SydneyDave
Share SydneyDave's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
SydneyDave's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    08 April 2011
  • Last Review
    27 March 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    28 July 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    24 October 2011
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    08 April 2011
  • Last Question
    08 April 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    08 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    27 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
SydneyDave's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 T-Shirt
T-Shirt
Now an established force in the Pro Cycling World and with Mark Cavendish signed up, Team Sky are set for an exciting 2012 season. The Team wear T-shirt brings the neat, refined graphic styling and tech fabrics to all Sky Pro Cycling supporters.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted27 March 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This shirt is so cool, I'm wearing it right now. Rather than trekking the mall in your bicycle jersey to show your support (and that gorgeous body), why not tone it down a bit with a sky shirt? Everyone can know you keep it real. Fit's great, better than alot of Nike shirts, it isn't too long, and the sleeves are in proportion. Some of them Nike shirts are made for stick figure giants. The front of the neck is a 'square' kind of shape like the others are saying, but it looks better that way, and is something unique. I'd buy more shirts with the same front, no worries. Great fit, and great looks. Plus it's comfy. What more do you want? Buy this shirt!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This Claw brush is designed to clean your rear cassette, drivetrain and deraileur whilst caring for your bike's delicate finish.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best toothbrush your bike will ever have
Posted01 February 2012
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"You don't need to brush and floss and Listerine your bike (unless you're afraid it'll catch gingivitis), but you might as well clean out them teeth on your cassette once in a while. Why? Your chain will last longer, everything will shift better, your bike will look better, darn it, if you're reading this review, you should already know you need this thing.
I took off my back wheel to use this thing. First step, the 'claw' bit at the end fits perfectly between the 10 speeds of my cassette, and takes all the gunk out between them perfectly. I didn't even realise how much rubbish was in there. The big toothbrush was good for cleaning the actual teeth, and the short toothbrush was good for cleaning out the chainrings. What more do you need? High quality and rugged, so it's not snapping anytime soon."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Free Run Plus 2 Shield Shoes AW11
Free Run Plus 2 Shield Shoes AW11
Upper: breathable mesh and a multi-layer construction for a lightweight, second-skin-like fit. Off-center lacing and full innersleeve add plush comfortOutsole: brs 1000 carbon rubber heel and environmentally preferred rubber for durability. Waffle piston outsole enhances cushioning and response. ~9....
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good lookin kicks
Posted01 February 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I liked the nike free 3.0's so decided to give these a go. Something about H2o proof made me worried; it doesn't even rain in Australia (rain is a British thing), but hey, cheap set of kicks from a model that I've liked before, that's fine by me.
Quality is everything you expect from Nike. Perfect stitching, good moulding, better than handmade shoes (including the Bont cycling shoes i just bought). Nice colours, lightweight, so flexible you can roll it up (literally feels like wearing thongs - without the annoying middle part), and a great fit - unlike half the new running shoes which seem to be made for people with pointy feet, what could go wrong?
Well, plenty. These shoes run like rubbish! Maybe it was the steak and chips on one day, or the lack of sleep the second, but to date, these shoes still feel terrible at running. Don't get me wrong - they work, but they definitely try to make you heel-strike, due to the fat heel, and skinny forefoot. Not cool. Other than that, they're a good all-round shoe for walking, going to the gym or pools, but if you want a decent running shoe, try the Free 3.0's. Lighter and a much less spongey feeling."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Rocket Beanie aw11
Rocket Beanie aw11
Packable warmth with plenty of merchandising appeal
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cool looking beanie
Posted01 November 2011
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this for my girlfriend to get free shipping on other products, and she looks so cute in it. It's great quality, better than I thought I'd get for the price (we're talking 4x the price for the same quality in Australia..) and the colours look really great too. It keeps her head warm in winter (yeah, it gets cold here!). Only thing I could think of improving is having a different colour on the inside."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mens Axium Wetsuit
Mens Axium Wetsuit
Exclusive to Wiggle!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best wetsuit for the price
Posted01 November 2011
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"You need a wetsuit. That's why you're here. You don't ask for much in a wetsuit. You need something to keep you warm, and free from the fear of bluebottle stings, which flexes to your body, lasts a long time, looks and feels a million dollars, is easy to get on and off, stretches to your muscles unique dimensions, and helps you swim a little faster, all while keeping a reasonable price.
If this is you, then you've come to the right place. The Axium delivers all these points in spades - and the price is more than reasonable for such a quality wetsuit. I'd suggest going one size above what you need, but other than that, there is really no significant difference between this and a thousand dollar wettie made out of some super high tech fabric scooped up by NASA on Mars, which only forms in small quantities every thousand years. The rubber is slippery on the front, slightly sticky on the back, to give you a good kick, And it's specifically made for triathletes, so our tree-trunk running/cycling legs aren't squished into something made specifically for swimmers, like other wetsuits."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Green Silence Shoes AW11
Green Silence Shoes AW11
Make an eco-statement with the Green Silence. Each and every part in this groundbreaking shoe has a sustainable element, including waterbased adhesives and recycled materials. And in this case, “green” goes hand-in-hand with great performance. The Green Silence helps you take responsibility, and fir...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great runners
Posted25 August 2011
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cheaper and lighter than Nike free's, and just as much padding and support. These shoes are unbelievably light, and made out of recycled cd's and bottles. Although they don't feel as lively as the nike free's, they definitely do the job, and don't let you down on long runs. Thank god they also got the width right; these are just right for a flipper foot like me!
Only downside is the colours and style are really only for training and racing."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A great tasting, all natural, highly advanced formulation. Each gel provides 51g of easily digested carbohydrates for optimal energy delivery and release during intense training and competition.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good gels
Posted28 July 2011
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got a pack for free when wiggle was having a promotion. Much easier to pocket than GU energy gels, because they can fold in half. Good taste (blackcurrant), with no fake colours. Good consistency as well. Only quibble was the gel was a bit hard to open.. took both hands, and it still ripped crooked!
So remember, cheaper and more energy than GU. Now if the price was right, I'd buy more..."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deda design for great performance at an affordable price. Made from 6061 light alloy (3D forged) and features embossed D logo and flip-flop graphics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great stem
Posted08 July 2011
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Stiff enough for your flyweight roadbike and looks a million dollars."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deda patented RHM geometry, round cross section handlebar made from light alloy 6061 (double butted).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant for the price!
Posted06 July 2011
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The price I paid for this bar and it's stem would have been the price I paid for just the bars in Australia. Although I'm still waiting on the stem, I can say the bars are really worth more than their price. The tops are flat, giving a good connection to the brake hoods, and the curvature is nice and tight for a great downhill and sprinting position. They do not flex (even when pushing hard), and are extremely light. The glossy finish on the visible part looks great, while the matte gives good bar tape adhesion, and reduces the weight. Note that the RHM 01 is aerobar compatible, but the RHM 02 is not, so keep this in account when buying."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Arione Tri 2 Saddle with K:IUM Rails 2012
Arione Tri 2 Saddle with K:IUM Rails 2012
The Choice of World Champion Triathletes. Additional nose padding for increased comfort. Seamless nose cover design for smooth transitions to the front of the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome tri saddle
Posted06 July 2011
User submitted photo
SydneyDave
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 19-24
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"With this saddle, you ain't wasting your time with numb perineum's on hard nose saddles. The padding goes all the way to the tip of the nose, and still squashes in about 1cm. Compared with my mates standard Arione, it's flatter, wider (especially noticeable in the nose), and pushes you further forward (ie; the 'widest' part of the saddle isn't at the back, but closer to the middle).
The result is better comfort, and a better aerodynamic position on the bike. Slight flex in the saddle gives a bit of comfort when going over bumps too! Did I mention it looks lovely? It makes me ashamed of my dirty white bar tape, and the gloss cover ensures it'll never get as dirty as cork nor leather.
I didn't want to pay an unfreakingbelievable 78 Australian leaves for a wing to hold my water, so I fashioned one out of cable ties (and elastic bands to hold spare tire and tube). The removable logo clip at the back of the saddle works perfectly for wiring the cable through, but it'd be awesome if someone would design a better system. Otherwise, you can connect a P:AK or lighting system."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SydneyDave's Questions
 
 HL-LD150 Front Light
HL-LD150 Front Light
This distinctive white LED features 5 powerful white diodes and includes a belt clip, making it ideal for use on clothing.
 

Seatpost attachment?

I was thinking; I have multiple front and rear light already, but when coming to roundabouts, it may be hard for cars to see you from the side anyway. I came up with the idea to put a light UNDER the seat, facing forward, so that your top tube, handlebars, and your (super fit) legs are lit up, instead of just the road in front and behind you. Is the clamp large enough to clip onto your seat posts?
3 years, 6 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
SydneyDave's Answers
 
 Mens Axium Wetsuit
Mens Axium Wetsuit
Exclusive to Wiggle!
 

size for 168 cm and 57kg

wich size do you recomend for 168 cm and 57 kg?
Hello friend, I am 168cm and 55kg, and the size SM fits me perfectly. I recommend you get this size. It may feel a little bit snug for you when you first use it, but it stretches to fit your body perfectly. My legs are very strong and muscly, and the wetsuit fits them now.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
 Adizero ACE 3 M Shoes AW11
Adizero ACE 3 M Shoes AW11
Experience perfection with every stride. This neutral trainer combines a full adiPRENE®+ forefoot with a blown rubber outsole for the ideal balance of cushioning and responsiveness.
 

What does this shoe weigh? Is it suitable for marathon-distance races?

I don't know what the weight is, but it's definitely suitable for marathon distance.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
Deda patented RHM geometry, round cross section handlebar made from light alloy 6061 (double butted).
 

What stem clamp size do these bars take?

The now standard 31.8mm.Most bikes after 2005 will have them.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
 Green Silence Shoes SS11
Green Silence Shoes SS11
Make an eco-statement with the Green Silence. Each and every part in this groundbreaking shoe has a sustainable element, including soy-based inks and recycled materials. And in this case, “green” goes hand-in-hand with great performance. The Green Silence helps you take responsibility, and first pla...
 

My Mizuno UK size is 9. Is this size equivalent for Brooks UK 9.5 size ? Thank you

They fit fairly true to size, but if you have a flipper foot like me, i'd go a size higher.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
 Realrides Training DVDs
Realrides Training DVDs
Seven individual training DVDs to help your Speed, Force, Power, Racing, Climbing, Strength, and overall Cycling ability (Ride 101 DVD).
 

Must you have a CycleOps turbo trainer or can you use any turbo trainer?

Any turbo trainer you want mate. The video uses heart rates, and your perceived intensity as measurements. I just use rollers :)
3 years, 3 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
 Mini Clip On Aero Bars
Mini Clip On Aero Bars
Designed for training, triathlon, or time trialing events.
 

do the aerobars come with the aero bridge?

You need an aerobridge to conform to ITU specifications, but you can buy a bridge seperately.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
See your fitness-and your bike handling skills-improve when you add CycleOps rollers to your training program.
 

How much for postage to Australia, postcode 3698? Cheers :)

I got free delivery to Sydney, just had to take a car down to pick it up from the post office.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney
 
 Infinite Vest AW10
Infinite Vest AW10
Hydrowick™fabric treatment, 2 colour design, Over-locked and edged stitched, Heat transfer labels inside
 

Which colour is the main colour?Not sure whether a blue top is the navy/white or white/navy. Thanks

first colour in the name is the predominant one. second colour is the 'below the arms 'one.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
SydneyDave
Sydney