WoolyMatt
Share WoolyMatt's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
WoolyMatt's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    21 February 2012
  • Last Review
    22 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    11 December 2013
  • Last Answer
    11 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
WoolyMatt's Reviews
 
Cool weather padded 3/4 bib tights suited to Autumn training rides.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Disappointing
Posted22 May 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have a pair of dhb Aeron Pro bib shorts that I'm very happy with, so I thought I'd buy a pair of these in the same size, for cold commutes. Once I tried them on, I discovered that they're a much bigger fit than the Aerons, so went a size smaller. The material looks and feels cheaper than the Aerons too.
But the main problems I have with these shorts came clear once I'd cycled in them. The pad at the front is virtually none existent, so you're left with no support. I keep having to 'rearrange' myself as not to look obscene. Also, the front of the bib is so high that you have to pull the straps down to urinate. Not good unless you like stripping off to the waist in public.
The elastic on the leg is quite loose too... and I've got massive calves.
I guess you get what you pay for.
"
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
The jersey that's not a jersey
Posted14 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this thinking it would be just like a jersey but with windproofing, but when I unpacked it, I was surprised to see that it was the same thickness as a soft shell! Riding it in early spring gets you very hot, very quickly.
Also the white bits on the neck and shoulders stick out more that they do on the picture, giving it the look of something worn on Star Trek.
The fit is good, if a little tight around the waist and short at the back.
Nevertheless, I kept it for cold winter wear which I'm sure it will be very good for."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, warm
Cons: too thick
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A baggy performance short for trail and cross country riding or for those commuters who just want an alternative to lycra cycling shorts, the Dyno short is perfect for both tearing through the woods and/or daily commutes through the city streets.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Too stretchy to stay up.
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Where as the padded liner fits perfectly, the material these shorts are made from is extremely stretchy. Before you know it, the waistband will be heading downwards (and my butt is fare from being skinny. You can tighten the waistband slightly with the velcro tabs but they just attach themselves to your jersey, which leaves pull marks.
A complete waste of money... and I bought them in the sale.
"
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit, don't stay up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best mini road pump
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I can manage to pump my road tyres up to a pretty hard pressure after fixing punctures. The valve tube really helps and the pump is light and short enough for a rear jersey pocket."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for an Airnimal in the summer.
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A good, speedy replacement for the standard Panracer tyre you get on an Airnimal Joey Sport.
Being so narrow, they're not so good on the corners in the wet (as I recently discovered).
I'm going to replace them with a wider and grippier tyre for the winter.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 howies Dyfi Light Weight Shell Jacket
howies Dyfi Light Weight Shell Jacket
A great value, lightweight jacket with a breathable polyester fabric construction. Featuring four way stretch arm panels for increased comfort on the move and a shower resistant coating to protect you in uncertain weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not the most water-resistant, but good.
Posted03 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Small enough to have in your bag all the time. Perfect for showers and (as it's howies) will definitely last longer than any other jacket at that price.
...And you don't look like a dork wearing it off the bike!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek profile, super light seatpack with moulded EVA foam shape and easy to-use quick release mounting system (QuickClip).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Perfect for riding light.
Posted29 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My previous saddle pack had a velcro seatpost strap that roughed-up my cycling shorts as my legs brushed against it as I pedalled, so I bought this one to cure that problem. Its size means that you really have to cut down on what you carry but that's probably a good thing if your climbing or out to get your KOMs. There are elastic straps inside that hold everything in place when opened. I could fit in one spare tube (i also keep one in my pocket), a small, flat multitool, two small tyre levers, my door key, credit card, some cash and some instant patches. The quick-release is handy when you're busy buying your post ride cuppa. The only sticking points are water resistance (which I'm yet to test) and the zip tag that sometimes pokes my inside thigh when I'm riding in wind."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Corefit Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer AW11
Corefit Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer AW11
Unbeatable, synthetic base layer engineered with moisture wicking and antibacterial properties.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent fit
Posted21 February 2012
WoolyMatt
fromBerkhamsted, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The fit on this base layer is excellent. It feels good when on - tight in all the right places, fitted on the arms but not too tight around the waist (for all of us without six-packs). Because The fabric uses charcoal, I can wear it for a four hour ride without it smelling. When I get home, I just air it out and it smells as good as clean for the next ride. It's better than my HH base layer any day!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
WoolyMatt's Questions
 
WoolyMatt has not submitted any questions.
 
WoolyMatt's Answers
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

Can you recommend tubes to go with these tyres?

SCHWALBE SV9c are the ones to choose for the narrow version.
10 months ago
by
WoolyMatt
Berkhamsted, Herts
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

"Schwalbe Durano Performance Folding BMX Tyre "

Is it a not BMX tire?
I think it is road tire.
I may bye for my child's 24in road bike..
This is a very good tyre for a small road bike.
10 months ago
by
WoolyMatt
Berkhamsted, Herts