BikerChuck
Top 1000 Contributor
Share BikerChuck's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BikerChuck's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    23 January 2011
  • Last Review
    19 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    05 April 2012
  • Last Question
    01 November 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    23 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    19 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BikerChuck's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 5mm brake cables.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Left marks on my frame
Posted19 July 2014
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you have anything other than a black frame I suggest getting the white ones. My silver and gunmetal frames got marks from the black ones that were very hard to remove."
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, black ones left marks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight base layer provides a superior cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Probably good if you wear looser jerseys
Posted19 July 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have no scientific evidence for this but if you want to stay cool and dry in the heat a light skin tight jersey on its own is the best option. If you wear a baggier jersey and want to get sweat off your skin I think this top works well."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: printed labels fall off quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tastes good and no reason to think it doesn't work
Posted19 July 2014
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've tried both the orange and citrus options – not too sweet. Better than water for hydrating?... I'll have to take their word."
Pros: tastes goid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Energy (& Super) Gel Racer 500ml Bottle Refiller
Energy (& Super) Gel Racer 500ml Bottle Refiller
Refill your Squeezy Racer 4 times with this 500ml bottle, save money and the planet!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tastes fine and gives a sugar boost
Posted10 February 2014
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Runnier than gels in a sachet (probably so it's easier to pour the refills) but it also means it goes down easier. I think you need to consume more for the same effect but at this price that's ok."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shop Casual Shorts
Shop Casual Shorts
Casual shorts from Race Face with spacious cargo pockets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice shorts
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I just got these. They are true to size. One of the press studs had been mis-pressed and fell off immediately, which was a bit disappointing. I'm sure Wiggle would replace them no worries but I chose to fix them myself rather than go through the returns process. I'm sure the fabric will fade over time as always happens with cotton twill... For some reason there is a real lack of shorts out there that are casual rather than performance and are made from more durable (less fading) synthetics. The leg pockets are smaller than the usual cargo shorts. I can fit my wallet in one and my iPhone in the other."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 PowerTabs Tube - 10 x 12g Tabs
PowerTabs Tube - 10 x 12g Tabs
Isostar power tabs make a refreshing isotonic sports drink that is high in energy and low in calories (44 kcal per 250ml).
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Tastes good
Posted04 August 2013
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I can't really comment on how much energy I got from this but it tasted good. Both flavours are pleasant and even taste good mixed together."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Energy Gel Racer 125ml Bottle
Energy Gel Racer 125ml Bottle
The same gel as in the 25g sachets - only a little bit thinner and in re-usable 125ml drinking bottles.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Strong enough for me
Posted04 August 2013
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like this because it's not sickly thick and sweet. It goes down well with water. I find it doesn't give me as much of an instant kick as other gels but keeps energy levels up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shop quality, ergonomic chain tool with a contoured chromoly body and drive screw.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Well it worked...
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only used this twice but it did the job ok. It's not particularly good quality in looks and build but if you only need to break a chain once or twice a year it should do the trick."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very useful and good quality cassette
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this as an 11-28 range to give me some help on hills, used In combination with my Dura Ace 7800 groupset. I picked it up for around $50AUD, which was a bit of a no-brainer compared to about $250 for the Dura Ace equivalent. No issues with gear changes and very solid feel. It does make a bit more noise (like a muted bass bell) when changing but that could be down to the larger gear ratio span."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Three words have emerged as the theme for the new Dura Ace system: Speed, Smooth and Strength.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top quality chain
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've run 2 of these over 3 years and have had 0 issues. I replaced the original when I switched cassettes but to be honest the old one was about as worn as the new one once I got it out of the box!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BikerChuck's Questions
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Will I need a plug adaptor to use the AC adapter in Australia?

Does the AC adapter come with a UK plug on it? If so I guess I'll need a plug adapter to fit Australian sockets.

But it can also be charged through the USB from a computer right?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Complete top-of-the-range brake cable set designed to suit Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 and Ultegra 6700 Road bike brakesets.
 

Are these compatible with dura ace 7800?

Will this work with my Dura Ace 7800, which has the gear display "window" device threaded onto the rear derailleur cable? I'm guessing the width of the cable outer has to fit into the gear display insert...
Also, does this product include cables for both the brakes AND gears? Sorry, a bit new to all this...
1 year, 9 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Excellent value summer gloves with a shock absorbing gel padded palm for comfort on long distance rides. A ventilating mesh back and lycra wrist insert provide a close, comfortable fit.
 

Where's the sizing guide?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
BikerChuck's Answers
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

replace with 12-28 ?

I have front 36/36 cx50, rear 12-28 with 105 set
Can I directly replace my currrent rear cog with this one without any other adjustments?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes if you're replacing 10-speed Shimano 12-28 with same should be fine with no adjustments, whether it's 105, Ultegra or Dura Ace.
1 week, 5 days ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 

Are these any good for a cycle-cross bike?

I've just bought some "Schwalbe Marathon Original GreenGuard Rigid Road City" tyres as I'm commuting quite a lot at the moment. They seem like good tyres but they're so heavy, the bike is noticeably heavier since I put these on. (The cycle-cross tyres that I had were quite soft, and not very puncture resistant).

Essentially, I'm looking for a lightweight puncture resistant tyre that doesn't mind the odd bit of gravel. (I live in Milton Keynes, commuting can be a mix of road, path, slightly gravelled path).
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
These might be tough enough but I would want some more grip if riding anything off sealed road
11 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Rydon sunglasses combine ergonomic features with advanced materials to create a super-lightweight and powerful product. Featuring a half-rim frame design and photochromic lenses for adaptable protection in changing light conditions.
 

How scratch resistant are the lenses?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I dropped mine on some particularly scratchy "gripcrete" (like super rough sandpaper) at the airport and they got 2 little scratches, not enough to effect vision at all but they did scratch. A club mate of mine had hers run over by a truck and the lenses scratched badly (big surprise!) BUT they didn't shatter AND she straightened out the frames, got new lenses and still wears them!
1 year, 8 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Will I need a plug adaptor to use the AC adapter in Australia?

Does the AC adapter come with a UK plug on it? If so I guess I'll need a plug adapter to fit Australian sockets.

But it can also be charged through the USB from a computer right?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Thanks navy1

The iPhone charger suggestion is something I hadn't thought of.

I went ahead and purchased the Edge 500 and it came with all BUT the Australian plug, despite the instruction card showing it did...

Anyway plenty of charging options so no biggy.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Will using changing cassettes with different teeth rations require adjusting the gears every time?

I have just has to replace my 12-27 Shimano 105 Cassette. I'm thinking about getting another cassette to put on a spare wheel to create a training wheel for my turbo trainer. Do I need to get a cassette with the same ratio to avoid having to adjust the gears every time I change wheel, or I could use this product alongside the 105 12-27 cassette without having to alter the set up each time?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hi.

You may need to make adjustments and you may be lucky enough not to...

You will find a comprehensive discussion of many relevant points if you google "Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette will a 11-28 work?"

I know those search terms don't necessarily match your components but I found it a very useful discussion relevant across a range of groupsets.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Rydon sunglasses combine ergonomic features with advanced materials to create a super-lightweight and powerful product. Featuring a half-rim frame design and photochromic lenses for adaptable protection in changing light conditions.
 

are the clear lenses polarized?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No
3 years, 5 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
The new Look Kéo Grip anti-slip cleat. It is safer as well as being compatible with the entire KéO range. The TPU pieces helps to reduce the chances of slipping while walking.
 

are these compatible with keo sprint pedals

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
3 years, 6 months ago
by
BikerChuck
 
 Rubino Slick Clincher Tyre
Rubino Slick Clincher Tyre
Road racing clincher tyre with PRB puncture protection. All new Rubino features available with a slick tread pattern!
 

the pressure rating is a little vague, 7-10 bar is quite a wide range? what PSI is this tyre rated to?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The tyres say right on them 120psi max.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
BikerChuck
 
 Continental Grand Prix Attack/Force Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix Attack/Force Road Tyre Twin Pack
New and redesigned for 2008, the front and rear specific tyre set from the tyremeisters Continental. Now using the ultimate Black Chili compound.
 

What is the maximum psi that you can/should pump to?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The specified maximum is 120psi.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
BikerChuck
 
 Continental Grand Prix Attack/Force Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix Attack/Force Road Tyre Twin Pack
New and redesigned for 2008, the front and rear specific tyre set from the tyremeisters Continental. Now using the ultimate Black Chili compound.
 

Are these directional tyres ?

Meaning they need or should rotate in one direction only.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes these tyres ARE directional. The tread makes it pretty obvious.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
BikerChuck