jormungand
Top 1000 Contributor
Share jormungand's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jormungand's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    29 April 2011
  • Last Review
    23 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    03 March 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 March 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    27 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    23 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
jormungand's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Made with breathable UV-blocking fabric that pulls sweat away from the skin, the Nike Miler UV Men's Running Shirt helps you stay dry and comfortable while protecting you from the sun's harmful rays.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
versatile t shirt
Posted23 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i use this shirt for running, commuting and strength work. it is strong and light. not necessarily the coolest but this is typical of synthetic material. wicks sweat away well but better with a base layer.
WASH in a lingerie bag in the washer or they will pill and loop badly
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm and lightweight 3/4 length cycling tights with a Thermoflex fabric construction for insulation and comfort on while you build your base miles over the winter. Featuring a Kiss3 seatpad and Giro3 ankle grippers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
competition for assos 434
Posted06 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"a lot cheaper than the assos 434, both are fantastic spring/autumn bibknicks. the KISS3 pad is denser but not as comfortable as the pad in the 434 but then it is a lot cheaper. i love both. the castelli is perhaps warmer like the 607 assos equivalent. size is typical itallian small. i am 70kg, 173cm and need large and its a form fit. only thing that is a negative is the label on the inside left is irritating."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A versatile road cycling jacket with zip-off sleeves to convert into a short sleeve or a vest. The Phantom 2.0 provides compact, adaptable windproof and spray protection for changing conditions, ideal for touring and autumn/winter training breaks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best all-round jacket
Posted06 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i commute a lot, the phantom is warm, waterproof and very visible. i like the fact i can use it for three seasons and no longer use a waterproof jacket. the sizing is great (i am 175cm, 67kg and use large only because i like a loose fit), can also use it on my road and mountain bike. i have a yellow and now orange one to keep alive on the road. small gripes: the front could use a small zipper pocket for keys and ipod and the tail slightly longer, but all in all a superb jacket"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Multi-use touring shoes with a ventilating mesh upper and a recessed cleat for comfortable walking. Ideal for touring, long summer leisure rides and every-day riding.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
ok for price
Posted04 May 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"the sole is excellent but fit weird. tight around the toes but allows heel to almost pop out when you are cranking hard."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CX331C Road Shoe
CX331C Road Shoe
Race level road cycling shoes that combine a heat moldable heel counter and arch component with a Boa Monofilament closure system for a precise custom fit with totally even and convenient retention.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Most comfortable shoe I have used
Posted14 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have tried all sorts from specialised expert , shimano and do currently use Lake MTB shoes so should have known better that fit was spot on. Don't have a wide foot but not Italian skinny either. It fits me perfectly and needed minimum carbon moulding. Very comfortable, esoles that come with them are not very supportive but are designed to be moulded with shoe hence different science and approach than expert shoe I also use."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, hard to get
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new generation of Assos S5 insert bib tights from the campionissimo line. Designed for cold climate riding conditions, ideally suited for early winter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
best long leg cycling tights
Posted08 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i have also tried or bought DHB, Gore Xenon and Castelli but these Assos 607s are the best. the fabric is differential , the pad still the best (S5) , the fit perfect for me (65kg, 173cm tall) and the waist and leg fit perfect. they are the most expensive but they fit me perfectly"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Phantom Neon Jacket
Phantom Neon Jacket
Windproof Soft Shell jacket for ambitious cyclists. Versatile – jacket, functional jersey and vest all in one. Better visibility thanks to neon-colour.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
no volume control jacket
Posted20 April 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i have the gore contest jacket as well, this is a versatile jacket with zip off sleeves and bright neon colour for excellent road visiblity. i like the fact that the sleeves can take arm warmers to make this very versatile. fit is slightly roomier than the contest. the zips for the arms are a bit finicky otherwise a bargain"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Intermediate Jersey is a great all year product, ideal with just a base layer on warmer days or used as part of a layering system on colder days.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent colder weather jacket
Posted31 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"the wind blocking front is very effective and build quality excellent. i found i needed L for a reasonable fit which is weird given that ASSOS fit is usually spot on"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Anatomic 3/4 length shorts with a 13 panel construction in A.434 Spandex. With an FI.Mille_S5 seatpad and legendary Assos attention to detail, TK.434_S5 is the finest choice for endurance training and racing in cold to mild weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
expensive but the best for cooler weather
Posted31 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i really agonized over these or the gore, ended up buying both. the S5 pad, the amazing fit and build quality though really mean these are the best i have used. on a Wiggle sale they were almost good value"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
almost the best value bib there is
Posted19 March 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"love these. they are not as comfortable as the Assos and castelli bibs i have BUT the pads are almost as good, the lycra panels almost as comfortable. you could use these everyday and not really care given you can get three of these for one Assos bib. love the leg silicones and the fit. the only gripes are the slightly too thin shoulder straps and the irritating DHB inner labels (why does sports gear these days come with an itchy encyclopedia in 8 languages sewn in exactly the most itchy hard to reach place???)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: strange care label position
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
jormungand's Questions
 
jormungand has not submitted any questions.
 
jormungand's Answers
 
Limited Edition Racing Zero clincher wheels with a black hub, black nipples, and a black rim that also come with stealth graphics. Racing Zero is the top wheel of the Fulcrum® aluminium range.
 

I'm 1,93m and 96kg. will these wheels work fine?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no problem, should work fine
4 weeks ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Size questions again

HiGuys,

I am 171 cm tall and 89 cm in waist, the thigh is around 59 cm. M is suitable for me?
Thank you.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
large is best fit i think M is too tight for thighs
8 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Sizing question

I have a 37" chest, 32" waist, which fits a S, but I'm 6'1", which is an XL... What should I pick??
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
probably a L if you like a normal not tight fit but a glove fit. i am 38 chest and same but M is tiny and feels tight not glove fit
8 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
A versatile road cycling jacket with zip-off sleeves to convert into a short sleeve or a vest. The Phantom 2.0 provides compact, adaptable windproof and spray protection for changing conditions, ideal for touring and autumn/winter training breaks.
 

Sizing - 42" chest

Hi - I have a 42" chest, 5'11" tall, 34" waist.

Looking at the size guide suggests XL - Is this correct?

What are peoples experiences if I only wanted to wear a standard jersey (plus maybe a base layer) underneath?

I am based in Adelaide hence not the extreme cold of the UK.

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i am same size chest and waist except 5.7 and i have the Large for slightly loose fit. depends if you want very loose or almost exact fit, with a jersey and baselayer you would be slightly loose side of perfect fit
9 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
Limited Edition Racing Zero clincher wheels with a black hub, black nipples, and a black rim that also come with stealth graphics. Racing Zero is the top wheel of the Fulcrum® aluminium range.
 

Will SRAM cassettes fit the Shimano hub version of these "Darks"?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes they should. SRAM is generally compatible with shimano but not the otherway round
1 year, 11 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is there a rotation arrow?

I have just bought this tyre and cannot find a rotation direction arrow. Is there one? There was nothing in the accompanying leaflet. However, It was dark when I was fitting!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no there is no rotational arrow and from the Schwalbe website the compound is not unidirectional
2 years, 3 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is the Shwalbe Ultremo ZX tyre a clincher or a tubular?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the wiggle ones advertised are clinchers
2 years, 5 months ago
by
jormungand