THEMike
Share THEMike's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
THEMike's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    13 June 2011
  • Last Review
    22 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 June 2013
  • Last Question
    19 June 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    13 June 2011
  • Last Answer
    13 June 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
THEMike's Reviews
 
 BBB BHT-96 Screw-On Road Handlebar End Plugs
BBB BHT-96 Screw-On Road Handlebar End Plugs
These screw-on end caps provide a secure hold to all tapes when tightened up.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I've not lost these!
Posted22 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"You can chart my progress round the hills of the peak district by the trail of bar end plugs I've left littered on the climbs.
Which makes me sound like a terrible litter lout. I've only found they've fallen out when I've got home, and I've never come across them again when out on another ride. So I'm really sorry about that.
I've lost a wide variety of bar end plug. Those that came with the tapes and more secure alternatives purchased.
I eventually bought these.
And a few hundred miles later, up some tough epic climbs, they are still firmly anchored in my bar ends and I do not fear losing them!
I highly recommend."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Peloton Cycling Cap
Peloton Cycling Cap
A light, comfortable cap designed for long, warm rides. The cap is thin enough to be worn under a helmet without bunching and is great for either providing shade from the sun or insulation when its cool or windy.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worked for me
Posted29 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Due to the increasingly sparse nature of my scalp, and the recent excess of sunshine I have been forced to purchase a cycling cap to wear under my helmet to prevent my scalp from burning on hot summer rides.
This hat did the trick.
I have an oddly large head, and often have trouble with fitting a hat, this was snug and fine.
It's an excellently light weight almost see through fabric that wicks nicely. I was not aware of it under my helmet at any point in the 5 hour ride I have used it on so far.
Well. Not since I went all urban and youth and wore it backwards.
It was windy and when I dropped my head at peak effort the wind snapped the visor down, so I couldn't see ahead well enough (not down down, but not 'flipped back').
So I shifted it to backwards and promptly forgot I was wearing it.
That is, until I realised the sweat band was working well. Even on the toughest climbs no sweat was running down into my eyes, even when I pushed hard.
Then when it hammered it down with rain (stupid country...) I didn't get rain water running down my face from my head either.
It was bliss.
I washed it out when I got home, and due to it's lightweight construction it dried extremely fast.
Excellent. Highly recommended (if worn backwards or in not stupidly windy conditions)."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Cycling Bib Short 2013
dhb Aeron Cycling Bib Short 2013
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric, refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling bib short without compromise.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
The Budget Option
Posted19 June 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Cheap as possible
"I bought a pair of these as a back up for my Aeron Pro.
The fit seems the same, sizing guide is bang on, they fit well.
Compared to the higher end Aeron's the material does feel cheaper and the features are clearly not as good. But, a fairer comparison against high street budget shorts (decathlon or sports direct/muddyfox) they are significantly better quality material and construction.
I've not done an epic ride in them yet (30 miles max) but the pad was comfortable over that distance. Not sure it would hold up as well as the Pro's for the 100 miler.
But for an every day short at this price, these are a bargain."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
dhb Aeron Pro Cycling Bib Short
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
High quality, well fitting, comfortable
Posted19 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I cycle an average of 100 miles a week. Mostly this is in long 80+ mile rides. Peaking at 150 miles.
The material of these shorts feels high quality and comfortable, relying on the sizing guide the fit was superb.
The compression is just right.
The pad is comfortable for me even on very long rides.
Most of the time, you don't notice you are wearing them, which is ideal.
HOWEVER, I find now the weather is warmer and I am sweating more that the pad does not wick the moisture away well enough. Presumably due to the gel lining.
Which means when I get out of the saddle and then sit back down, things are unpleasantly like wearing a nappy that is over due for a change.
This is the one thing that lets them down.
Other than that they are the best cycling kit I have worn, I don't know if any other shorts would address that problem until I try something else. But something else that meets these shorts in other areas is significantly more expensive.
So I'll live with this problem for now."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: pad wicking is insufficient
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 IsoGel Mixed Flavour - 25 x 60g Buy 1 Get 1 FREE!
IsoGel Mixed Flavour - 25 x 60g Buy 1 Get 1 FREE!
Buy One Mixed Flavour IsoGel and Receive Another FREE! IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bulky, but tasty
Posted05 June 2013
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been experimenting with gels. These are by far the nicest flavour and texture of any I've tried. Slightly thicker than a drink, good natural flavour.
They come in a mixed flavour box. Now that is just a stroke of genius, some variation in your fueling without having to buy multiple bulk boxes. Perfect.
On the downside, at 60ml they are bulkier than something like the Nectar Fuel Cell, they are also not the dual carb source 2:1 of the latest gels. That just means that the maximum your body can absorb is three an hour, for 60g of carb, instead of getting 90g in with the dual source. But unless you are the most serious and competitive athlete in the world, that's not a realistic problem.
But, they are currently 50 for £20, which is a MASSIVE saving over the smaller, more portable, dual carb Nectar Fuel Cell, so for regular training, these really are a no-brainer. Cheap, tasty and portable and efficient enough for anything other than a highly serious race day."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, tasty, mixed flavour box, variety, easy to open and drink
Cons: Bulky, not dual-carb source
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent and flexible
Posted29 April 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Feels like a quality product, the lenses change easily but fit securely. The orange lens makes the world feel warm and lovely and fun even when it's a bit grim and grey.
But, the tinted lens makes the lovely warm sunny day look that bit colder and more depressing.
However, they fit well, stay in place, don't get in the way and don't fog up. An excellent bargain.
Oh and comfy too, even on 8 hour rides."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit, happy tint on the orange lens
Cons: sad tint on the tinted lens
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nectar Fuel Systems Cell Energy Gels - 24 x 40ml
Nectar Fuel Systems Cell Energy Gels - 24 x 40ml
Race fast and race light. Nectar Fuel cells combine a compact, lightweight package with an easy-to-drink liquigel formula. Each Cell fits easily in a race belt or pocket and provides 20g of fast releasing carbohydrate and a rich B-Vitamin complex.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easy open and taste good.
Posted29 April 2013
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These reviewed as one of the most natural tasting gels in cycling plus.
They were right. They taste of lemon and lime. The texture is good too.
I used to carry SIS gels, which are 60ml for only 8cal more and without the excellent balance in carb mix and vitamin B.
These have a good kick to them and are smaller.
Only downside is the flare on the top after you rip the head off, I find that 'catches' the sides of my mouth as I guzzle it down in a frenzy of energy deprived need..."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
An excellent value 6 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Slightly dodgy valves, but bargain
Posted29 April 2013
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"When both the Planet-X inners I had on my Planet X bike died on the same day due to the valves just failing completely on the 2nd ride I did with them, I ordered a box of these.
They're a bargain price, and are absolutely fine, with the slight exception that the screw out valve tip comes off if you don't stop unscrewing it. No stopper on it like on my specialized inners.
But, they're light, and they've gone strong since being fitted, over 250 miles later. Unlike the planet-x ones which lasted 50 miles."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
Cons: no stop on presta valve unscrew
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Slime Lite Self Healing MTB Inner Tube
Slime Lite Self Healing MTB Inner Tube
The Slime Lite Tube combines a lightweight butyl tube with a revolutionary breakthrough in sealant technology that prevents punctures up to 1/8" (3mm) without significant added weight.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not holding pressure?
Posted13 June 2011
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've fitted these as friends I ride with use them and they've sealed every puncture fine.
However, I'm finding they won't hold pressure on my bike, dop of 5PSI in 24 hours. Don't seem to be sealing and stopping this if it is a slow leak. Can't find anything 'wrong' with them.
Going to give them a few more days before stripping off for a full check"
Cons: Low Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Faster for less grip
Posted13 June 2011
THEMike
fromSheffield
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"For the riding I do, mostly road and trail training for C2C ride, this tyre is excellent. The solid centre strip provides better road performance knocking 5 minutes off my main training loop (22 miles).
However, this is at the cost of a little offroad grip, on some of the more gravel strewn bends on my route I feel a little less secure."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
THEMike's Questions
 
 Swissstop Flash Pro Green (High Performance) Blocks
Swissstop Flash Pro Green (High Performance) Blocks
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike.
 

Are these compatible with Tektro R320 Calliper Brakes?

1 year, 5 months ago
by
THEMike
Sheffield
 
THEMike's Answers
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

What is the psi inflation range of this tyre?

30-65 psi
3 years, 5 months ago
by
THEMike
Sheffield
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Hi, is this price for just one tyre?

Yes this is per tyre.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
THEMike
Sheffield
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Are thes tyres directional ?

Yes, they have a directional tread to move water out of the grip area.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
THEMike
Sheffield
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Is the Schwalbe Land Cruiser Tyre at £9.94 suitable for my alexrims 559x18 rims on my Specialised Hard Rock MTB - current tyres are 26x2.2 "

Is the Schwalbe Land Cruiser Tyre at £9.94 suitable for my alexrims 559x18 rims on my Specialised Hard Rock MTB - current tyres are 26x2.2 "

THe Scwalbe are 26 x 1.9/2.0 "
I ride a 2010 Specialized Hardrock Disc Sport and they fitted on my bike perfectly. Was recommended by three other hardrock riders who are using the same tyres.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
THEMike
Sheffield