Wonderingstar
Share Wonderingstar's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Wonderingstar's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    27
  • First Review
    20 June 2011
  • Last Review
    20 January 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    20 June 2011
  • Last Answer
    20 June 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Wonderingstar's Reviews
 
Never has a base layer been so comfortable and functional. These 3/4-length HH® Dry Revolution base layer long johns for men feature the unique LIFA® fibre technology and a seamless construction.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very good product, not idealy suited to my purpose
Posted20 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Wonderingstar
fromSeoul, South Korea
Country : Korea
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My opinion of these is influenced by the slightly off piste purpose for which I bought them.
I was aware that they were not a cycle specific garment before purchasing them, but was looking for a wicking base layer that I could wear under my thermal bike tights to help me battle the extreme cold of Korean winters. On the Wiggle site they were/are included within the "Cycle" listings so I decided to chance it.
I orderd the small as the fit guide sucggested best suited my 31" waist as opposed to the X large that would be best suited to my 6' 2" height. Although they dont come as far down the leg as they perhaps should, the (seamless) compression panels on the thighs seem to be roughly in the right place and are comfortable.
They wick well and provide a good level of extra insulation/warmth, especially for how thin and light they are.
The only area in which I'm not completely happy with these pants is there suitabilty for cycling. They have two flatlock seems that pass under the crotch that are not ideally placed for being in/on a saddle for prolonged periods. My first couple of rides with them were only a few hours long and with the chamois in the tights the seems were not a problem. But during a ride of 150km they did start to creat hot spots in a rather sensitive area.
So in all I am very happy with the performance and quality of the garment and would recommend them as a wicking warmth providing base layer but would caution any body against using them for mid and long distance cycling - admittedly not the use they were designed for.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The 2014 Racing 3 2-way fit wheelset comes with a new mega-drive hub flange on the rear improving stiffness and power transfer, also seen on the Racing 1 and Zero. They also have a great graphics makeover including a new white painted hub.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Assured, light and durable.
Posted12 July 2013
Wonderingstar
fromSeoul, South Korea
Country : Korea
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"So far I have ridden them with a number of different clinchers including Conti 4000s', Dedatre RS open corsa's, Vittoria evo open corsa kx's, all of which were complemented by the wheels qualities perfectly. I was expecting to be impressed on climbs and in picking up speed on the flats (both of which I was) but what surprised me was their assured performance on descents. The wheels are very smooth rollers and also manage to quieten a lot of potential jittery-ness that can come on rougher surfaces. Reassuringly I am yet to have to replace or tune any of the spokes so can not comment on the ease or otherwise regarding that and I have not yet run these wheels tubeless so can not offer any review on that aspect. The braking surface is large/deep and very good quality so works effectively with my Campag callipers in all the conditions they have encountered (-15C to 30C plus, wet and dry)."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 Selle San Marco Concor Saddle with Carbon Steel Rails
Selle San Marco Concor Saddle with Carbon Steel Rails
The Saddle that revolutionised racing perches in the Eighties.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Classic saddle that still performs.
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wonderingstar
fromSeoul, South Korea
Country : Korea
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought the Concor in white leather to finish off the upgrading/updating (Campagnolo Athena, Fulcrum R'3s) of my early eighties Stan Pike road bike. I think it complements both the Steel frame and modern running gear perfectly but the choice was more than purely aesthetic. I had used a San Marco Rolls many years ago and really liked it so hoped that the Concor would give equal comfort. After a couple of middle distance rides and a few position refinements it is exactly as I had hoped. I like the flared tail that seems to provide extra leverage on seated climbs but also the nose gives enough support to provide reasonable comfort when on the rivet. I can't see any signs or reason why if cared for properly this wont last a considerable amount of miles/years. Obviously this isn't the lightest saddle in the world but if comfort along with a healthy dosage of retro style are more of a priority than shaving every possible gram then I would recommend giving this saddle a lot consideration."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Great in use, below par in durability.
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Wonderingstar
fromSeoul, South Korea
Country : Korea
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"When I received, opened and tried on the jersey (in white with red detail) I was really happy with my purchase. It was stylish in an understated, modern take on the classic Italian look and felt very high in quality. The athletic fit is very comfortable and quite flattering for a skinny guy like me (similar in build (but by no means in ability) to Froome). I was happy with choosing the medium size, being 6'2" with a 37" chest, sizing up one notch from my usual small as I normally would with buying an Italian jersey. In use, the jersey performs well, easy to use zips and pockets, stays pretty cool on ascents and flats and protects your chest reasonably well on descents. I forget I'm wearing it, which is really what you want in any piece of cycling apparel or equipment. The main and arguably only down side is that the fabric that makes up the majority of the jersey just isn't very durable. After about five uses it already shows signs of wear, slight laddering/pulling running 2" vertically up from one pocket seam and piling in a couple of places that you might not reasonably expect. I bought another jersey by Santini in the same price bracket at almost the same time which has seen very similar use and the same post ride care (hand washed in cold water with delicate laundry liquid) and is showing no signs of wear at all. I will be surprised if the Castelli jersey is still in usable condition much beyond this summer and one seasons use from a jersey of this price isn't really acceptable, how ever well it performs."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
 
 Helium Magneto Road Helmet - 2012
Helium Magneto Road Helmet - 2012
The Helium is Lazers top helmet and the long standing choice of the Katusha Pro team. The ultra light construction, superb Rollsys fitting and magnetic buckle make it one of the most comfortable helmets available with boutique looks that set it apart.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality helmet that comes in a very big size.
Posted12 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wonderingstar
fromSeoul, South Korea
Country : Korea
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I wanted a high end helmet that would allow me to wear my lined wool cycling cap underneath and not be uncomfortable on my larger than normal head. The xl-xxl size in the helium fits the bill (and my head). I really like the magnet fastening on the strap and the barrel tightening system. At full price it might have been a little out of my price range( unless I was unable to find anything else after a lot more searching( hence my value rating)) but as ever Wiggles great offers came in to play. I would like to think that I am pretty astute in my purchases and not swayed by the sponsoring of top athletes by brands, but having seen Matteo Rabottinis epic win in stage 15 of the 2012 Giro wearing this helmet didn't hinder the decision making process."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Time's road pedal range are a good choice for riders who require rotational and angular float and lateral movement. Ideal for road, time trial or triathlon use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value for money road pedal.
Posted12 January 2013
Wonderingstar
fromSeoul, South Korea
Country : Korea
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"For the price of these pedals, they offer a lot of useful float adjustment and a more than efficient level of performance. After a year and a half of use they still return to the vertical position without fail and never give any problems with engaging or disengaging."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Clear Race Jacket AW12
Clear Race Jacket AW12
Super-lightweight and with a water resistant membrane you can't go wrong with the dhb Clear Race Jacket. Water resistant with vented arm pits.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great lightweight showerproof
Posted30 June 2011
Wonderingstar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this garment in preparation for a summertime 24 hour Ride from London to Paris and was extremely happy with its performance.
During the sunny daytime part of the ride it was unnoticeable, packed away in my jersey pocket (very lightweight and small).
In the showers that arrived with dusk and lasted through the early part of the night the jacket kept me dry without causing me to over heat and drip with sweat. I kept it on through the early morning as protection against the colder temperatures and breeze then as the sun returned it very simply repacked back into my jersey pocket.
The jacket is even transparent enough for the event number that I had to wear to be clearly visible through the material negating the need to pin it to the fabric and compromise performance.
A great late Spring, summer and early Autumn race garment; lightweight, compact, see through, easily shower proof (I haven't yet tried it in a heavy down pour) and very useful as a wind breaker.
Size wise, as with most cycle garments I would pay more attention to the chest and waist measurements instead of the height guidance.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Confident and fast.
Posted20 June 2011
Wonderingstar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A very competent tyre which although not cheap is still good value for money. I used Continental Grand Prix 4000s tyres before and was very happy but tried these and know prefer the slightly more reassuring ride quality and believe they have a lower rolling resistance.
My first ride using them was on a wet, 12 hour, country lane, over night event and they where more than capable of dealing with the terrain and conditions (no punctures and no loss of control or traction).
They are light, fast and as far as I can tell pretty resilient. No negative points.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted20 June 2011
Wonderingstar
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A very comfortable pair of shorts that like all good cycling clothing, does not draw your attention to itself. That is to say, you put them on and forget about them because they are doing every thing they should and nothing that they shouldn't.
If when choosing a size to purchase you discover that you don't quite fit in with the exact sizing chart parameters stated, I would suggest staying true to your waist and chest measurements rather than the height figures.
I am 6'2" tall but skinny (30" waist and 37" chest) and bought a size small which fits perfectly without the shoulder straps being too tight.
I have only done roughly 400 miles in them so far but show no signs of wear and tear and plan to use them in an upcoming 24 hour cycling event,
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Wonderingstar's Questions
 
Wonderingstar has not submitted any questions.
 
Wonderingstar's Answers
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

DHB Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short - L or XL?

According to size chart:
Height 6' 1.5" = XL
Chest 43" = L
Waist 36" = L
+ Skinny legs!

Think the straps will be stretchy and I should go for the L???
I bought the size small that correspond to my waist and chest measurements despite my height suggesting that I need a size XL. I am very happy with the shorts that fit me perfectly. The straps are very giving and don't induce any discomfort of any kind.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Wonderingstar
London
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Your size guidelines aren't really helping me much. I am looking for some DHB Aeron pro bib shorts but am unsure on sizing.

5 ft 11 tall
32 waist
25 inch thighs.

What size do you recommend?
Best answer
I have the shorts and I would advise you chose the size that corresponds best to your waist and chest measurements as there is a lot of give in the shoulder straps.
In the waist/chest I am a size small but in height a size XL. My size small Aeron Pro bib shorts fit me perfectly.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Wonderingstar
London
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

what size would i require?

I'm 6 foot 2 and a 32inch waist. I'd like some of the Aeron pro bib shorts but none of the sizes seem suitable for me. What size for me would you recomend?
Hello.
I am 6'2" as well with a 30" waist (37" chest) and bought the Aeron Pro bib shorts in a small. They fit me perfectly in every direction. I was worried that the shoulder straps would be too tight but that is not the case at all even when not riding my bike.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Wonderingstar
London