Ianplag
Top 500 Contributor
Share Ianplag's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Ianplag's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    31
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    31 January 2011
  • Last Review
    26 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    31 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    10 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Ianplag's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The dhb Clip is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely piece of clothing
Posted26 July 2015
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Female
"This jersey is perfect for cooler summer rides. The material and zips are good quality and there is a zip pocket at the back. Great price too!!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Adequate
Posted30 May 2015
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these brakes for my general use aluminium road bike and they are adequate, but certainly not a patch on the FSAs I have on my CF road bike."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Lightweight, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best overshoes I've owned
Posted10 March 2015
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been through numerous pairs of overshoes over the years including Endura, BBB and Altura but these are the best. The fit is excellent, although from past experience of overshoes I bought XL to fit a size 44 mtb shoe. The stitching is robust and the zips seem to be good quality. Have ridden in zero temperatures and my feet felt warm enough. The only thing I haven't done is give them a good soaking, but judging by the thickness of the neoprene material I would guess they are pretty waterproof."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These shoe covers are extremely tough and will keep your foot insulated and your shoes protected from adverse weather. The industrial strength full length zipper won't let you down and the reflective detailing will help you stay visible at night.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Heavy Duty??
Posted08 February 2015
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These overshoes are fine for autumn, spring or milder winter days but to call them 'heavy duty' is a misnomer. They are certainly not water resistant and the material is relatively thin which meant the tread on my mtb shoes quickly wore through the material under the balls of my feet. Other than that, they slip on easily and the zips are very sturdy, so you might get a couple of seasons out of them."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Adjustable
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 0.98 litres to 1.31 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best
Posted08 February 2015
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These saddle bags are the best around with a variety of sizes (I have a small one for my road bike and a medium for my mtb). Rugged materials and easily clips on and off."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
USB rechargeable double rear light with an 30 lumen output. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal rear light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great piece of kit
Posted01 February 2015
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bright enough for commuting on roads, easy to recharge via USB. Best of all it's small enough to clip on to the back of your helmet."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Core Compression Long Sleeve Top 2.0 - HO14
Nike Core Compression Long Sleeve Top 2.0 - HO14
Made with sweat-wicking fabric in a long-sleeve cut that hugs the body, the Nike Pro Combat Core Compression Men's Shirt is a comfortable base layer for cool-weather game days or training.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it is designed for
Posted07 January 2015
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ideal for autumn/winter but not really warm enough for very cold weather. Nice fit although the description says the top is longer than usual, but it doesn't cover my backside!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib short with Action 205 and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface cycling pad.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Very poor fit
Posted10 September 2014
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am 5'7" and approx 10st and ordered a medium size. The shorts were far too tight in the thigh area which made them difficult to pull on. Similarly, this made the neck strap too tight and would have been extremely uncomfortable on a longer ride. The alternative is to order a large size which seems ridiculous given my height and weight (more Contador than Greipel)."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Topeak quality at a great price! Padded elastomer grip and TwinHead connector make this efficient pump comfortable and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent piece of kit
Posted12 August 2014
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Robust and easy to use, and far superior to my previous track pump. Dial is easily read and the connectors fit over the inner tube valves tightly, so no loss of air."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A smooth, aerodynamic wheelset with balanced 35mm profile alloy rims, a two-to-one spoke pattern, oversize drive side flange and light alloy hubs. Racing Quattros are an excellent value all round training and sportive wheelset for road and tri use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautiful wheels
Posted18 July 2014
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Didn't believe a pair of wheels could make so much difference. I upgraded from a pair of DT Swiss R1900s which had been on my Focus Cayo for 3 years.
The Fulcrums roll so much smoother, especially on the flat and downhill. Much quieter too. Just takes a bit of getting used to the stiffer handling and they are more susceptible to cross winds. However, buy some, you won't be disappointed.
Bargain price too!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Ianplag's Questions
 
Ianplag has not submitted any questions.
 
Ianplag's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

Giro Empire Sizing

I have the Giro Empire size 44. Just wondered what the recommended size of extreme winter overshoe would be? The empire is a little different to most road cycling shoes as it does not have a buckle but laces instead. 44 is borderline medium/large according to the official size chart.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Ignore the chart and go for XL. I just bought XL for a pair of size 44 mtb shoes and the fit is perfect.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

Size for 44 Shimano wide fit road shoe

I have a suze 44 Shimano wide fit (R088) road shoe and according to the sizing chart I sit on the cusp of M and L. What size would you recommend in this case as there is no clear cut sizing choice.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Definitely XL, I just bought XL to fit size 44 mtb shoe and they are perfect.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

what size

i wear size 8 road shoes can you suggest the best size
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd go for a large pair. I bought XL for my size 44 (10) mtb and they are a perfect fit.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
These shoe covers are extremely tough and will keep your foot insulated and your shoes protected from adverse weather. The industrial strength full length zipper won't let you down and the reflective detailing will help you stay visible at night.
 

Are these compatable with mtb shoes mt53

are these overshoes compatable with shimano mtb 53 shoes and what size will I need for 42 shoes please.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd go for large. I am size 42-43 and a large is just about right.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
USB rechargeable double rear light with an 30 lumen output. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal rear light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Great lights and also great to be able to recharge at my desk at work, however how can I tell if light is full recharged?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
If you notice when you charge it a small red light inside one of the bulbs comes on; it goes out once the light is fully charged.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib short with Action 205 and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface cycling pad.
 

167cm (5'7"); 38-39" Chest (96-99cm) and 73-75 kg - Correct size is?

I would like to know correct size (not in the position to try them prior or the additional costs for return). Are these a comfort, slim or relax fit and will these accommodate small changes in weight and chest growth.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Go for large. I am 5'7", 10st and ordered medium. Far too tight in thighs and neck straps.
10 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib short with Action 205 and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface cycling pad.
 

Another sizing question

Another question regarding sizing, but I have the opposite problem to most. I have a fat 35-36" waist but am only 5ft 5" tall. Should I go by the waist size (medium or large) or the height (small)?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Definitely go for the large. I am 5'7" and approx 10st and ordered medium. Far too tight in thighs and neck straps.
10 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
A smooth, aerodynamic wheelset with balanced 35mm profile alloy rims, a two-to-one spoke pattern, oversize drive side flange and light alloy hubs. Racing Quattros are an excellent value all round training and sportive wheelset for road and tri use.
 

Hub selection

My bike is fitted with a Sram 9 speed cassette. Which hub should I select to suit this?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, it will take Shimano or Sram cassettes from 8-10 speed (not sure if it will take an 11 speed).
11 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
 Moon Meteor Front Light
Moon Meteor Front Light
The meteor features a single Cree XPF LED, but still delivers 210 Lumen of output. The compact and light weight design of this model make it ideal for everyday use.
 

Spare charge cable

Can I buy a spare charging cable as I have lost the original so the light is currently useless as I cannot charge it.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The charger socket is a universal fitting so you can buy a lead for pennies from a computer shop. You probably have some old ones lying around the house as they often come with MP3 players and any number of small electric items.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
 KMC Chain Link Pliers
KMC Chain Link Pliers
Workshop pliers for quick removal of joining-links in chains.
 

1/8th Chains?

Will this removal tool open KMC 1/8th chains.

The KMC website says it will do "Missinglink 1" but that is a 3/32 chain and not 1/8th.

If not, can you suggest a removal tool that will open 1/8th "missing links".
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I guess it will remove most link connectors, not just KMC ones.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead