KingLewy
Share KingLewy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
KingLewy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    26 February 2011
  • Last Review
    21 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 April 2011
  • Last Question
    21 September 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    26 February 2011
  • Last Answer
    20 September 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
KingLewy's Reviews
 
3mm stretch Neoprene, taped-seam overshoe protects feet from cold, wet, mid Winter weather.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good product. Keeps you dry for a while.
Posted21 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KingLewy
fromNorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The main characteristic I look for in overshoes is how waterproof they are. These are okay but, like most overshoes, it's only a matter of time. In light rain they do a great job but in heavier weather my feet get wet in less than an hour. In fact, if there's a been a heavy down pour (and it's stopped raining) I'll still get wet eventually from just the splash off the road. That being said, this is still a great product; good value, plain but not ugly, pretty durable, comfortable, good fit and warm. A little too warm for me in fact (I don't get cold easily) but probably just right for most people."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, warm
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Mudguards
Posted20 September 2011
KingLewy
fromNorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"My bike was stolen shortly after fitting these, so I didn't end up spending much time with them.
They are supposed to be easy to fit, but they don't come with clear instructions at all and as I've never had mudguards before it took me a while to figure out which was front and rear and how they were supposed to attach. After successfully fitting them once, I'd say they would be easy and simple to do again, now that I know how. I imagine they'd fit on any bike.
I used these on my commuting bike, and thought that the front guard was just creating drag so I took it off. The front guard goes on the down tube, not over the wheel, so some water still flicked in my face sometimes.
That being said, I was very pleased with these mudguards. The price was ok and they did the job very well. They seem sturdy and secure and look stylish. A good buy."
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Product
Posted26 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
KingLewy
fromNorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These shoes are great for the price. They're my first pair of proper bike shoes (I used to cycle in running trainers -shudder-).
It was not too hard attach the cleats, though no guidance comes with the shoes as to best cleat position. I just used my best educated guess based on what I've read online.
I'm a size 11, therefore I ordered a size 11, but my feet were too wide for the shoes, so I had to return them for the next size up. These are a bit too big for my feet, but better than painful feet. As a result, I have a bit of play in the heel. The 3 velcro straps make the shoe easy to loosen or tighten, though.
But generally, these shoes are comfortable, sturdy and I get a good performance out of them. If you have feet that are a little wide perhaps, you may not be able to find a perfect fit between sizes. Despite a less than perfect fit, I still love these shoes, and I can hardly argue for the price."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Product
Posted26 February 2011
KingLewy
fromNorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've not been using them too long, but they seem pretty good. This is the first time I've ridden non platform.
The pedals are easy to fit, easy to adjust and easy to use. The instructions are thorough enough and easy enough to follow. It didn't take me long at all to get used to them. They're holding up well."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your face.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Product
Posted26 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KingLewy
fromNorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Only when it's really, REALLY cold have I had to use this. But it has been essential. I don't feel the cold too easily mind.
When I first used this mask I feet like I couldn't breathe properly, but after getting used to it, that went away.
A brilliant thing about this mask is the easy velcro fastening, which makes it easy to put on and, more importantly to me, easy to take off while cycling (if I get too hot) then I stuff it in my jersey pocket.
The mask is comfortable and fits well. The holes where the mouth is and the one for the nose are good for air flow, but occasionally I feel restricted breathing. This is usually the case when it is a bit too warm for the mask though.
For appearance, you can look a little silly, especially with the nose part, but I think, "Who cares? I'm warm, I don't care what other people think and I'll be past each person in a few seconds."
Not too fond of the price, but it is a high quality product and is worth it.
When I use this mask it gives me brilliant protection from the wind and the cold and I would recommend it."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Microfleece Stretch Winter Cycling Gloves
Microfleece Stretch Winter Cycling Gloves
Soft stretch fleec glove, ideal for a varity of activities.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Gloves
Posted26 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KingLewy
fromNorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These gloves are not ideal for me, but they certainly do the job.
They usually keep my hands at a tolerable temperature, but every now and then I find my palms getting too warm (but I my other gloves would leave the tips of my fingers with no feeling). On the odd occasion my fingertips can get cold in these gloves, but it is not common. I have learnt that I putting on the gloves before going outside can counteract this.
There is a comfortable, stretchy, warm piece of fabric that extends from the wrists of the gloves and extends about an inch past my wrists. It is great offering comfort and protection from the elements. On occasions this feature of the gloves can keep my hands a bit sweaty on a warmer day, but in the gloves' defence, I don't feel the cold that easily.
I ordered a size too big for me, but thought I'd roll with it anyway, as the fit wasn't too bad. If I'd have gotten the next size down I'm sure it would have been a perfect fit.
Despite being fleecy, the gloves have never gotten my hands wet in the rain! Only when touch a larger body of water, e.g. dropping them in a puddle or wiping water off of my saddle.
The material is comfortable and is holding up well. The pads on the palms and fingers are performing well and also show no sign of deterioration. They have all the signs of quality manufacturing.
I would recommend these gloves to any cyclist that needs to keep warm, dry and comfy in the winter."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very Good Product
Posted26 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KingLewy
fromNorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 19-24
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A great product. I don't feel the cold much (I cycled through the winter in a pair of lycra shorts and I finish work after midnight sometimes!) but even I had to get something for my ears and temples in the winter. This headband did just the trick.
It fits me perfectly, covering all necessary areas (even with my wireless headphones) and with it's stretchy, comfortable material I imagine it would fit practically anyone.
The material is stretchy, comfortable and lightweight. When wearing the headband I rarely feel too warm and never feel too cold.
In a way, I feel like a div with my headband, but sometimes I feel cool. I imagine a more colourful one may be more appealing over a black one, but that may be personal preference. To be honest, it's not very visible with my helmet on anyway.
Not 100% fan of the price, but don't let that deter you from a brilliant product."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
KingLewy's Questions
 
Stretch Polyester Roubaix (fleece) glove with Silicone print detail on the palm helps to keep you warm and maintains excellent dexterity.
 

Is this glove waterproof?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 M1 MTB Shoes
M1 MTB Shoes
The dhb M1 shoe is designed for the recreational mountain biker who likes the simplicity of a three strap shoe.
 

Size Compared To DHB R1 Shoe

I bought the DHB R1 Road Shoe a while back and had to go a size up as my feet were slightly too wide, but not really big enough for the next size up. There's a little play in the heel, but I thought that beat having crushed feet.

Am I likely to encounter the same issue with the M1 shoe? Or is this shoe not as narrow? This determines if I purchase size 46 or 47.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 Lifeventure Thermal Mug
Lifeventure Thermal Mug
A sleek and stylish vacuum insulated thermal mug, perfect for keeping your drinks warm on cold winter days.
 

How much liquid can this mug hold?

3 years, 4 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 Ortlieb Front Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Front Roller Classic Panniers
The universal luggage solution for your bike. Front Roller classic panniers attach either side of your front wheels with the simple and secure QL1 mounting system.
 

Can anybody recommend a decent rack that is a good match for these panniers?

For a road bike.
Quick to fit/remove.
I was considering a Blackburn Expedition Rack.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
KingLewy's Answers
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

will these cleats fit these shoes

Shimano SPD MTB Cleats fit dhb R1 Road Cycling Shoe if not can you give me some advice on shoes to fit. thanks
SPD cleats will fit these shoes. I'm sporting them with SH-51 cleats. On screw seemed a bit short but with a little effort I got it in and it's still there many months later.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

i have wide feet (size 44) and a tight budget, which road shoes are the best for me?

These are good shoes and are really good value for money. If you had wide feet I'd DEFINITELY recommend going up a size.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

Hi, I am a 45/45.5 in Shimano shoes (UK 10) but i have wide feet. Please suggest the right sizing. Thanks

If you have wide feet I'd DEFINITELY recommend going up a size. I had to send my size 11 shoes back for size 12s. Not ideal, but better than crushed feet. My feet aren't particularly wide either.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

Are the shoes sized quite small? I take a size 10 would I need to go up a size?

I'm size 11 and I had to get the size 12. The 11s were too tight for my feet and the 12s are a bit loose, giving a little play in the heel, but better than having crushed feet. If you have narrow feet go for the 10s. If your feet are on the wide side I'd definitely recommend going up a size. It's a shame they don't do half sizes but it's a great shoe and the price is amazing.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 

Will the front mudguard fit a Specialised Rockhopper, the diagonal tube isnt round.

The front guard that goes on the down tube has a groove for a round shaped tube, but the nature of securing it to the frame should give you no problems, providing that the down tube isn't too wide. The guard is secured to the bike with two very strong rubber bands. You may need to give them a little stretch if the down tube doesn't slot nicely into the groove. If your down tube is too wide and is more like a square shape it may not fit in that groove at all, and those bands are quite tight. See the attatched photos.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 years, 11 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

SPD screw lengths

I have 2 sets of SPD cleats that came with pedals and with both the screws are too short to engage in the shoe.

The cleats I have are Shimano SM-SH51. Can I buy correct cleats for these or maybe
the correct length screws?
I have the same combination of shoes and cleats that you do. I had the same problem but with only one screw out of four. I persisted and eventually got it in. I have had no problems since installation (over a month later) and the cleat shows no sign of coming loose in the slightest.

Good luck!
3 years, 6 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

DMB R1 Shoe Fit & size

want to buy R1 road bike shoes.
I am UK 10.5 with wide foot.
Is this shoe narrow fit like shimano or would 46/UK 11 from your size chart likely to fit.
Would cycle max 40 miles and 1-2 week at most in training.
I'm size 11 and 46 was too narrow for me, so I had to get the next one up, which is a bit too big. I reckon the 46 would have fit me fine if I was half a size down (like you).
3 years, 6 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

are these pedals compatible with dhb R1 Road Cycling Shoe?

Yes. This is the exact set up that I have.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
KingLewy
Northampton