MJSRed
Top 1000 Contributor
Share MJSRed's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MJSRed's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    04 March 2011
  • Last Review
    10 February 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 May 2014
  • Last Question
    01 May 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    04 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    10 February 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MJSRed's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The compound has a much lower internal resistance so making it particularly suitable for roller training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Recommended
Posted10 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having destroyed a brand new Pro4 on my turbo I was a bit late in purchasing this specialist turbo tyre. If you use a turbo trainer I would recommend buying a proper turbo tyre first. It obviously helps if you have a spare wheel to put it on too.
It's very clearly not a normal tyre so no chance of accidentally going out on the road on it either.
"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
The gilet’s slim cut is long in the back and has a mesh backside for better ventilation. A tall collar and storm-flap give you the extra weather-protection on the front when you need it. Ideal for chilly cycling conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great product for extra visibility
Posted10 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A great gillet - I bought it for winter rides and commutes as I was concious that most of my gear is dark in colour. It performs this task perfectly. The sizing is a little on the large side but i tend to wear it with a few layers underneath anyway."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Usual dHB quality and value
Posted21 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent fit and feels good quality for the price point considering you can spend three times the amount for a very similar product with a brand name on it."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for Jersey pocket
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Big enough to inflate your tyre at the road side but small enough to fit in your pocket. I wouldn't mount it on your frame as it will be dirty and worn when you really need it and it fits nicely in most back pockets."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Arm warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent fit and warm
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great product. Really waterproof and a good length so there are no gaps next to a short sleeve jersey or your gloves."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Multi-position design helmet mount bracket kit for (2008 or later) Diablo /Joystick/Wiggle Joystick and Spark lights.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but a bit pricy
Posted13 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Does the job if you need to see where you're looking round corners in the dark. Quite expensive for what you get but it should last."
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Chain Link Pliers
Chain Link Pliers
Workshop pliers for quick removal of joining-links in chains.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just the job
Posted13 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Really saves time and stops you getting in a mess if you remove your chain regularly to clean it."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Clean Ride is Cycling's Only Self-Cleaning Lubricant. Clean Ride literally sheds dirt and grime while you ride, keeping your bike running smoothly.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Average at best
Posted29 August 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"It does the job and keeps the chain lubricated but it is a very thin liquid and tends to splash everywhere when you're applying it."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why pay any more?
Posted03 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great fit and excellent value for money. The pad is very comfortable; I've used them on a 60 mile ride and they felt great but too soon to comment on their lifespan."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer provides a superior cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great base layer
Posted03 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a great base layer. Gives you a little warmth on a cooler day and keeps nice and dry on a warm day; what else do you need from a vest!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MJSRed's Questions
 
Everybody's feet are different but all can benefit from the support and comfort provided by a Superfeet Premium Insole.firm, contoured shape provides comfort soft insoles cannot achieve. Ideal for running and higher volume cycling shoes.
 

Which colour do I chose?

I have some expensive Mavic Zxellium road shoes that I find really uncomfortable on the arches of my feet in comparison to my entry level Shimano shoes.
I really want to wear the Mavics; will these help and which colour insole is appropriate?
 
Products related to my question
Zxellium Road Shoes - 2012
4.8 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
MJSRed's Answers
 
 Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
The gilet’s slim cut is long in the back and has a mesh backside for better ventilation. A tall collar and storm-flap give you the extra weather-protection on the front when you need it. Ideal for chilly cycling conditions.
 

does it have pockets at the back?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No back pockets but one zip pocket on the front.
8 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
The gilet’s slim cut is long in the back and has a mesh backside for better ventilation. A tall collar and storm-flap give you the extra weather-protection on the front when you need it. Ideal for chilly cycling conditions.
 

on the yellow version what colour is the back?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yellow
8 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 

Sizing?

I'm 5' 7", and I measure 35" in the chest and 33.8" in the waist. Would you recommend an S or an M?

Thanks!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'11" and a medium is a perfect fit.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 

which size guide is most important?

basically i'm 6.2ft waist of 32 and chest of 36. so the size guide isn't really helping, which is most important? (i'm thinking medium might be my best bet, not sure though)
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'11 and 32 waist and a medium fits perfectly.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Sirius Mk1 Front Light
Sirius Mk1 Front Light
New to the 2013 range is the Sirius. The Sirius is aimed at the commuter and offers proven Exposure technology including Cable Free Design, Intelligent Thermal Management and Fuel Gauge Indicator at an affordable price point.
 

can this light be charged at the mains?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, if you have a USB plug like you get with an apple product.
The light only comes with the USB lead.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Fully detailed maps included with the Edge 705 Road bundle
 

How large is the font size for HR and cadence info?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
This is adjustable - it depends on how many data fields you choose to display.
3 years ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Fully detailed maps included with the Edge 705 Road bundle
 

Will this device be able to tell you how far you have been if on a trainer.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I think so, if you have the cadence sensor there is a magnet attached to the rear wheel.

There is also a training setting in the options.
3 years ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Pace Padded Waist Tight
Pace Padded Waist Tight
The anatomical construction of the Pace waist tights makes for a comfortable and unrestrictive fit.
 

I'm 5'11, 32in waist and have quite slim legs, which size do i go for?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Small should do it.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Pace Padded Waist Tight
Pace Padded Waist Tight
The anatomical construction of the Pace waist tights makes for a comfortable and unrestrictive fit.
 

Sizing

I am approx 5ft 8" with a 30" leg and 32" waist.... always had a medium in every pair of shorts I've had and my altura winter cruisers also a medium. Same again for the dhb's? Sizing chart suggests small may be ok
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I would definitely go for the small
3 years, 7 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
Breakthrough Fluid+Mag technology offers higher resistance at a set speed - especially at low speed to replicate climbs and headwinds.
 

Manual not included

There are no instructions on how to assemble the trainer. Now I have a roller with two bolts and a plastic part with two holes. However the pitch of the bolts is not the pitch of the holes and I have no help whatsoever.Help appreciated.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
There were very brief assembly instructions in the documentation for mine.

You should attach the roller to the frame through the long holes (not round) so that you can adjust it's position.

Hope this helps.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham