gecko5
Share gecko5's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
gecko5's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    04 June 2011
  • Last Review
    22 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 December 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    22 December 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    14 June 2014
  • Last Question
    14 June 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    24 August 2013
  • Last Answer
    22 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
gecko5's Reviews
 
 dhb Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
With temperature regulating features and a super soft fleece fabric, the Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey is ideal for road cycling sessions through the colder seasonal months. A wardrobe essential for all levels of performance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value
Posted22 July 2014
gecko5
fromBrisbane, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Pretty warm, but certainly not windproof. I really like the form (slim) fit - not bulky or baggy - f"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Skull Cap
dhb Windslam Skull Cap
Lightweight, breathable and windproof skull cap which can be worn under your helmet in cold winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Ok wind chill shell, but...
Posted22 July 2014
gecko5
fromBrisbane, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Does what you expect it to do okay - keep the cool air from freezing your noggin. Fairly stretchy supple material and nice fit fairly low on forehead. I have a bald head on the smallish side. Also the flatlock seams prevent the lobotomy look which my previous one gave.
My issue is with the part covering the ears. It has small perforations which theoretically might improve hearing clarity. However, what it seems to do is create some strange turbulence or something and the faster you go over about 20km/h it sounds like a couple of jet engines roaring your ears. I'd prefer a simple deadening of sound. If its a choice of a warm scalp or a quiet ride I'd probably choose the former. But if I could choose again I'd go something different."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: noisy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Pivot Padded Liner Short
dhb Pivot Padded Liner Short
Form fit, breathable, multi-panelled dhb Pivot liner shorts fit discretely under unlined baggy shorts providing greater comfort so that you can spend longer in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Chamois Pad too far back
Posted27 November 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
gecko5
fromBrisbane, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I wear light weight baggies with standard lycra shorts underneath for my daily commute (12km each way). Like the concept of uber-breathable unders.
These are ok in terms of material - light and airy with a solid waistband. They are a lighter and looser fabric and tend to bunch a little - I prefer a tighter more taut fit (ordered small for 80cm waist, 179cm tall).
The major problem I have with these, however is the pad is placed too far back and only just cover the weight bearing contact points. The nose of the pad starts about at my a-hole. I suspect the pad will be placed great if you ride a recumbent or a very, very upright position. If there wasn't a return fee of $20 for Aussie returns I would return them and try a different brand"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Leg Warmers SS13
Castelli Thermoflex Leg Warmers SS13
Anatomic cut leg warmers for a close fit that does not constrict you when riding. Silicone elastic grippers keep them in place too.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality, functional warmers
Posted24 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
gecko5
fromBrisbane, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Good quality leg warmers that have excellent grip on the uppers. Zips at rear of ankle end make it easy to get on and off. The castelli logo is pretty cool, but for the fashion conscious it may clash with different coloured kit. Have used comfortably down to 5-6 degrees celsius.
One issue I had was sizing. I am 179cm and fairly slim 72kg. I ordered a medium but had to return for a small. Not due to girth but due to length. They were very long! The small fits great and still reaches from ankle right up to essentially my crotch. The medium would have to have been folded/rolled up an one end or the other or else they would be all crumply."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Wisp Jacket 2012
dhb Wisp Jacket 2012
Ultra light 100% Nylon micro ripstop wind protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent minimalist wind protection
Posted01 June 2012
gecko5
fromBrisbane, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great minimalist jacket - ultra-light, packs down very small (the stuff sack it comes with could be half the size it is), but does a great job of shielding out the wind.
Some have taken issue with the sizing. I went for my usual size (M) and I can understand that the cut may not suit some people. In my opinion this is not designed as a casual and relaxed commuter jacket. It is more likely to suit those on longer training rides who need the security of a functional and compact wind protection that might spend a fair bit of time in your jersey pocket.. The cut is short in the body, but suited to wearers of bib or high-rise knicks and a more aggressive bike position. Arms are relatively long to ensure coverage right down to gloves ensuring no gaps.
I've not ridden it when raining, but if you are after a jacket for both wind and rain protection, this will probably not be the best choice.
I am thoroughly pleased with what this jacket does. I would like it if the stuff sack were somehow incoroprated (sewn) into the jacket itself rather than being a separate item."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Ascent Baggy MTB Shorts
Altura Ascent Baggy MTB Shorts
The Altura Ascent is a lightweight baggy short, perfect for all types of riding. A removable stretch inner short, with a memory foam insert, rear waist adjusters and zipped cargo pockets, the Ascent is packed with features to make them a versatile short
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just what I was looking - sizing guide a bit out
Posted11 May 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
gecko5
fromBrisbane, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is exactly what I was after in a short - a durable, comfortable and practical baggy (not too baggy) shell short.
I agree with other reviewers - what you are really getting is two items - a shell and and inner. The two can be connected but there is no real need.
My only issue was the sizing. Generally I am about an 82-85cm waist (varies depending on diet and activity!). Medium is generally my size, but sometimes small, depending on the garment in question and its sizing. The sizing guide for these shorts listed small 68-74cm waist, medium as 75-82cm waist and large 83-89cm waist. My measurements indicated large was probably the right size for me, but it is very rare that a large size is right for me. I took a chance and selected medium.
As I mentioned you essentially get two distinct parts to this. The medium inner was fairly spot on for me; if anything a little on the tight side, but as with most knicks I expect it will stretch a little with use and be perfect. The shell short, however, was on the big side. I had to adjust the velcro 'belt' to its limit to ensure a secure fit. The short then is really puffy around the butt and disproportionately baggy (it looks like I am wearing a size of shorts too big for me). Not a problem riding around, but if you want to look your sharpest while drinking a beer post ride then you may have the same problem I have."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vizion Running Cap AW11
Vizion Running Cap AW11
Flexlite™fabric, Power-mesh contrast panels for breathability and ventilation, Velcro adjustable strap, Inner mesh band, 2 colour design
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent hat
Posted04 June 2011
gecko5
fromBrisbane, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Purchased this hat for running to replace a free promotional hat (mainly cotton) that is falling apart. This hat is excellent. Fits very well and after a while you forget you have it on. There are no hot spots or pinches where the headband makes contact (which is important to me as I have a shaved and balding noggin.
I tend to sweat fairly profusely in the Queensland weather, but this is quite effective in stopping sweat running down my head (from the sweatband) and otherwise dissipating it through the material.
Just received a 2XU branded hat as a freebie in a 10k race and while it is likely to not be a top of the line 2XU product it has nothing on this Ronhill - particularly in terms of fit and comfort. Can't comment yet on its durability, but gives the impression of a quality made product."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
gecko5's Questions
 
 TA 130 PCD Alize Inner Chainrings (38-46T)
TA 130 PCD Alize Inner Chainrings (38-46T)
TA only make their chainrings from the best 7075 T6 heat treated aluminium sheet.
 

Is the TA 130 PCD Alize Inner (and Outer) rings 9 speed compatible?

In the description it says 9/10 speed compatible. In answer to an earlier questions it is suggested it would be okay with 8 speed, but in answer to another question it is said it is not 9 speed compatible. I have shimano 9 speed set up and would like to fit a 52-38 double of the TA 130BCD Alize. Can you please provide some certainty? Thank you.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
gecko5
Brisbane, Queensland
 
gecko5's Answers
 
 dhb Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
With temperature regulating features and a super soft fleece fabric, the Momentum Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey is ideal for road cycling sessions through the colder seasonal months. A wardrobe essential for all levels of performance.
 

Is this the right weight material for me?

I have both a DHB long sleeved diffuser jersey and a windslam jacket. I am looking for something that would fit between these two jerseys in terms of warmth and weight of material. Could you tell me please, does the momentum fit this bill?
Yes. I find it comfortable at the 10-20 degree temp. For 5-10 degrees I wear a base layer and it is ok. At 5 degrees or below you might need a windproof on top
4 months ago
by
gecko5
Brisbane, Queensland
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Leg Warmers SS13
Castelli Thermoflex Leg Warmers SS13
Anatomic cut leg warmers for a close fit that does not constrict you when riding. Silicone elastic grippers keep them in place too.
 

Size M or L

According to the sizing chart you choose M for shortsize S to M and 60 to 70 kg, L for 70 to 80 kg. I weigh 70 kg, M for shortsize and upper legcircumference 52 cm. I measure 1.87 m... Should I take M or L?
I am 179cm and 72kg. I ordered M but returned for a S because they are very long. The S still stretches from ankle right up to my crotch and are certainly not too tight. My recommendation would be M.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
gecko5
Brisbane, Queensland