Gabbie
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Gabbie's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Gabbie's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    18
  • First Review
    28 December 2010
  • Last Review
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    21 January 2012
  • Last Question
    21 January 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    18 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    24 November 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Gabbie's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 dhb Ladies Windproof Ultralight Gilet
dhb Ladies Windproof Ultralight Gilet
The ultralight windproof gilet is a super compact gilet designed to take the chill off your core body in cool spring/summer conditions. A perfect accessory for the back pocket of your jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good product for the price
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"Provides very good wind protection. I have worn this gilet on quite a number of occasions over various jerseys for extra warmth and it has really done the job and I have never felt the cold wind through it. It is made of a relatively thin fabric and folds/rolls up nicely into a nice small bundle to fit in my rear pocket easily. It comes in a small bag, but the bag is bigger than it needs to be. It has no rear pockets itself and is a fairly straightforward and simple item. It has a nice high collar with a soft fabric lining on the collar only. Highly recommended."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Ladies Padded Undershort
dhb Ladies Padded Undershort
A low profile, padded undershort suitable for commuters and multisport sessions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very thin pad
Posted12 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I have previously purchased several dhb padded undershorts which provded a good degree of comfort on the saddle. I purchased another pair, which I realised was a newer design, due to weight loss and had expected these to offer the same or better level of comfort as they were only intended for my 15 mile round commute; so not a particularly long ride. Unfortunately, the pad is considerably thinner than my other dhb undershorts, it has a strange 'cardboard' stiffness and slightly coarse feel to it and does not mould itself to my underside shape as other undershorts I have. The coarseness actually catches on 'areas' down below, making it a bit unpleasant at times. When I walk from my bike park into work I feel the need to pull them out from wherever they are poking!!. The pad itself has countoured ridges throughout the pad pattern and I was disappointed that these 'ridges' actually show through my lycra shorts and in my view look ridiculous. The actual fabric of the undershorts are in fact very nice and better in how it feels in comparison to the previous dhb undershorts and they look better on. They appear a true fit, but as with many of the reviews they are a little tight around the thigh area, but they do not ride up. I have recently purchased some Endura undershorts for a similar price and they are much more comfortable and the pad is slightly thicker and softer. I won't be buying anymore of these dhb undershorts unfortunately."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, fabric has nice feel
Cons: pad feels stiff and slightly coarse
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Drylite Performance 3/4 Tight - SS13
Ladies Drylite Performance 3/4 Tight - SS13
Fabric: 92% Polyester and 8% PolyurethaneMizuno DryLite® moisture management technology keeps the body dryDynamotion™ Fit patterning for better anatomical fit of garment, offering freedom of movementReflective logo and accents front and backBack storage pocket for small items
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb 3/4 tights
Posted07 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"The fabric on these 3/4 tights are lovely, they kept me cool on a very warm run, they feel nice and thin, but there is a tightness within the fabric against the skin that for me is comfortable and retaining, in somuchas I do not feel that my slightly less firmer bits wobble and are kept in check! They are a shorter type 3/4 length, as they actually come just below the knee cap and I like that for running in the warmer weather. Previous 3/4 tights I owned tend to come half way up my calf which is okay I suppose but I simply prefer the length of these. There are two useful little key pockets, one at the back and one to the front left. The fit for me was perfect, I am a size 10 and orderred small. I also like the body length, it was not too high when pulled up but certainly not too low. I have had Mizuno tights before which impressed me for fit and feel, these are equally as good. My only slight criticism is the pull cord on these which has no ends, so you have to pull it forward and tie a knot of sorts in it in the loop. My problem was getting home and needing to get them off quickly, I struggled with the one slip knot I had put in it. Realistically this is a slight issue, to the extent that I love these tights so much I have ordered another pair. I cannot comment yet on their longevity, although my former mizuno tights are still going strong after numerous wear outs and washes and I hope these one do as well. The mizuno logo does tend to come off after time in the wash."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Night Vision Windproof Jacket
Ladies Night Vision Windproof Jacket
A women’s windproof cycling jacket with masses of reflective trim ideal for all types of winter riding offering less restriction than a waterproof.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent commuter top
Posted24 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this jacket in yellow specifically for my commute for the hi viz, windproof and shower proof elements. Firstly the hi viz is excellent, they are strategically placed and plenty of them for maximum visibiity, perfect. The showerproof element does work, I was caught in a lightish but prolonged shower one evening and the droplets simply sat on top of the fabric and I was kept nice and dry. Lately I have ridden in some horrible sharp, cold , driving winds and believe the jacket does protect you from the wind to a greater extent, but is not quite as effective as another windproof jacket that I own. However, I tend to layer well underneath and it hasn't been a major issue and I have never felt that the cold has penetrated in a way that would put me off using it in extreme cold driving winds. I have just handwashed the top for the 1st time, all the dirt marks came out and it looks as good as new, just hope it doesn't affect the showerproof capabiities. The fit is just right for my size, when zipping up to the neck it is a nice close fit, but with stretch in the fabric making it very comfortable around the neck. The length and width in the body is perfect for me, I am a size 10 and 5'5" tall, it covers far enought down the back well and is higher at the front, but satisfactorily covers over the front waistband of my tights and does not ride up. The sleeves are a good length and I can either tuck them inside of my glove cuff or put the sleeve on the outside of the cuff. I would not hesitate in recommending it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Merino L/S Zip Neck Baselayer M_190
Ladies Merino L/S Zip Neck Baselayer M_190
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A must for winter
Posted22 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I am so pleased with this purchase. It arrived just in time for the recent cold and then snowy conditions and has had so much use in such a short time. The fit is perfect, I am a size 10 and purchased that size and it fits beautifully, like a second skin. The fabric is soft to the touch and I have not experienced any itching/rubbing from the wool or seams at all. It has a high neck with zip and I have not found it tight or restrictive and can get the fingers of both hands in between the top and my neck, yet it stands up nicely around my neck. It has kept me toasty warm, along with the dhb merino wool baselayer tights under either my walking gear or my running gear. Even when I have sweat it has felt warm and comfortable against the skin. So far I have only washed it by hand and it washes well, doesn't smell and realistically doesn't need ironing, as It's worn underneath clothing, but once on due to the good fit there are no obvious creases and stretches with you. All in all an absolute must for many winter outdoor activities. Just wished I had discovered these before now. The general construction and the fabric used is excellent quality, in my view, and fantastic value for money. Highly recommended."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit, winter wardrobe staple
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
3mm Stretch Neoprene toe cover removes the chill factor on dry, cooler Spring/Autumn rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keeps my tootsies nice and warm
Posted24 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I have been very pleased with these toe covers. On all the occasions I have worn them, which is generally on the morning commute when the temperatures have been as low as 2-3 degrees, my toes have been kept comfortably warm each and every time. They may look a bit odd, I wear mine over the front of black cycling shoes and they are obvious but they really do the job and for me that's what matters. The underside has a large circular type hole so your cleats are not interefered with. They pull on easily and are made of a stretchy fabric and stay in place. They are not waterproof , but got wet the other day when I was caught in a moderate shower. However, they still kept my toes warm and to some extent prevented water penetration into my shoes. These are perfect for those dry cold days and are small enoughy to carry around in your back pocket if necessary. In fact I wore them on a sunday morning ride with a friend, her feet began to get cold and mine were toasty. I made the mistake of giving the toes covers to her to see if her feet would warm up. They did for a while, but my toes rapidly got cold, confirming how effective they were. I would definitely recommend these."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Eats the battery power
Posted14 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"These little lights should be a fantastic addition to my other rear lights. I have had them mounted on the seat stays and they stay firmly in place and have been resistant to any water penetration. They are easy to swtich on with gloved hands and provide a super little bright light with several flash/static modes to choose from. However, you require 2 x 2032 watch type batteries in each light, which are not cheap, but are easy to instal. I replaced the batteries in both of my lights less than 10 days ago and have used the lights on flashing mode for four journeys totalling no more than 4 hours and one of the lights is completely dead now. The other is still working, but for how long. The batteries went quickly before and I had thought I must have left them on inadvertently. I know now that they drain the batteries very quickly and in my view it does not make these lights value for money or cost effective to use, sadly."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: eats the battery power too quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very Messy, but does the job
Posted16 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I used the chain gang cleaner for the first time today. it was easy enough to attach and fill with the solutiion to the required level. However, once I start turning the pedals to push the chain through it was very messy with the excess fluid, now black from the oil, showering from the chain all over the frame of my bike and my sleeve. Was I doing something wrong or is it supposed to be like this?? My chain came up nice and clean, but it was a realy messy process and I don't look forward to the next time. The product itself appears to be good quality plastic and stiff brisles, not flimsy and quite sturdy. Having said that I believe it is overpriced. Otherwise recommended."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, simple to use
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A chain stay protector and patches for those who want to protect their frame but also want to still be able to see their paint jobs, durable in the extreme but stealthy to boot.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Very overpriced for what you are getting
Posted30 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"They come in that horrible thick plastic casing that you need good strong scissor to cut through and have to be careful not to cut yourself on. Firstly, there is not enough stickers, realistically I needed 3 small ones for brake cables touching, you only get 2. Having a white bike I needed clear protectors as that is what they are described as and feel quite annoyed that all 3 stickers have an unsightly grey logo that is clearly visible, yet you have no idea whose logo it is, pointless and on my white bike looks like there is a bad mark underneath the protectors! The small ones are easy to affix, but I found it more problematic for the chainstay protector, wrapping it over and along an angled frame, preventing it from bubbling or creasing and keeping it straight was problematic. You also have to avoid touching the sticky side and they recommend against removing it and trying again. So you only have one crack at it and it is reasonably thick plastic to apply.. So whilst it is on now, there are a few air bubbles and a slight crease on the inside edge of the protector on the chain stay. However, it will do the job of protecting it and nobody will notice I didn't do as good a job as would have hoped."
Pros: Durable, does the job
Cons: Expensive, logo visible on each sticker, not enough stickers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With a 6 panel soft stretch lycra design, a great fit is guaranteed. A Pro Gel insert provides comfort in the saddle and loops are provided for attachment to the Altura baggy short range.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
The gel makes little difference
Posted27 July 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gabbie
fromBirmingham UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"I will not be buying these undershorts again. I had high hopes that gel padding would be better, no such luck. I have never been so uncomfortable on my saddle and it feels like the padding is minimal and insufficient. I had been using the DHB undershorts and my initial satisfaction with them disappeared as I have increased my riding distance to 35 + miles. These progel shorts when worn on my 12 mile commute causes me to constantly get up off the saddle trying to find a more comfortable position. I am also using chamoix cream and I have a quality selle italia saddle, so I am not skimping on the other equipment.. As a warning to those who buy these, I had to return the shorts twice to Wiggle due to the stitching coming apart in small areas before I had even worn them, which was at the back of the waistband where it is stitched to the short itself (evident from inside the shorts). I have no issue with wiggle, they exchanged without an issue. Examine them carefully. However, this 3rd pair appeared okay, now having worn them 4 times (had to give them a chance to prove themselves) and washed them 4 times the stitching is again coming apart in precisely the same areas as on the previous shorts. It would suggest to me there is an inherent fault with the manufacture of these shorts - specifically the stitching of the waistband to the short itself - and I am not impressed. I know if I pulled them up by the waistband, as I did my DHB, the waistand would start to detach from the short. The only positive I can say is that they are a good fit, the fabric of the short has a nice soft feel to it. The grippers on the legs are good and keep the shorts in place. I have now bitten the bullet and broken the bank, and ordered some assos padded shorts and hope and pray they make life on the saddle more comfortable."
Pros: Good Fit, nice fabric
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, stitching comes away, uncomfortable, too little padding
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Gabbie's Questions
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Can this jacket be folded down to a small package size

2 years, 6 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK
 
Gabbie's Answers
 
3mm Stretch Neoprene toe cover removes the chill factor on dry, cooler Spring/Autumn rides.
 

I need size UK 8.5 (Euro 43) is that S/M or L/XL

I need size UK 8.5 (Euro 43) is that S/M or L/XL
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
My cycling shoes are a size 40 mountain bike type that narrow towards the front and S/M fits perfectly and I think there is more stretch in fabric for wider shoes. If you are unsure either follow the size guide as provided on the site or order both sizes. You can always return the one that doesn't fit as there is no charge within the UK for returns. I think these toe covers are excellent and would highly recommend them to anyone considering purchasing them. They really do help keep your toes warm.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK
 
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 

How small are these? Is it possible to attach to the seat stay?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes they can wrap around the seat stay, this is where I placed mine. The lights are made of a rubber type material and if you have thicker seat stays they can stretch to wrap around. Mine are not a tight fit around the seat stay and I thought it might be too lose and slip down, but they have stayed in place and it seems that the rubber helps to adhere it to the post. A word of caution mine eat the battery power and for that reason only I wouldn't recommend them. If they were rechargeable, then I would.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK
 
 Ladies Pro Padded Undershorts 2011
Ladies Pro Padded Undershorts 2011
If you want a pair of undershorts that use a cycling pad from the leading manufacturer in their field – then go for the dhb Pro Padded undershort with CyTech Elastic Interface ‘Performance LT’ pad.
 

Underwear??

Hi Ladies,
Just want to ask if these are comfortable enough to go without underwear under these because sometimes this material can be quite rough.

I know they are described as undershorts which you would assume means they are underwear but I would just like to know.

Appreciate helpful answers, thanks.
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hi there, I can confirm that you should not in fact wear underwear with padded undershorts/tights. The pads are designed to avoid chaffing and wearing knickers as well would defeat the object. I bought several pairs of undershorts to wear under unpadded tights so I can wash them frequently without the need to keep washing tights unnecessarily. I find the pads smooth and comfortable to the touch. Initially they are a little stiff, but after some use and several washes they tend to soften up and mould better to your shape. I have been very pleased with mine, the pad is big compared with other padded cycle gear I have used, but they have been more comfortable than all the others too as they pad the areas that need it. Hope this helps.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK
 
 Plain Moulded Silicone Junior Swimming Cap
Plain Moulded Silicone Junior Swimming Cap
 

What age child would this fit?

I am looking for a swimming hat for my three year old. Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
This cap was too big for me, I measure 57cm for a cycle helmet and believe I am a medium size. So only suitable for big heads I'm afraid.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK
 
Featuring an ergonomic 3D design for a comfortable and secure fit, Speedo moulded silicone swim caps create a smooth, hydrodynamic outline in the water. Available in a variety of colours, they are ideal for regular training.
 

Is this cap chlorine resistant?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The chlorine in the water did not appear to affect the cap in any way, although I only wore it once as it was useless in preventing water soaking my hair.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK
 
 Vizion LED
Vizion LED
Light-weight and compactCompatible with a range of ronhill running apparelFlexible, neat design and shock resistantSimple hook and loop fasten system is secure and easy to useSet to glow or flash illumination modesReflective whilst turned offBattery lasts for up to 150 hours and is easily changeable
 

What is it?

Is it powered or just reflective?
Where does it go?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It is powered by a small round battery, about the size of 1p and has a red light, which you can have as static or flashing. it has a velco backing and on my Ron Hill running jacket, there is a velcro strip onto which it attaches. A bit limited in my view as I think one on the front would be more beneficial or even for your arms.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK
 
 Vizion LED
Vizion LED
Light-weight and compactCompatible with a range of ronhill running apparelFlexible, neat design and shock resistantSimple hook and loop fasten system is secure and easy to useSet to glow or flash illumination modesReflective whilst turned offBattery lasts for up to 150 hours and is easily changeable
 

How do you attach it to your arm? Is there a strap?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The LED light has velcro backing for attaching to the back of my running jacket, which has a velcro strip sewn on for this. I am not sure how you would attach to your arm. There is however a small elasticated loop on the back of the LED light which I can just slip my little finger through, so if you could improvise with that to attach it to your arm - not sure how though. Hope this helps.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Gabbie
Birmingham UK