paulo321
Top 500 Contributor
Share paulo321's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
paulo321's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    13 March 2012
  • Last Review
    12 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    11 April 2011
  • Last Question
    11 April 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    13 March 2012
  • Last Answer
    05 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
paulo321's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 dhb Professional ASV Short Sleeve Cycle Jersey
dhb Professional ASV Short Sleeve Cycle Jersey
Light and aerodynamic, the ASV Jersey combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the ultimate racing apparel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great looking Jersey
Posted12 November 2014
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Love this jersey, so thin & light, color design are good too. Just a bit disappointed with the fit, the neck is too tight and the bit on my upper back between the shoulders flaps around in the wind... Bought a large, I am 187cm tall, 74kg, 102cm chest."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos T.equipe_s7 Bib Shorts
Assos T.equipe_s7 Bib Shorts
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Exceeded my expectations
Posted12 November 2014
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Brilliant Bib shorts! Hold your gear out of the way, and plenty of padding. Some may think too much padding, but I think they are great."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Merino Short Sleeve Base Layer M_200
dhb Merino Short Sleeve Base Layer M_200
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation and natural technical performance in cold conditions. A warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Getting Better
Posted15 June 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought my first dhb merino base layer a couple of years ago. Just love them, the quality seems to be getting better. Still have my first one, now I ride more & also use these as a warm singlet on cold days."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo DD Evolution Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo DD Evolution Folding Road Tyre 2013
The top competition tyre with all around protection. As well as the V-Guard belt it is also protected by a complete SnakeSkin fabric. The additional protection works particularly well on the shoulders and side walls.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fast rolling, durable
Posted14 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These tyres are a bit expensive, but are fast & light. No problems with punctures, ridden in the wet on bad roads etc. no punctures. Very happy with these."
Pros: Lightweight, Durable, Rugged, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Short Finger Gloves
Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Short Finger Gloves
Lightweight performance race gloves with a gel padded palm for shock absorption and vibration damping on long distance road rides. A mesh panel back and ventilated palm provide cooling airflow and breathability in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Happy with these gloves
Posted07 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Gloves are a bit personal, a friend recommended Assos, I tried them and didn't like them. These are great, comfy and look good."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos armWarmer_S7
Assos armWarmer_S7
With the introduction of S7, the legendary Assos Armwarmers have been completely re-engineered. The Improved anatomical cut adheres better, stays in place and follows your movements. 2 different fabrics keep you warm and cozy in cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Armwarmers
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Don't slide down, comfortable and great quality. Ok for cool days, bu maybe a bit light for low temps."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin Premium Heart Rate Monitor Strap
Garmin Premium Heart Rate Monitor Strap
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
New version seems better
Posted06 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am replacing the strap that came with my Garmin 500 bundle at the end of 2011. There has been some kind of redesign, there seems to be a silver material braided into the strap around the pads. hoping that this lasts longer and is more reliable. So far so good anyway."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Zecto Drive Rear LED Light
Lezyne Zecto Drive Rear LED Light
The Zecto Drive rear LED ligh sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Highly visible
Posted05 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great light, very bright, feel safer on solo rides. Only problem is the strap doesn't fit around my Aero seatpost. Also it would be good if battery life was longer, but I suppose that you can't have everything..."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Arion Al13 Rollers
Elite Arion Al13 Rollers
Elite's proven Arion Mag platform with the added advantage of CNCd rollers A smooth, quiet 3-speed magnetic resistance unit is built into the middle roller, allowing a wide variety of training options.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Trainer
Posted29 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Have used an old pair of rollers for a year now. They are great but there was no resistance and a bearing was failing. These are great, quiet, smooth and enough resistance for me to do some hard intervals without spinning like crazy. Don't be shy, rollers are the best kind of trainer, just make sure you get them with some resistance!"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Fulcrum Racing Zero Clincher Wheelset 2014
Fulcrum Racing Zero Clincher Wheelset 2014
The Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd. Also new, is the mega-drive hub flange and a great new graphics makeover.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great wheels
Posted18 July 2013
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nice, strong, stiff & responsive, now I just have to improve my performance to take full advantage of them. Handle well and don't wobble when sprinting. Still too early to comment on durability."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
paulo321's Questions
 
 C12 Plus Ultegra 2010 Ex-Demo
C12 Plus Ultegra 2010 Ex-Demo
The C12 Plus comes equipped with Shimano's Ultegra groupset and Fulcrum Racing 5 wheels with FSA and Selle Italia completing the package. This machine has a compact chainset (50/34) and coupled with a 12-25 cassette this gives you a wide range of gear choices to tackle any steep climb that lay in your path. Another stylish colour design that stands out from the crowd.
 

Sizing question

what height / inner leg person would it suit, and is it strictly a race bike or suitable for touring?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
paulo321's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Lezyne Zecto Drive Rear LED Light
Lezyne Zecto Drive Rear LED Light
The Zecto Drive rear LED ligh sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 

Does this fit on an aero seat post?

I have a TCR Advanced 0 and the aero seat post has meant that most of my old lights are now obsolete. Currently using a fiber flare but looking for a bit more visibility especially in fading light/sunsets/sunrises.

Cheers
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Doesn't fit on my Aeroseat post. have to clip it onto my saddle bag.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

Does this come packaged with the Park Tool Chain Brite Citrus Cleaner?

I have purchased this a from my LBS and it came packaged with some chain cleaner
Just wondering if I have to buy the cleaner on top of this

Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, you only get the tool, not the fuid
1 year, 6 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Arundel Tri Seatpost Clamp
Arundel Tri Seatpost Clamp
This simple device clamps to the seat post instead of the seat rails, and it fits virtually all seat post shapes. No one else makes one like it.
 

which water bottle cages fit ?

Please can you tell me which water bottle cages go with this? is it any standard bottle and bottle cage or a specific type?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
it is standard, my cages fit it no problem.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Gel Short Finger Gloves
Gel Short Finger Gloves
Summer cycling gloves with a gel padded palm for cushioning and grip. Ideal for endurance road rides and training routes.
 

Glove sizing

I followed the sizing instructions which indicate I would be an extra large. I have never been an extra large in gloves before (normally medium or large). Are these gloves particularly small. How accurate is this sizing guide for Santini gloves?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yep, sizing chart is out. I measure 23cm around my hand and the chart says I should be XXL, bought large and they are fine, but XL may have been better.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

do any of the GPS bike computers show real time slopes for hills?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes, this one shows the gradient in % and you can even show your vertical speed (rate of ascent) or 30 second average vertical speed. i guess there is a few seconds delay when the gradient changes.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

can i download routes and navigate on rides?

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
if you have a course in txc format you upload it to the garmin training centre program as a course. then when you want to follow it, you start up the garmin and go into "do course", once you are on the course it will guide you with a map. It tells you when you are off course.
It does not include maps, so you cannot navigate (bring your iphone if you think you will get lost!). The 800 has maps, but a friend says the display is too small to navigate properly.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

what is the maximum distance the main computer can be from the cadence sensor and still work

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
the manual says 3 metres
2 years, 5 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

How many Cadence meters do i need and is it easy to swap between bikes?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
one for each bike, this already comes with one.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

What is the difference between the 'premium' heart rate monitor and the standard HR monitor?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I think the premium one is more water proof - good for triathalons.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Havik 2 Full Lens Sunglasses - 2011
Havik 2 Full Lens Sunglasses - 2011
The Havik's sleek, sculptural Super Fit frame offers a comfortable, helmet-compatible fit and is matched to an interchangeable 7-base ZEISS lens that offers exceptionally accurate vision and a wide open field-of-view.
 

How many inerchangebale lenses do the glasses come with?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
none
2 years, 7 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney