which never seemed to mix them properly no matter how much I shook them I thought I'd give one fo these a try instead. I haven't been disappointed, it mixes perfectly with less effort than a standard bottle so is definitely a worthwhile purchase. No more lumpy shakes!"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Zegho is the most advanced cycling specific eyewear available. Developed in partnership between Assos Centro Studio and Carl Zeiss Vision Sunlens, Zegho feels different to any other sunglasses you have ever worn. Engineered for pure performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Utterly Fantastic
Posted15 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I was sceptical about these given the price but thought I'd give them a try as I felt I wasn't getting good enough all round vision and was getting watering eyes on fast descents with my current glasses. Having used them a few times now I am really glad I bought them, so much so that I have had to also buy the Werkmannschaft dark version too. They give completely distortion free all round vision and are particularly good when looking back over your shoulder. They have also solved the watering eyes on descent problem I was having. It has taken a few attempts to get the adjustable nosepiece right for me but now that it is, they are extremely comfortable, stay put and are so light that you forget you are wearing them. The yellow lens is best for brightening up dull overcast days but I have also used them for night riding and when the sun has come out they have not been a problem either. One added bonus I have found with them is that on descents you can get into a really low streamlined position and still see clearly. If I'd tried that with my old glasses I'd only have been albe to see frame! Overall these glasses are brilliant, I love them!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, no interchangeable lenses
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
Based on the standard SS.Lady and designed with eye-catching colours, this jersey is all about comfort. The ergonomic pattern design will help keep you comfortable in the saddle for longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely!
Posted22 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Pro Performance
"I was getting bored of the 'standard' Assos colours which for the most part are just the same as the mens, so was pleased to see something different from Assos just for us ladies. The new designs have taken a bit of getting used to but look a lot better in reality. I have the Violetta which is bright and vibrant which I really like and has received positve comments when worn. Fit wise the cut is the same as the SS.Lady but the pockets on the back have been changed. The side pockets appear slightly smaller to accommodate a wider double layered middle pocket which now seems just the right size to fill with energy gels. As with all Assos stuff the sizing is on the small side but seems true to the female Assos size chart.
The design / colour names are not intuitive so for clarity they are:
Violetta: Dark blue and bright pink shoulders
Adua: Orange shoulders
Norma: White and grey shoulders"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal Gore-Tex Helmet Cover
Gore Bike Wear Universal Gore-Tex Helmet Cover
An elastic, waterproof and breathable helmet cover, ideal for all-weather commuters who dare to brave the downpours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Great Purchase
Posted24 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LoopyLaura
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I've just tested this helmet cover by riding for 90 mintues in heavy rain and it kept my head warm and bone dry. It seems to be true to size and the medium (54-58cm) fits my medium size Giro (55-59cm) helmet well. Overall it was a great purchase, the only down side to it is that it makes you look like your wearing a french beret!"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, beret-esque
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LoopyLaura's Questions
 
The Bkool Turbo Trainer allows you to connect yourself to routes and riders from around the world. You can share your outdoor rides and indoor sessions with friends and also compete with other Bkool users.
 

Cadence Sensor Removable?

Am I right in thinking that the cadence sensor only works when paired with the BSim software on your PC yet has to be permenantly attached to the bike with cable ties? Or is it removable between indoor sessions?
2 years ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
 Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
New 2011: Now with the featherlight carbon 2-finger blade and the awesome STORM SL rotor.
 

Postmount Sizing

What does the imperial size, ie 6", 7" etc refer to in the sizing of these brakes? I have postmount front and rear brakes with 160mm rotors on my bike but when measuring to see what size Magura's I might need I can't see what the 6" etc equates to at all! At first I thought it was the rotor size in imperial, but then saw you can get 6" and 7" versions with 160mm rotors so that's that theory out of the window. So how do I know which ones I need to buy? Can you explain please?
 
Products related to my question
Marta SL Magnesium Disc Brake with Storm SL Rotor
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
LoopyLaura's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

calibration; computer?

does it need regular calibration / regular maintenance like e.g. power tap? and can i run the session just of my iPhone without using Wahoo computer?
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Wahoo recommend re-calibrating every couple of weeks or after peroids of inactivity. Calibration can be done directly from an iPhone or Android device and is really easy. After warming up for 10 minutes or so, using the Wahoo Utility app pedal the trainer up to 23mph and stop pedalling. Wait for it to spin down and confirm calibration is finished and that's it.
3 weeks, 5 days ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

iphone / mac / app

what apps can i use in conjunction to iPhone apps on my mac computer to control / store data ? i do not use iPad / can i control the whole trainer from my iPhone? can i run trainings from mac book? where can i find demos of apps suitable for this kicker? the website doe snot seem to list any particular apps or compare them?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You can control the Kickr completely via your iPhone using the Wahoo Fitness app which is pretty basic but does allow control of power based workouts. I'm not sure about Mac applications but something like Trainerroad works with Macs. They don't do demos but do a 30 day money back trial instead.
3 weeks, 5 days ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
Cyclops have designed the PowerBeam Pro for the most demanding riders. The PowerBeam Pro offers the ultimate, real-world feel while allowing you to control the variables of training so you can be as efficient as possible.
 

Is the Garmin Edge 800 compatible with the Cycleops Powerbeam Trainer, or must I buy a Joules GPS headset?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I've had my Powerbeam connected to my Garmin Edge 800 and Garmin Edge 500 and they have picked up the ANT+ data from the unit with no problems at all.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

Do I need an Ipad / Iphone device for initial set up or can I go straight to a PC based solution with an Ant+ dongle?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Depending on the PC solution you have in mind you don't need an iPhone / iPad as calibration can be done directly. Trainerroad and Perfpro for instance both have this feature. Also if you have a newer Android device you can use this too so it's not totally limited to Apple products.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
 

Used off the internet?

Can this be used without connecting to the internet? I am aware that it needs power however can I pre-download routes/training plans to use when there is no internet access or does it become a normal 'Power Trainer' that can connect to my phone?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It does not need to be connected to the internet to work but does need a power socket. You can do power based workouts by connecting via bluetooth to a phone / tablet and using the Wahoo Fitness app. It's then up to you what other training software you want to use. Both VirtualTrainer and PerfPro do not need an internet connection to control the trainer and probably others too so definitely no internet connection required to use this trainer.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Shimano 105 5800 groupset has been revamped for 2014/15. Now in 11 speed, these components draw down technology from the Shimano Dura-Ace and Ultegra groupsets.
 

Why is the diff sizes?

What is the diff in sizes (170 and 172,5)? In other words how do i know which one is fit for my bike? Thanks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
170 or 172.5 refers to the crank length, either will fit your bike, it's more down to which one fits you. Standard is 170mm but if you have longer legs then 172.5 may be better.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Shimano 105 5800 groupset has been revamped for 2014/15. Now in 11 speed, these components draw down technology from the Shimano Dura-Ace and Ultegra groupsets.
 

Front Derailler

Braze on or clamp? or do we have a choice?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's braze on as per the description:

Shimano 105 5800 Braze- on Front Derailleur
3 months, 1 week ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
The Ultegra 6800 11 speed cassette is the new offering from Shimano enabling you to use wider ratios. The lightweight HG-EV cassette has rigid alloy sprocket carrier for reduced weight and better shifting performance, even under demanding gear changes.
 

Installing a freehub body.

I am running Ksyrium Elite S Wheels with an Ultegra 6700 10-Speed Cassette,11-28T.
Is it possible to remove the 10-Speed Freehub body and install an 11-Speed Freehub body? So that an 11-32T cassette can be fitted.
If so,does the cage need to be changed,and a longer chain fitted?
Thank you.
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You don't need to swap the freehub body for these wheels to work with 11 speed. Mavic wheels are already 11 speed compatible due to the freehub historically being designed to work with Mavic's own cassettes which are wider than Shimano. All you need to do is remove the cassette from the freehub, and behind it you should find a spacer. Remove this spacer and install your 11 speed cassette. Sorted! For an 11-32T cassette you would need a medium cage derailleur instead of short cage and probably need to add a few links to your chain too.
11 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
Zegho is the most advanced cycling specific eyewear available. Developed in partnership between Assos Centro Studio and Carl Zeiss Vision Sunlens, Zegho feels different to any other sunglasses you have ever worn. Engineered for pure performance.
 

different between wekmannschaft & Noire

Since Noire is a bit expensive than Wekmannschaft,
1. what is the different between them?
2. Regarding the light permission, which one is darker?
3. what % of light permission are they?
4. What accessories go with them?

Thank you very much.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
1. what is the different between them?

It's purely the colour of the frame. They both use the same dark lens

2. Regarding the light permission, which one is darker?

They both use the same lens so are equally dark

3. what % of light permission are they?

Don't know, but they work well in bright sunlight.

4. What accessories go with them?

A case, cleaning cloth and a band to hold them on your head if you need it.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford
 
 PowerCal
PowerCal
Introducing CycleOps PowerCal, the worlds' first-ever power meter calculated from heart rate. ANT+ compatible, simple to set up and easy to use. So if you're ready to take your performance to the next level, PowerCal can help get you there.
 

to Wiggle Staff-Is this the new one or the old one?

The new one doesn't come with the calibration stick & doesn't need calibration. Is this the one which requires calibration???

Thanks
Kaushik
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm not Wiggle staff, but having just purchased 2 of these I can confirm that they are the new version and do not include a calibration stick or need any calibration. Put it on, pair it and ride!
1 year, 10 months ago
by
LoopyLaura
Oxford