Monterey
Top 500 Contributor
Share Monterey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Monterey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    12 January 2012
  • Last Review
    05 July 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    11 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    22 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Monterey's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Vittoria Zaffiro Slick Rigid Clincher Road Tyre
Vittoria Zaffiro Slick Rigid Clincher Road Tyre
The rigid version of the Zaffiro Pro Slick that has the same slick racing tread as Rubino Pro for faster riding but has the addition featured on Zaffiro Pro such as fewer flats, secure grip and long tread life.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long lasting durable tyre
Posted05 July 2016
Monterey
fromChiang Mai, Thailand
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been using these tyres since I moved to Chiang Mai, Thailand, over two years ago, I bought three pair of the 25mm width. The part of the world is not known for glass smooth roads, and free of debris, matter of fact around 50% of where we ride is made up of patchworks of bitumen, potholes, dirt and concrete slabs, these being horrible to ride on, so rough.
Anyway, I have had very few issues with these tyres, the puncture or slow leaks I got were from things like little bits of the wire beading from car or truck tyres or in one case a bit of sharp stone that worked it's way into the rubber and nicked the inner tube, but no pinch flats.
They have also been tormented by extremes in heat, heavy rains and the fore mentioned roads. They have been grippy on damp descents, sure footed on gravel and extremely long wearing.. These are good tyres, pure and simple.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
With its forged clamps, integrally machined head, and an elliptically extruded 7000 series aluminum body, Thomson's Elite Inline seatpost offers the ultimate in strength, light weight and ease of adjustment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Seatpost, good value!
Posted15 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought this for my Giant, replacing the original carbon one, which has a significant setback, too far for me to fit my saddle properly. This post has fit the bill perfectly, it's pretty light and once you dial the two bolt adjustment in for set back and level, you can forget it.. I found the Giant one slid all over the place. Also, now problems with the sinking post, it's a true 27.2.
I certainly can't find any faults with it other than the usual niggles setting up the saddle to be level, but anyone who has had a two bolt post will know that.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Didn't really work for me
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The pump seemed to be well built and the concept good, in practise, it failed miserably, i decided to try it out after just sticking it in my jersey pocket and going training.. I came to the conclusion it was mainly the release valve and presta fitting that were no good, I couldn't get more than a bar in the tyre before it just wouldn't take anymore, the air just leaked out.. I tried several different ways and angles to try and get the fitting to seal properly, it never did.. which is a shame as it seemed to come well recommended.."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit, never worked well for me
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Cork Plain Bar Tape
Cork Plain Bar Tape
Highest quality cork tape for long life durability with maximum comfort. Used by top professionals, Bike Ribbon remains the original and still the best Italian-made handlebar tape of its kind.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
not the other stuff, but not bad
Posted31 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Tried this in lieu of my usual Cinelli cork tape.. seems to do the job well enough, I do change my bar tape every two weeks, it's a personal thing.. This is a great economically viable alternative to the superior Cinelli product. Plenty of length for 46 cm bars ( i like 'em wide!) so shouldn't have any worries with more standard width bars."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, good alternative to more expensive brands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It works!
Posted01 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Finally got a wireless computer that really works well! I have had several other brand name wireless units , all have ended up in the bon, as they work for a bit then something goes wrung with them..
This Strada has been champion, it's gone through th train, crummy roads and such, and hasn't skipped a beat.. goes me all I want to know and that's that. Nice big readout, Easy to set up and program, too!
I heartily recommend this computer!
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers 2013
Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers 2013
Rather than overcomplicating things, Castelli stuck with the basics of great fabric and functional construction for the Thermoflex Knee Warmers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for Queensland winter
Posted01 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I really like these knee warmers , the fit is excellent, they are warm and well,they are Italian....
I wouldn't call these winter wear outside of northern Oz, unless you're particularly bullet proof to the cold, I'm not.. but for these mid teens days these are perfect. When tights are too much, I slip these on and get training.. The leg grippers are really good too,they stay put once they're on.
Save your knees and get a pair of these for those coolish days, they are perfect ..
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Long Finger Gloves
Power Long Finger Gloves
Full finger gloves for insulation on cooler spring days and early morning starts. Gore Power gloves feature a ventilated mesh back, gel padded palm for vibration absorption and silicone print on the fingers for grip on the brake levers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for a Queensland winter
Posted21 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I really like these gloves! Most of my winter gear is for a British Columbia winter, read cold and wet... so with the change in climes to a much milder winter, I found virtually all my winter gear far too heavy and hot... esp my gloves.. So, with these ones, I find the combination of lightness and the Goretex a perfect match.
The first ride told me i was on a winner, the hands felt toasty but not sweaty and the gloves were dry when I pulled them off, any moisture had been wicked away.
Plenty of grip with the rubber dooeys on the palms too!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice and smooth chain
Posted22 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Finally the old Record chain started skipping, stepped up to the Chorus one, basically I didn't want to splash the loot out of rRecord and Chorus has always been nearly as good...
Well, it is and all I had to do was change the cassette and fit the new chai with correct tension.. the rear changer didn't need any adjustment, and off I go...
my slight whinge is the tool, yes, hard to justify paying lashings of money for something you won't use much... so I had to take the bike down the local high end cycle shop and watch them do something I could have done in two minutes with a regular chain tool... and of course, they charged like a wounded bull.... the owner smirked as he took my money... wanted to give him a serve, but let it go.. nice thing I won't see him again for another 8-12 months until I have to fit another Campy chain... Hooray!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: stupid chain tool required..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 O2 Road Helmet - Katusha Team Edition
O2 Road Helmet - Katusha Team Edition
A great value road helmet with Team Katusha Graphics and advanced technologies from higher up the Lazer range.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
light and fits well
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Bought this as a second helmet but find myself wearing it quite a lot.. I have a Spiuk Daggon, which isn't bad but like the fit of this one better.
Weight is fine, I don't think it's heavy anyway, no more than the Spiuk
Sits higher on the head too, which I like, doesn't fall into your eyes in a sprint.
Overall, a good buy !
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Five Mega Road Shoes
Five Mega Road Shoes
Sidi Mega shoes are specifically shaped and proportioned for riders with high arches, wide or high-volume feet. Sidi Five road shoes offer a strong set of features including a carbon composite sole and a micrometric caliper buckle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautiful shoe, but they are Mega
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I mis ordered these, generally ride a regular 44, but they were always touch and go as far as width went, so I figured what the hey and tried these for a ride.. they are for bigger feet!
The toe box is wider and the me tarsal width is wider too, so my feet had heaps of room in them despite the straps being adjusted all the way up, the heel cup seemed a city larger too..
I sold them on to another chap and he loves them and I reordered the regular 44's which are perfect..
I really suggest that you try them on at a cycle shop before you commit to buy here, they are the best made show but the fit isn't of everyone!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: try before you buy!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Monterey's Questions
 
Monterey has not submitted any questions.
 
Monterey's Answers
<<< 1 2 3
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 

Does this come with the wheel magnet?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes it does, it's a large chrome magnet. A piece of plastic sits behind the spokes and the magnet threads onto this
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 

i have set this computer up to my bike , but how come it only wokrs when my sensor is nearer the hub , it dosent work at all nearer the rim , ?

right my wheel size is 26 inch , the snesor ionly works nearer the hub , my wheel is buckled ever so slightly , by an inch could this be the problem????
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You have to run the sensor/receiver units close together, like only a few mil to get it to work well, I noticed straight away when I was setting mine up that it seemed logical to do it that way, there is less gyroscopic influence close to the hub..
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 

Does it measure in km/hr?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, both in KMH and MPH, you choose that when you set it up..
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 

I want a computer to use when my bike is fitted in a turbo trainer. It must therefore have a rear wheel fitted sensor. What is the cheapest you sell?

Is it only cadence measuring computers that can be fitted to rear wheel. I only really want the basic functions; time/dist/speed etc.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
This unit fits the front wheel only, the cabling is far too short to fit to the rear wheel.. unless you feel like trying to McGyver it to run from the seat stay along the top tube and have the unit on the top tube
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 

Does it show MPH?

Does it show MPH instead of km/h?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, you can toggle between the two when you set it up
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 RC Carbon Road Cycling Shoes
RC Carbon Road Cycling Shoes
dhb have introduced the RC carbon soled race shoe, ideal for road racing, time trialling or track use.
 

How wide are these shoes? I have wide feet, so how do they compare in width to other makes?? Thanks!

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Have you tried Sidi Genius Megas? I just reviewed a pair.. they were wide alright, significantly wider than the regular Sidi.. but the quality is superb..
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 RC Carbon Road Cycling Shoes
RC Carbon Road Cycling Shoes
dhb have introduced the RC carbon soled race shoe, ideal for road racing, time trialling or track use.
 

Half sizes

I am a UK 7.5, which size should I go for?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's a hard one to answer well, I rode a half size smaller shoe than I should have for a couple of seasons and ended up losing my big toenails... But the adage is you want the smallest comfortable shoe you can get away with. Leather stretches significantly, material like Lorica, not much, so it will depend on the material of the uppers somewhat. In conclusion I would say if your feet can sit in the shoe with out the toes feeling cramped, you'll be alright..
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland