Monterey
Top 500 Contributor
Share Monterey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Monterey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    12 January 2012
  • Last Review
    5 July 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    11 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    22 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Monterey's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3
 
 Active Heart Rate Monitor
Active Heart Rate Monitor
Timex brings forward the next generation of Active Heart Rate Monitor as the most easy-to-use monitor available. The heart rate monitoring capability enables you to concentrate on your fitness and your personal goals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, inexpensive and it works
Posted7 February 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Have needed a replacement monitor for ages, and had been looking at a Polar, which are excellent, but you pay for it.. this Timex has all the basic functions I require, target zones, a audible alarm and such. A interesting point, is that the watch aspect of the monitor came set to my time and date in Queensland, Australia, how'd they do that??
So, operation is one button, after you set your zones, strap the unit one, no need for gel or such, push off, press the button and go.. easy peasy..
The unit is accurate, solid and light, and best of all, it works..
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: find your own handlebar mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle
Selle Italia's MAX FLITE Gel Flow uses a suspension that gives all-over cushioning without any moving mechanical parts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
comfort and style plus!
Posted18 January 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Being a long time Selle Italia user, I have evolved through the Turbos, up to the Turbomatic 4, which sadly isn't in production anymore.. I have been using some stop gap saddles,which were okay, but not IT.. this saddles recommended to me by a old friend, who swore by them.. Good enough for me!
First ride was a getting used to it one, even though you set the darn thing up as best as possible, one always takes a cupel of allen keys with them, and yes, I did have to fiddle with the fore and aft somewhat.. the rails are a bit short so I thought it might be a issue getting the saddle far back enough for me, but the way the saddle is designed I need not of worried, I had plenty of room.
it is a different feeling getting used to a saddle with a cut out in the middle and your sit bones really getting a work out, but second ride, I actually forgot about that, the saddle seemed so much better.. I've done around 600k on it since and it has gone from strength to strength , I reckon it's a all day saddle now.. Value is excellent with Selle Italia quality.. Highly recommended!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really nice product
Posted14 January 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I tried one of these out in our Australian summer last week, around 32C and humid.. I won't lie to you and say I felt fresh as a daisy afterwards, it was stuffing hot! did want to see how these vests performed and I did feel drier afterwards, and my jersey was sodden, so I'd say it does wick away the moisture .. I'm looking to wear these as a undervest in our winter, and they should work a treat.. I like the fit too, and some wag thought they were too long, the idea is to keep the lower back warm... Do yerself a favour and grab a couple of these, won't regret it.."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle 650ml Water Bottle 2013
Wiggle's very own 650ml water bottle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job well
Posted12 January 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Wide mouth bottle, with measurement lines down the side and the bottle itself is of fairly squishy plastic, not hard to squeeze at all. The top screws down securely and the spout doesn't leak. Cleaning is a snap, into the dishie they go.. I picked up 6 of these, you can't go past them for the price, if one gets lost, falls off the bike or go missing at the feed zone, you won't stress.. Why pay several times the price for something that does the same thing except it's got your idol's team logo on it and you sleep with it under your pillow.. Miguel, Miguel, is that you??"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The redesigned Velo 5 includes 5 popular functions with a large easy to read display and single button operation thanks to a choice of simple or custom wheel calibration.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Useful and cheap
Posted12 January 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Does the basics, for the price, that's all you're going to get, but it does them well. All I need to know is how long, and how fast and not much else, so it works fine for me. A gripe is the mounting, using sticky tape to hold the unit onto the bars and fork isn't cool, I had to take the mount off my bars today and the sticky tape/rubbery gummy thing, stayed planted on the bars and now is useless. When I remount it, I'll just either skip the stuff or use a couple of wraps of tape... that's why I gave it a poor fit and such, otherwise, it'll do well on the winter bike.."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit, crummy mounting system
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Turbomatic Black Saddle
Turbomatic Black Saddle
The Turbomatic saddle has been a milestone for the last fifteen years and one of the most used saddles by pro riders, together with Flite and SLR
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Happy bum
Posted12 January 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Nice to get back on a old standard, though I think this one might be better than the original.. either that or the memory is going.. regardless, the Turbo is a industry standard and I love them... I only wish I could get re issue Turbo 4's ...
Forget the carbon this and that you shell out ££££ for.. get real and buy one of these!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Riga 9 Socks
Riga 9 Socks
Cool, stylish, lightweight socks for hot summer riding. The meryl skinlife antibacterial fabric keeps the socks fresh and a mesh upper provides ventilation, evaporation and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
nice socks
Posted12 January 2012
Monterey
fromGold Coast, Queensland
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Well, they go on the feet, I go that part right.. and yes they fit well, no seams in the wrong spots.. and they seem quite cool, so the dogs didn't seem to swell much in the mid 30's of summer here.. I am quite fussy when it comes to contact points so shoes, saddles and such have to be right, that goes of rocks too, and these work well, happy to buy more!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Monterey's Questions
 
Monterey has not submitted any questions.
 
Monterey's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Sidi Genius 5 Pro Road Shoes 2012
Designed for the road, the Genius 5 Pro features the Millennium 3 Sole for 3-point cleat systems and SiDi's red SL buckle closure system.
 

Colour way & size

Which colour way description on the Sidi genius5 refers to the blue/White/silver?

Also if you're a UK size 9.5/10 what's the best size in a Sidi?

Cheers
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The shoe in the bottom of the picture is the blue, white silver.. I have a pair, they look very sharp without being gaudy..
I'm a UK 9.5 and I find a 44 fits a treat... these are beautiful shoes, I really find them comfy, stiff and great fitting...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 

Does the chain come with a ultra link or pin for fitting?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
it comes with a pin, and you'll need that pricey Campy tool to do a good job, I tried with my conventional Shimano tool and stuffed it up....YBN makes 11 speed Campy chains with a ultra link, they work okay...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Are the bearings accessible for Servicing ?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I personally haven't done it yet but the wheels can be serviced..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

hi, could you tell me what size the tyres would be for these wheels

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I use 700 x 23 and 700 x 25 myself, but I see now reason why you couldn't run 19-20's on them, just make sure they have a good bead..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Which year are these Fulcrum Racing 7 clearance wheelsets? 2012, 2011, or 2010?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd say 2011, but they are virtually all the same, and excellent quality.. I bought two pairs and like them very much.
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

Compatible with 11speed Record?

My entire groupset, incl chain, is 11sp Record - will this cassette be completely compatible..?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No problem here, I bought one for my 11 speed Record after I flogged the original titanium cassette one to bits...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25 and 12-27. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 

will this item fit on 10 speed

is this compatable with 10 speed chorus..or do you stock 10 speed chorus i havent seen any
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The cassette will fit on the free hub, but the spacing is different to the ten speed.. try a BBB ten speed cassette, I ordered one from Wiggle and it works well.
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Whats needed to get these up and running on a bike, tyres, tubes, rim tape, freewheel hub? cassette??? thanks

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Well, the wheels come with rim tape and skewers, so you can figure out what else you'll need...
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

if bought with the campognolo freehub will it fit a 9 speed shimano casette? and is the camp better than a shimano freehub?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, Campag has a different teeth pattern on the free hub than Shimano.
And it is a matter of choice about which is better, Campag or Shimano.. I have had both, for extended periods and liked them, but ultimately ended up with Camapg..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
 Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Fulcrum Racing 7 - research and development department designers had a tough time reaching the set goals, similar to a rider trying to conquer that "mythical" summit.
 

Do these fit any road bike with 700c wheels? I have a Trek that has a worn out Bontrager 700c x 25 . Will I be able put my existing cassette on these

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yup, they will fir your road bike, just have to choose either Shimano or Campag free hubs ..
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Monterey
Gold Coast, Queensland