Monterey
Top 250 Contributor
Share Monterey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Monterey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    12 January 2012
  • Last Review
    15 February 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    11 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    22 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Monterey's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Thomson Elite seatpost is the standard by which all other seatposts are judged.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Seatpost, good value!
Posted15 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought this for my Giant, replacing the original carbon one, which has a significant setback, too far for me to fit my saddle properly. This post has fit the bill perfectly, it's pretty light and once you dial the two bolt adjustment in for set back and level, you can forget it.. I found the Giant one slid all over the place. Also, now problems with the sinking post, it's a true 27.2.
I certainly can't find any faults with it other than the usual niggles setting up the saddle to be level, but anyone who has had a two bolt post will know that.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Didn't really work for me
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The pump seemed to be well built and the concept good, in practise, it failed miserably, i decided to try it out after just sticking it in my jersey pocket and going training.. I came to the conclusion it was mainly the release valve and presta fitting that were no good, I couldn't get more than a bar in the tyre before it just wouldn't take anymore, the air just leaked out.. I tried several different ways and angles to try and get the fitting to seal properly, it never did.. which is a shame as it seemed to come well recommended.."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit, never worked well for me
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Highest quality cork tape for long life durability with maximum comfort. Used by top professionals, Bike Ribbon remains the original and still the best Italian-made handlebar tape of its kind.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
not the other stuff, but not bad
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Tried this in lieu of my usual Cinelli cork tape.. seems to do the job well enough, I do change my bar tape every two weeks, it's a personal thing.. This is a great economically viable alternative to the superior Cinelli product. Plenty of length for 46 cm bars ( i like 'em wide!) so shouldn't have any worries with more standard width bars."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, good alternative to more expensive brands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It works!
Posted01 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Finally got a wireless computer that really works well! I have had several other brand name wireless units , all have ended up in the bon, as they work for a bit then something goes wrung with them..
This Strada has been champion, it's gone through th train, crummy roads and such, and hasn't skipped a beat.. goes me all I want to know and that's that. Nice big readout, Easy to set up and program, too!
I heartily recommend this computer!
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Rather than overcomplicating things, Castelli stuck with the basics of great fabric and functional construction for the Thermoflex Knee Warmers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for Queensland winter
Posted01 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I really like these knee warmers , the fit is excellent, they are warm and well,they are Italian....
I wouldn't call these winter wear outside of northern Oz, unless you're particularly bullet proof to the cold, I'm not.. but for these mid teens days these are perfect. When tights are too much, I slip these on and get training.. The leg grippers are really good too,they stay put once they're on.
Save your knees and get a pair of these for those coolish days, they are perfect ..
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Full finger gloves for insulation on cooler spring days and early morning starts. Gore Power gloves feature a ventilated mesh back, gel padded palm for vibration absorption and silicone print on the fingers for grip on the brake levers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for a Queensland winter
Posted21 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I really like these gloves! Most of my winter gear is for a British Columbia winter, read cold and wet... so with the change in climes to a much milder winter, I found virtually all my winter gear far too heavy and hot... esp my gloves.. So, with these ones, I find the combination of lightness and the Goretex a perfect match.
The first ride told me i was on a winner, the hands felt toasty but not sweaty and the gloves were dry when I pulled them off, any moisture had been wicked away.
Plenty of grip with the rubber dooeys on the palms too!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice and smooth chain
Posted22 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Finally the old Record chain started skipping, stepped up to the Chorus one, basically I didn't want to splash the loot out of rRecord and Chorus has always been nearly as good...
Well, it is and all I had to do was change the cassette and fit the new chai with correct tension.. the rear changer didn't need any adjustment, and off I go...
my slight whinge is the tool, yes, hard to justify paying lashings of money for something you won't use much... so I had to take the bike down the local high end cycle shop and watch them do something I could have done in two minutes with a regular chain tool... and of course, they charged like a wounded bull.... the owner smirked as he took my money... wanted to give him a serve, but let it go.. nice thing I won't see him again for another 8-12 months until I have to fit another Campy chain... Hooray!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: stupid chain tool required..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 O2 Road Helmet - Katusha Team Edition
O2 Road Helmet - Katusha Team Edition
A great value road helmet with Team Katusha Graphics and advanced technologies from higher up the Lazer range.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
light and fits well
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Bought this as a second helmet but find myself wearing it quite a lot.. I have a Spiuk Daggon, which isn't bad but like the fit of this one better.
Weight is fine, I don't think it's heavy anyway, no more than the Spiuk
Sits higher on the head too, which I like, doesn't fall into your eyes in a sprint.
Overall, a good buy !
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Five Mega Road Shoes
Five Mega Road Shoes
Sidi Mega shoes are specifically shaped and proportioned for riders with high arches, wide or high-volume feet. Sidi Five road shoes offer a strong set of features including a carbon composite sole and a micrometric caliper buckle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautiful shoe, but they are Mega
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I mis ordered these, generally ride a regular 44, but they were always touch and go as far as width went, so I figured what the hey and tried these for a ride.. they are for bigger feet!
The toe box is wider and the me tarsal width is wider too, so my feet had heaps of room in them despite the straps being adjusted all the way up, the heel cup seemed a city larger too..
I sold them on to another chap and he loves them and I reordered the regular 44's which are perfect..
I really suggest that you try them on at a cycle shop before you commit to buy here, they are the best made show but the fit isn't of everyone!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: try before you buy!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Protective Chamois Cream to help prevent discomfort caused by long or regular hours in the saddle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good product!
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This cream works quite well, I'm a stickler for quality and this fits the bill, cheaper than Assos, it feel every much like it. I always use a second product to ease chafing too, but that doesn't help much if the chamois cream is rubbish.. No worries with 5 hour rides in the 30+ heat, it stays put.."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Monterey's Questions
 
Monterey has not submitted any questions.
 
Monterey's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
Designed for the road, the Genius 5 Pro features the Millennium 3 Sole for 3-point cleat systems and SiDi's red SL buckle closure system.
 

Colour way & size

Which colour way description on the Sidi genius5 refers to the blue/White/silver?

Also if you're a UK size 9.5/10 what's the best size in a Sidi?

Cheers
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The shoe in the bottom of the picture is the blue, white silver.. I have a pair, they look very sharp without being gaudy..
I'm a UK 9.5 and I find a 44 fits a treat... these are beautiful shoes, I really find them comfy, stiff and great fitting...
2 years ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 

Does the chain come with a ultra link or pin for fitting?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
it comes with a pin, and you'll need that pricey Campy tool to do a good job, I tried with my conventional Shimano tool and stuffed it up....YBN makes 11 speed Campy chains with a ultra link, they work okay...
2 years ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Are the bearings accessible for Servicing ?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I personally haven't done it yet but the wheels can be serviced..
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

hi, could you tell me what size the tyres would be for these wheels

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I use 700 x 23 and 700 x 25 myself, but I see now reason why you couldn't run 19-20's on them, just make sure they have a good bead..
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Which year are these Fulcrum Racing 7 clearance wheelsets? 2012, 2011, or 2010?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'd say 2011, but they are virtually all the same, and excellent quality.. I bought two pairs and like them very much.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Compatible with 11speed Record?

My entire groupset, incl chain, is 11sp Record - will this cassette be completely compatible..?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No problem here, I bought one for my 11 speed Record after I flogged the original titanium cassette one to bits...
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

will this item fit on 10 speed

is this compatable with 10 speed chorus..or do you stock 10 speed chorus i havent seen any
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The cassette will fit on the free hub, but the spacing is different to the ten speed.. try a BBB ten speed cassette, I ordered one from Wiggle and it works well.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Whats needed to get these up and running on a bike, tyres, tubes, rim tape, freewheel hub? cassette??? thanks

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Well, the wheels come with rim tape and skewers, so you can figure out what else you'll need...
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

if bought with the campognolo freehub will it fit a 9 speed shimano casette? and is the camp better than a shimano freehub?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No, Campag has a different teeth pattern on the free hub than Shimano.
And it is a matter of choice about which is better, Campag or Shimano.. I have had both, for extended periods and liked them, but ultimately ended up with Camapg..
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Do these fit any road bike with 700c wheels? I have a Trek that has a worn out Bontrager 700c x 25 . Will I be able put my existing cassette on these

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yup, they will fir your road bike, just have to choose either Shimano or Campag free hubs ..
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland