Patch86
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Patch86's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Patch86's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    18 February 2011
  • Last Review
    29 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    26 March 2012
  • Last Question
    26 March 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    22 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    26 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
Patch86's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Park Tools puncture kit includes glueless patch kit and 3 plastic tyre levers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality Tool
Posted29 October 2014
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used this with very challenging tight fitting tyres and they were great. They are designed so that the lip is slim so it can dig under the bead really well. Nice to throw in a puncture kit."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring Velcro straps for a simple fit to any saddle. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great saddle bag
Posted29 October 2014
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The 2nd one I've bought, this time for my fiancé. They look good, have a nice reflective feature front and on the side, water-repellent zip and a holder for the light. Unlike the click-in bags, these don't fall off the bike. A perfect saddle bag in my opinion."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For cyclists who are looking for endurance and long life from their tyre. This tyre offers you extra long mileage and more reinforced protection from the Pro4 range.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Love the look and ride of Michelin's
Posted29 October 2014
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"After giving up on the practicality of Gatorskins (great for harsh commuting and longevity but the Conti orange is ugly and the ride is poor) I switched to Michelins which ride beautifully, however my previous Pr3 Race lasted almost no time at all. I am hoping that the Endurance version provides the right level of trade-off. So far the ride is virtually identical to the race version so hoping it lasts. A great tyre to ride on."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Innovation often comes from places you‘d least expect. In order to make a lighter crankset, SRAM made it bigger. To add stiffness, they used less material.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Chainset
Posted14 May 2014
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace a creaking, groaning chain set my bike came with and couldn't be happier. It has a sharp look and is noticeably lighter than the old one. Being carbon you have to be a bit careful, I've got a few scratches on it but overall love it."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 has always been the balanced training and competition wheel. From now on, thanks to the new features, it will also provide the satisfaction of riding the pink "F" brand".
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fulcrum Racing 3 is a Top Purchase
Posted26 March 2012
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I only realised how good these wheels were when I upgraded my road bike to a similarly specced (on paper) wheel from a US brand and wondered where all the resistance came from. The Fulcrums are light and roll incredibly well. I have at least a couple of thousand k's on them now so you can count this as a long term use review, great product."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great stats
Posted18 October 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The Bryton is a more basic competitor to the Edge 500. You get the usual bike computer stuff (cadence, speed etc) with some great altitude features (time and distance to peak) temperature, sunset, distance to finish and of course the post ride software for your ride stats which is very good. The main let-down is the Find and Go function (basic navigation and hill profile ahead) which doesn't work yet (fix in November) and the screen fonts which are quite small. So this is good value for money but you will need to accept that is a bit rough around the edges and the Garmin is more polished. Having said that I think the Bryton team are very dedicated and respond quickly to feedback and seem to have an active enhancement programme for the firmware."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: hill profile and navigation, small screen fonts
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Conti tubes - good product
Posted17 October 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm not sure how you compare tubes as such, but these seem to last well enough. I do like the yellow cap on the valve which makes it easy to find on dark mornings. My only reason for not giving the 5 star is that the valve stem is a bit on the short side for the modern wheel trends (ie the deeper dish treatment)."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Toasty Warm
Posted10 October 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a must-have winter bib, unbelievably comfortable, these kept me warm all through winter and the quality is excellent, cannot believe how cheap such well made kit was."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rugged but heavy
Posted17 June 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These pedals are good quality and appear bullet-proof, but they are surprisingly heavy, they feel like twice the weight of other spd's I have. Having said that for recreational MTB I think they will be fine and give years of service."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky, heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Coloured Skull Cap
Warm and breathable cold weather headwear made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dhb quality again
Posted17 June 2011
Patch86
fromNeutral Bay
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This skull cap is wonderful, it's very warm and comfortable is snug without being tight and covers the ears well. My only criticism is there is a small tab on the front that digs in when pressed by the helmet, but you can easily snip it off."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Patch86's Questions
 
 SRAM S30AL Race Clincher Rear Wheel
SRAM S30AL Race Clincher Rear Wheel
Fast, light and beautiful. The perfect combination of lightweight and aerodynamics. Put these wheels on your bike and feel how responsive they are. Packaged in a beautiful black diamond finish, they will turn heads around.
 

How do you loosen the wheel?

My rear wheel SRAM does not freewheel very well at all. I find with lbs you have to point them to the problem so want to know is it likely the hub, the cassette, something else?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
Patch86's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

could you tell me if the cores on the ptesta valves are removable please so they can receive valve extenders on deep section rims. thanks

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes the Continentals screw out easily. you may need a small tool to grip the core (I know this is supplied with the Conti valve extenders)
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

What are the differences of the tube types?

I have a 700x25 wheel so these are perfect. However I'm confused by the different types. You have Race, Cross and Tour. I'm after something that is more sturdy than light. Would Cross or Tour therefore work fine on a road bike?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes. As long as the size is 700 x18/25 (can also be referred to as 18/25 - 622/630)
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 3 has always been the balanced training and competition wheel. From now on, thanks to the new features, it will also provide the satisfaction of riding the pink "F" brand".
 

What size tyre is recommended?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
700 x 23 - standard road bike tyre size. You won't need any rim tape because Fulcrum covered the rim so the spoke ends don't obtrude.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 

Is the "Rider Bike Mount" attached to "bryton - Rider 35T"?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Rider 35 uses a twist mount (the mount is attached with bands). The mount is excellent the best I've come across for a bike computer, extremely stable.
3 years ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

Will the 700 *18-25 be suitable for a continental ultra sport tyre (700*25).

also what does the race 28 mean actually mean?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
3 years ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 

Does the the Bryton come with a Cadence sensor?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You have to purchase the version that includes the sensor. Unlike the Garmin 500 (which is a combined sensor) the unit is either cadence or speed so you have to choose which you want (I use it as cadence and use GPS for speed - drawback is that it takes 1-2mins to pick the signal at ride start). You can also buy an extra sensor if you want both.
3 years ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
 Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
Rider 35T GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate
The Bryton Rider 35T GPS cycling computer is for all levels of cyclists. You can record your ride and then share online with friends and others. To reach your full potential, the Rider 35T is the ideal companion and guide for performance cycling.
 

Can I upload/download GPX tracks directly?

Can I upload/download GPX tracks directly to/from the device, or some special software is needed to do this?
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You need to use the Bryton Bridge, but this is now browser accessible - no biggie and simple to upload
3 years ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

Additional Components and Tools For Ultegra Hollowtech II

I am about to order the Ultegra Hollowtech II double crankset. What additional parts and tools do I need to install this? I am currently running FSA Gossamer 53-39 175mm cranks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Did this myself. You need to make sure your cassette isn't too worn else it won't really marry, likely you'll want to have a 10spd cassette and you may need a new chain. The bottom bracket should be ok (but I replaced mine anyway). Your groupset will also need to be Shimano (105 or better). Your front and rear derailleurs will probably be ok but if your feeling lavish you may want to upgrade these.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

Difference between Ultegra 6700 & 6750

Hi, I want to change my Ultegra 6700 chainset (with 172.5 cranks) for a compact version. I note you don't have a compact 6700 but do have a compact 6750 - what's the difference?
Also, the price is quoted in $ - are these US or Australian?
Thanks
Barry
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The 6750 is the Compact version - the 6700 is the standard. This means that the 6750 has a much smaller inner cog and slightly smaller outer. It is a better choice if you want a slightly easier time of it up hills, but you'll trade away a bit of average and top speed (higher cadence to maintain a given speed). If you're in a flat or rolling hill area the Standard is ok, but if you're in a hilly or mountain zone, make life easy on yourself.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay
 
The HollowTech II 10-speed Ultegra chainset offers an ideal balance of light weight and stiffness, making it the perfect choice for both enthusiast and competitive riders.
 

I have a Pinarello FP3. Will I need the Italian thread for the Ultegra 6700 bottom bracket?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You should check the bike's original spec, easy web search that's what I did. For Pinarello I'd say it would be Italian, this BB comes in both standards.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Patch86
Neutral Bay