Monterey
Top 500 Contributor
Share Monterey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Monterey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    12 January 2012
  • Last Review
    5 July 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    15 June 2018
  • Last Question
    15 June 2018
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    11 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    22 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Monterey's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Vittoria Zaffiro Slick Rigid Clincher Road Tyre
Vittoria Zaffiro Slick Rigid Clincher Road Tyre
The rigid version of the Zaffiro Pro Slick that has the same slick racing tread as Rubino Pro for faster riding but has the addition featured on Zaffiro Pro such as fewer flats, secure grip and long tread life.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long lasting durable tyre
Posted5 July 2016
fromChiang Mai, Thailand
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" I've been using these tyres since I moved to Chiang Mai, Thailand, over two years ago, I bought three pair of the 25mm width. The part of the world is not known for glass smooth roads, and free of debris, matter of fact around 50% of where we ride is made up of patchworks of bitumen, potholes, dirt and concrete slabs, these being horrible to ride on, so rough.
Anyway, I have had very few issues with these tyres, the puncture or slow leaks I got were from things like little bits of the wire beading from car or truck tyres or in one case a bit of sharp stone that worked it's way into the rubber and nicked the inner tube, but no pinch flats.
They have also been tormented by extremes in heat, heavy rains and the fore mentioned roads. They have been grippy on damp descents, sure footed on gravel and extremely long wearing.. These are good tyres, pure and simple.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
With its forged clamps, integrally machined head, and an elliptically extruded 7000 series aluminum body, Thomson's Elite Inline seatpost offers the ultimate in strength, light weight and ease of adjustment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Seatpost, good value!
Posted15 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Bought this for my Giant, replacing the original carbon one, which has a significant setback, too far for me to fit my saddle properly. This post has fit the bill perfectly, it's pretty light and once you dial the two bolt adjustment in for set back and level, you can forget it.. I found the Giant one slid all over the place. Also, now problems with the sinking post, it's a true 27.2.
I certainly can't find any faults with it other than the usual niggles setting up the saddle to be level, but anyone who has had a two bolt post will know that.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Didn't really work for me
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" The pump seemed to be well built and the concept good, in practise, it failed miserably, i decided to try it out after just sticking it in my jersey pocket and going training.. I came to the conclusion it was mainly the release valve and presta fitting that were no good, I couldn't get more than a bar in the tyre before it just wouldn't take anymore, the air just leaked out.. I tried several different ways and angles to try and get the fitting to seal properly, it never did.. which is a shame as it seemed to come well recommended.. "
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit, never worked well for me
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Cork Plain Bar Tape
Cork Plain Bar Tape
Highest quality cork tape for long life durability with maximum comfort. Used by top professionals, Bike Ribbon remains the original and still the best Italian-made handlebar tape of its kind.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
not the other stuff, but not bad
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
" Tried this in lieu of my usual Cinelli cork tape.. seems to do the job well enough, I do change my bar tape every two weeks, it's a personal thing.. This is a great economically viable alternative to the superior Cinelli product. Plenty of length for 46 cm bars ( i like 'em wide!) so shouldn't have any worries with more standard width bars. "
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, good alternative to more expensive brands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It works!
Posted1 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" Finally got a wireless computer that really works well! I have had several other brand name wireless units , all have ended up in the bon, as they work for a bit then something goes wrung with them..
This Strada has been champion, it's gone through th train, crummy roads and such, and hasn't skipped a beat.. goes me all I want to know and that's that. Nice big readout, Easy to set up and program, too!
I heartily recommend this computer!
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers 2013
Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers 2013
Rather than overcomplicating things, Castelli stuck with the basics of great fabric and functional construction for the Thermoflex Knee Warmers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for Queensland winter
Posted1 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" I really like these knee warmers , the fit is excellent, they are warm and well,they are Italian....
I wouldn't call these winter wear outside of northern Oz, unless you're particularly bullet proof to the cold, I'm not.. but for these mid teens days these are perfect. When tights are too much, I slip these on and get training.. The leg grippers are really good too,they stay put once they're on.
Save your knees and get a pair of these for those coolish days, they are perfect ..
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Long Finger Gloves
Power Long Finger Gloves
Full finger gloves for insulation on cooler spring days and early morning starts. Gore Power gloves feature a ventilated mesh back, gel padded palm for vibration absorption and silicone print on the fingers for grip on the brake levers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for a Queensland winter
Posted21 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" I really like these gloves! Most of my winter gear is for a British Columbia winter, read cold and wet... so with the change in climes to a much milder winter, I found virtually all my winter gear far too heavy and hot... esp my gloves.. So, with these ones, I find the combination of lightness and the Goretex a perfect match.
The first ride told me i was on a winner, the hands felt toasty but not sweaty and the gloves were dry when I pulled them off, any moisture had been wicked away.
Plenty of grip with the rubber dooeys on the palms too!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice and smooth chain
Posted22 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
" Finally the old Record chain started skipping, stepped up to the Chorus one, basically I didn't want to splash the loot out of rRecord and Chorus has always been nearly as good...
Well, it is and all I had to do was change the cassette and fit the new chai with correct tension.. the rear changer didn't need any adjustment, and off I go...
my slight whinge is the tool, yes, hard to justify paying lashings of money for something you won't use much... so I had to take the bike down the local high end cycle shop and watch them do something I could have done in two minutes with a regular chain tool... and of course, they charged like a wounded bull.... the owner smirked as he took my money... wanted to give him a serve, but let it go.. nice thing I won't see him again for another 8-12 months until I have to fit another Campy chain... Hooray!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: stupid chain tool required..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 O2 Road Helmet - Katusha Team Edition
O2 Road Helmet - Katusha Team Edition
A great value road helmet with Team Katusha Graphics and advanced technologies from higher up the Lazer range.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
light and fits well
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
" Bought this as a second helmet but find myself wearing it quite a lot.. I have a Spiuk Daggon, which isn't bad but like the fit of this one better.
Weight is fine, I don't think it's heavy anyway, no more than the Spiuk
Sits higher on the head too, which I like, doesn't fall into your eyes in a sprint.
Overall, a good buy !
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Five Mega Road Shoes
Five Mega Road Shoes
Sidi Mega shoes are specifically shaped and proportioned for riders with high arches, wide or high-volume feet. Sidi Five road shoes offer a strong set of features including a carbon composite sole and a micrometric caliper buckle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautiful shoe, but they are Mega
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" I mis ordered these, generally ride a regular 44, but they were always touch and go as far as width went, so I figured what the hey and tried these for a ride.. they are for bigger feet!
The toe box is wider and the me tarsal width is wider too, so my feet had heaps of room in them despite the straps being adjusted all the way up, the heel cup seemed a city larger too..
I sold them on to another chap and he loves them and I reordered the regular 44's which are perfect..
I really suggest that you try them on at a cycle shop before you commit to buy here, they are the best made show but the fit isn't of everyone!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: try before you buy!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Monterey's Questions
 

Is this sizing accurate on these shoes..?

I'm quite keen to get a pair of these, actually desperate as my old Mavics are literally being held together with gaffa tape..
I measured my feet, several times and came up with a average of 28.6 cm... that puts me spot on a 44 in Northwave sizing... Is that cutting it too close and I should consider going up a size to 45..?
I don't mind a snug shoe, but not into a torture session..
Cheers!
Steve
2 months ago
by
Monterey
Chiang Mai, Thailand
 
Monterey's Answers
<<< 1 2 3 >>>
 
 BCS-11C 11 Speed Cassette
BCS-11C 11 Speed Cassette
11 speed Campagnolo compatible cassette. Extra tough 1.2 micron chrome-plated sprockets installed on an aluminium body.
 

Does this require the same cassette lock ring tool as Campy 11 speed cassettes?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yup, takes the standard Campag, Park or the like lock ring tool.
6 years, 6 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle's very own 650ml water bottle
 

Are these bottles BPA free?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
For around 2.50 a bottle, I doubt they will be BPA free... I can't see that water in one of these bottles for a few hours would constitute a issue. BPA as you know is a endocrine disruptor, and the jury is still out as to whether it really constitutes a health issue or not
6 years, 6 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Clarks Pre-Lube Universal Inner Gear Cables
Clarks Pre-Lube Universal Inner Gear Cables
Pre-Lube universal gear inner cable only.
 

how many cables are in each pack

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
One per package
6 years, 6 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Designed for the road, the Genius 5 Pro features the Millennium 3 Sole for 3-point cleat systems and SiDi's red SL buckle closure system.
 

sidi

hey does this sidi have a carbon sole
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It isn't a woven carbon sole per se, it touts itself as a carbon sole. it's really stiff. I'm very happy with my 5's
6 years, 6 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Designed for the road, the Genius 5 Pro features the Millennium 3 Sole for 3-point cleat systems and SiDi's red SL buckle closure system.
 

I am interested in buying a pair of Sidi Genius 5 pro road shoes/ Do they come with a 'shoe plate' for pedal attachment, or are they extra?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, you get a snappy book with some stickers in it, and a couple of buckle replacement screws.. the cleats attach directly to the sole, I'm assuming you are referring to either a older Sidi model or Speedplay cleats
6 years, 6 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Designed for the road, the Genius 5 Pro features the Millennium 3 Sole for 3-point cleat systems and SiDi's red SL buckle closure system.
 

sizes for wide feet

Hi are these shoes ok for wide feet ? also could you recomend a road shoe for wide feet
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Probably not.. I use these shoes with average feet and find they are just there across the arch.. Last thing you'd want is to have your foot spilling over the sole and cramping your foot..I tried a pair of Sidi Megas in 44. my usual size.. sizing is accurate and they have a generous arch and toe box which may work far better for you
6 years, 6 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

do the 11 tooth cassettes use a different lockring to the 12 tooth cassettes like they do in 10 speed?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, it's a universal lockring for 10 and 11 speed.. I am not sure about a 9 speed though.
6 years, 6 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Is this cassette compatible with Athena 11 spped groupset?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
all 11 speed are compatible, though check the spacer mod on the later cassettes, there's a 3.2 mil spacer in them, may not jive with older drivetrains..
6 years, 7 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Will this fit on an old record 10 speed hub, I want to use the wheel on super record drive train for my wind trainer

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
it does, I have used my 11 speed cassette on hubs that normally take 8-9-or 10 speed blocks.. just check the dishing of the wheel, but shouldn't be a issue
6 years, 7 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle's very own 650ml water bottle
 

How hot a wash will these bottles take?

For sterilisation purposes I like to put my water bottles through a high temperature wash.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I run mine through the hot cycle on my dishie, around 85C, not a problem, they come out sparkling and not a puddle on the bottom of the dishie
6 years, 7 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland