jormungand
Top 1000 Contributor
Share jormungand's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jormungand's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    33
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    29 April 2011
  • Last Review
    18 August 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    03 March 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 March 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    27 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    28 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
jormungand's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The RapidRacerProducts Enduroguard is a simple lightweight mudguard that offers excellent protection for you and your suspension components. Available in a variety of colours to suit any bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
does what it's meant to
Posted18 August 2015
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"protected my MTB commuter bike from crud into the headset bearings and downtime. easy to fit, lots of options to ziptie"
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ceramic Grease represents the most advanced bearing lubrication technology currently available from Finish Line. A unique formulation features sub-micron ceramic particles, Teflon fluoropolymer and premium non-toxic synthetic oils.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
awesome grease
Posted18 August 2015
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"actually i use this for my turntable bearing! but for my bearings and headset and pedals its amazing. highly recommend the matching grease dispenser"
Pros: High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The TraceR is a super bright USB rechargeable rear light. New to the range and partner to the Trace, its compact design, high power and ultra reliability make this a winning product.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
best rear lights around
Posted23 July 2015
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i have tried many rear lights but this one is the best, yes expensive but then it ticks all the boxes, waterproof, rechargeable, compact, fits nearly all bikes, bright and robust. all else have fallen short of this TraceR. wish i had bought one to begin with"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight and supportive pedal with high impact resin cage for greater foot stability. Designed for all round use with pop-up binding mechanism for easy entry and release.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
basic robust pedal for commuting and off road
Posted14 July 2015
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"at this price not much comes close for commuting and some off road use. the axles are top notch and easy to maintain if thats your passion, though for this price you can easily just buy another pair. foot platform is excellent, polymer cage is robust and stiff. cleat system is easy to engage. a no brainer"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These mountain bike gloves keep your hands and fingertips warm even in colder conditions while silicone coated fingers help increase grip and feel when pulling on the brakes. Gel padding increases protection on rougher trails.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent riding glove
Posted15 May 2015
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i use this glove to commute,mtb and road ride. love the grip, wipe surface. fits perfectly. could only be bettered if it had pull loops like the fingerless gore gloves to help you take them off, but a small gripe"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer
Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer
Stay fresh on hot days with this superlight seamless baselayer made with cool mesh to move moisture away from your body. The super cooling effect is complimented by this baselayer being soft and comfortable, making it easy to wear all day long.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
best autumn/spring base layer i can find
Posted28 October 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"really like Craft base layers. have tried all the others but the Craft fits well, is not too hot or cold and the fit is not too Italian i.e. small or too american i.e. large. goes perfectly under my Goretex xenon soft-shell jacket for a cold ride or under a shorter sleeve jersey for a autumn rid down to 5 degrees very good fabric keeps me dry warm and as it is seamless is awesome to wear."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Altura Progel Waist Shorts are a multi-panelled high stretch short, designed to ensure you stay comfortable in the saddle due to the Progel padded insert and comfortable silicone leg grippers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great inner shorts
Posted28 October 2014
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i commute everyday and need good inner shorts under my MTB shorts. have used many like craft, gore and DHB. these have the nicest lycra and fit very well. Pad is second only to the Gore elastic interface. very comfortable and well made"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Crafted with recycled polyester fabric for an environmentally-friendly feel, the Nike Miler Men's Running Shirt is light in weight so nothing slows runners down and made with layered mesh for superior breathability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fab running and biking top
Posted07 October 2014
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i use this garment to bike and commute to work. with a base layer underneath it is very versatile, warm or cool with a gilet or jacket. love it. warning to wash it in a lingerie bag to prevent pilling otherwise excellent"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer SS14
Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer SS14
Stay fresh on hot days with this superlight base layer made with cool mesh to move moisture away from your body. The super cooling effect is complimented by this baselayer being soft and comfortable, making it easy to wear all day long.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great warm to mild weather base layer
Posted17 June 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i like the craft series of base layers but the 2014 season long sleeve tops are even better, they wick better, are more like a non-skin feeling and fit well. my only criticism is the arms are tight, muscular bods need bigger size"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling short with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent padded inner shorts
Posted27 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i use these as inner shorts for commuting and MTBing under baggy shorts. they are a fraction tighter than my true craft inner shorts but they are meant to be multipurpose lycra shorts without the bib. the best features are the excellent leg grippers and the Cytech pad, which in my opinion is one of the best. only downer is the price which is moderate"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
jormungand's Questions
 
jormungand has not submitted any questions.
 
jormungand's Answers
 
The Altura Progel Waist Shorts are a multi-panelled high stretch short, designed to ensure you stay comfortable in the saddle due to the Progel padded insert and comfortable silicone leg grippers.
 

would the pad in these be similar to dhb pro tour pad?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the pads are slightly different. i like the elastic interface pad on the DHB but the altura lycra and fit for me is definitely better. if you like comfort then the altar is the better buy, i find the dhb too tight around the crotch area. also consider the goretex shorts
10 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Limited Edition Racing Zero clincher wheels with a black hub, black nipples, and a black rim that also come with stealth graphics. Racing Zero is the top wheel of the Fulcrum® aluminium range.
 

I'm 1,93m and 96kg. will these wheels work fine?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no problem, should work fine
1 year, 5 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
dhb’s bestselling bib short for serious sessions in the saddle. Don’t believe us? Check out the 1700+ customer review recommendations.
 

Size questions again

HiGuys,

I am 171 cm tall and 89 cm in waist, the thigh is around 59 cm. M is suitable for me?
Thank you.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
large is best fit i think M is too tight for thighs
2 years ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
dhb’s bestselling bib short for serious sessions in the saddle. Don’t believe us? Check out the 1700+ customer review recommendations.
 

Sizing question

I have a 37" chest, 32" waist, which fits a S, but I'm 6'1", which is an XL... What should I pick??
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
probably a L if you like a normal not tight fit but a glove fit. i am 38 chest and same but M is tiny and feels tight not glove fit
2 years ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Convertible Softshell Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Convertible Softshell Jacket
A versatile road cycling jacket with zip-off sleeves to convert into a short sleeve or a vest. The Phantom 2.0 provides compact, adaptable windproof and spray protection for changing conditions, ideal for touring and autumn/winter training breaks.
 

Sizing - 42" chest

Hi - I have a 42" chest, 5'11" tall, 34" waist.

Looking at the size guide suggests XL - Is this correct?

What are peoples experiences if I only wanted to wear a standard jersey (plus maybe a base layer) underneath?

I am based in Adelaide hence not the extreme cold of the UK.

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i am same size chest and waist except 5.7 and i have the Large for slightly loose fit. depends if you want very loose or almost exact fit, with a jersey and baselayer you would be slightly loose side of perfect fit
2 years, 1 month ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Limited Edition Racing Zero clincher wheels with a black hub, black nipples, and a black rim that also come with stealth graphics. Racing Zero is the top wheel of the Fulcrum® aluminium range.
 

Will SRAM cassettes fit the Shimano hub version of these "Darks"?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes they should. SRAM is generally compatible with shimano but not the otherway round
3 years, 4 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is there a rotation arrow?

I have just bought this tyre and cannot find a rotation direction arrow. Is there one? There was nothing in the accompanying leaflet. However, It was dark when I was fitting!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no there is no rotational arrow and from the Schwalbe website the compound is not unidirectional
3 years, 7 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is the Shwalbe Ultremo ZX tyre a clincher or a tubular?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the wiggle ones advertised are clinchers
3 years, 10 months ago
by
jormungand