paulo321
Top 500 Contributor
Share paulo321's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
paulo321's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    42
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    13 March 2012
  • Last Review
    20 September 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    11 April 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    13 March 2012
  • Last Answer
    05 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
paulo321's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The KMC X11SL DLC 11 speed chain features their Triple X Durability and the DLC (Diamond Like Coating) process which ensures long-term function with greater durability. A great choice for the serious cyclist wanting a high performing chain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long lasting, perfect shifting
Posted20 September 2016
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My last X11-SL DLC 11 chain lasted over 11,000km and the standard Dura Ace chains last less than 4000km. I keep my chain clean and regularly check it's length. Looks great too of course!"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lizard Skins DSP 2.5mm (DuraSoft Polymer) Bar Tape was created for superior comfort, optimised feel and control. 2.5mm thick for that extra bit of comfort and 82 inch rolls will fit any handlebar.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Grippy, Comfy Tape
Posted26 August 2016
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nice durable tape, easy to grip in the wet and a good amount of cushioning."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These high performance brake pads are dark green in colour and feature their GHP2 brake compound. They are designed for alloy rims only and offer excellent stopping power even in the wet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long Lasting, Good stopping power
Posted26 August 2016
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I find these much better than the standard Shimano DA pads. They are harder and don't get destroyed after riding in the rain."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Durano S Performance Folding Tyre
Schwalbe Durano S Performance Folding Tyre
The faster Durano that is the true successor to the Stelvio. Dynamic slick profile and lots of colours available. Somewhat less durable than the regular Durano, but lighter and with lower resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long lasting, fast rolling durable tire
Posted11 February 2016
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A great tire for training, I'm happy in the wet, lasts well, resistant to punctures and rolls almost as well as the Schwable ones."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Not out of place in the pro peloton, these are a lightweight, stiff shoe to give you that edge on the competition!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Shoes
Posted20 January 2016
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I really like the Sidi wires. I had the Ergo 3 before. The wires are a little slower to put on - you need to wing the thing all the way to tighten whereas you just slide the tab in on the old system, but these are much easier to adjust on the fly. Got the black ones, but the fluro look so good..."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The KMC X11SL DLC 11 speed chain (black) features their Triple X Durability and the DLC (Diamond Like Coating) process which ensures long-term function with greater durability. A great choice for the serious cyclist wanting a high performing chain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very Happy
Posted06 December 2015
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Had this chain for almost 6,000km now. It was shifting slow & getting noisy, so I was ready to change it (used to DA chains lasting 3,000km), but when I checked the length I found that it was perfect, so i gave it a good clean & lub and it is as good as new again. Great chain!"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon Gore-Tex Gloves
Gore Bike Wear Xenon Gore-Tex Gloves
XENON is for the customer wanting a fully waterproof, windproof and highly breathable glove in a more streamlined construction.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great gloves
Posted29 September 2015
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Love the gloves, great for sub 10deg rides. haven't ridden in the wet yet, but they keep the cold & wind out. Be careful on the sizing. I'm skinny and the large fit fine around the hand, but are too short in the fingers. short finger Gore gloves fit perfect according to the sizing chart."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The CT-3.2 features an adjustable locating shelf so it will remove and install the chain rivet on any bike chain, from 5 to 11-speed derailleur chains to 1/8 and 3/16 inch single-speed chains, making it our most versatile chain splitter
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect
Posted13 July 2015
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Does the job perfectly! Good tool, sturdy and fits a range of chains. very happy with this purchase."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Assos T.neoPro_s7 Bib Shorts are a new entry-level product, attractively priced and feature a regular, all-around fit. Perfect for the do-it-all rider.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Bib Shorts
Posted21 May 2015
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you are riding more than once a week, don't waste your money on cheaper bibs. These are great and well worth the money. Padding is excellent, they look great & feel great. I have also tried the T.equip (ruined them in a crash). These are not as good, but still great."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Tubes
Posted21 May 2015
paulo321
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ridden with these for months now. Definitely better than standard butyl tubes. Feel lighter and smoother. Not prone to punctures. Only thing is that you need to check your air pressure before each ride."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
paulo321's Questions
 
 C12 Plus Ultegra 2010 Ex-Demo
C12 Plus Ultegra 2010 Ex-Demo
The C12 Plus comes equipped with Shimano's Ultegra groupset and Fulcrum Racing 5 wheels with FSA and Selle Italia completing the package. This machine has a compact chainset (50/34) and coupled with a 12-25 cassette this gives you a wide range of gear choices to tackle any steep climb that lay in your path. Another stylish colour design that stands out from the crowd.
 

Sizing question

what height / inner leg person would it suit, and is it strictly a race bike or suitable for touring?
5 years, 5 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
paulo321's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Zecto Drive rear LED ligh sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 

Does this fit on an aero seat post?

I have a TCR Advanced 0 and the aero seat post has meant that most of my old lights are now obsolete. Currently using a fiber flare but looking for a bit more visibility especially in fading light/sunsets/sunrises.

Cheers
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Doesn't fit on my Aeroseat post. have to clip it onto my saddle bag.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

Does this come packaged with the Park Tool Chain Brite Citrus Cleaner?

I have purchased this a from my LBS and it came packaged with some chain cleaner
Just wondering if I have to buy the cleaner on top of this

Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, you only get the tool, not the fuid
3 years, 3 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Arundel Tri Seatpost Clamp
Arundel Tri Seatpost Clamp
This simple device clamps to the seat post instead of the seat rails, and it fits virtually all seat post shapes. No one else makes one like it.
 

which water bottle cages fit ?

Please can you tell me which water bottle cages go with this? is it any standard bottle and bottle cage or a specific type?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
it is standard, my cages fit it no problem.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Gel Short Finger Gloves
Gel Short Finger Gloves
Summer cycling gloves with a gel padded palm for cushioning and grip. Ideal for endurance road rides and training routes.
 

Glove sizing

I followed the sizing instructions which indicate I would be an extra large. I have never been an extra large in gloves before (normally medium or large). Are these gloves particularly small. How accurate is this sizing guide for Santini gloves?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yep, sizing chart is out. I measure 23cm around my hand and the chart says I should be XXL, bought large and they are fine, but XL may have been better.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

do any of the GPS bike computers show real time slopes for hills?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes, this one shows the gradient in % and you can even show your vertical speed (rate of ascent) or 30 second average vertical speed. i guess there is a few seconds delay when the gradient changes.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

can i download routes and navigate on rides?

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
if you have a course in txc format you upload it to the garmin training centre program as a course. then when you want to follow it, you start up the garmin and go into "do course", once you are on the course it will guide you with a map. It tells you when you are off course.
It does not include maps, so you cannot navigate (bring your iphone if you think you will get lost!). The 800 has maps, but a friend says the display is too small to navigate properly.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

what is the maximum distance the main computer can be from the cadence sensor and still work

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
the manual says 3 metres
4 years, 2 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

How many Cadence meters do i need and is it easy to swap between bikes?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
one for each bike, this already comes with one.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

What is the difference between the 'premium' heart rate monitor and the standard HR monitor?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I think the premium one is more water proof - good for triathalons.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney
 
 Havik 2 Full Lens Sunglasses - 2011
Havik 2 Full Lens Sunglasses - 2011
The Havik's sleek, sculptural Super Fit frame offers a comfortable, helmet-compatible fit and is matched to an interchangeable 7-base ZEISS lens that offers exceptionally accurate vision and a wide open field-of-view.
 

How many inerchangebale lenses do the glasses come with?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
none
4 years, 4 months ago
by
paulo321
Sydney