RoadCyclistStaffs
Share RoadCyclistStaffs's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RoadCyclistStaffs's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    01 July 2011
  • Last Review
    30 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    03 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    03 May 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
RoadCyclistStaffs's Reviews
 
The new Sora brake caliper from Shimano. This caliper is ideal for the more sport, recreational road bike, but with the same style and design as the top end calipers available.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great replacement
Posted30 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
RoadCyclistStaffs
fromStoke on Trent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this as a replacement for non-branded brakes that came with my winter bike and they do their job well. They are not as good as ultegra brakes, but they don't cost like them either, you get what you pay for."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted03 May 2012
RoadCyclistStaffs
fromStoke on Trent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used to get cramp after short training rides when i drank only water, I put these in my bottle now and havent had the problem since.
I put one tablet it a 750ml bottle and they taste fine,
The Zero X-treme tablets with caffene taste like red bull
"
Pros: Great Value, nice tasting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for the dark evenings
Posted03 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RoadCyclistStaffs
fromStoke on Trent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have used this turbo trainer all winter with no complaints, It takes about 2 minutes to set the bike up onto the trainer. You do feel like you are riding down hill all the time without a riser block but I've found that the yellow pages works just as well.
The only downside to the trainer is that it is very noisey, because of this I have been banished to the garage with it"
Pros: High Quality
 
Products related to my review
dhb Windslam Short Sleeve Jersey - 2012
4.5 out of 5(64)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TT04 Sport Puncture Repair Kit
TT04 Sport Puncture Repair Kit
Sport repair kit with extra thin patches for narrow road tyres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality product
Posted21 July 2011
RoadCyclistStaffs
fromStoke on Trent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is something that I bought in the hope that I will never need to use it, and haven't yet. But it all looks of good quality and costs next to nothing so I would recommend to others."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Minoura DS520 Folding Display Storage Stand
Minoura DS520 Folding Display Storage Stand
Just lift up the bike and place both seat-stay and chain-stay on the hooks, then the bike stand alone stably. The rear wheel is lifted up from the ground, so good for light maintenance like cleaning chain or adjusting derailleur
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Stand
Posted01 July 2011
RoadCyclistStaffs
fromStoke on Trent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have a Giant Defy and this bike sits on the stand comfortably, I bought this stand so that I could adjust and maintain my bike and found that the work stands started at over £80, for the price this is absolutely fantastic, the only issue being that when you are working on your bike it is still low down and close to the floor, but overall this is not really an issue."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant
Posted01 July 2011
RoadCyclistStaffs
fromStoke on Trent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've spent a lot of time before cleaning my chain and not being that happy with the results so I thought that I should try a chain cleaner, this does not disapoint. It takes a matter of seconds to attach the cleaner to the chain and not long to clean the chain thoroughly. I have only used it once so far so I can't comment on it's durability."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RoadCyclistStaffs's Questions
 
RoadCyclistStaffs has not submitted any questions.
 
RoadCyclistStaffs's Answers
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Can cycle trainers be used with mountain bikes as well as racers?

Yes but it is a good idea to swap the tire for a slick one as the knobbly mtb tires make a racket vibrating.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
RoadCyclistStaffs
Stoke on Trent
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

is it supplied with a Quick release skewer

Hi, just wondered if this trainer comes with a quick release skewer, my Colnago on Ksyrium equippe wheels doesn't have a suitable axle skewer to mount....?
Yes, it comes with its own skewer, it takes about 2mins to swap over
2 years, 3 months ago
by
RoadCyclistStaffs
Stoke on Trent
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Will this take a 26" mtb wheel ?

Yes, I bought one of these for my Dad and he uses his mountain bike on it all the time, although we also put on a slick tire as the knobbly mountain bike tires dont make enough contact and it makes a racket!! It is also a good idea to lock the bikes front suspension if possible as it can make the back wheel lift of the roller if you shift your weight.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
RoadCyclistStaffs
Stoke on Trent