Echo879
Share Echo879's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Echo879's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    05 June 2011
  • Last Review
    20 October 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    12 April 2016
  • Last Question
    12 April 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    14 June 2012
  • Last Answer
    11 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Echo879's Reviews
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good light weight trail shoe
Posted20 October 2016
Echo879
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sturdy, good at shedding water and great traction in dirt and mud. However on wet surfaces such as wood it gets virtually no grip. I have done Spartan Sprint and Beast races and plenty of trail runs and I found it met 80% of my requirements.
The lock laces are AWFUL. I removed them and threaded some tough rope laces through. unfortunately this put pressure on the top of my foot as the rope was hard and rather unforgiving. But it kept the shoes in place. The lock laces keep slipping/loosening and I would have lost my shoes in the mud time and time again.
As a general trail running shoe they are great. Comfy, light weight. Hard wearing. But as a Spartan or OCR race shoe they need a little more work. (Grip and laces need fixing)"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: lack of grip in the wet, lock laces suck. replace them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfy and sexy looks
Posted21 August 2014
Echo879
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very comfy, excellent value for money. There is a reason why the Charge Spoon keeps getting top marks in Magazine Reviews. Because it is worth it.
It exceeds its price bracket fantastically :)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Blitz Waterproof Jacket 2012
Blitz Waterproof Jacket 2012
A waterproof and breathable cycling jacket with built-in ventilation, reflective print and a comfortable mesh lining. Ideal for all types of riding, the Blitz jacket keeps you dry on your commute, road bike or out on the trails.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great jacket
Posted29 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Echo879
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Looks great, fits a little more snug than other jackets by Altura of the same size, but then it does have more of a road warrior style than an off-road warrior look to it"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
The Water Soluble De-Greaser quickly and safely eliminates built-up oil, grease and grime on metal, plastic, rubber and seals. The biodegradable formula means that after use it can be quickly rinsed away with water to leave your greasy bike parts clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome-sauce
Posted14 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Echo879
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A few days ago I took a wrong turn and ended up 2 feet under water on my bike thanks to the flooding. I had to cycle through about 200 yards of deep water to get back out again or risk falling off and being completely soaked. My chain after about 2 more miles was protesting a lot. And when I got home it was stiff and kinked and generally pretty grotty. I used a chain cleaner tool but it didn't get everything.
I sprayed on the Muc-off degreaser and it helped clear the gunk out of my chain turning it back in to a clean, clear and free running chain again. It also made it nice and shiny :)"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Recommended and used by the elite cyclist, Professional strength GT85 is the everyday essential for riders of all levels and abilities.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Essential item
Posted16 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Echo879
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Absolutely essential for cleaning and giving a quick lubrication to your chain. But don't let it anywhere near your brake pads and brake disc."
Pros: Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Crud Catcher Front Mudguard
Crud Catcher Front Mudguard
Lightweight mudguard that fits on the downtube, Easy to fit to any bike with the supplied fittings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super item
Posted05 June 2011
Echo879
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The crud catcher is a great item. Its cheap but not flimsy, easy to fit and looks good. I've done some pretty intense runs through my local woods and it stops me getting covered in gunk and flicked up stones. And especially in my woods, flicked up dog muck.
I have the all black one but Im contemplating getting the white one to go with the colour scheme of my bike and so the crud catcher stands out more. Its definitely an item Im happy to have on my bike :)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Echo879's Questions
 
 Reebok Spartan Woven Short (SS16)
Reebok Spartan Woven Short (SS16)
Race through the mud in this lightweight Reebok Spartan Race Woven Short. With added comfort and support, let these shorts take care of your body, whilst you tackle and power through any obstacles that stand in your way.
 

Do they have a drawstring inside to secure them ?

Do these shorts have an internal drawcord or do they rely on elastic alone ?

Do they have pockets at all ?
7 months ago
by
Echo879
Reading
 
Echo879's Answers
 
 Blitz Waterproof Jacket 2012
Blitz Waterproof Jacket 2012
A waterproof and breathable cycling jacket with built-in ventilation, reflective print and a comfortable mesh lining. Ideal for all types of riding, the Blitz jacket keeps you dry on your commute, road bike or out on the trails.
 

How small does this pack down?

Will it fit in a jersey pocket?
Best answer
No, this is a large jacket. You could get it in to a small daypack or rucksack. At a push you might get it in to one of the water carrier backpacks that give you about 5 to 10 litres of space, but its never going to go in to a jersey pocket
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Echo879
Reading
 
 Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
Muc-Off Water Soluble Degreaser 500ml Aerosol
The Water Soluble De-Greaser quickly and safely eliminates built-up oil, grease and grime on metal, plastic, rubber and seals. The biodegradable formula means that after use it can be quickly rinsed away with water to leave your greasy bike parts clean.
 

use on paint work mucoff degreaser

Is this ok to use on frame paint work to degrease before applying sticker or could you use disc brake cleaner.. Or what would you recommend.
I've used it on mine and it works great to remove grease and gunk. Just wash off afterwards
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Echo879
Reading