pjsingleton
Share pjsingleton's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
pjsingleton's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    08 June 2011
  • Last Review
    12 October 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    25 August 2011
  • Last Answer
    25 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
pjsingleton's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
What Mountain Bike's Gold Award winner, Green Oil wet chain lube is suitable for all riding conditions, whether riding over rocks, or just to the shops. Destroy limits, not nature!
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Solid 3.5/5
Posted12 October 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this lube out of curiosity, attracted by it's 'green' credentials. All up it does a good job, but a few niggling things have left me a little underwhelmed, and I think I'll continue to use my old lube in the future.
One thing I noted with this lube is that it left the chain fairly quickly and I had to reapply it more than I needed to with other brands. Also it seemed to attract much more dirt and grime than my usual lube. After a week or so of riding each day there would usually be large chunks of grime which had stuck to my chain, and upon touching the chain the mix of dirt and lube had made a sticky paste. This meant that I was forced to break out the degreaser and do a major clean of my cassette and chain every week or so. Not a terrible thing, but a bit frustrating.
Other than this though, the lube is good stuff and it does a good job of getting inside the links and keeping your groupset running well. As long as you keep an eye on the dirt and reapply frequently, this is a good product
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: attracts dirt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Speed Saddle Bag - Small 2013
Altura Speed Saddle Bag - Small 2013
Available in 3 sizes to suit a variety of requirements Speed seatpacks all fit neatly and securely under the saddle. All sizes are available in 3 colours to match up with your bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Exactly what I needed
Posted12 October 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What some of the other reviewers have said is true - the small bag is indeed very small. That being said though, it fits everything you could need. Mine has a set of allen keys, puncture kit, spare tube & 3 tyre levers all sitting quite comfortably with room left for a CO2 canister if I wanted to squeeze it in. If you wish to carry more than that, perhaps think of upgrading to the medium size.
The white on black colour scheme is quite striking too, and the velcro straps do a good job of holding the bag firmly to the seatpost. Only time will tell how well these straps hold up, but right now I have nothing to complain about.
A good no-regrets purchase
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Honestly - Puncture Proof
Posted25 August 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A great set of training / long distance tyres.
A friend of mine rode the length of Australia, from Perth in Western Australia to Melbourne in Victoria: a cycling journey of about three weeks on rural roads. With these tyres, he didnt suffer a single flat tyre - and since buying these neither have I.
Yes, they push past 310grams or so and are a little heavier than some other tires out there, but as long as youre not racing with them you'll never notice the weight. Plus, it never hurts to carry a bit more weight with you when training - it makes everything so much easier once you stick your light weight racing tires on.
would definately reccoment to a friend"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit, absolutely puncture proof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 RC Carbon Road Cycling Shoes
RC Carbon Road Cycling Shoes
dhb have introduced the RC carbon soled race shoe, ideal for road racing, time trialling or track use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Good Product - Would Reccomend
Posted25 August 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These were my first pair of cycling shoes for use with my new clipless pedals and I was pretty happy with them.
They are easy to put on and take off, they're very stiff, and very light also.
They WILL get dirty though. if youre on of those riders who likes everything to be constantly clean then don't get white cycling shoes.
theyve held up pretty well and ive been using them for 8 months now in all sorts of weather. my feet never get sweaty thanks to the many ventilation points, although sometimes my toes go numb from over-tightening the top strap.
one minor complaint is that these shoes are pretty wide - obviously meant for those with wider feet. This isnt me, and so my feet can bounce around a bit in these shoes. to compensate, i wear two layers of socks, which isn't ideal but it works.
So far they have held up very well, with only a few scuff marks. However, if you pull the tongue too hard when putting the shoes on, the little strap will tear off.
Dont be deterred though. for a set of carbon fibre soled cycling shoes, you won't find a more reasonable price than this."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Good, Solid Trainer
Posted25 August 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The best thing about the tacx sirius cycle trainer is how quiet it is.
I have used the trainers of a bunch of my buddies and each one is so loud that you need to make sure nobody else is in the house if you are going to jump on for a ride - and it makes it very hard to hear the TV while working out.
This trainer though is pretty much silent - it's a bit disconcerting at first because my breathing is now louder than the machine.
It is however pretty complicated to put together, and the instructions don't really help. It took me and a friend over an hour to put the trainer together out of the box, and in some places the instructions actually tell you to do things in the wrong order. you really need to use your initiative.
You need to be a bit delicate with it too - i find that if i push too hard on the pedals, the back wheel will skid a little, and i end up with bits of rubber burnt to the trainer wheel from the friction. if i tighten the roller at the back so the wheel won't spin, the friction is too great, so i've had to be sure that i only use gradual acceleration during interval training.
Despite this, it's a great product and a good way to keep the legs moving when it's cold and wet outside."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original natural energy bar. Every Clif bar is packed with a healthy mix of whole grains, protein and fibre, but not with fat, perfect to keep you going whatever your activity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MMM tasty goodness
Posted25 August 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very good food to take out with you on a ride. Aside for being very easy to eat while riding, and very good for boosting energy levels on long hauls - they just taste so good!!!!
I think the oatmean raisin walnut ones are the nicest ones.
so good that i have to fight the urge to eat them just as an everyday snack"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, tasty!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Excellent Excellent!
Posted25 August 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I would reccomend this product to every cyclist.
The garmin edge 500 (which i got with the cadence and heart sensor package) is one of the best cycling-related things i have ever bought/played around with.
Its so easy to use, and very versatile. you can very easily adjust each screen layout to show you exactly what you want to know while out on a ride.
Although a little bit daunting once opening the garmin box for the first time, it is surprisingly easy to set everything up and get the cadence sensors fitted to the bike.
I honestly couldnt reccomend this product enough.
When combined with websites like Garmin Connect and Strava (which is better) - it makes it so easy to track your training improvements and sometimes its just cool to look back at the graph showing your heartrate or the one which tracks the gradients youve ridden.
A fantastic piece of kit. Cannot reccoment it highly enough."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer provides a superior cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very Comfortable
Posted25 August 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very good product. It is very comfortable underneath a jersey both during races and on day-long rides and keeps you nice and cool in warm weather as it allows all your sweat to evaporate rather than become absorbed into the fabric.
So light weight i could hardly believe it, you honestly cant feel it when you hold it in your hand.
great product - and easy to wash too
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Complementary Bike Tools
Complementary Bike Tools
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tool
Posted25 August 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great tool. Very confortable to hold and use. It doesnt fit in my toolbox because of its funny shape but that doesnt matter.
I use it for all of my little adjustments.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Water-resistant, superslim, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting, directional LEDs. Low battery warning indicator. Visible up to 600 metres.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Great Front Light - while it lasted
Posted25 August 2011
pjsingleton
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This was a great front light. Unlike the other lights I own, it was stretchy so it was able to fit over the oversized bars on my bike. Great for early mornings and late nights.
For about three months this light was fantastic. It was very bright, small and easy to use and store. Then suddenly it just stopped working and I cant understand why. It didnt get wet, the batteries havn't run down, it was never dropped. It has just stopped.
A real shame, because while it lasted it was very good
"
Pros: Attractive, Versatile, bright
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
pjsingleton's Questions
 
pjsingleton has not submitted any questions.
 
pjsingleton's Answers
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Do I have to buy a trainer tyre?

I'm thinking of buying a turbo trainer but don't want to faff about changing the rear tyre every time I switch from trainer to road. Can I use a trainer with just my normal tyre or is the performance compromised by not using a 'special' trainer tyre?
Best answer
you can use the trainer without the trainer tyre and it will work just fine. the only thing is though, that this will wear down your rear tyre pretty fast. after about five sessions with a non-trainer tyre on my turbo trainer, the rear wheel was noticably balder than the front - so i invested in the trainer tyre, which i keep on my spare set of wheels and then i change the wheel each time i need the trainer.

the trainer tyres are good because they are VERY hard, and wear down slowly.

so yeah, it's not a necessity to buy the tyre, but its probably advised.
3 years ago
by
pjsingleton