Ramblinman
Share Ramblinman's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Ramblinman's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    26 April 2011
  • Last Review
    15 September 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    26 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    15 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Ramblinman's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Behind-the-seat mounting system is the most aerodynamic position for carrying standard water bottles.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Can't fault it
Posted15 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ramblinman
fromPerth, Western Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This probably aint the lightest option but for the price it performs really well. Fits easily and solidly and I've never had a bottle bounce out. I also like the mounts for my CO2 cylinders."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunar R2 Rear Light
Lunar R2 Rear Light
Visible from up to 1 mile with it's 2 x 1/2W LEDs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Visible for miles!!
Posted15 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ramblinman
fromPerth, Western Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This light is dazzling! For the price it performs really well. On just 2 AAA's it's visible for miles and it went all winter with only one batteries once. I also like the random flashing mode which adds to the visibility factor. Hard to ignore on the road."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact and easy to use
Posted30 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ramblinman
fromPerth, Western Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This computer is smaller than I expected but that turns out to be a plus. It sits so neatly onto my stem it almost looks like part of the bike. Its got all the basic features you need and none of the ones you never use. The screen is simple, clear and easy to read and the one button operation makes it so easy to use. Highly recommended for people like me who think big fat a Garmin makes your bike look ugly."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Carbon Fibre Headset Spacers
Carbon Fibre Headset Spacers
Superlight carbon headset spacers with lacquered raw carbon finish.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not what it appears
Posted30 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Ramblinman
fromPerth, Western Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this thinking it was an assortment of spacers like in the picture. Obviously I didn't read the specs properly. Well all I got was a single spacer and not the size I needed. So off to the LBS it was."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unadjustable, Not Enough Features
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Ultimate Safety Rear Tail Light (Single)
Ultimate Safety Rear Tail Light (Single)
The ultimate safety Light. Fibre Flare uses the latest super-bright fibre optic technology in a flexible tube with multiple attachment options. Versatile design allows this product to be mounted on seat posts, chainstays, bags or clothing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very versitile
Posted24 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ramblinman
fromPerth, Western Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I love this light. I use it as a secondary tail light hooked onto my backpack. My main tail light is super bright but only visible from one direction. This one is visible from any angle and can be easily clipped on just about anwhere. I would like to see the clips rotatable so I could hook it horizontally onto my jersey pockets. Apart from that, it's just about perfect. Light, bright and durable."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, visible from all directions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A set of bespoke brushes for cleaning your bike and maintaining your drivetrain. With a chain cleaning mechanism and specially shaped brushes, The LifeLine Essential cleaning kit helps keep your bike spotlessly clean and performing at its peak.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted12 October 2011
Ramblinman
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have only used this once so far but it was pretty easy to use and worked a treat. What else can you ask for the price?"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Onyx Classic Heart Rate Monitor
Onyx Classic Heart Rate Monitor
Simple to use, focused on the most important functions and a sleek design characterise the new Onyx Classic.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Basic but easy & reliable
Posted12 October 2011
Ramblinman
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is no elite training tool, but it has a few basic features that I wanted, mainly calorie consumption. It works well, is easy to use and looks smart so I can wear the watch all day. I'm not a triathlete, but I'm really happy with it."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A highly versatile 3 season windproof jacket ideal for variable weather conditions. Easily transforms from long sleeve to short sleeve.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
All you need for Winter
Posted04 July 2011
Ramblinman
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is the best bit of kit I've ever bought. Its light weight but warm. It keeps the wind and the rain out, but breaths enough that I don't sweat a bucket. I wear it with a long sleeved base layer otherwise its a little sweaty in in the arms. Its very well made and looks great. When I first tried it on I thought it was too small because it felt tight under the arms, but once you're on the bike in riding position its perfectly comfortable. I have worn this (with the base layer) in temps down to 3 deg C and it does the trick beautifully. When it starts to warm up again I'm looking forward to trying out the removable sleeves. I know I sound like a salesman for Altura, but I can't recommend this highly enough. Its the only Jersey you'll need for for an Australian winter."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit, warm & windproof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GatorSkin Folding is the UK's favourite training tyre (formely known as Ultra GatorSkin). With its DuraSkin™-anti-cut fabric and PolyX Breaker® also makes it suitable for commuting through to sportives as well as training.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rugged
Posted26 April 2011
Ramblinman
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are great tyres. They aren't the best performing, but they aren't bad either. And they are tough as nails. Nothing is puncture proof but I feel far more confident with hese under me than some of the kevlar racing tyres I've tried. Particularly when the roads ain't so smooth. The handle much better at high speed down the hills than the Schwable slicks I was wearing previously."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Presto Bib Knicker - SS2010
Presto Bib Knicker - SS2010
Racer Looks, Surprising value. With its list of features, this could be the top-of-the-line bib knicker.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Extremely comfortable!!
Posted26 April 2011
Ramblinman
fromPerth
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These pants are very well designed and quality made. The chamois design is far far more comfortable than any other cycling pants I've had. Well worth the investment, not that they were expensive at all. I'm wrapped!!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ramblinman's Questions
 
Ramblinman has not submitted any questions.
 
Ramblinman's Answers
 
 Lunar R2 Rear Light
Lunar R2 Rear Light
Visible from up to 1 mile with it's 2 x 1/2W LEDs.
 

Can On / Off switch handle bumpy rides?

My current rear light (Mars 4.0) is great except on very bumpy rides the dang thing can't cope - it switches off.

Anyone tried this on bumpier rides?
I'm a roadie so probably not pushing the limits of bumpiness but I've never had it switch off on me and Ive used in some pretty rugged weather.
10 months ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth, Western Australia
 
 Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
Strada Double Wireless Cycle Computer
The ultra popular Strada Wireless is now available with an extra 9th function - Cadence.
 

Whats in the box?

I may be reading this wrong! but is this a twin-pack, i.e does it come with all the bits to fit on 2 bikes at the same time (2 computers, 2 sensors, 2 mounting brackets). I need a computer for the wife as well!!
No. It comes with everything you need for 1 bike. The "Double" in the name refers to the double sensor, ie Speed and Cadence.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth, Western Australia
 
 Onyx Classic Heart Rate Monitor
Onyx Classic Heart Rate Monitor
Simple to use, focused on the most important functions and a sleek design characterise the new Onyx Classic.
 

Does this product come with a chest strap or do you need to purchase one separately?

Yes, this comes with the chest strap, all the necessary batteries, and even a bracket so you can mount the watch on your handlebars while riding.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth
 
 Onyx Classic Heart Rate Monitor
Onyx Classic Heart Rate Monitor
Simple to use, focused on the most important functions and a sleek design characterise the new Onyx Classic.
 

Can the battery on the chest strap be replaced without having to send it to the manufacturer?

Yes. Its just a CR2032 that can be easily accessed.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth
 
A highly versatile 3 season windproof jacket ideal for variable weather conditions. Easily transforms from long sleeve to short sleeve.
 

I've heard these jackets come up up small. How do they compare with the Night Vision range, where Large fits me perfectly?

I am generally a Large too. I bought the Large in this Jacket and at first I thought it was too small because it was tight under the arms, but once you're on the bike in riding position its perfectly comfortable. It is a snug fit, but thats the way I like it. If you've got big guns, you might want to go for a size up because the sleeves aren't very stretchy. But I'm stoked with my purchase.
3 years ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth
 
Excellent value lycra bib shorts with an 8 panel construction for a close anatomic fit. The multi-density stretch seat pad provides effective cushioning and vibration absorption for comfort on long distance rides.
 

I am 6' 3" tall and have a 32 inch waist, what size should I get? I was thinking medium but am worried that they might be too short in the leg?

In my experience you're better off having them tighter than looser. I usually order 1 size smaller than recommended so I get good compression on the legs and bum. They are usually stretchy enough to accommodate your height, but if you're going to have a problem it will be the body length, not the legs. You sound fairly lean, so I would give medium a try.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth
 
 Fusione Full Zip Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey
Fusione Full Zip Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey
A warm wicking full zip jersey with distinctive Castelli styling and detailing.
 

I'm around 6ft - 6ft1, however I'm very skinny (30 in chest, 26-27 waist), if I order a Large, will it be baggy on me?

I'm 5'11" and 110cm (43") around the chest. I ordered the XXL and find it slightly on the lose side which is good for wearing base layer underneath. But in hindsight I would have gone for the XL. I would suggest at 6'1" you might find the Medium a little short in the sleeves but with a figure like yours the Large might still be lose on the torso so. They are nice and stretchy though so you shouldn't find it restrictive around the shoulders if you went smaller.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth
 
 CNC Floor Drive Track Pump 2011
CNC Floor Drive Track Pump 2011
CNC Floor Drive Track Pump with all parts custom, CNC machined aluminum.
 

I have noticed that I cannot view lezyne cnc alloy floor pump whwn logged in as an australian. Is wiggle unable to supply this pump to Australia?

I'm in Perth and I have just tried searching for the lezyne pump witht he destination set to UK and found a couple of extra product options come up than when I have the destination set to Australia. I would assume you are correct abouyt themn not delivering that particular one to Aus, but I can't think why.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Ramblinman
Perth