Ianplag
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Ianplag's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Ianplag's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    31 January 2011
  • Last Review
    29 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    31 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    29 October 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Ianplag's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Workshop pliers for quick removal of joining-links in chains.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Precision tool
Posted29 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"In the long run this will save you a small fortune in chain link connectors. Take the connectors off your old chains and keep them as spares in your saddlebag."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value
Posted03 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These bib-shorts are a quality item. Rode over 100 miles at the weekend with no chafing which speaks volumes for the design and the chamois. The only minor issue is the size. I am 10st and 5ft 8ins but a medium was just the right fit."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pro level holders and triple contour, dual compound brake pad inserts for the ultimate combination of precision, power, feel and durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Absolute bargain
Posted29 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A few months ago I bought a secondhand road bike and immediately changed the brake pads. It took me a while to locate Fairfax inserts but wished I hadn't because they were pretty useless and constantly squealed, despite toeing them in. So, time for a change and I bought a set of Lifeline road brake shoes and inserts. I used them for the first time in the wet; good stopping power and no squealing. Go on, treat yourself!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
In the last ten years, there's been something of a revolution in trail riding, with dedicated trail centres appearing throughout the UK. This kind of revolution demands a dedicated series of trail bikes to match.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
What can I say?
Posted02 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This bike was unbelievable value due to it being last year's model; £440 instead of £700. Top notch spec, very light for a mtb and rides like a dream both on and off road. The only downside is some cable rub on top of the forks after only 3-4 rides. Cannot wait for better weather for some longer rides in Northumberland."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good quality, poor fit
Posted28 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"DHB gear usually combines quality with value for money but on this occasion, as other reviews have stated, this jacket is too short in the tail and it constantly rides up. Also, the sleeves are too baggy. I sent mine back and a ordered something more expensive."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Had to return it
Posted20 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Excellent quality, good fit. However, the material was much too thick for me as I was hoping for something thinner."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fully-featured Mountain Bike shoes with a supple synthetic leather upper and a micrometric buckle closure for precise and convenient fit control. With a stiff glass fibre sole and durable rubber tread, the M087 is perfect for weekends out on the trails.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit like a glove
Posted11 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lovely comfortable shoes. HOWEVER, Shimano sizes are very small so buy them at least one size too big. I am usually a 43 but I bought size 44 and they fit just right."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: shimano sizes are small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The meteor features a single Cree XPF LED, but still delivers 210 Lumen of output. The compact and light weight design of this model make it ideal for everyday use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
What an amazing piece of kit.
Posted01 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"For the money, this is a fantastic piece of kit which can be used on or off road. Very easy to set up and attaches to handlebars or helmet. It even has an SOS facility. If you are looking for a value for money light look no further."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The ultimate safety Light. Fibre Flare uses the latest super-bright fibre optic technology in a flexible tube with multiple attachment options. Versatile design allows this product to be mounted on seat posts, chainstays, bags or clothing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent piece of kit
Posted01 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The light is very versatile and although it was slightly smaller than anticipated it fits nicely on the seat stay. Great as a secondary light. It also clips on and off easily."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a very competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric and refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling short without compromise.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Change your pad!!
Posted16 April 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ianplag
fromGateshead
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Last year I bought a pair of DHB bib shorts which fitted perfectly and most importantly the pad was very comfortable. Later in the year I purchased the same bib shorts in a different colour, but the pad had changed. Unfortunately it is the same pad in the Aeron shorts and after only 20 miles it started to chafe my tender bits even though I used chamois cream. This is a real shame because the shorts are otherwise excellent value for money and look great."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: uncomfortable pad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ianplag's Questions
 
Ianplag has not submitted any questions.
 
Ianplag's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The meteor features a single Cree XPF LED, but still delivers 210 Lumen of output. The compact and light weight design of this model make it ideal for everyday use.
 

Spare charge cable

Can I buy a spare charging cable as I have lost the original so the light is currently useless as I cannot charge it.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The charger socket is a universal fitting so you can buy a lead for pennies from a computer shop. You probably have some old ones lying around the house as they often come with MP3 players and any number of small electric items.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
Workshop pliers for quick removal of joining-links in chains.
 

1/8th Chains?

Will this removal tool open KMC 1/8th chains.

The KMC website says it will do "Missinglink 1" but that is a 3/32 chain and not 1/8th.

If not, can you suggest a removal tool that will open 1/8th "missing links".
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I guess it will remove most link connectors, not just KMC ones.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
Workshop pliers for quick removal of joining-links in chains.
 

Is this for two pairs of pliers?

Is the price for both pliers, the description only mentions black pliers. So are the red ones included too? I can't see them listed elsewhere.

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, you choose either the pliers to remove or to insert the links. However, I cannot see why anyone would want a pair to insert the links unless they have hand mobility problems.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
 Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
In the last ten years, there's been something of a revolution in trail riding, with dedicated trail centres appearing throughout the UK. This kind of revolution demands a dedicated series of trail bikes to match.
 

What size should I buy?

I am 175 cm tall - my inside leg is 85cm. Do I need a medium or large?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'd go for a large. I am 172cm tall with an inside leg of 77cm and a medium is just right for me.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
 Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
In the last ten years, there's been something of a revolution in trail riding, with dedicated trail centres appearing throughout the UK. This kind of revolution demands a dedicated series of trail bikes to match.
 

My son is 13yrs 166cm tall and inside leg 77cm I have ordered a medium as he seems very close to that size do you think it will be much too big ?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I am 172cm tall with a 77cm inside leg. The medium should be okay but you might find the handlebars are too wide. I am going to cut a few centimetres off each end for this reason.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
 Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
Avalanche 1.0 Disc 2012
In the last ten years, there's been something of a revolution in trail riding, with dedicated trail centres appearing throughout the UK. This kind of revolution demands a dedicated series of trail bikes to match.
 

Size

My wife is 5'6.5". She has tried a Specialized Myka sport disc today with a 17.5'' frame and she liked the fit. The salesman said that this was a bike especially built for women and therefore the reach was shorter than a Man's (Unisex) frame. He said the GT Avalanche with a medium frame wouldn't be the right fit as it is designed for longer arms. Is this true? I would prefer the GT or the Felt Q720 which you have on offer at the moment.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
He's probably right, unless you fit a narrower set of bars. I am 5'8" and have a medium sized frame. The width of the bars means my arms are almost at full stretch so I will probably cut a few centimetres off each end.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
The ultimate safety Light. Fibre Flare uses the latest super-bright fibre optic technology in a flexible tube with multiple attachment options. Versatile design allows this product to be mounted on seat posts, chainstays, bags or clothing.
 

Could the Fibre Flare shorty be mounted on a Rock Shock Tora fork?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I presume you are talking about a front fork? If so, it is meant as a rear light, although the silicone straps can be fitted to a range of widths.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
The ultimate safety Light. Fibre Flare uses the latest super-bright fibre optic technology in a flexible tube with multiple attachment options. Versatile design allows this product to be mounted on seat posts, chainstays, bags or clothing.
 

Is it waterproof?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's not entirely waterproof insofar as I wouldn't recommend immersing it in water. However, it will certainly keep the water out during a ride. Mine was attached to the seat stay and got a good soaking but it has continued to function.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric, refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling bib short without compromise.
 

Do they have back pockets?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No pockets.
2 years ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 

Do the lenses from the glasses fit in any of your other dhb frames?

Managed to snap the frame on my pair pair, and didnt want to purchase a whole new set, so was hoping the lenses would fit on the dhb lite sunglasses.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, I have a pair of yellow lens DHB glasses and the are interchangeable.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Ianplag
Gateshead