disgustedoftw
Share disgustedoftw's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
disgustedoftw's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    16 March 2011
  • Last Review
    13 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    16 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    10 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
disgustedoftw's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
A rather unattractive pair of nylon socks
Posted13 December 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
disgustedoftw
fromRoyal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've bought lots of dhb products for cycling (tops, gloves, jackets, etc.) and they've been good value and effective. Now they they've moved into running gear I was hopeful that they'd produce cheap but decent products in my main sport.
Unfortunately, this product seems to be cheap but lacks the good quality that I'd come to expect from dhb. The level of compression is very poor and although the socks are long enough to reach just below the knee the elastic is so weak that I had to pull them up every half mile or so.
"
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz Thin Ankle Length Socks AW13
SealSkinz Thin Ankle Length Socks AW13
A thin, lightweight ankle length waterproof sock with an improved design and better fit. A fine merino wool lining gives the socks a soft feel and great moisture wicking with a breathable waterproof membrane for protection and dryness.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Perfect for this English summer!
Posted25 May 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These socks are very waterproof but don't generate large quantities of moisture inside. They feel odd when you first put them on but you get used to them very quickly. I've worn some of the fabric material off the toes but haven't (yet) worn through the waterproof membrane. All in all, well worth it if you regularly run in up to six inches of sloppy mud or surface water, which is what I regularly do in late May in Kent."
Pros: Comfortable, waterproof
Cons: Unattractive, Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Tech Run Tight AW12
Tech Run Tight AW12
The Nike Tech Tights: Modern body-hugging fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nike getting bigger?
Posted29 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The tights feel fine when wearing but the sizing seems larger than previous Nike tights that I've bought. Large is usually spot on for me (5'11" and 32" waist) but are longer and baggier than previous pairs. If I was going to get another pair I'd go for Medium."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Roclite 285 Shoes AW12
Roclite 285 Shoes AW12
Elite Trail and Adventure racing shoe providing high levels of race comfort and grip performance. Has a low profile midsole with stick rubber outsole. Radical design upper provides excellent support while the fascia-band aids propulsion efficiency of the running cycle. Ideal for short fast races.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nearly superb
Posted28 March 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've had these shoes for about a year now and have thoroughly enjoyed running in them. They have excellent grip on moderate mud but are also fine for short stretches of road in the middle of my mainly off-road runs.
On the downside, the uppers are disintegrating and I think the mesh upper has some large holes appearing. The outsole has worn down a bit on the toes but is generally in very good nick. At some point I'll have to retire them with the sole still fine, which is a first for me.
If Inov8 revamp these shoes a more resilient upper is definitely somewhere to start.
"
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit, excellent grip
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Compression Socks AW11
Craft Compression Socks AW11
Tight compression fit over the calf reduce muscle vibration and focus power.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good length
Posted15 March 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The black version are a good length, stay up without worry of descending. They are not as compressive as the 2XU socks I also have but stay up much better.
Wash well at 30oC and although fairly thin do not cause blistering over long runs.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: could be more compressive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mudclaw 272 Shoes AW11
Mudclaw 272 Shoes AW11
The worlds grippiest fell racer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
More mud please
Posted30 January 2012
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have a lot of Inov8 shoes and these are amongst the best.
They have a very aggressive outsole that has astonishingly good grip, even in the deepest mud, enabling countouring on the slippiest hillside.
The upper is a lightweight mesh, helping to keep the weight down and they are also much more comfortable than the Mudclaw 333. This is my 'spare' pair as my existing ones are happily doing the job but at this price I thought having another pair in reserve would be a good idea.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, super grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz Waterproof Winter Cycle Gloves
SealSkinz Waterproof Winter Cycle Gloves
A rugged, insulated, waterproof, and breathable glove with gel pad protection. Sealskins advanced membrane technology makes these gloves a great choice for wet weather trail rides and winter commutes.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Worst of both worlds?
Posted25 January 2012
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I had these for Christmas and was looking forward to a replacement for my Altura waterproofs, which had seen better days.
On dry rides at about 5oC, they are too warm and the hands get very clammy after only half an hour.
I had my first wet ride yesterday and after an hour I noticed that the thumbs were feeling damp and cold, within another fifteen minutes it was the whole of both hands.
A shame as I have Sealskinz socks that are very waterproof and not clammy over prolonged periods running or cycling but these gloves don't work.
Perhaps windproof and showerproof would be a better description.
"
Pros: Lightweight, windproof, showerproof
Cons: Poor Fit, not waterproof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
warm, comfortable and cheap
Posted29 December 2011
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"My first pair of bib-tights after years of ordinary tights and shorts and very pleased with the fit. Good pad, pretty warm (good at -1oC, not tested below as it's been warm this winter). YKK zips, so good quality for the price.
Downside - the look while you're getting dressed!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
Cons: look like borat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Dura Cycling Gloves
DeFeet Dura Cycling Gloves
A versatile seamless, full-fingered glove with a close fit for just about any cold-weather activity. Dura gloves can be worn as a glove liner in cold conditions or alone on mild morning rides. A year-round essential.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
warm but wet
Posted29 December 2011
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"An interesting purchase. Very cheap and quite warm by themselves on dry days but seem to hang onto moisture rather too well, leading to cold damp hands when it's been misty."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
Cons: absorbs water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light
Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light
Is there a brighter rear light available?
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bright light
Posted29 December 2011
disgustedoftw
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good level of intensity, easy to fit and a good size; it's about the length of a moderate seat pin, so bigger than average but not too long that it doesn't fit."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
disgustedoftw's Questions
 
disgustedoftw has not submitted any questions.
 
disgustedoftw's Answers
 
 

What does 'small' 'medium' and 'large' mean for these socks?

I am UK size 7 or 7.5. Is this small or medium, or what?
The size guide is useless for socks - only has height and waist etc!
Thanks
I bought the large and it says 47-50 on them, i.e. UK 11-14. They certainly wouldn't be big enough for that as I'm a UK 10 and the large fits me well. Seems like the sizing is as dodgy as the sizing chart which doesn't have shoe sizes on it. Sorry I can't be more helpful.
1 year ago
by
disgustedoftw
Tunbridge Wells
 
 Mudclaw 272 Shoes AW11
Mudclaw 272 Shoes AW11
The worlds grippiest fell racer.
 

about sizing

Salomon fits me nice in 11 UK ( 29.5 cm), according to size chart, if count on cm I should get 12 UK. But there is review that UK sizing of this Inov-8 is bigger than usual. And according to this opinion I should get some 10.5 or even 10.0 UK. Very good reviews about Inov-8 runners, but unfortunately, I can not try these shoes in my country. And postal return fee (about 30$) and time waste (about three weeks) can prevent many people from buying it. Would be very helpful if Wiggle could comment on the sizing compared to more popular Salomon shoes. Thanks in advance.
Great shoe, one of my Inov-8 favourites. I am a UK 9.5 and my size 9.5 Inov-8s are are a good fit, so from my experience I think they are fairly standard. However, I've never worn Salomon shoes so don't know if these are different but Nike, New Balance and Asics 9.5 have also fitted me.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
disgustedoftw
Tunbridge Wells
 
 Inov-8 F-Lite 230 Shoes
Inov-8 F-Lite 230 Shoes
The original functional fitness shoe of choice, the 230 offers a stable base for lifting while offering a lightweight, fast feel for sprint workouts, particularly for those new to minimalist running.
 

Sizing for Inov-8 lite 230's

Hello, I am ordering 2 pairs of Inov-8's for my kids they are a US8 and US6. What would be the UK size I need for them.
They are pretty true to size, so I'd go for half a size smaller than the US size as this is the usual conversion (I'm a UK 9.5 but US 10/10.5).
2 years, 10 months ago
by
disgustedoftw
Tunbridge Wells
 
 Inov-8 F-Lite 230 Shoes
Inov-8 F-Lite 230 Shoes
The original functional fitness shoe of choice, the 230 offers a stable base for lifting while offering a lightweight, fast feel for sprint workouts, particularly for those new to minimalist running.
 

What is the size difference to US sizes

I am a US10.5 what would i be in UK sized for f-lite 230
I would suggest a UK 9.5. You might get away with a UK 9 as the toe box is generous but could risk blackened nails if you do lots of steep descents.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
disgustedoftw
Tunbridge Wells
 
 Compression Race Socks SS11
Compression Race Socks SS11
Through a graduated fit and powerful yarns, 2XU Compression Socks aid blood circulation for faster flushing of lactates and improved oxygen circulation, heighten proprioception and reduce muscle vibration; all in the convenience of a practical sock! The Race Sock is a sport styled sock which can be ...
 

sock size

Hi im a size UK 9 what size sock would i need please?
medium if you're average build or smaller; large if you're more solid
3 years, 2 months ago
by
disgustedoftw
Tunbridge Wells
 
 Ronhill Pursuit Racer Short - SS12
Ronhill Pursuit Racer Short - SS12
Durable Water Repellent This product is water repellent. A DWR treatment is added to the fabric to prevent this product from becoming saturated with water. Instead water beads on the outer surface of the fabric and rolls off, increasing wearer comfort.
 

i am 5 ' 9 waist 34" and weigh 71 kgs . what size . also i am a little heavy on the thighs

Personally I'd go for the 'small'. I am 5'11" / 11st10lb , 32" waist and medium was huge (for a racer) with small fairly big on me.
If you're worried about modesty then medium will cover all. The best thing is that the shorts are really light, so a bigger size won't slow you down.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
disgustedoftw
Tunbridge Wells