jormungand
Top 1000 Contributor
Share jormungand's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
jormungand's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    29 April 2011
  • Last Review
    28 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    03 March 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    03 March 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    27 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    28 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
jormungand's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer
Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer
Stay fresh on hot days with this superlight seamless baselayer made with cool mesh to move moisture away from your body. The super cooling effect is complimented by this baselayer being soft and comfortable, making it easy to wear all day long.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
best autumn/spring base layer i can find
Posted28 October 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"really like Craft base layers. have tried all the others but the Craft fits well, is not too hot or cold and the fit is not too Italian i.e. small or too american i.e. large. goes perfectly under my Goretex xenon soft-shell jacket for a cold ride or under a shorter sleeve jersey for a autumn rid down to 5 degrees very good fabric keeps me dry warm and as it is seamless is awesome to wear."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Progel Shorts
Altura Progel Shorts
The Altura Progel Waist Shorts are a multi-panelled high stretch short, designed to ensure you stay comfortable in the saddle due to the Progel padded insert and comfortable silicone leg grippers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great inner shorts
Posted28 October 2014
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i commute everyday and need good inner shorts under my MTB shorts. have used many like craft, gore and DHB. these have the nicest lycra and fit very well. Pad is second only to the Gore elastic interface. very comfortable and well made"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Miler Long Sleeve UV (Team) - FA14
Nike Miler Long Sleeve UV (Team) - FA14
Crafted with recycled polyester fabric for an environmentally-friendly feel, the Nike Miler Men's Running Shirt is light in weight so nothing slows runners down and made with layered mesh for superior breathability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fab running and biking top
Posted07 October 2014
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i use this garment to bike and commute to work. with a base layer underneath it is very versatile, warm or cool with a gilet or jacket. love it. warning to wash it in a lingerie bag to prevent pilling otherwise excellent"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer SS14
Craft Cool Seamless Long Sleeve Base Layer SS14
Stay fresh on hot days with this superlight base layer made with cool mesh to move moisture away from your body. The super cooling effect is complimented by this baselayer being soft and comfortable, making it easy to wear all day long.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great warm to mild weather base layer
Posted17 June 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i like the craft series of base layers but the 2014 season long sleeve tops are even better, they wick better, are more like a non-skin feeling and fit well. my only criticism is the arms are tight, muscular bods need bigger size"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Short
Premium cycling short with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent padded inner shorts
Posted27 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i use these as inner shorts for commuting and MTBing under baggy shorts. they are a fraction tighter than my true craft inner shorts but they are meant to be multipurpose lycra shorts without the bib. the best features are the excellent leg grippers and the Cytech pad, which in my opinion is one of the best. only downer is the price which is moderate"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Miler Short Sleeve UV (Team) - SP14
Nike Miler Short Sleeve UV (Team) - SP14
Made with breathable UV-blocking fabric that pulls sweat away from the skin, the Nike Miler UV Men's Running Shirt helps you stay dry and comfortable while protecting you from the sun's harmful rays.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
versatile t shirt
Posted23 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i use this shirt for running, commuting and strength work. it is strong and light. not necessarily the coolest but this is typical of synthetic material. wicks sweat away well but better with a base layer.
WASH in a lingerie bag in the washer or they will pill and loop badly
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Velocissimo Bib Knicker
Castelli Velocissimo Bib Knicker
Warm and lightweight 3/4 length cycling tights with a Thermoflex fabric construction for insulation and comfort on while you build your base miles over the winter. Featuring a Kiss3 seatpad and Giro3 ankle grippers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
competition for assos 434
Posted06 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"a lot cheaper than the assos 434, both are fantastic spring/autumn bibknicks. the KISS3 pad is denser but not as comfortable as the pad in the 434 but then it is a lot cheaper. i love both. the castelli is perhaps warmer like the 607 assos equivalent. size is typical itallian small. i am 70kg, 173cm and need large and its a form fit. only thing that is a negative is the label on the inside left is irritating."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Convertible Softshell Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Convertible Softshell Jacket
A versatile road cycling jacket with zip-off sleeves to convert into a short sleeve or a vest. The Phantom 2.0 provides compact, adaptable windproof and spray protection for changing conditions, ideal for touring and autumn/winter training breaks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best all-round jacket
Posted06 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"i commute a lot, the phantom is warm, waterproof and very visible. i like the fact i can use it for three seasons and no longer use a waterproof jacket. the sizing is great (i am 175cm, 67kg and use large only because i like a loose fit), can also use it on my road and mountain bike. i have a yellow and now orange one to keep alive on the road. small gripes: the front could use a small zipper pocket for keys and ipod and the tail slightly longer, but all in all a superb jacket"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano MT23 Trail/Touring Shoes 2013
Shimano MT23 Trail/Touring Shoes 2013
Multi-use touring shoes with a ventilating mesh upper and a recessed cleat for comfortable walking. Ideal for touring, long summer leisure rides and every-day riding.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
ok for price
Posted04 May 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"the sole is excellent but fit weird. tight around the toes but allows heel to almost pop out when you are cranking hard."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CX331C Road Shoe
CX331C Road Shoe
Race level road cycling shoes that combine a heat moldable heel counter and arch component with a Boa Monofilament closure system for a precise custom fit with totally even and convenient retention.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Most comfortable shoe I have used
Posted14 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
jormungand
fromhamilton
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have tried all sorts from specialised expert , shimano and do currently use Lake MTB shoes so should have known better that fit was spot on. Don't have a wide foot but not Italian skinny either. It fits me perfectly and needed minimum carbon moulding. Very comfortable, esoles that come with them are not very supportive but are designed to be moulded with shoe hence different science and approach than expert shoe I also use."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, hard to get
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
jormungand's Questions
 
jormungand has not submitted any questions.
 
jormungand's Answers
 
 Altura Progel Shorts
Altura Progel Shorts
The Altura Progel Waist Shorts are a multi-panelled high stretch short, designed to ensure you stay comfortable in the saddle due to the Progel padded insert and comfortable silicone leg grippers.
 

would the pad in these be similar to dhb pro tour pad?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the pads are slightly different. i like the elastic interface pad on the DHB but the altura lycra and fit for me is definitely better. if you like comfort then the altar is the better buy, i find the dhb too tight around the crotch area. also consider the goretex shorts
4 weeks ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Limited Edition Racing Zero clincher wheels with a black hub, black nipples, and a black rim that also come with stealth graphics. Racing Zero is the top wheel of the Fulcrum® aluminium range.
 

I'm 1,93m and 96kg. will these wheels work fine?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no problem, should work fine
8 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Size questions again

HiGuys,

I am 171 cm tall and 89 cm in waist, the thigh is around 59 cm. M is suitable for me?
Thank you.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
large is best fit i think M is too tight for thighs
1 year, 3 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Sizing question

I have a 37" chest, 32" waist, which fits a S, but I'm 6'1", which is an XL... What should I pick??
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
probably a L if you like a normal not tight fit but a glove fit. i am 38 chest and same but M is tiny and feels tight not glove fit
1 year, 3 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Convertible Softshell Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Convertible Softshell Jacket
A versatile road cycling jacket with zip-off sleeves to convert into a short sleeve or a vest. The Phantom 2.0 provides compact, adaptable windproof and spray protection for changing conditions, ideal for touring and autumn/winter training breaks.
 

Sizing - 42" chest

Hi - I have a 42" chest, 5'11" tall, 34" waist.

Looking at the size guide suggests XL - Is this correct?

What are peoples experiences if I only wanted to wear a standard jersey (plus maybe a base layer) underneath?

I am based in Adelaide hence not the extreme cold of the UK.

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i am same size chest and waist except 5.7 and i have the Large for slightly loose fit. depends if you want very loose or almost exact fit, with a jersey and baselayer you would be slightly loose side of perfect fit
1 year, 4 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Racing Zero Dark Label Clincher Wheelset
Limited Edition Racing Zero clincher wheels with a black hub, black nipples, and a black rim that also come with stealth graphics. Racing Zero is the top wheel of the Fulcrum® aluminium range.
 

Will SRAM cassettes fit the Shimano hub version of these "Darks"?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes they should. SRAM is generally compatible with shimano but not the otherway round
2 years, 7 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is there a rotation arrow?

I have just bought this tyre and cannot find a rotation direction arrow. Is there one? There was nothing in the accompanying leaflet. However, It was dark when I was fitting!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no there is no rotational arrow and from the Schwalbe website the compound is not unidirectional
2 years, 10 months ago
by
jormungand
hamilton
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is the Shwalbe Ultremo ZX tyre a clincher or a tubular?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the wiggle ones advertised are clinchers
3 years ago
by
jormungand