Don54
Share Don54's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Don54's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    25 November 2012
  • Last Review
    19 September 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    25 November 2012
  • Last Answer
    08 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Don54's Reviews
 
 DMT Pista Track Shoes
DMT Pista Track Shoes
Created to reflect the needs of athletes who use in doors cycling tracks, this shoe has taken feedback from some of the best track cyclists in the world. A microfiber upper segment, enclosed by a lace covered by the tongue, makes this an aerodynamic fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth waiting for
Posted19 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Don54
fromLymington, Hampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Since UCI have banned overshoes I was looking for an aerodynamic shoe for the track. These shoes were launched rather later than expected but were worth waiting for. Good fit, stiff sole and laces tucked away nicely under the flap. So far I'm very pleased with them and no negative points."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, aerodynamic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value product
Posted12 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Don54
fromLymington, Hampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fitted these to a Vision base bar on my track bike. Very adjustable and comfortable in the aero position. Also comes with a set of shims so it can be used on 26mm bars. I am going to order another set to go on my turbo bike"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These are 10mm adaptor nuts for non QR axles for Tacx Trainers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fiendishly expensive for what they are
Posted08 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Don54
fromLymington, Hampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fiendishly expensive but does the job well and i would recommend them. However, these do not have washers like you have on standard track nuts so you will need a couple of 10mm plain washers to make tightening up easy."
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Core S Jersey
dhb Core S Jersey
A competitively priced Roubaix jersey for cyclists who are starting out in winter.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Value
Posted25 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Don54
fromLymington, Hampshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"For the price I wasn't expecting a top product but it does what it says on the box. I wanted this as a mid layer for road cycling and a top layer for indoor track in the winter. Overall I'm pleased and using it every week. As other reviewers found the fit is quite neat. I'm a 42 chest (73kg) and bought the XL size which fits fine."
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Don54's Questions
 
Don54 has not submitted any questions.
 
Don54's Answers
 
These are 10mm adaptor nuts for non QR axles for Tacx Trainers.
 

Will these increase the axle width of a 120mm spaced fixed wheel sufficiently to use with a Tacx Cosmos/Fortius trainer?

I want to use my fixed wheel bike with my Tacx Cosmos/Fortius trainer, but the clamping mechanism can't be closed up enough when using the standard wheel nuts. Will these increase the effective axle width sufficiently to allow clamping? Dropout spacing on the bike is the standard 120mm for a fixed wheel.

Thanks.
I'm using these with a std 120mm track bike on a fortius/imagic and they work fine
11 months ago
by
Don54
Lymington, Hampshire, UK
 
These are 10mm adaptor nuts for non QR axles for Tacx Trainers.
 

dropout width

Hi,
I can see somone has already asked if these work for fixed/track dropouts and you've said that they don't.

Do you do any nuts/extensions that will enable a track bike to fit a tacx trainer?

Thanks
I'm using these to fit my Dolan track bike, with std rear facing track dropouts, to a tacx imagic trainer and they work fine. You need a couple of plain washers as well to make tightening up the wheel easy
11 months ago
by
Don54
Lymington, Hampshire, UK
 
These are 10mm adaptor nuts for non QR axles for Tacx Trainers.
 

What does the 10mm measurement represent? and how is this different from the 3/8 inch version?

Track wheels need the 10mm size. I think the 3/8 size is for mob type wheels.
11 months ago
by
Don54
Lymington, Hampshire, UK
 
 dhb Core S Jersey
dhb Core S Jersey
A competitively priced Roubaix jersey for cyclists who are starting out in winter.
 

What season can I wear?

I want to buy a jersey for winter like thermo jersey.
Is it for winter or spring / fall ?
It does have some lining but I would consider it as a Spring/Fall jersey or mid layer in Winter
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Don54
Lymington, Hampshire, UK