Purrito
Top 250 Contributor
Share Purrito's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Purrito's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    63
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    27 January 2011
  • Last Review
    28 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 June 2011
  • Last Question
    19 June 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    27 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    12 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Purrito's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
Warm breathable Arm warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great fit
Posted28 July 2014
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Top quality. Haven't used in showers or rain but a few drops of moisture confirmed material has water resistant properties. Really comfy and warm."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This storage water bottle, with screw on lid, is ideal to organise your inner tube, tools, Co2 inflator etc and fits neatly into your water bottle cage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, effective.
Posted28 July 2014
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"It's a bottle. Could use a drink bottle but this one is black. Simple.
Large opening, I fit pump, tube, two co2, tool and disposable gloves."
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Women's Power Windstopper Active Shell Vest
Gore Bike Wear Women's Power Windstopper Active Shell Vest
This slim fit vest (gilet) offers reliable protection from wind and rain on those overcast days. The Windstopper Active Shell vest needs little space with it's integrated stuff-pocket and is easy to get to if needed.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No more plastic bag!
Posted28 July 2014
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"My wardrobe is full go cycling gear. Lots I love but plenty of 'meh'. Cycling vests have been a real problem for me. They're either too plasticky or poorly fitted. The only fitted vest I could find is the Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier vest but it's hard to find now.
Material: first thing I noticed was the material was a bit plasticky and rustled. But on the bike I didn't notice it at all. The material is very thin but was amazingly wind proof and breathable. I forgot I was wearing it.
Fit: not as fitted as the Pearl Izumi but close. Ver slim fit but not too tight. I could have gone a size smaller. Great length at back which is the problem with other vest, to get a nice slim fit you have to go small but then the body length shrinks.
Features: Nice rear pocket, not a zip type but stretchy one with overlapping closure. Good reflective details.
Will buy again if other colors available. The red is beautiful and deep but a clear would be nice."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Engineered for active use with powerful fabrics offering unparalleled breathability, moisture management and flexibility to keep the wearer comfortable and focused.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for hot days/with shorts
Posted12 July 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I do a lot of aerobics and hiking and got these to wear when I don't want full length tights. I also chose these over the full sock type so I can change my socks without changing compression.
I'm 5.5ft, athletic build (cycling calves!) and got these in XS. At first I was worried they'll be tiny when I took them out of the packet but they fit. The fabric feels great and they perform well. They stay up well, rarely have to pull them up.
If I was to buy these again I'll go a size up, only because with the stirrup was putting additional pressure under my foot arch, I've folded the stirrup back a few times as it started to get uncomfortable."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No more lumps
Posted12 July 2014
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I was getting these pronounced 'bumps' on either side of my inner thighs where they were rubbing against the saddle. They weren't typical saddle sores as the skin wasn't broken, just resembled a hard (I literally could 'grab' them and it felt like a mini marble between my fingers) lump. They would come and go just like that too.
I was using other creams and nothing worked. Then I switched to this and no more lumps! I put it down to the long lasting formula. Have bought three tubs when on sale."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A revolutionary new type of therapeutic tape that is great for treating common sports injuries or enhancing performance. Rocktape can help enhance blood flow and improve form and movement for accelerated healing and reduced fatigue.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice and flexible
Posted12 July 2014
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Tried these at a sports expo. Much more comfortable than rigid tape. Doesn't cut into skin. Only con is it doesn't last as long as claimed."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Assos Crystal sunglasses display a high level of eye protection and superb performance. These sunglasses have been produced in an exclusive joint venture between Assos and Carl Zeiss Vision Sunlens to produce clear sunglasses to suit all occasions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Every now and then something amazing comes along..
Posted12 July 2014
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I had these in my 'wish list' for about a year. I couldn't decide if spending $400 for clear glasses was reasonable. However, after each time I wore my previous clear glasses, I always ended up feeling annoyed and plain angry at the quality of those glasses (not just one , I tried four different brands). I expect clear glasses to be clear but more often than not I felt like there was always something in front of my eyes. I hated it.
That also wasn't the only reason I tried these. As someone with a flatter face/low nose bridge I feel that cycling glasses are designed for western faces. This meant glasses would stick out too much on my face and when descending the frame would block my view.
Today I wore those for the first time. Wow. Just wow. I wore them riding up Mt Buffalo in the snow, rain and sun. Firstly, they are light and did not pinch the nose or cause pressure pain. The big lense gives heaps of coverage, which I was worried would just fog up. I never had fog issues moving but when stopped there was fogging, but went away once I started off again. Clarity wise, these were brilliant. No distortion, 180 degree vision and no frame!
Honestly, best thing I bought for a while. I actually forgot I was wearing them at one point. Loved it so much, I've ordered the sunglasses."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda Ladies Team replica short sleeve jersey.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Great jersey...but what's with the sizing?!
Posted03 July 2014
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Really disappointed as I was looking forward to wearing this. I purchased this in size 10 and it was tiny! (as most people have pointed out, I’m normally an 8 so I ‘upsized’ when ordering). I could just squeeze into 10 around the waist and hips but it was extremely tight around the chest and arms, hate to imagine how uncomfortable it would be on the bike.
So returned the 10 and got a 12 and this one is too big! When I took it out of the bag my first thoughts were “Oh no, they’ve sent me a men’s jersey”. I’m really baffled at how much the dimensions changed between the two sizes.
The 12 isn’t just big, it feels like the dimensions just aren’t cut right. I don’t have a difficult shaped body but the chest fabric is baggy and the shoulder fabric doesn’t sit where it should be but is sliding down the top of my shoulder. It’s like it was designed for an Amazon with big boobs and muscular arms but a tiny waist.
I’m not sure if Wiggle/DHB have changed the sizing due to the number of comments regarding the small sizing, if this is the case Wiggle need to let people know as I chose my sizing based on reviews and the experience with the first jersey. I still don’t understand how 10 and 12 differ so substantially.
Going to have to think about what to do next, do I get a 10 again and hope that the sizing was fixed up? Hrm."
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Plain Lazy Ladies Trycycle T Shirt
Plain Lazy Ladies Trycycle T Shirt
Looking like you're putting in the effort is a good start...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Silky touch!
Posted24 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I knew this shirt was different when I opened the packet. Super soft and almost silky to touch. Great fit, good quality. My favorite shirt at the moment."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 ROAM 2 Video Camera
ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cannot use Sandisk Ultra
Posted24 January 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Purrito
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I retuned this camera after it keep beeping during recording. Turns out that it cannot use Sandisk Ultra cards (so I read). Since Contour has gone bust, you can't download the firmware to accept Sandisk. I'm using a Samsung micro SD with my Wiggle replacement camera no issues.
Much more streamline than GoPro. I have this attached to my head tube and it's easy to reach down to turn on and off. Simply slide."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Purrito's Questions
 
Affordable resin bodied mountain bike pedal with durable bearings.
 

Does the pedals come with some spare grease and allen key?

3 years, 4 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
Purrito's Answers
 
Engineered for active use with powerful fabrics offering unparalleled breathability, moisture management and flexibility to keep the wearer comfortable and focused.
 

I have a 34cm calf girth - would I be better with a small or extra small or small calf guard? Thanks

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Google the proper size chart or check against in store
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 ROAM 2 Video Camera
ROAM 2 Video Camera
The ContourROAM2 is the easiest, and most stylish, way to shoot action video. It's a really easy camera to use, just point then press the button and it's recording. Never miss a memorable moment again. Includes 4GB MicroSD card.
 

Supports larger SD cards?

Is this capable of supporting larger SD card (i.e 32GB) rather than just the 4GB one supplied? I need to be able to record more than just 3.5 hours.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, but no bigger than 32Gb. Also heard that it can't take Sandisk. I'm using Samsung and no issues whereas my Sandisk kept generating a recording fault.
8 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 GoTo 700ml Bottle
GoTo 700ml Bottle
A 700ml bottle (BPA free) which is hygienic, odourless and indestructible.
 

How do these open?

Can you tell me how the lid opens please
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Hi Helen. Opening this bottle for the first time took me a while (a little too long and I felt like an idiot when I worked out how easy it is)

First you flip back the handle (just push it back towards the hinge)
Secondly the dome cap is opened by squeezing the side of the cap gently.

Hard to invisage without the bottle in front of you but trust me its very simply once you've done it before.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Toe Clips
Toe Clips
Another pedigree product from Zefal. Their heritage shines through on the toe clips and straps (sold seperately).
 

are the strapless version deeper section to accomadate every day boots ie my work boots?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I actually found these toe clips to be quite narrow. Not sure what kind of work boots you have but they might be a tight fit.

I have small feet (womens UK4) and they fit well but I did question how a large foot (or thicker soled shoe) would go with these.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Short, alloy stubby bar ends especially popular with city riders.
 

hey was just wondering would they fit a 2008 giant rincon , and do you just tighten these bar ends over the rubber grips ? thanks :)

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Not familiar wiht the Giant Rincon but these fit my Specialized Rockhopper.

I couldn't fit them over the rubber grips, I had to take off the grips and cut off the end and then attach the bar ends.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
A portable bike stand. Ideal for racing/sportive events for standing the bike upright safely and not leaving against a wall or car whilst getting ready.
 

Does this allow the rear wheel to be spun using the cranks?

I would like my stand to not only hold the bike but also enable me to carry out minor adjustments and maintenance such as derailleur adjustment and chain cleaning and oiling.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes it does.

I use this for cleaning my bike. It does the job of holding up the bike but very expensive for the quality.

I just wrote a review on this, have a look at it when Wiggle posts it.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Ion 20 Rucksack
Ion 20 Rucksack
The Ion 20 is a versatile, sleek 20 litre backpack for travel adventures or any outdoor action. Exo-Lite back panels promote cooling airflow.
 

Will I fit a macbook pro in one of these

I am looking for the smallest rucksack to carry a macbook pro (13") on my 10mile journey to work. will I get it in this one?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This bag will be able to carry a Macbook. I am able to fit my Macbook 13" with no problems. In fact it might be too big if you are looking for 'smallest'. You might want to consider a smaller 16-18 litre bag as this one would be too roomy.

Roomy has it's problems...there's a lack of padding in the front and sides..so if you drop it, your Macbook might not be well protected (unless you have a laptop sleeve or other padding of course or strap it into the hydration bladder sleeve).
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Ion 20 Rucksack
Ion 20 Rucksack
The Ion 20 is a versatile, sleek 20 litre backpack for travel adventures or any outdoor action. Exo-Lite back panels promote cooling airflow.
 

Can you fix a water bladder in it?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes this bag is hydration compatible.

The bag has a good sleeve with elastic along the top and a buckle to strap the bladder.

Should hold a 3litre with no problem (I only use a Kathmandu 3L wide pack) but it's deep enough for a longer Camelback.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Purrito
Melbourne
 
 Ladies Shifter Jacket AW10
Ladies Shifter Jacket AW10
 

Does this item run true to size?

I've read some reviews on this jacket suggesting that, compared to other nike products, it runs small i.e. people who normally take a nike small suggest buying a medium. Is this true? Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I wear Nike small in tops and jackets and I found this true to size. However as you are likely to be wearing this over clothing, you might want to consider a size up if you prefer a more looser fit.

I found the sleeves/arms on this jacket a bit roomy but the torso fitted so it's a bit strange in that way.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Purrito