adm1
Top 250 Contributor
Share adm1's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
adm1's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    234
  • First Review
    04 January 2011
  • Last Review
    05 July 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 December 2010
  • Last Question
    01 December 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    None
  • Last Answer
    None
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
adm1's Reviews
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good comfy shorts!
Posted05 July 2011
adm1
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a pair of these a couple of months ago as I didn't want to spend £150 on another pair of Assos F1 Mille bibs.
These are a nicely constructed short, very comfortable and they use a Chamois pad from Cytech which is the same manufacturer as the Assos although not quite as thick and supportive. Still - good enough for the 100 mile ride I did on Sunday, so you shouldn't need more.
The styling of these is pretty good too. They look great and just seem to get out of the way when you wear them - which to me is what shorts should do.
If you take these shorts and a pair of Assos and examine them together, you can see that the Assos products are made using "better" material and more thought - however, they are also twice the price!
You may think that comparing these to Assos isn't really fair due to the price difference, but as they are DHB's top end product, I think it's a fair comparison.
The bottom (no pun intended) line is that these are a well made, comfortable and stylish bib short suitable for long days in the saddle.
I recommend them as a cost effective, high end bib short."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Equipe Short Sleeve Jersey
Equipe Short Sleeve Jersey
ASSOS researched, selected and designed a lineup of so-called "fast colors" for its discerning customers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just a good, solid jersey
Posted03 May 2011
adm1
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a good, high performing, well made jersey from Assos. It's a lot cheaper than most of their stuff too - so comes highly recommended as it's not much more than many of the mid-range stuff out there.
Fit is good, and the jersey is excellent at wicking sweat away and remaining dry during long rides. It's very, very comfortable too and the three back pockets plus the extra zipped pocket carry pretty much everything.
Construction quality is excellent - mine has been washed almost every day for the last couple of months and is as good as new.
I like this so much I am going to buy another one...."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A great value trainer
Posted04 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
adm1
fromGuildford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Turbo trainers aren't really awe-inspiring objects by themselves. In fact, they are more objects of torture. However, given the English winter weather, they are a necessary evil if you want to keep or even build your fitness over the winter months.
With that said, this is a great trainer. It's exceedingly simple, solidly built and just oozes quality. It's also at a great price point - a fluid trainer for the same price as many of the electromagnetic ones. Top marks for value.
It's heavy and comes in a big box - you won't sneak it in past an unaware partner. It's very easy to set up - simply bolt the fluid roller unit to the frame - 4 Allen bolts, and even an Allen key provided by the thoughtful people at Elite. That's it for the setup of the trainer itself.
Then you just need to replace the quick release skewer in your rear wheel with the one provided ( maybe a one minute job....no need to remove the wheel) and you are ready to put the bike onto the trainer and ride. The rear skewer fits into a cup on one side of the trainer, then you just turn the handle to secure the bike in the frame, turn another three quarters of a turn to secure it and flip the locking collar, then you can climb on. It's rock solid. The frame is hefty steel with tasteful graphics and you feel really secure on the bike.
There's no need to move the roller unit up against the rear wheel, or adjust the tension at all - your weight pushes the bike wheel onto the roller at just the right tension, so there's absolutely no adjustment of the trainer needed - it's all done by the gears on your bike. Awesome. No need to route a remote mechanism or add anything to the bike at all. It couldn't be any simpler or more consistent.
Once you are set up and on the bike, the first thing you'll probably notice is the lack of noise. This thing is quiet. Really quiet. I've been using it on a carpeted floor and it's easy to hear music or video from my laptop four feet in front of the bike. It's also a very smooth ride and because the resistance is adjusted by the gears of the bike there's a full range from "easy" to "ouch". You won't beat this trainer......it just ramps up the difficulty as you go through the gears.
Anyway.....I can't rate this highly enough. It's tough, looks good, is well built, is as simple to set up and use as is possible and it will give you as much of a workout as you want. Every time. Which is great when it's raining outside! It even folds flat when you want to store it somewhere.
I will mention that there are a couple of accessories you might want to buy at the same time as this (or any other trainer). The first is a riser block for the front wheel so your bike is flat (or tilted up a bit to simulate a climb). I'm currently using a phone book, which works fine, but I think I'll buy the riser block anyway. The second is a "bike thong" to protect your bike from all the sweat that use of this trainer will produce. Neither is essential, but they are both "nice to have" items.
Finally, turbo training is essentially boring - so I'd recommend something to keep you interested and motivated. I've been using the "Spinervals" DVD series of workout videos. These are fun, and very hard work. But they certainly keep you motivated as you feel you are training with other athletes - and they are suffering too!
Anyway.....the bottom line on this product is a "highly recommended". I couldn't really ask for more from a trainer in this price range. It does exactly what it says on the tin."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, quiet, simple to use
+188points
232of 276voted this as helpful.
 
adm1's Questions
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

43" chest, 5'8" height - what size to order?

I am fairly short (5'8"), with a 43" chest and 34" waist. What size should I order this jersey in? Thanks!
3 years, 9 months ago
by
adm1
 
adm1's Answers
 
adm1 has not submitted any answers.