BikerChuck
Top 1000 Contributor
Share BikerChuck's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BikerChuck's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    23 January 2011
  • Last Review
    10 February 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    05 April 2012
  • Last Question
    01 November 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    23 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    04 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BikerChuck's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Refill your Squeezy Racer 4 times with this 500ml bottle, save money and the planet!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tastes fine and gives a sugar boost
Posted10 February 2014
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Runnier than gels in a sachet (probably so it's easier to pour the refills) but it also means it goes down easier. I think you need to consume more for the same effect but at this price that's ok."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Casual shorts from Race Face with spacious cargo pockets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice shorts
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I just got these. They are true to size. One of the press studs had been mis-pressed and fell off immediately, which was a bit disappointing. I'm sure Wiggle would replace them no worries but I chose to fix them myself rather than go through the returns process. I'm sure the fabric will fade over time as always happens with cotton twill... For some reason there is a real lack of shorts out there that are casual rather than performance and are made from more durable (less fading) synthetics. The leg pockets are smaller than the usual cargo shorts. I can fit my wallet in one and my iPhone in the other."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Isostar power tabs make a refreshing isotonic sports drink that is high in energy and low in calories (44 kcal per 250ml).
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Tastes good
Posted04 August 2013
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I can't really comment on how much energy I got from this but it tasted good. Both flavours are pleasant and even taste good mixed together."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The same gel as in the 25g sachets - only a little bit thinner and in re-usable 125ml drinking bottles.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Strong enough for me
Posted04 August 2013
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like this because it's not sickly thick and sweet. It goes down well with water. I find it doesn't give me as much of an instant kick as other gels but keeps energy levels up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shop quality, ergonomic chain tool with a contoured chromoly body and drive screw.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Well it worked...
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only used this twice but it did the job ok. It's not particularly good quality in looks and build but if you only need to break a chain once or twice a year it should do the trick."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very useful and good quality cassette
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I purchased this as an 11-28 range to give me some help on hills, used In combination with my Dura Ace 7800 groupset. I picked it up for around $50AUD, which was a bit of a no-brainer compared to about $250 for the Dura Ace equivalent. No issues with gear changes and very solid feel. It does make a bit more noise (like a muted bass bell) when changing but that could be down to the larger gear ratio span."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Three words have emerged as the theme for the new Dura Ace system: Speed, Smooth and Strength.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top quality chain
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've run 2 of these over 3 years and have had 0 issues. I replaced the original when I switched cassettes but to be honest the old one was about as worn as the new one once I got it out of the box!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very good tyre
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been running these for about a year — no punctures, good tread wear and good grip. The tyre was easy to fit first time, unlike some that are very tight."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Computer!
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only been using this for a couple of weeks but I've been very impressed.
The only issue so far has been some interference between the cadence sensor and the heart rate monitor. I removed and reinserted the cadence battery and then used the cadence reset button. That seems to have fixed it.
Also it came with every plug fitting for the AC adaptor EXCEPT the Australian one. The Australian plug is shown in the diagram of contents... Anyway no biggy because I charge it off my computer and as pointed out to me by a helpful soul could even use my iPhone charger with the Garmin USB cord.
Has worked really well for auto laps by GPS position.
Heart rate strap is comfortable.
Has masses of features – I've got 28 stats set up across 5 customisable screens and that's without the power stats and %Max stats!
Haven't tried the Courses feature yet (racing myself and others) but really looking forward to it!
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices, came without the australian plug fitting
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Elan 210 Carbonium is made from a Cordura material with a great looking carbon finish. A simple velcro fitment means you can also switch it from bike to bike in seconds.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
A solid little bag
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
BikerChuck
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've had one of these for about 2 years and recently bought another because the edge of the zip had worn through where it rubbed on a particularly pointy part of my seat clamp. (It turns out I didn't really need a new one as needle and thread were enough to repair the old one.) And I'll mount it around the other way from now on, so it rubs on the tough "carbon" casing instead if the edge of the zip.
I can (just) fit a road tube, 2 levers and small multitool into this. Really it's probably better for just a tube and levers.
How well it stays in place is really going to depend on your saddle rails. It sits well on mine with the knob on the back of the seat clamp holding it from sliding forward. Assuming you ride with pockets you could just as easily slip it in one.
Unlike some other bags I've had it has been pretty water resistant – no rusty multi-tool!
Despite the edge of the zip wearing through where it rubbed the zip has always worked excellently, despite me stuffing it to absolute capacity!
It looks good and there's no daggy fitting left on the bike if you want to ride without it.
It sits snug to the saddle so no annoying rattling and assuming your saddle is a good match with it you won't get any knick rubbing wear.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BikerChuck's Questions
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Will I need a plug adaptor to use the AC adapter in Australia?

Does the AC adapter come with a UK plug on it? If so I guess I'll need a plug adapter to fit Australian sockets.

But it can also be charged through the USB from a computer right?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Complete top-of-the-range brake cable set designed to suit Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 and Ultegra 6700 Road bike brakesets.
 

Are these compatible with dura ace 7800?

Will this work with my Dura Ace 7800, which has the gear display "window" device threaded onto the rear derailleur cable? I'm guessing the width of the cable outer has to fit into the gear display insert...
Also, does this product include cables for both the brakes AND gears? Sorry, a bit new to all this...
1 year, 5 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Excellent value summer gloves with a shock absorbing gel padded palm for comfort on long distance rides. A ventilating mesh back and lycra wrist insert provide a close, comfortable fit.
 

Where's the sizing guide?

2 years ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
BikerChuck's Answers
 

Are these any good for a cycle-cross bike?

I've just bought some "Schwalbe Marathon Original GreenGuard Rigid Road City" tyres as I'm commuting quite a lot at the moment. They seem like good tyres but they're so heavy, the bike is noticeably heavier since I put these on. (The cycle-cross tyres that I had were quite soft, and not very puncture resistant).

Essentially, I'm looking for a lightweight puncture resistant tyre that doesn't mind the odd bit of gravel. (I live in Milton Keynes, commuting can be a mix of road, path, slightly gravelled path).
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
These might be tough enough but I would want some more grip if riding anything off sealed road
8 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Rydon sunglasses combine ergonomic features with advanced materials to create a super-lightweight and powerful product. Featuring a half-rim frame design and photochromic lenses for adaptable protection in changing light conditions.
 

How scratch resistant are the lenses?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I dropped mine on some particularly scratchy "gripcrete" (like super rough sandpaper) at the airport and they got 2 little scratches, not enough to effect vision at all but they did scratch. A club mate of mine had hers run over by a truck and the lenses scratched badly (big surprise!) BUT they didn't shatter AND she straightened out the frames, got new lenses and still wears them!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Will I need a plug adaptor to use the AC adapter in Australia?

Does the AC adapter come with a UK plug on it? If so I guess I'll need a plug adapter to fit Australian sockets.

But it can also be charged through the USB from a computer right?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Thanks navy1

The iPhone charger suggestion is something I hadn't thought of.

I went ahead and purchased the Edge 500 and it came with all BUT the Australian plug, despite the instruction card showing it did...

Anyway plenty of charging options so no biggy.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

Will using changing cassettes with different teeth rations require adjusting the gears every time?

I have just has to replace my 12-27 Shimano 105 Cassette. I'm thinking about getting another cassette to put on a spare wheel to create a training wheel for my turbo trainer. Do I need to get a cassette with the same ratio to avoid having to adjust the gears every time I change wheel, or I could use this product alongside the 105 12-27 cassette without having to alter the set up each time?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hi.

You may need to make adjustments and you may be lucky enough not to...

You will find a comprehensive discussion of many relevant points if you google "Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette will a 11-28 work?"

I know those search terms don't necessarily match your components but I found it a very useful discussion relevant across a range of groupsets.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
Rydon sunglasses combine ergonomic features with advanced materials to create a super-lightweight and powerful product. Featuring a half-rim frame design and photochromic lenses for adaptable protection in changing light conditions.
 

are the clear lenses polarized?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No
3 years, 1 month ago
by
BikerChuck
Sydney
 
The new Look KéO Grip anti-slip cleat. It is safer as well as being compatible with the entire KéO range. The TPU pieces helps to reduce the chances of slipping while walking.
 

are these compatible with keo sprint pedals

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
3 years, 2 months ago
by
BikerChuck
 
 Rubino Slick Clincher Tyre
Rubino Slick Clincher Tyre
Road racing clincher tyre with PRB puncture protection. All new Rubino features available with a slick tread pattern!
 

the pressure rating is a little vague, 7-10 bar is quite a wide range? what PSI is this tyre rated to?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The tyres say right on them 120psi max.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
BikerChuck
 
New and redesigned for 2008, the front and rear specific tyre set from the tyremeisters Continental. Now using the ultimate Black Chili compound.
 

What is the maximum psi that you can/should pump to?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The specified maximum is 120psi.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
BikerChuck
 
New and redesigned for 2008, the front and rear specific tyre set from the tyremeisters Continental. Now using the ultimate Black Chili compound.
 

Are these directional tyres ?

Meaning they need or should rotate in one direction only.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes these tyres ARE directional. The tread makes it pretty obvious.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
BikerChuck