Patch86
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Patch86's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Patch86's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    18 February 2011
  • Last Review
    14 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    26 March 2012
  • Last Question
    26 March 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    22 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    26 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
Patch86's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Innovation often comes from places you‘d least expect. In order to make a lighter crankset, SRAM made it bigger. To add stiffness, they used less material.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Chainset
Posted14 May 2014
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace a creaking, groaning chain set my bike came with and couldn't be happier. It has a sharp look and is noticeably lighter than the old one. Being carbon you have to be a bit careful, I've got a few scratches on it but overall love it."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 has always been the balanced training and competition wheel. From now on, thanks to the new features, it will also provide the satisfaction of riding the pink "F" brand".
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fulcrum Racing 3 is a Top Purchase
Posted26 March 2012
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I only realised how good these wheels were when I upgraded my road bike to a similarly specced (on paper) wheel from a US brand and wondered where all the resistance came from. The Fulcrums are light and roll incredibly well. I have at least a couple of thousand k's on them now so you can count this as a long term use review, great product."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great stats
Posted18 October 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The Bryton is a more basic competitor to the Edge 500. You get the usual bike computer stuff (cadence, speed etc) with some great altitude features (time and distance to peak) temperature, sunset, distance to finish and of course the post ride software for your ride stats which is very good. The main let-down is the Find and Go function (basic navigation and hill profile ahead) which doesn't work yet (fix in November) and the screen fonts which are quite small. So this is good value for money but you will need to accept that is a bit rough around the edges and the Garmin is more polished. Having said that I think the Bryton team are very dedicated and respond quickly to feedback and seem to have an active enhancement programme for the firmware."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: hill profile and navigation, small screen fonts
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Conti tubes - good product
Posted17 October 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm not sure how you compare tubes as such, but these seem to last well enough. I do like the yellow cap on the valve which makes it easy to find on dark mornings. My only reason for not giving the 5 star is that the valve stem is a bit on the short side for the modern wheel trends (ie the deeper dish treatment)."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Toasty Warm
Posted10 October 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a must-have winter bib, unbelievably comfortable, these kept me warm all through winter and the quality is excellent, cannot believe how cheap such well made kit was."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rugged but heavy
Posted17 June 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These pedals are good quality and appear bullet-proof, but they are surprisingly heavy, they feel like twice the weight of other spd's I have. Having said that for recreational MTB I think they will be fine and give years of service."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky, heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm and breathable cold weather headwear made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dhb quality again
Posted17 June 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This skull cap is wonderful, it's very warm and comfortable is snug without being tight and covers the ears well. My only criticism is there is a small tab on the front that digs in when pressed by the helmet, but you can easily snip it off."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zero Extreme Wind Stopper Base Layer - 2010 SS10
Zero Extreme Wind Stopper Base Layer - 2010 SS10
Designed to keep you dry and fresh throughout any workout in fair and cold conditions. Makes you drier, lighter and faster.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Toasty
Posted17 June 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a Tardis garment, it appears very thin but it really does keep you quite warm under the outer layers and importantly dry (i've found in winter often layering results in swimming in warm sweat), this really wicks well. Only downside is that it is so light I'm not sure about machine washing."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wickham eVENT Waterproof Cycling Jacket
Wickham eVENT Waterproof Cycling Jacket
The Wickham range - breathable, lightweight and performance-orientated waterproof clothing
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great weather protection
Posted18 May 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a great product the other reviews are right it does actually breathe! The only downsides were I chose too large a size (X.Large is way too big for 6'1") and the neck which could do with some velcro or draw string to seal the gap around my neck (possibly not so much of an issue if I'd chosen the right size). However it works great to repel rain and act as a windblocker."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB HardWear Shoe Covers
BBB HardWear Shoe Covers
Designed to protect your feet against cold and wet conditions, HardWear overshoes feature a Neoskin waterproof layer on top of 3mm neoprene which offers the best protection against the cold and rain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Protection
Posted18 May 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These boot covers are probably not the most fashionable - but funcitonally and quality wise they are very good. The rubber insulates well and is water proof, the reflective detail makes them very visible at night, the zip is rugged and there is a velcro tab at the top to stop them sliding off the shoe. Only downside apart from fashion is the weight (a little heavy). Overall BBB comes through again with a value and quality product!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive, Bulky, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Patch86's Questions
 
 SRAM S30AL Race Clincher Rear Wheel
SRAM S30AL Race Clincher Rear Wheel
Fast, light and beautiful. The perfect combination of lightweight and aerodynamics. Put these wheels on your bike and feel how responsive they are. Packaged in a beautiful black diamond finish, they will turn heads around.
 

How do you loosen the wheel?

My rear wheel SRAM does not freewheel very well at all. I find with lbs you have to point them to the problem so want to know is it likely the hub, the cassette, something else?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
Patch86's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

could you tell me if the cores on the ptesta valves are removable please so they can receive valve extenders on deep section rims. thanks

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes the Continentals screw out easily. you may need a small tool to grip the core (I know this is supplied with the Conti valve extenders)
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

What are the differences of the tube types?

I have a 700x25 wheel so these are perfect. However I'm confused by the different types. You have Race, Cross and Tour. I'm after something that is more sturdy than light. Would Cross or Tour therefore work fine on a road bike?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes. As long as the size is 700 x18/25 (can also be referred to as 18/25 - 622/630)
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 has always been the balanced training and competition wheel. From now on, thanks to the new features, it will also provide the satisfaction of riding the pink "F" brand".
 

What size tyre is recommended?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
700 x 23 - standard road bike tyre size. You won't need any rim tape because Fulcrum covered the rim so the spoke ends don't obtrude.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 

Is the "Rider Bike Mount" attached to "bryton - Rider 35T"?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Rider 35 uses a twist mount (the mount is attached with bands). The mount is excellent the best I've come across for a bike computer, extremely stable.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

Will the 700 *18-25 be suitable for a continental ultra sport tyre (700*25).

also what does the race 28 mean actually mean?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 

Does the the Bryton come with a Cadence sensor?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You have to purchase the version that includes the sensor. Unlike the Garmin 500 (which is a combined sensor) the unit is either cadence or speed so you have to choose which you want (I use it as cadence and use GPS for speed - drawback is that it takes 1-2mins to pick the signal at ride start). You can also buy an extra sensor if you want both.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 

Can I upload/download GPX tracks directly?

Can I upload/download GPX tracks directly to/from the device, or some special software is needed to do this?
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You need to use the Bryton Bridge, but this is now browser accessible - no biggie and simple to upload
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

Additional Components and Tools For Ultegra Hollowtech II

I am about to order the Ultegra Hollowtech II double crankset. What additional parts and tools do I need to install this? I am currently running FSA Gossamer 53-39 175mm cranks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Did this myself. You need to make sure your cassette isn't too worn else it won't really marry, likely you'll want to have a 10spd cassette and you may need a new chain. The bottom bracket should be ok (but I replaced mine anyway). Your groupset will also need to be Shimano (105 or better). Your front and rear derailleurs will probably be ok but if your feeling lavish you may want to upgrade these.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

Difference between Ultegra 6700 & 6750

Hi, I want to change my Ultegra 6700 chainset (with 172.5 cranks) for a compact version. I note you don't have a compact 6700 but do have a compact 6750 - what's the difference?
Also, the price is quoted in $ - are these US or Australian?
Thanks
Barry
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The 6750 is the Compact version - the 6700 is the standard. This means that the 6750 has a much smaller inner cog and slightly smaller outer. It is a better choice if you want a slightly easier time of it up hills, but you'll trade away a bit of average and top speed (higher cadence to maintain a given speed). If you're in a flat or rolling hill area the Standard is ok, but if you're in a hilly or mountain zone, make life easy on yourself.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

I have a Pinarello FP3. Will I need the Italian thread for the Ultegra 6700 bottom bracket?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You should check the bike's original spec, easy web search that's what I did. For Pinarello I'd say it would be Italian, this BB comes in both standards.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay