Brokenflipflop
Share Brokenflipflop's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Brokenflipflop's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    20 February 2012
  • Last Review
    22 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    21 January 2014
  • Last Question
    21 January 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    28 February 2012
  • Last Answer
    02 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Brokenflipflop's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Shiny Object Co2 Inflator with Sleeve
Shiny Object Co2 Inflator with Sleeve
The shiny object Co2 inflator is made of indestructible oh-so-shiny alloy and fits on both presta and schrader valves.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Save your energy and get one
Posted22 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Don't know why I didn't get one of these sooner - gets the tyre rock hard in about 10 seconds and no more mither and effort using a pump that doesn't get the tyre to 100 psi anyway.
The screw/knob allows you to control the gas flow - it's so easy even my wife can use it !"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Versus model is for riders who wants a Fizik Snake saddle with a relief zone. It has a solid base with an ergonomic 5mm deep central relief channel along the length of the saddle. The flat, narrow and long shape of the Arione is ideal for Snakes.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
If you like agony...... buy one
Posted02 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well, this saddle is the most uncomfortable thing I've sat on since my bare bum accidentally sat on my dad's pint pot when I was 2 years old.
I wondered why the Fizik saddles were so expensive so I thought I'd get one. It may be this particular model, but the sharp edges on the raised padded sections were like 2 razor blades digging into my butt and I was in agony on just a 10 mile test ride.
For £80, it's well overpriced and factor in the pain then it was a no brainer, it had to go back. My £20 stock Selle Italia saddle is far comfier which proves that you don't always get what you pay for."
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Winter tights with an s5 seat pad and a light and fleecy RX fabric construction for insulation and comfort in cold conditions. With a paired-down design and an ergonomic race fit, LL.Uno tights are the ideal for riders focussed on the essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very expensive but......
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Worn these about 8 times and the good points are that they look good, albeit irrelevant if you're as ugly as me. They are comfortable too.
Sizing: I'm 5'9" 13.5 stone and a bit stocky and the Large are a really good snug fit. Just for info I'm XL in Assos jackets and tops and although I have big legs Large is fine in bib shorts/tights.
Are they worth the money....probably not but my kids have moved out and I've now got more money than sense. I'm more than happy with the DHB offerings and to be honest, as nice as the Assos gear is, it's not worth 3-4 times the price of DHB."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos T FI.Mille S5 Bib Shorts
Assos T FI.Mille S5 Bib Shorts
Elite level bib shorts tailored for endurance road cycling and stage racing. T FI.Mille S5 shorts feature an FI.Mille_S5 seat pad for controlled cushioning and long term pressure distribution and a ergonomic 4 panel cut for a free moving, race fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Ouch...Expensive
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Only worn these once but I agree with a previous review that said the leg grippers aren't tight enough - a bit baggy. I find this strange as I'm stocky build with big legs and I got the Large which is just about right, tight fit, except for the leg grippers of course.
The quality is good and they are comfortable. Just to give an idea of sizing: I'm 5'9", 13.5 stone and stocky and Assos Large fits well but snug for bib tights/bib shorts. FYI I'm XL for Assos jackets/tops.
Are these Assos Bib shorts worth the money....well....no. I've got DHB tights and shorts and I can't tell the difference - except in my wallet of course. Maybe if they were just twice as expensive maybe."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, double expensive !
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
You need one
Posted20 February 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got this for my wife because she was always faffing about with her snooze and was always cold around her head and neck during winter rides. I've got something similar to this DHB balaclava and my wife always made fun of me. Now she's got one and she loves it. The fit is snug, which is a good thing and it keeps her head and neck warm. She uses it on nearly every ride. It's excellent value, get one, you'll be glad you did."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Water repellent leg warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good, could easily be perfect
Posted12 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm 5'9 and 13 and a half stone and the size large are about right but a touch long. I fold them over under my bib shorts but why they make them so long is a mystery to me - they only need to reach under the shorts but for some reason they are long enough to get to my knackers where they would rub inside the leg as it rubs against the seat as you pedal. This is my second pair and I've also got the arm warmers in large with are also a touch long. The quality is very good, they keep out the chill and rain.
I like them enough to have bought the second pair but if they were shorter and a bit cheaper, a bit like me, they'd be perfect and worthy of 5 stars."
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Femto Drive LED Light Pair 2013
Femto Drive LED Light Pair 2013
NEW Compact, bright safety light: The ideal durable commuter light. Durable CNC machined aluminium body with high grade clear and red lens optics. Easy, large button operation. Five light modes. Simple “no tools required” fitting.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not bad
Posted15 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Only used these once as it's not moved into autumn yet but the one time I've had these switched on they were good. Plenty bright enough to be seen, either flashing or steady but I do ride on lit roads so probably only suitable as a "be seen" set of lights. They are great in that they can be fixed to different parts of the bike quite easily and it can be fixed to either the seat stem, down tube or seat stays. The front one would fit easily onto any size of handlebar. All in all a very good buy."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vero Compact Road Handlebar
Vero Compact Road Handlebar
Plain guage alloy handlebar.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quite good purchase
Posted13 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Cheap as possible
"After the initial shock of how compact the drops are on these bars I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable they are. I've got 6 bikes all with slightly different bars and I'd say these are probably my favourite. However, I'm a tight-wad and even though they are twenty odd quid, they are the most expensive bars I've bought. If you can buy similar stuff for ten quid, why are they so expensive."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
far to bulky
Posted28 May 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Too bulky and a bit expensive for an own brand product that is also a bit boil in the bag. Far too big to fold away so your choice is to leave it behind and get wet or put it on....and get wet !"
Cons: Expensive, Bulky, Low Quality, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight packable shell, ideal for stuffing in your pocket in case of rain on those showery days. The Squadra Keeps the worst of the rain and wind off, while still being small enough to pack into your back pocket or saddle bag.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
boil in the bag
Posted28 May 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Brokenflipflop
fromManchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"too expensive and very hot. Not very good value at all."
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features, Low Quality, Poor Fit, Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Brokenflipflop's Questions
 
The Continental Competition tubular is the tyre of pro road racers and triathletes. It is the combination of the dimpled Black Chili profile and one layer of the cut resistant Vectran keeps all of these athletes coming back for more.
 

I intend glueing this Tubular to my carbon disc but do I need to install base tape to the tyre or can I simply glue the tyre without any base tape

6 months ago
by
Brokenflipflop
Manchester
 
Brokenflipflop's Answers
 
Water repellent leg warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 

What need I measure size and weight 1.80mts 73 kg

Medium
1 year ago
by
Brokenflipflop
Manchester
 
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 

This or the skull cap ?

i was wondering what would be better to keep my ears warm, this or the skull cap ? and is this got a inner fleece ?

thanks
I would say get the balaclava over the skull cap - it keeps your head, neck AND ears warm. It's thin enough not to be uncomfortable, tight enough not to be a sail. It's so much easier to wack this over your head than to put a skull cap on which potentially requires re-adjusting in relation to your helmet position.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Brokenflipflop
Manchester
 
A lightweight packable shell, ideal for stuffing in your pocket in case of rain on those showery days. The Squadra Keeps the worst of the rain and wind off, while still being small enough to pack into your back pocket or saddle bag.
 

Is the sizing chart reliable?

I am a 90cm chest and 80cm waist, is the small going to be too tight over a jersey?
yes
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Brokenflipflop
Manchester
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

is it supplied with a Quick release skewer

Hi, just wondered if this trainer comes with a quick release skewer, my Colnago on Ksyrium equippe wheels doesn't have a suitable axle skewer to mount....?
This trainer comes with a skewer that is quick release - simply unscrew your own skewer out and replace it with the skewer that comes with the trainer. It takes me about 40 seconds.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Brokenflipflop
Manchester