painful
Share painful's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
painful's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    26 April 2011
  • Last Review
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    26 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    13 October 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
painful's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"really good light,easy to fix to bike , good choice of light settings"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Squirt is a wax based, long lasting dry lube for the use on bicycle chains. It had been developed to give better lubrication, last longer and keep the chain cleaner over extreme distances for both MTB and road cycling. No degreasing is required.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
good stuff
Posted12 September 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"this certainly make changing gears smother and quieter but the chain although cleaner is still covered in dust/dirt after a long ride, hence the low ratings but this is still the best i have tried so far"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Specially formulated to help clean out Camelbak reservoirs, these new tablets work in just a few minutes to reduce taste and odour.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
camelbak
Posted25 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these really do clean out the gunk although if like me you have not cleaned out the camelbak for some time you will have to do it a couple of times to get it clean"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Semidry 3/4 length Baggy Shorts
Semidry 3/4 length Baggy Shorts
Trail overshort with critical waterproof panels to protect you from mud and spray all year round.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent
Posted29 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"my last altura shorts have lasted years so it was an easy choice to buy altura again. brought these and the 1st thing i noticed is the sizing has changed these come up tight so had to go for the xx large but once on and riding the material and cut is incredibly comfortable the material does seem much lighter than my old ones so hoping they will last as long but only had them a couple of months so to early to comment but if they do will be an exceelant buy if not they are an expensive short. i ride alot and only wash kit once a week and when you put these on when you have sweated alot on previous ride they stay soft and do not go stiff like old ones,"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm feet even in bone-chilling cold. That's what the X-SOCKS Winter Run with highly insulating Merino wool makes possible. Through the integration of 99.9 % pure silver in the footbed, these cold weather socks also inhibit the growth of bacteria.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
sock
Posted13 October 2011
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"socks are socks and i have tried different makes but have found that x-socks are very good and very comfertable the price is very expensive but has not stopped me buying different styles of these socks for the weather conditions"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Compressport R2 was the number one calf guard worn at the Ironman World Championships in Kona 2010. The Compressport R2 calf guard boosts your venous return, reducing the accumulation of toxins while increasing oxygenation to the muscles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it works
Posted13 October 2011
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"1st time i have used any compression garments and to my surprise they really work, decided on these after reading reviews and they were in the sale but cant not really compare to any others as these are the only ones i have brought, but as far as compresion calf guards are concerned their 100%"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mayhem Short Sleeve Tee
Mayhem Short Sleeve Tee
Trail riding technical tee.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent
Posted11 September 2011
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"this really is a bargain at this price it wicks sweat as good as any seriously expensive ones i have had and as a loose fit it is very comfertable"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lizard Skins Super Jumbo Chainstay Protector stops the chain from hitting the frame, protecting the paint and reducing noise. Heavy duty thread and special stitching methods makes Lizards Skins the best quality chainstay protectors available.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
poor
Posted08 September 2011
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"this is very poor does not fit my big hit or my son's norco, the velcro is far too short very annoying"
Cons: Unadjustable, Not Enough Features, Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Airgel Short Finger Cycling Gloves - 2010
Airgel Short Finger Cycling Gloves - 2010
Strategically placed gel encased in digital synthetic leatherPerforated palm for better breathabilityTerry cloth wipe surface on the thumbBreathable mid-weight mesh back with stretch reflective printingClean-finished finger openingsMesh forchettesPull tab on the wrist with Descente moulded velcro cl...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent
Posted05 August 2011
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these are by far the best gloves i have had highly recommended"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain with PowerChain II technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellant
Posted09 July 2011
painful
fromnorthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Down Hill MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"this chain is as good as they get at a price you can not miss out on highly recommended"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
painful's Questions
 
painful has not submitted any questions.
 
painful's Answers
 
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain with PowerChain II technology.
 

I have a road Trek 1000; 16 speed; need new chain and block. What do you recommend?

i use the cross step chain it lasts longer than the hollow pin and changes gear smoothly but you have to match it up with a good drive system , sram x9 or above derailleur sram 990 cassette,x9 triggers and any good chainset. just spent a lot of your money so hope this helps
 
Products from my answer
 
2 years, 9 months ago
by
painful
northampton
 
The Compressport R2 was the number one calf guard worn at the Ironman World Championships in Kona 2010. The Compressport R2 calf guard boosts your venous return, reducing the accumulation of toxins while increasing oxygenation to the muscles.
 

Sizing compared to 2XU

I take a size small in the 2XU calf guards - what would be the best fit in the Compressport range?
hi
i think you shold go for small as these are designed to be tight to hold mussle, if they are loose you will not get the benefit hope this helps
2 years, 9 months ago
by
painful
northampton
 
The Compressport R2 was the number one calf guard worn at the Ironman World Championships in Kona 2010. The Compressport R2 calf guard boosts your venous return, reducing the accumulation of toxins while increasing oxygenation to the muscles.
 

Does the price include just 1 individual stocking or a pair of stockings?

hi
they come in pairs
2 years, 9 months ago
by
painful
northampton
 
The Lizard Skins Super Jumbo Chainstay Protector stops the chain from hitting the frame, protecting the paint and reducing noise. Heavy duty thread and special stitching methods makes Lizards Skins the best quality chainstay protectors available.
 

Would the Lizzard Skins Super Jumbo Chain Stay Protector fit my Giant Anthem X4 2010 as the prevoius ones I have tried are either 2 big or 2 small.

hi
its a 50-50 chance i brought 2 one for my big hit and the other for my sons norco and it does not fit either. hope this helps
andrew
2 years, 10 months ago
by
painful
northampton
 
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain with PowerChain II technology.
 

I have a 8 speed cassette, can I use this chain

yes this chain is fine for 8 speed it only comes up short for the 10 speed
3 years ago
by
painful
northampton
 
SRAM PC991 9 Speed Chain with PowerChain II technology.
 

Can you use this chain with any sram PG9** cassette, or does it have to be a PG99*?

yes this chain can be used with all 9 speed sram cassettes
3 years ago
by
painful
northampton
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I add Zero to my sports drink (usually Torq)? Will doing this help to reduce cramp?

i use zero as a pre drink and psp22 whilst training and get no cramps or any probs
hope this helps
 
Products from my answer
Organic PSP22 Sports Fuel 1.4kg Tub
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 1 month ago
by
painful
northampton
 
Engineered from highly durable fabric, this essential, high performance, travel companion will get your sporting goods from race to race in greater style than ever before.
 

Does this bag have a mid section strap?

Just wondering if this bag has a mid section strap to clip on so that the bag is stable when you are running with it on your back.
hi
yes it has top and bottom support straps
3 years, 1 month ago
by
painful
northampton
 
 Biking Silver Cycling Socks
Biking Silver Cycling Socks
The Top of the Line!
 

versus ultralight

What are the differences between these and the ultralight socks?
i do not find any difference as these are light enough for the hottest of days with right amount of support
3 years, 3 months ago
by
painful
northampton