Mike78
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Mike78's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Mike78's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    18 August 2011
  • Last Review
    16 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review Comment
    06 September 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    06 September 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 May 2013
  • Last Question
    16 January 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    18 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    16 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
Mike78's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They look and perform great
Posted16 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First thing is when unboxing it, the rubber feels much stickier than the Vittoria Rubinos I had on the bike. They feel more supple and their colour is a darker shade of black.
When fit on the bike, even though both tyres are 25c, the Contis look like they have a bit more volume than the Vittoria tyre. It was fairly easy to fit in.
I gave it a quick first spin, I think I might have a bit of a placebo effect here, but I feel a tiny bit of a better handling of the bike... I might be just imagining it though.
All in all, this looks brilliant and I am looking forward to plenty of miles with this tyre."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
It adapts to the needs of dedicated cyclists, and also those who ride for recreation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great so far
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had some trouble on longer rides with my bike's stock saddle.
The fist long ride I did with this saddle was much better.
I notice some awkwardness of fit that might be due to me having chosen slightly too wide a saddle, but otherwise this works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great for easy trails and urban use
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"much quicker and lighter than previous tyres.
I got these for my mum's bike, she noticed the difference to other big knobbly wire bead tyres immediately. These cost the same as the other slow heavy tyres."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Performance lycra cycling shorts for summer days out on the saddle. Featuring an 8 panel construction and a ProGel Seatpad for cushioning and comfort on long endurance training rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I got these as a gift
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got sizing advice from Wiggle, the fit was perfect.
A friend of mine just started to get into cycling and she had a bad case of saddle sores after a 3 hour ride. I asked her if she had any cycling shorts, she said she did not. I gave her these shorts and no more saddle soreness. The shorts look good too."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
An excellent value 6 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap... what more to say
Posted09 July 2013
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I am only a little bit concerned that the valve's little bit that you have to unscrew to let air in came loose. I thought it was my fault, but actually there is a limit to how far you can unscrew it in other tubes, and there is no limit in these lifeline tubes. so you have to be a little careful, that is all."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pump
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had a few punctures in a row lately, and I carried two spare inner tubes. After breaking a valve and taking forever to inflate the tires, I decided to get a proper pump.
In my experience, if you have presta valve tires, you will either inflate too slowly for any meaningful pressure to build up, or if you pump quickly, you run the risk of destroying the valve.
This pump ticks all boxes. It has a hose, it is light, it fits in a jersey pocket, it is made of machined metal (looks durable) , it looks good. I only would wish it cost 5-10 euro less, but considering what I went through with other pumps, this one is worth it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Not used for long but pleased
Posted05 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this to take my 700 cc narrow rimmed hybrid commuter to the trails without fear of bursting the narrow road tyres I usually fit in the wheels.
I went for a 20 km ride and also some urban riding and I see that the 35 mm tyres make the ride less bumpy than the road 25s, and that it's got fair traction in the trails. When there were no big stones or scary tree roots, I had good traction in gravel, packed sand and slightly muddy trails. I was much quicker than my buddies with MTBs when going up, much to their chagrin"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 1/2 Watt Rear Light
1/2 Watt Rear Light
A great little rear safety light that can be mounted either to a belt clip, seat post or seat stay.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
works, good value
Posted03 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"the light is very bright, I like it. The clip attachment is cleverer than the cateye light I had before."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 PowerTabs Tube - 10 x 12g Tabs
PowerTabs Tube - 10 x 12g Tabs
Isostar power tabs make a refreshing isotonic sports drink that is high in energy and low in calories (44 kcal per 250ml).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good flavour, easy dosage, not expensive
Posted11 September 2012
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I live in Madrid. Saying it's hot here during the summer is an understatement. I also sweat more than normal. My diet tends to have too much sodium so anything with other electrolytes is welcome. I like these tablets for long rides. I also use them when I'm hangover :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CherryBomb 0.5 Watt Rear Light
CherryBomb 0.5 Watt Rear Light
The NiteRider CherryBomb is one of the most visible standalone tail lights available.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Goes through batteries even when it is turned off
Posted21 August 2012
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Everytime I put a new set of batteries, it is empty after just one day. It does not matter if I turn the light off. If I forget to take the batteries off right after the ride, the batteries will be flat next ride, even if it is the next day in the morning. Not practical."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Mike78's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

What size for me?

I have 112 cm chest, wide shoulders, big build, 183 cm tall.
6 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
The Mono Roubaix Jersey offers cycle specific performance and features at a brilliantly accessible price point. Suitable for those chilled Autumn and Spring rides.
 

My chest measures at 112 cm, I am 1,83 m tall and my build is large

What is the suitable size for me?
6 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
A 7 speed chain ideal for all types of bikes that run a 7 speed system.
 

Is this chain compatible with SRAM PG730 7 Speed Cassette?

Just wanted to check, because this chain came with a freehub system, and I want to change the back wheel to a 7 speed cassette system.
1 year ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

Will the Mavic Crossride disc 29er front wheel be compatible?

I read that the axles are bolted 15 mm , so compatibility could be an issue and adapters are needed for some configurations. Would this front wheel be compatible with the Boardman? BTW, thanks for answering the question about the rear wheel.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Crossride Disc 29er Wheelset
Crossride Disc 29er Wheelset
The Crossride 29er (disc) wheels are Mavic’s entry level wheels and provide great reliability and strength whatever the terrain. They Feature alloy rims, steel spokes, alloy hub bodies and QR’s making a versatile set of MTB wheels.
 

Would it be possible to use this wheelset with a Boardman Hybrid Team bike?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Magura Storm SL Disc Brake Rotors
Magura Storm SL Disc Brake Rotors
The ultimate disc brake rotor - For the last 15 years Magura has been gaining experience in the development and production of disc brake rotors for the demanding off road use on mountain bikes.
 

Will these work in my Avid Juicy 3's?

I am looking into substituting the stock rotors. Any caveats?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Mono Mini 2/4 (Saw) Rotor
Mono Mini 2/4 (Saw) Rotor
6 bolt IS Hope Rotor for use with Mono Mini and M4 brake systems
 

Can I use this with Avid Juicy 3 calipers?

What is the thickness of the rotor?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
Individual quick release skewers for mountain bike wheels. With a laser etched Hope logo and a durable brass pivot surface, Hope skewers are the perfect finishing touch for a new custom build, or an attractive upgrade/replacement.
 

Boardman hybrid team

Would these skewers fit the dropout spacing in my bike?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

What model is the front derrailleur?

I see you list 'Microshift' but there is more than one microshift front derrailleur.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

Hub spacing for a new wheelset?

Should I get 130 mm hub wheels or 135 hub wheels?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
Mike78's Answers
 
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

23 or 25mm ?

Does anyone have any comments re 23 v 25mm both in general and for these tyres in particular ? I understand that in general the difference in rolling resistance is minimal so I am inclined to go with 25mm for extra stability ?
Cheers
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
In general the difference between 23c and 25c is unnoticeably more rolling resistance (more rubber = more rolling resistance), a tiny bit more aerodynamic resistance, and more air volume in the tyres. The extra volume will help coping with pot-holes and make the ride more comfy. The difference is very noticeable when you get to a 28c tyre
1 year ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
An excellent value 6 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 

Do these tubes have removable valves as I want to use valve extenders?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I think so, I managed to remove a valve before I knew what I was doing...
1 year ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 

What is the difference between the pressure drive, the alloy drive and HP pumps?

I am interested in the smallest one which still works for road bikes.
Thanks
Ed
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hello,

The pressure drive works for presta and Schrader valves. So it should work for road bikes. I don't know about the other models, sorry.
1 year ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 

Is the flex hose separate?

Is the flex hose separate from the pump itself, or does it all come together as one unit?

Just wanted to know as I'll be carrying this in my back pocket and not attached to the frame.
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the hose goes inside the pump body, what you get is what you see in the photo, you take out the rubber cap at the top, unscrew the hose, take it out and screw it to the tyre valve, then you screw the hose to the pump's lower end (as seen in the photo). At least I see that is the most comfortable way for me.
1 year ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

what is the max width of tyre on this bike? 700*35mm is fit?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have 35 mm tyres (Schwalbe Sammy Slick) and it works
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 HL-EL135 and TL-LD150 Light Set
HL-EL135 and TL-LD150 Light Set
Another great Cateye light set for commutes through town. Ideal for those dusky days and when the light fades after your hard day at work.
 

Does it have to flash?

Can I use the rear in 'constant-on' mode?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, there is constant on mode IIRC
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a very competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric and refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling short without compromise.
 

Are these shorts suitable for use for a triathlon?

I'm concerned that the chamois may get soaked in the swimming leg and then prove uncomfortable in the running leg.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I don't think it's worth it to wear something padded for a triathlon, unless you are doing a half-Ironman. I have run a sprint marathon in some cheap basketball compression shorts, and they looked the part. I could honestly not see much of a difference compared to some of the specialised triathlon clothing. You can swim with them, they are aerodinamic enough, they had no chafing and they were not see through. Also some nice support for the quads. But running with the padding in the aeron cycling shorts... I would not do it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Unbottle 3.0 Litre Reservoir - 2010
Unbottle 3.0 Litre Reservoir - 2010
An Insulated reservoir sleeve that adds 2 to 3 hours of hydration to any pack. The best selling, versatile Unbottle has been refreshed to further increase its usability.
 

Does this include the bladder and if so what are the dimensions

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, it includes the bladder. Sorry, I cannot really say about the dimensions, never used the bladder without the sleeve.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid