Monterey
Top 500 Contributor
Share Monterey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Monterey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    12 January 2012
  • Last Review
    5 July 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    11 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    22 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Monterey's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 >>>
 
 Elite O3one Protective Chamois Cream
Elite O3one Protective Chamois Cream
Protective Chamois Cream to help prevent discomfort caused by long or regular hours in the saddle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good product!
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This cream works quite well, I'm a stickler for quality and this fits the bill, cheaper than Assos, it feel every much like it. I always use a second product to ease chafing too, but that doesn't help much if the chamois cream is rubbish.. No worries with 5 hour rides in the 30+ heat, it stays put.."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Cleats engaging set for all Campagnolo Pro Fit pedal systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Always Campy, always good..
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Shame these pedals aren't more popular, they are a light, durable and serviceable pedal with plenty of clearance for pedalling through corners. Lots tension adjustment and float.. These hooks last forever, I think my last set, which isn't totally worn out yet, has lasted maybe 4 years... the plastic bit I've changed a couple of times, still leaves Look for dead.."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Velox rim tape is light and sticks well so it won't get pushed into spokes when you pump the tyre up.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
40 plus years of quality
Posted14 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"That's how long I've been using this brand of rim tape, tried the others but tins stuff is still the go.. Lasts forever, stays put and is dead simple to apply... Beats yards of electrical tape or those plastic strips that either split or move around all over...
C'mon get ld school with the best!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It's Campagnolo, it works
Posted5 March 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Finally wore out my 11-23 titanium cassette, replaced it with one of these... Old one off, new one on, tighten the lockring up and head off,end of story....
See you in another 8-12 months for another...
Can't beat Campagnolo!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, it's campy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value for money here
Posted5 March 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Just came back from my first ride on these wheels..and I have to say, they are very good! I am impressed with the stiffness and smoothness of ride... wow...I did a comparison ride with my regular wheels, 32 hole Ambrosio Excellence box section, laced to Campag chorus hubs..
The bike was a Giant TCR Advanced SL with 11 speed Record...
Firstly, the Fulcrums are lighter, to be expected, given the number of spokes and a newer rim design. Fitting tyres was a snap with either Schwalbe or Continental tyres, the regular valve length is just enough to get a floor pump on the valve, but not enough to warrant the extended valve..very much like a Mavic CX 33..
Okay, on the road I found these wheels generated quite a bit of noise, wind and road, mind you it was pretty windy and plenty of cross winds but nothing that bothered me..
the rear wheel is plenty stiff, I could feel the power transfer from pedals to road distinctly, something that felt much vaguer with my old wheels.. the free hub noise, or lack of it compared to the Campag was disconcerting to begin with, I'm used to that heavy Campag or Hugi free hub sound, but on the whole, the whole drivetrain worked well with no dishing issues.
Speed and cornering were really good, didn't feel any gyroscopic steering effects diving into corners and really laying the bike over.
My verdict after one ride is, I'm ordering another set!
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, stiff and responsive
Cons: very quiet free hub!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Park's cotterless crank puller has been the professionals choice and standard to which crank pullers have had to live up to in the cycle industry for the last 20 years.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Industry Standard
Posted5 March 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have been using this same crank tool for around 30 years.. they last for ages even if abused, which many shop mechanics do with anything that's not theirs... Park has a extensive and ever expanding range of cycling specific tools, but this old standby has stood the test of time. My last Park crank tool lasted me around 10 years.. so, expect the same when you get one yourself.."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: keep away from your shop mechanics!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BCS-10C 10 Speed Cassette
BCS-10C 10 Speed Cassette
10-speed cassette compatible with Campagnolo. extra tough 1.2 micron chrome-plated sprockets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fine replacement cassette for the price!
Posted24 February 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"picked this up to replace my totally flogged old Campy ten speed, I wasn't expecting much to be frank, but I am pleasantly suprised with this cassette ! Given I replaced the chain with a non Campy one, I expected there to be some hang ups, odd generally clunky shifts.. but no, once I dialled to shifting in, I went out and hammered just to see how it would shift under load and all that.. Well, it worked a treat, nice crisp shifts, no rattling, just like it should.. Spacing between the cogs is spot on.
longevity is unknown, but if it lasts me a few thousand k's then it's done it's job, especially on the winter bike. So chapeau to BBB for a excellent product, I will take a closer look at all BBB products if they are as good as this cassette!
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, great campag replacement!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendor. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how. Deversity of pleasures, diversity of uses, diversity of needs. For 50 years, Transfil has created, developed, tested and manuf...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Okay cable, but..
Posted8 February 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I picked up some of these for my ten and eleven speed Campag... the 11 speed levers were a pain, I had to do some serious mods on the alloy end for them to fit into the brake lever mech.. that involved wire cutters and a file.. they now fit but not exactly the way I'd like, then again I'm Mr Fussy... These cables are better used on older model Campag levers, they'll drop right into those.
Still, I do like the cables, they are working well.. Very little stretching out needed.
Happy to recommend!
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit, see remarks about 11 speed levers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Clarks Pre-Lube Universal Inner Gear Cables
Clarks Pre-Lube Universal Inner Gear Cables
Pre-Lube universal gear inner cable only.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good cables once they're stretched out
Posted8 February 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have replaced my ten and eleven speed Campy bikes with these cables, mainly because I wanted to try and non Campy product, and forgo the price tag..
Lenght isn't a problem, there's plenty there and the alloy cable ends fit well into the shifting mechanism, none of this silly filing I've had to do on other aftermarket cables..I know these cables are pre-lubed but I always hit them again with Tri Flow, especially with 11 speed, friction is a issue..
These cables do stretch.. the rear cable required a fair amount of readjustment to finally settle it in..but nothing I could really complain about and I haven't had to touch them since I installed them three weeks ago.
These are indeed a good alternative to the high end stuff, I have plenty in stock so that tells you I'm happy to continue to use this product.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: needs a good stretch then they're fine
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Designed for the road, the Genius 5 Pro features the Millennium 3 Sole for 3-point cleat systems and SiDi's red SL buckle closure system.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Buy these shoes...
Posted7 February 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Sidi are the best, period....
Been a loyal Sidi user since 1984, what does that tell you about how I feel about them. I get at least two years of use out of each pair then they get relegated to my rain shoes, I have two pairs of those.. the good ones are for some training and my racing. They all still fit well, actually, Sidi fit has been getting better with every pair I buy and these new ones seem the best yet.
I prefer the non carbon sole, which gives that tiniest bit, I cramp with a full carbon sole, so I didn't go for the higher end shoe, which isn't a biggie considering the 5's are still a light shoe and work for me.
So, durable, light and comfortable, why use anything else?
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Monterey's Questions
 
Monterey has not submitted any questions.
 
Monterey's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Designed for the road, the Genius 5 Pro features the Millennium 3 Sole for 3-point cleat systems and SiDi's red SL buckle closure system.
 

Colour way & size

Which colour way description on the Sidi genius5 refers to the blue/White/silver?

Also if you're a UK size 9.5/10 what's the best size in a Sidi?

Cheers
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The shoe in the bottom of the picture is the blue, white silver.. I have a pair, they look very sharp without being gaudy..
I'm a UK 9.5 and I find a 44 fits a treat... these are beautiful shoes, I really find them comfy, stiff and great fitting...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 

Does the chain come with a ultra link or pin for fitting?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
it comes with a pin, and you'll need that pricey Campy tool to do a good job, I tried with my conventional Shimano tool and stuffed it up....YBN makes 11 speed Campy chains with a ultra link, they work okay...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Are the bearings accessible for Servicing ?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I personally haven't done it yet but the wheels can be serviced..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

hi, could you tell me what size the tyres would be for these wheels

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I use 700 x 23 and 700 x 25 myself, but I see now reason why you couldn't run 19-20's on them, just make sure they have a good bead..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Which year are these Fulcrum Racing 7 clearance wheelsets? 2012, 2011, or 2010?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd say 2011, but they are virtually all the same, and excellent quality.. I bought two pairs and like them very much.
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Compatible with 11speed Record?

My entire groupset, incl chain, is 11sp Record - will this cassette be completely compatible..?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No problem here, I bought one for my 11 speed Record after I flogged the original titanium cassette one to bits...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

will this item fit on 10 speed

is this compatable with 10 speed chorus..or do you stock 10 speed chorus i havent seen any
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The cassette will fit on the free hub, but the spacing is different to the ten speed.. try a BBB ten speed cassette, I ordered one from Wiggle and it works well.
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Whats needed to get these up and running on a bike, tyres, tubes, rim tape, freewheel hub? cassette??? thanks

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Well, the wheels come with rim tape and skewers, so you can figure out what else you'll need...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

if bought with the campognolo freehub will it fit a 9 speed shimano casette? and is the camp better than a shimano freehub?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, Campag has a different teeth pattern on the free hub than Shimano.
And it is a matter of choice about which is better, Campag or Shimano.. I have had both, for extended periods and liked them, but ultimately ended up with Camapg..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Do these fit any road bike with 700c wheels? I have a Trek that has a worn out Bontrager 700c x 25 . Will I be able put my existing cassette on these

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yup, they will fir your road bike, just have to choose either Shimano or Campag free hubs ..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland