Purrito
Top 100 Contributor
Share Purrito's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Purrito's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    97
  • Helpfulness Votes
    55
  • First Review
    27 January 2011
  • Last Review
    12 May 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 June 2011
  • Last Question
    18 January 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    27 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    12 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Purrito's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
Trail or tarmac, rain or shine, staying hydrated is essential for performing at your best. The LifeLine 800ml bottle features a squeezable polyethylene construction for fast fluid delivery and a soft rubber valve for rapid opening/closing on the move.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Its a bottle. Bit it just works.
Posted12 May 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Tried so many bottles and some just leak or discolour. These are great for the price and the larger capacity is great for those rides where you just want one bottle.
No leakage, no plastic taste. Feel sturdy. Will buy only these from now on."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sportful's m socks made from merino wool are excellent for wicking moisture and also helps prevents odour build up. The long cuff helps seal in warmth under tights and overshoes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Different colour...different size
Posted12 May 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I got two pairs in black and white. I wear have a size 37 foot. The black one fits perfectly in the foot and length is just below the calf. The white ones...same size on package but are way bigger! I've given the white ones to a male friend to wear.
Other than that, happy with the black pair. Nice and warm but does look a bit 'grandpa-isa' with the white stripe."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Aeron Short Sleeve Jersey is designed with a wicking fabric and anti-bacterial finish offering you superb all day riding comfort. A jersey engineered for every day use from short spins to all day epic rides.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Sizing and fit is a bit off
Posted24 April 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"My review of this jersey is a direct comparison to the purple Aeron which I assume might be the previous year's version.
I have the purple Aeron jersey and would say Aeron jerseys are good value for everyday riding etc. The only issue is the fit around the chest/back could be better, but this is on my body and everyone is different. Hip and waist fit perfectly but shape is a bit boxy in the chest/back but otherwise great fit (aero sleeves, no bunching up at the front zip).
They look almost but this yellow version appears to be a size bigger despite both size charts measuring the same. I have returned the yellow for a size 8. The purple I have is size 10.
The yellow looks stunning. Hopefully the size 8 exchange fits better."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Blok Women's Sock - Polka
dhb Blok Women's Sock - Polka
A breathable and supportive cycle sock constructed from an antibacterial Meryl Skinlife yarn, and finished with the Blok Polka design. Match your kit from top to toe or add a dash of colour to your kit with the dhb Blok Polka socks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great socks for good price
Posted24 April 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"$7 can't go wrong. Great compression, length and fit. DHB on par with expensive designer cycling socks (i.e.: Defeet). Will buy more."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As light as Morvelo's Superlight jersey but with wind and rain protection. A jersey that is more usable than you'll ever imagine.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great alternative to the Castelli Gabba
Posted24 April 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I’ve always been a jersey + rain jacket combo but lots of friends have started wearing the Castelli Gabba as a way of getting around worry about rain jackets.
I wanted to get a waterproof jersey that I could wear on fast and hard rides. Criteria was slim fit, not too long, stylish and of course..works.
I got the Morvelo Stormshield bibs as a ‘in between’ seasons bibs and loved them, so I decided to get the jersey whilst its on sale. My thoughts..
Fit: The jersey is seriously race cut and tight but in a good way. The cut just works well for my 5ft5 frame and 26in waist. I got a small. The sleeves are tight and aero down to the elbow. I’ve always struggled with jersey lengths being too long and bunching up at the front (I ride in a very aero position). This one is perfect, just below the stomach BUT I think this will be a problem with anyone tall or has a longer torso. The back does not have a dropped hem which I prefer (but means less waterproofing at the rear). Design is simple with a small logo on front and back.
Material: I don’t know how to describe it but its unlike anything I’ve worn. Its very thin and soft but is very compressive all at the same time. You really wouldn’t know its waterproof because its so thin. Almost like a really thin velvet.
Waterproof: Yes and no. I wore it on a 4 hour ride and it was wet for approximately half the time. The jersey stood up well to light showers and drizzle no problem. It rained moderately for a good half hour and felt my upper back get a bit damp but wasn’t sure if it was sweat or water coming through. Post ride I checked my light grey base layer and the ‘damp’ bits were generally around the ‘stretch points’ such as upper back, shoulders, breasts and around the hemline. I can’t tell if it was sweat but my base layer definitely wasn’t soaked as if it was rained on directly and my skin was dry.
Breathability: All waterproof gear compromises on breathability. When worn in the dry I did find that it got a bit sweaty around the collar and back but I wouldn’t say I was uncomfortable. In the rain same thing.
Insulation: I wore this in 10 degrees and found it perfect for mild weather. Not sure if the temperate was lower but I did find I never felt cold even in the wet and wind.
Pockets: Three decent sized pockets and a valuables zip. I found getting things in and out with long fingered gloves easy.
Overall, I give it 9/10. Great aero fit that doesn’t look like a thick soft-shell or Gabba. I would wear this for fast and hard rides but if it was a torrential downpour or I knew i would be out all day in the wet, I would carry a lightweight rain jacket as a backup. I wouldn’t wear this for commuting with a backpack etc as I think the material is too nice and its thinness might be susceptible to tears or rubbing from bags. For commuting I recommend the DHB Aeron Rain Defence jersey as its more sturdy."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Find your workout rhythm in the new season. The Pattern sock from Craft will support you no matter how intense things get.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Disappointing fit for a cycle specific sock
Posted24 April 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I was really excited by the colours these socks came in but really disappointed in the fit. They look great but there's no elastic or hold in the cuff at all. They pretty much start sliding down the moment you put them on. So have not actually worn them on the bike.
Will relegate these to the 'normal sock draw' and wear them with casual boots etc."
Cons: Poor Fit, Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A performance short sleeve cycling jersey designed with a wicking fabric and anti-bacterial finish offering you superb all day riding comfort. A jersey engineered for every day use from short spins to all day mile eating rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good everyday jersey but fit could be better
Posted16 April 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I've been eyeing the DHB Aeron jerseys as my riding partner wears them and they look fantastic on him. Nice and aero and the pockets look descent sized without sagging.
I got this jersey on sale and I'll give it a 7 out of 10.
Style: I'm really digging the DHB range lately but know that the standard and BLOK range aren't for me (too loose a fit). The Aeron range is pretty good, with more simple colours and designs. I don't really like bold brand advertising and the logo on this one is subtle. The style of this jersey is really modern with a tight fit and nice longer length sleeves.
Fit: I'm 5ft 5 and 60kg. I generally wear S in all my kit. I found the waist and hip perfect (nice and snug and no digging in) but the chest and upper back for me feels like there is unnecessary fabric. Could just be me but I never have this issue with my other jerseys and I think I'm pretty 'normal' in terms of body portions. I think this is due to the cut of the jersey which is more 'boxy' in the chest and back which is a bit disappointing as the rest of it fits well. Sleeves are long and compressive.
Performance: Wore it this morning with a gilet in 10c, moderate pace ride. Felt a bit sweaty in the back but that's not uncommon. Jersey stayed put and I didn't have to adjust it much at all. Pockets get my thumbs up.
Will buy Aeron again as I think for the price (on sale) they are a good investment as an everyday jersey."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Fully updated for the new season. The Sportful Fiandre Light NoRain Arm Warmers are perfect in light winds and showers.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
No stretch at all! You better get sizing right
Posted16 April 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I have the Sportful No Rain in S and love them. Soft and stretchy but compressive once on. So I decided I wanted a pair of warmers that were a bit thinner but still have the weather protection.
I got these in S thinking they would be the same but no, what the?! I think Chris Froome would struggle to get these past his hands let alone up his arms. They are incredibly and narrow with zero stretch. Repeat, ZERO stretch.
I'm passing these on to my toothpick-thick-armed-friend. At least I got them on sale so the money spent isn't too much. Not worth the postage returning to Wiggle."
Cons: Poor Fit, Unadjustable, no stretch, really small sizing
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
 
The Ultimate Performance™ Reflective Race Vest is a lightweight, comfortable reflective vest which provides up to 500 candlepower of reflectivity to keep you safe whilst out at night and in low level light conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good value for safety
Posted12 April 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I've taken to long distance Audax events where a reflective garment must be worn at night. I got this one as its much more stylish and looks better constructed than the standard 'free' vest given by Audax.
Pros: Very high vis with the fluro. Looks good (if it fits! see comments below). Packs very small and lightweight. Easy to stuff in saddle bag when not in use.
Cons: Fairly fitted but one size means that for a 25 inch waist its going to flap. There is limited adjustability at the waist to make it tighter. I found also for my small frame that the straps would fall down my shoulder. Also the extent of reflective silver bits is actually quite limited."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit, Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Sportful Women's Fiandre NoRain Pro Bib Shorts are tried and tested in the harshest of Pro races bringing you the benefits of a Nanotechnology water-repellent outside and a brushed fleece inside. A perfect multi-season race and training short.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Nice fabric but fit all wrong
Posted20 March 2018
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"From the moment I took these out of the bag I knew something was off.
I got a S in accordance with the waist measurement and I consistently wear S in bibs in every other brand. I could tell straight away the leg length on these were very long.
The fabric is really soft and warm. But the length! I'm 5ft5 with a 25in waist. I'm not particularly leggy but I'm in proportion and never had issues with length but these come half way down my knee! Its really unusual as the waist is spot on but the straps feel extra tight. Its like the top half is for a extra-small person but the thighs are for a larger person.
Really disappointed because my male friend swears by NoRain and it looks amazing on him. Really compressive and nice length..not like these weird sort-of-three-quarters-but-not. They remind me of the Castelli Women's Omloop Thermal Bib Shorts, which are meant to be a weird half length bib.
Based on others reviews these seem like great bibs if they fit. But like I said, I'm in proportion but these just do not work at all. No saving these no matter how I make them 'fit' on me. Thought about keeping them purely for commuting in winter when the longer length half way over the knee might come in handy...but I can't get over how weird it looks on me.
Returned."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Purrito's Questions
 
 DT Swiss RC 28 Spline C Disc Brake Front Wheel
DT Swiss RC 28 Spline C Disc Brake Front Wheel
The RC 28 spline disc brake front wheel from DT Swiss is built using a disc specific carbon rim with Center Lock SPLINE hubs to give riders strength and peace of mind through precision steering and great control.
 

12mm adaptor, does it come with this?

Hi, do these wheels come with an adaptor so I can put these on forks with a 12mm thru axle? Cheers
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
Affordable resin bodied mountain bike pedal with durable bearings.
 

Does the pedals come with some spare grease and allen key?

7 years ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
Purrito's Answers
 
Engineered for active use with powerful fabrics offering unparalleled breathability, moisture management and flexibility to keep the wearer comfortable and focused.
 

I have a 34cm calf girth - would I be better with a small or extra small or small calf guard? Thanks

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Google the proper size chart or check against in store
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
Contour ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 

Supports larger SD cards?

Is this capable of supporting larger SD card (i.e 32GB) rather than just the 4GB one supplied? I need to be able to record more than just 3.5 hours.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, but no bigger than 32Gb. Also heard that it can't take Sandisk. I'm using Samsung and no issues whereas my Sandisk kept generating a recording fault.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 GoTo 700ml Bottle
GoTo 700ml Bottle
A 700ml bottle (BPA free) which is hygienic, odourless and indestructible.
 

How do these open?

Can you tell me how the lid opens please
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hi Helen. Opening this bottle for the first time took me a while (a little too long and I felt like an idiot when I worked out how easy it is)

First you flip back the handle (just push it back towards the hinge)
Secondly the dome cap is opened by squeezing the side of the cap gently.

Hard to invisage without the bottle in front of you but trust me its very simply once you've done it before.
5 years, 5 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Zefal Toe Clips
Zefal Toe Clips
Another pedigree product from Zefal. Their heritage shines through on the toe clips and straps (sold seperately).
 

are the strapless version deeper section to accomadate every day boots ie my work boots?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I actually found these toe clips to be quite narrow. Not sure what kind of work boots you have but they might be a tight fit.

I have small feet (womens UK4) and they fit well but I did question how a large foot (or thicker soled shoe) would go with these.
6 years, 9 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Short, alloy stubby bar ends especially popular with city riders.
 

hey was just wondering would they fit a 2008 giant rincon , and do you just tighten these bar ends over the rubber grips ? thanks :)

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Not familiar wiht the Giant Rincon but these fit my Specialized Rockhopper.

I couldn't fit them over the rubber grips, I had to take off the grips and cut off the end and then attach the bar ends.
6 years, 9 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Tacx Gem Bike Stand
Tacx Gem Bike Stand
A portable bike stand. Ideal for racing/sportive events for standing the bike upright safely and not leaving against a wall or car whilst getting ready.
 

Does this allow the rear wheel to be spun using the cranks?

I would like my stand to not only hold the bike but also enable me to carry out minor adjustments and maintenance such as derailleur adjustment and chain cleaning and oiling.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes it does.

I use this for cleaning my bike. It does the job of holding up the bike but very expensive for the quality.

I just wrote a review on this, have a look at it when Wiggle posts it.
6 years, 9 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Ion 20 Rucksack
Ion 20 Rucksack
The Ion 20 is a versatile, sleek 20 litre backpack for travel adventures or any outdoor action. Exo-Lite back panels promote cooling airflow.
 

Will I fit a macbook pro in one of these

I am looking for the smallest rucksack to carry a macbook pro (13") on my 10mile journey to work. will I get it in this one?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
This bag will be able to carry a Macbook. I am able to fit my Macbook 13" with no problems. In fact it might be too big if you are looking for 'smallest'. You might want to consider a smaller 16-18 litre bag as this one would be too roomy.

Roomy has it's problems...there's a lack of padding in the front and sides..so if you drop it, your Macbook might not be well protected (unless you have a laptop sleeve or other padding of course or strap it into the hydration bladder sleeve).
7 years, 1 month ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Ion 20 Rucksack
Ion 20 Rucksack
The Ion 20 is a versatile, sleek 20 litre backpack for travel adventures or any outdoor action. Exo-Lite back panels promote cooling airflow.
 

Can you fix a water bladder in it?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes this bag is hydration compatible.

The bag has a good sleeve with elastic along the top and a buckle to strap the bladder.

Should hold a 3litre with no problem (I only use a Kathmandu 3L wide pack) but it's deep enough for a longer Camelback.
7 years, 1 month ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Ladies Shifter Jacket AW10
Ladies Shifter Jacket AW10
 

Does this item run true to size?

I've read some reviews on this jacket suggesting that, compared to other nike products, it runs small i.e. people who normally take a nike small suggest buying a medium. Is this true? Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I wear Nike small in tops and jackets and I found this true to size. However as you are likely to be wearing this over clothing, you might want to consider a size up if you prefer a more looser fit.

I found the sleeves/arms on this jacket a bit roomy but the torso fitted so it's a bit strange in that way.
7 years, 4 months ago
by
Purrito