Tommy2404
Share Tommy2404's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Tommy2404's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    17 July 2011
  • Last Review
    13 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    04 November 2011
  • Last Question
    04 November 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    16 March 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 June 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Tommy2404's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Sportful Total Comfort Bib Shorts
Sportful Total Comfort Bib Shorts
The name says it all; The Total Comfort Bibshort was designed to provide the perfect long distance riding experience using Sportfuls most cushioning seatpad, lycra ceramic fabric and mesh straps.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Trouble with the cross seam
Posted13 July 2014
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I suppose shorts are just a matter of individual preference. Whereas these shorts are very comfortable off the bike, for me, they are spoilt by the cross seam running under the pad. After 30 or so miles, I find that this starts to dig in and become very uncomfortable.
Its a shame, because otherwise they feel really nice. But when something is supposed to be built for comfort, for me, they just don't fit the bill, although it may not be the same for everyone."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Seamless Sleeveless Base Layer
Castelli Seamless Sleeveless Base Layer
Featuring polypropylene on the inner layer, nylon on the outer and an open mesh construction, this base layer works at keeping you cool and is effective when used with a race jersey, moving moisture away from your skin fast. Sleeveless version.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant!
Posted21 June 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is fantastic. Driest I have ever been in hot weather. Sweat just doesn't have anywhere to gather, it just passes to the outer layer and gets dispersed from there.
Tight fit, but stretchy.
Will be interesting to see whether it adds to warmth in colder weather too."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Halo Proactive Sports Wash Laundry Detergent - 1 Litre
Halo Proactive Sports Wash Laundry Detergent - 1 Litre
The Worlds first Non Bio Laundry Detergent designed specifically for Sports wear clothing. Used by Fitness Professionals and Amateurs alike, this unique Sportswash works as hard as you do to stay on top of your game in the battle against odours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works
Posted28 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sweaty base layers definitely a lot cleaner-smelling after using Halo"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Free Jacket - 2012
Free Jacket - 2012
A windproof and water-resistant winter cycling jacket with a WINDSTOPPER X-Fast construction for breathable protection. With a cycle specific cut, high collar and race inspired graphics, the Free Jacket is your ticket to comfortable winter training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very impressive
Posted24 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Purchased recently and worn in temperatures from 0 - 7C. With the right combination of base layers (1 at 7C, 2 at 0C), it has been a very impressive performer, keeping me warm but not allowing over-heating and sweat build-up. Very few cool spots where wind penetrates.
Size-wise, I'm 6 feet and 72kg and large is perfect, enough room for base layers but close fitting enough not to allow cold draughts in. Good bike shape too.
Not worn in the wet yet, so can't comment on it's water-resistant properties.
I have the blue edition, which gives me confidence that I am visible to vehicles and is also stylish.
Price obviously is something to consider, but for the qualities you get for your money, in my opinion it is worth the money.
Overall, very impressed.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Pro Padded Undershorts 2011
Pro Padded Undershorts 2011
If you want a pair of undershorts that use a cycling pad from the leading manufacturer in their field – then go for the dhb Pro Padded undershort with CyTech Elastic Interface ‘Race LT’ pad.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It's all about comfort
Posted24 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Experiencing some discomfort on the bike. Changed the saddle and bought some new shorts and although better still wanted to try something else.
Wore these underneath my regular padded shorts and found it made quite a difference. The wide pad helped spread the pressure and enabled me to think of my ride rather than the discomfort. No problem with the added layers, although I've only worn them in regular British weather (15C and below).
Size wise, I'm 6 feet, slim, 74 kg and large were just right, although they wouldn't have wanted to be any more snug.
Seemed to wash ok, no shrinkage etc."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Knee Warmers
Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Knee Warmers
Warm breathable Knee warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. NanoFlex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good product
Posted08 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Yes, these work well.
Large fit me well - 6 feet tall & slim. Fit between mid-thigh to mid/lower calf. Quite snug, even for a slim build, but this is ok for me as they feel supportive.
Kept out drizzle, as suggested. No experience in heavier rain yet.
Wondered whether knee warmers did anything different from full leg warmers, but actually liked the feel in cool, not cold weather, no over-heating.
Logo is large and prominent, but hey its a good make, so why not?"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Corefit Short Sleeve Round Neck Base Layer AW11
Corefit Short Sleeve Round Neck Base Layer AW11
the dhb Corefit Short sleeve base layer is a must for every fitness fanatic. Suitable for any sports discipline, this base layer is another staple for your active wardrobe. The fabric is moisture wicking and has natural antibacterial properties.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice
Posted16 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good quality item. Nice snug fit - 6 feet tall, 39 inch chest, 75Kgs - large fits nicely.
Fit is great for a base layer, which helps keep to optimal temperature. Wicks well, doesn't feel unconfortable when it starts to get wet.
Even wore it to the gym as a top layer and didn't feel out of place.
Good quality, nice price."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice
Posted24 October 2011
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very nice jersey. Well worth the money.
Does a good job at keeping cool wind at bay. Maybe not totally windproof (around the zip, perhaps), but not bad considering its a jersey. Been down to 5C now without problem.
Comfortable, stylish, good fit (6 feet and slim, large is good for length and has enough room for layers underneath). Great pockets, deep and varied. Nice high collar.
On the whole, a good buy."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Oxygen WINDSTOPPER Softshel lOvershoes AW12
Oxygen WINDSTOPPER Softshel lOvershoes AW12
Protective overshoes with a Windstopper Soft Shell construction for complete windproofing and water resistance. A rear zip and velcro closure provides a close, secure fit and reflective trim helps keep you visible on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality
Posted16 October 2011
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great quality, as usual from Gore. Out in 5 degrees this morning and no problems, feet nice and warm."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 GPM Short Sleeve Jersey - 2011
GPM Short Sleeve Jersey - 2011
GPM is the acronym for Gran Premio delle Montagne; the Italian King of the Mountains. The GPM combines light weight with the innovative comfort of seamless arm and neck bands, a feature developed initially in Castelli seamless base layers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice jersey
Posted12 September 2011
Tommy2404
fromDerby
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I like this jersey. Good quality, as I would expect from Castelli.
Its good to have a full zip on a short sleeved jersey. Quality material.
Size wise, I went for XL. I'm 6 feet and 75kgs. Normally I would go with either M or L, but although I could have got away with L, I felt more comfortable in XL on this occasion."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tommy2404's Questions
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Will this fold/roll up to fit in the back pocket of a jersey?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Tommy2404
Derby
 
Tommy2404's Answers
 
 Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Knee Warmers
Castelli Nanoflex Water Resistant Knee Warmers
Warm breathable Knee warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. NanoFlex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 

Can you advise on what size CastelliKnee Warmers to get?

i wear a xl bib short, wear 82kg and am 185cm tall.

additionally could you advise what size Castelli arm warmers ? Arm length 47cm
I'm 6 feet tall, 74kg. Large is a perfect fit for me.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Tommy2404
Derby
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

What is exact lenght of sleeves on a large?

I have tried a medium and the fit was too tight on the chest and short for my torso. However sleeves were of right size.
Could anyone measure up the sleeves on a large? e.g. on the medium I have measured
57 cms (sleeve end to underarm where the seam/stiches are)
80 cms (sleeve end to lower collar seam)
Thanks
I'm 6 feet tall and slim, 75kgs. Large is a good fit, enough room for base layers and good on the sleeve, no gap between gloves, but no slack either
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Tommy2404
Derby