DarkSquirr3l
Share DarkSquirr3l's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DarkSquirr3l's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    15 March 2011
  • Last Review
    15 November 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    11 August 2011
  • Last Question
    11 August 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    17 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    17 July 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DarkSquirr3l's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Run Shimano Hollowtech-II cranks in your BB30 frame.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy to fit, precisely machined.
Posted15 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this to upgrade my Spesh Allez Race 2014 to allow me to use a Ultegra Hollowtech II front crank.
C clips were already in the frame, so I first fitted the BB30 bearings to the adapters, which was easy enough to do by hand. Once on they were a snug fit, and were not loose.
Then applied some GT85 inside the frame, and to the outside of the bearings, and used a block of wood and a hammer to force the adapter and bracket assembly into the frame. No more than 5 taps each side and they were in.
Crank went straight in, with no need for spacers, and rides really well, no issues.
Can easily be re-used and see no reason why they shouldn't last forever."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Garmin ANT+ Sport Heart rate monitor chest strap for Forenunner 50 and 405.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
just don't buy the soft strap!
Posted14 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have a garmin edge 800, which came with the soft strap HRM. worked great to strat with but afetr 3-4months started to drop out during training sessions. As I train with HR there is nothing worse thn unreliable HR data.
Have been using this strap for 2-3 months now, and it has not missed a beat, feels a lot more sturdy than the soft strap, and will have none of the problems with connections breaking within the elastic as it is built entirely differently.
Ws initially concerned this would be a lot less comfortable than the soft strap, and it certainly is not. You can feel it, and you don't forget it's there, but it does not hurt, and does not dig in on long rides.
A little expensive, but cheaper than the soft strap nd you won't have to replace it...no brainer"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Basic Bottle Cage
Basic Bottle Cage
One piece injection moulded construction bottle cage
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap & Effective
Posted17 July 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have two of these, and they fit my SIS bottles perfectly. They are cheap, don't look too bad, weigh ver little and hold a water bottle.
Have read peoples reviews saying they break too easily and are not good quality...don't take your bootle out side ways and more importantly don't overtighten them when you put them on. They have a suprisingly large amount of flex, you just have to be sensible, they only cost a few pund after all.
Well worth the money, will be buying again should I ever need to,"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Must Have Item
Posted17 July 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Always have a tube or two of these around.
They are an incredibly useful product, whether it be for an epic endurance ride lasting half the day, a blast in the blazing sunshine (rare i know), or if your breaking the pain barrier indoors.
All the flavours are good, if a little weak for one tablet, but they combine well with any like flavoured squash. I do however prefer the neutral one's after much experimentation.
My favourite use for them is when training indoors. I can sweat so much when doing intervals, that without these tabs im sweating pure water by the hour mark. As I drink so much i tend to use 50% concentration of my chosen energy drink with half of one of these tabs, and the comibination of the two keep me going until the warm downs done.
Would recommend to anyone, as they are the best value electrolyte replacement product i've found, are great quality and you have a choice of flavours aswell. Plus I like the way they fizz!!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendor. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bought in error
Posted10 July 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"bought in error thinking it was brake cable inner, plenty of length on it for a straddle wire, so will need to be clipped...not quite enough to stretch to the back wheel though!!
Return accepted and refund processed quickly by wiggle as expected, another happy customer."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
If you like end caps, you'll like these
Posted27 June 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"They fit any cable that requires a cap, they're cheap, they don't split, they're easy to fit, and the packaging looks good and is easy to find when you need them.
Fantastic product...well done Transfil"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
They work - but not in the rain!
Posted27 June 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Brilliant patches if yur indoors or in the blazing sunshine! Sadly both of these things are usually lacking on a bike ride in our fantastic british climate.
If these patches, or the tube have the smallest amount of water on them, or dust or dirt, they will not stick properly.
I liked these patches and have been using them for the last six months, but enough is enough, I need something more reliable.
So long super patch...it's been emotional!!!"
Cons: Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit, not sticky enough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 PSP22 High Energy Sports Fuel Original 2.7kg Tub
PSP22 High Energy Sports Fuel Original 2.7kg Tub
High level carbohydrate drink for before, during and after exerciseNeutral flavour so you can add what ever flavour takes your fancy, (we recomend non-alcohol based!)Makes 27 litres at 100g of powder per litre of water
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Far too expensive for waht it is!
Posted05 June 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having used SIS Rego for some time and found it to be a very good product, PSP22 was my first choice for an energy drink for longer rides and racing.
When I recieved the procuct I realised it was just pure maltodextrin, 100%.
Maltodextrin is not worth what is being asked for by SIS.
Also the SIS bottles do not have a 50g serving marker on them, which makes sticking to the 50g recommended servings recommended on the bottle a little difficult to stick to.
I have found filling a mesuring jug to the 100ml mark is the most accurate way to get 50g though, which should help you to measure your maltodextrin wherever you chosse to buy it from :)"
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Value Tyres
Posted05 June 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great tyres tht look the part and do the job. Have doen 1500 miles on them and only had one puncture, which is much better than my last kenda nylon set...which were pants.
They look good on the bike and the wide choice of colours will go well with any bike, the only downside is that they wear out relatively quickly. I had to swap them over after 1,000 miles as the back one was starting to square.
I love the tyres and although they do wear out a little quick for my liking, £20 every two months isn't doing the bank balance much damage at all."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 KryptoLok Series 2 ATB Wide 22.9cm Bike D Lock
KryptoLok Series 2 ATB Wide 22.9cm Bike D Lock
Bicycle security for moderate to high crime areas, with a standard length shackle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Bike Lock
Posted05 June 2011
DarkSquirr3l
fromCardiff
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great value bike lock that does the job. It's easy to fit, and I have managed to lock my bike to a wide variety of things - from the standard bike racks and metal fences to trees and park benches.
The lock is quite weighty, but it's to be expected, im not planning on racing with it. The only other downside is that it does not fit on the frame of my bike due to my water bottle cages, however it does fit comforatbly in my rucksack.
Definitly worth a bit more cash for the added security and great built quality."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
DarkSquirr3l's Questions
 
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

How many miles do you get out of these tyres?

I am currently on gatorskins and have just reached 1250 miles and am in need of swapping the tyres as the rear is just starting to lose its curveature, rekon i'll easily get another 1250 out of them. Just wanted an idea of how long these tyres have lasted for people to see if its worth the upgrade.

Feedback appreciated.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
DarkSquirr3l
Cardiff
 
DarkSquirr3l's Answers
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Individually wrapped?

I've had free samples of these where the tablets were individually wrapped - is that the case when they're in a tube? It would be nice to take a few out with me in the event I drain my bidons...
No they're not individually wrapped in the tube, they're loosely stacked. You can wrap a couple in clingfilm and take them out with you though no problem.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
DarkSquirr3l
Cardiff