MJSRed
Top 1000 Contributor
Share MJSRed's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MJSRed's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    30
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    04 March 2011
  • Last Review
    01 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    01 May 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    04 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    10 February 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MJSRed's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Castelli Free 6 Cycling Sock is a cycling specific sock, with mesh construction cuff to keep you cool in the summer. The shorter 6cm cuff keeps tan-line envy from friends to a minimum.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality
Posted01 July 2015
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Really comfortable and looks great.
I'm usually a UK size 9 and L/XL was spot on.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As the benchmark in mid level bibshorts, the Velocissimo Due leads the way in styling, function and quality. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost. Prepare for victory!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Shorts - you get what you pay for!
Posted25 June 2015
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Really good quality shorts with a comfortable pad.
I'm a medium in DHB kit but went up to Large for Castelli stuff and the fit is just about spot on.
So good I ordered a second pair straight away!
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Marathon Pack contains enough award-winning nutrition to boost your carbohydrate intake at breakfast on race day, EnergyGel for use during your Marathon and Protein Recovery for afterwards.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted03 February 2015
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A random selection of flavours but great value for what you get even if you don't really want another bottle."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Professional ASV Thermal Gilet
dhb Professional ASV Thermal Gilet
Add warmth to your winter training wardrobe with the ASV Thermal Gilet which combines highly technical fabrics and striking graphics for a premium winter gilet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome Gilet
Posted13 January 2015
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent snug fit so there's no flapping and the material is brilliant at keeping out the cold wind.
Great quality for the price - I highly recommend it.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Insider Turbo Trainer Road Tyre 2014
Schwalbe Insider Turbo Trainer Road Tyre 2014
The compound has a much lower internal resistance so making it particularly suitable for roller training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Recommended
Posted10 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having destroyed a brand new Pro4 on my turbo I was a bit late in purchasing this specialist turbo tyre. If you use a turbo trainer I would recommend buying a proper turbo tyre first. It obviously helps if you have a spare wheel to put it on too.
It's very clearly not a normal tyre so no chance of accidentally going out on the road on it either.
"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
The gilet’s slim cut is long in the back and has a mesh backside for better ventilation. A tall collar and storm-flap give you the extra weather-protection on the front when you need it. Ideal for chilly cycling conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great product for extra visibility
Posted10 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A great gillet - I bought it for winter rides and commutes as I was concious that most of my gear is dark in colour. It performs this task perfectly. The sizing is a little on the large side but i tend to wear it with a few layers underneath anyway."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Usual dHB quality and value
Posted21 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent fit and feels good quality for the price point considering you can spend three times the amount for a very similar product with a brand name on it."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for Jersey pocket
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Big enough to inflate your tyre at the road side but small enough to fit in your pocket. I wouldn't mount it on your frame as it will be dirty and worn when you really need it and it fits nicely in most back pockets."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Arm warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent fit and warm
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great product. Really waterproof and a good length so there are no gaps next to a short sleeve jersey or your gloves."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Multi-position design helmet mount bracket kit for (2008 or later) Diablo /Joystick/Wiggle Joystick and Spark lights.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but a bit pricy
Posted13 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MJSRed
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Does the job if you need to see where you're looking round corners in the dark. Quite expensive for what you get but it should last."
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
MJSRed's Questions
 
Everybody's feet are different but all can benefit from the support and comfort provided by a Superfeet Premium Insole.firm, contoured shape provides comfort soft insoles cannot achieve. Ideal for running and higher volume cycling shoes.
 

Which colour do I chose?

I have some expensive Mavic Zxellium road shoes that I find really uncomfortable on the arches of my feet in comparison to my entry level Shimano shoes.
I really want to wear the Mavics; will these help and which colour insole is appropriate?
 
Products related to my question
Zxellium Road Shoes - 2012
4.8 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 3 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
MJSRed's Answers
 
 Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
The gilet’s slim cut is long in the back and has a mesh backside for better ventilation. A tall collar and storm-flap give you the extra weather-protection on the front when you need it. Ideal for chilly cycling conditions.
 

does it have pockets at the back?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No back pockets but one zip pocket on the front.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
Adidas Tour Gilet AW13
The gilet’s slim cut is long in the back and has a mesh backside for better ventilation. A tall collar and storm-flap give you the extra weather-protection on the front when you need it. Ideal for chilly cycling conditions.
 

on the yellow version what colour is the back?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yellow
1 year, 5 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 dhb Trace Bib Short
dhb Trace Bib Short
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 

Sizing?

I'm 5' 7", and I measure 35" in the chest and 33.8" in the waist. Would you recommend an S or an M?

Thanks!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'11" and a medium is a perfect fit.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 dhb Trace Bib Short
dhb Trace Bib Short
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 

which size guide is most important?

basically i'm 6.2ft waist of 32 and chest of 36. so the size guide isn't really helping, which is most important? (i'm thinking medium might be my best bet, not sure though)
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'11 and 32 waist and a medium fits perfectly.
2 years ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Sirius Mk1 Front Light
Sirius Mk1 Front Light
New to the 2013 range is the Sirius. The Sirius is aimed at the commuter and offers proven Exposure technology including Cable Free Design, Intelligent Thermal Management and Fuel Gauge Indicator at an affordable price point.
 

can this light be charged at the mains?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, if you have a USB plug like you get with an apple product.
The light only comes with the USB lead.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Fully detailed maps included with the Edge 705 Road bundle
 

How large is the font size for HR and cadence info?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
This is adjustable - it depends on how many data fields you choose to display.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Edge 705 Road Performance Package
Fully detailed maps included with the Edge 705 Road bundle
 

Will this device be able to tell you how far you have been if on a trainer.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I think so, if you have the cadence sensor there is a magnet attached to the rear wheel.

There is also a training setting in the options.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Pace Padded Waist Tight
Pace Padded Waist Tight
The anatomical construction of the Pace waist tights makes for a comfortable and unrestrictive fit.
 

I'm 5'11, 32in waist and have quite slim legs, which size do i go for?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Small should do it.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
 Pace Padded Waist Tight
Pace Padded Waist Tight
The anatomical construction of the Pace waist tights makes for a comfortable and unrestrictive fit.
 

Sizing

I am approx 5ft 8" with a 30" leg and 32" waist.... always had a medium in every pair of shorts I've had and my altura winter cruisers also a medium. Same again for the dhb's? Sizing chart suggests small may be ok
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I would definitely go for the small
4 years, 4 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham
 
The Elite Crono-Hydro-Mag Elastogel trainer is a great choice for indoor training, or for warm-ups before your important event. Using a mix of Fluid and Magnetic technology, the trainer gives smooth progressive resistance and is very quiet also.
 

Manual not included

There are no instructions on how to assemble the trainer. Now I have a roller with two bolts and a plastic part with two holes. However the pitch of the bolts is not the pitch of the holes and I have no help whatsoever.Help appreciated.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
There were very brief assembly instructions in the documentation for mine.

You should attach the roller to the frame through the long holes (not round) so that you can adjust it's position.

Hope this helps.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
MJSRed
Nottingham