Mike78
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Mike78's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Mike78's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    31
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    18 August 2011
  • Last Review
    02 August 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review Comment
    06 September 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    05 March 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 May 2013
  • Last Question
    09 March 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    18 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    04 October 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
Mike78's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Kitchen-Crafted Performance - The original natural energy bar. Every Clif bar is packed with a healthy mix of whole grains, protein and fibre, but not with fat, perfect to keep you going whatever your activity.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted02 August 2017
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"They were so good, i had them as snacks when at home. They are very good."
Pros: Atractivo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to seal out the elements, the Fiandre No-Rain Bib Tights excel when the going gets tough. The extra protection from wind and rain will keep you on the road for longer. Winter gains = summer pains for your competitors!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Looks good but beware if you have short legs
Posted14 March 2017
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I went by the sizing guide, but the leg length was aproximately 5 cm longer than recommended. I was already pushing it going by the sizing guide. It was too long for me and I had to return the bib shorts."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As autumn and winter roll in the dhb Classic Windproof Softshell Jacket provides you all the windchill protection and warmth needed. An ideal addition to your layering system, this versatile softshell will keep you comfortable on the road for longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for the (Spanish) winter
Posted23 January 2017
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like softshell fabrics as outer layers for the winter. I got this jacket and used it three times so far. The sizing guide is correct, the fit is good (it is not too short, as other DHB winter tops I've tried in the past), the arms are plenty long, the elasticated cuffs don't let air through (but they don't strangle your arms), it is soft and comfortable inside, the back pockets are big, there is a zipped fourth pocket for valuables, the collar goes high, etc etc. I love this to bits and I want to get another one.
I wear this in the Madrid winter. The conditions are often windy, and the range of temperatures I have used it in is from 5 degrees centigrade to 10 degrees. It's fine for me with a thin technical (not really thermal) T-Shirt underneath. I'll try it this weekend in the mountains, I'll probably wear a thermal baselayer because the temperature can dip below 5 degrees, with terrible wind chill on the longer descents ."
Pros: Cómodo, Duradero, Buen ajuste, buen precio, Alta calidad, Versátil
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Respro Cinqro mask is focused on the 'urban trainer', the 'home runner' or the multi-sport athlete, where breathing rates are typically higher than your average commuter.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Works but...
Posted17 February 2015
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The fit and the choice of neopren for the outer shell are very poor.
IMHO this should be made with a lighter elastic material, and it should not just be held by a strap. It should be held with a wider bit of material at the back, maybe even the full with of the mask, so that it does not introduce shifting pressure points and moves the mask around.
I think this is a great idea but the execution is middling. My experience wearing this thing was rather unpleasant, but it has been just the one time. I will try to find a way to make myself an outer shell and keep the filters and valves."
Cons: Expensive, Unadjustable, Bulky, Poor Fit, uncomfortable
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They look and perform great
Posted16 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First thing is when unboxing it, the rubber feels much stickier than the Vittoria Rubinos I had on the bike. They feel more supple and their colour is a darker shade of black.
When fit on the bike, even though both tyres are 25c, the Contis look like they have a bit more volume than the Vittoria tyre. It was fairly easy to fit in.
I gave it a quick first spin, I think I might have a bit of a placebo effect here, but I feel a tiny bit of a better handling of the bike... I might be just imagining it though.
All in all, this looks brilliant and I am looking forward to plenty of miles with this tyre."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Selle Italia XO Flow Saddle with Alloy Rails
Selle Italia XO Flow Saddle with Alloy Rails
It adapts to the needs of dedicated cyclists, and also those who ride for recreation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great so far
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had some trouble on longer rides with my bike's stock saddle.
The fist long ride I did with this saddle was much better.
I notice some awkwardness of fit that might be due to me having chosen slightly too wide a saddle, but otherwise this works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Sammy Slick Folding MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Sammy Slick Folding MTB Tyre
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great for easy trails and urban use
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"much quicker and lighter than previous tyres.
I got these for my mum's bike, she noticed the difference to other big knobbly wire bead tyres immediately. These cost the same as the other slow heavy tyres."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Performance lycra cycling shorts for summer days out on the saddle. Featuring an 8 panel construction and a ProGel Seatpad for cushioning and comfort on long endurance training rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I got these as a gift
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got sizing advice from Wiggle, the fit was perfect.
A friend of mine just started to get into cycling and she had a bad case of saddle sores after a 3 hour ride. I asked her if she had any cycling shorts, she said she did not. I gave her these shorts and no more saddle soreness. The shorts look good too."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
An excellent value 6 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap... what more to say
Posted09 July 2013
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I am only a little bit concerned that the valve's little bit that you have to unscrew to let air in came loose. I thought it was my fault, but actually there is a limit to how far you can unscrew it in other tubes, and there is no limit in these lifeline tubes. so you have to be a little careful, that is all."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pump
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mike78
fromMadrid
Country : Spain
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had a few punctures in a row lately, and I carried two spare inner tubes. After breaking a valve and taking forever to inflate the tires, I decided to get a proper pump.
In my experience, if you have presta valve tires, you will either inflate too slowly for any meaningful pressure to build up, or if you pump quickly, you run the risk of destroying the valve.
This pump ticks all boxes. It has a hose, it is light, it fits in a jersey pocket, it is made of machined metal (looks durable) , it looks good. I only would wish it cost 5-10 euro less, but considering what I went through with other pumps, this one is worth it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Mike78's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
 RD-M410 Alivio Rear Derailleur
RD-M410 Alivio Rear Derailleur
Great value Alivio rear derailleur offering crisp performance on and off-road for 7 or 8-Speed drivetrains.
 

Is this compatible with a 7 speed Shimano Freewheel?

Right now the bike has got a Shimano Tourney rear derrailleur, and I want to upgrade for smoother shifting.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

Hub spacing for a new wheelset?

Should I get 130 mm hub wheels or 135 hub wheels?
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

What model is the front derrailleur?

I see you list 'Microshift' but there is more than one microshift front derrailleur.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
Individual quick release skewers for mountain bike wheels. With a laser etched Hope logo and a durable brass pivot surface, Hope skewers are the perfect finishing touch for a new custom build, or an attractive upgrade/replacement.
 

Boardman hybrid team

Would these skewers fit the dropout spacing in my bike?
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Mono Mini 2/4 (Saw) Rotor
Mono Mini 2/4 (Saw) Rotor
6 bolt IS Hope Rotor for use with Mono Mini and M4 brake systems
 

Can I use this with Avid Juicy 3 calipers?

What is the thickness of the rotor?
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Magura Storm SL Disc Brake Rotors
Magura Storm SL Disc Brake Rotors
The ultimate disc brake rotor - For the last 15 years Magura has been gaining experience in the development and production of disc brake rotors for the demanding off road use on mountain bikes.
 

Will these work in my Avid Juicy 3's?

I am looking into substituting the stock rotors. Any caveats?
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Crossride Disc 29er Wheelset
Crossride Disc 29er Wheelset
The Crossride 29er (disc) wheels are Mavic’s entry level wheels and provide great reliability and strength whatever the terrain. They Feature alloy rims, steel spokes, alloy hub bodies and QR’s making a versatile set of MTB wheels.
 

Would it be possible to use this wheelset with a Boardman Hybrid Team bike?

4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

Will the Mavic Crossride disc 29er front wheel be compatible?

I read that the axles are bolted 15 mm , so compatibility could be an issue and adapters are needed for some configurations. Would this front wheel be compatible with the Boardman? BTW, thanks for answering the question about the rear wheel.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
A 7 speed chain ideal for all types of bikes that run a 7 speed system.
 

Is this chain compatible with SRAM PG730 7 Speed Cassette?

Just wanted to check, because this chain came with a freehub system, and I want to change the back wheel to a 7 speed cassette system.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 dhb Mono Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Mono Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
The Mono Roubaix Jersey offers cycle specific performance and features at a brilliantly accessible price point. Suitable for those chilled Autumn and Spring rides.
 

My chest measures at 112 cm, I am 1,83 m tall and my build is large

What is the suitable size for me?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
Mike78's Answers
 
Quick release chain link suitable for use with KMC, Campagnolo, Shimano and SRAM 11 drive systems.
 

Is the 11 speed missing link reusable?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
In my experience, if you take care when opening and closing the link, they can be reused. YMMV.

I would not push it too much , after a few times of opening and closing.

YMMV, and if the chain pops open and hits the stays in your carbon frame, you would be out of a bike and out of warranty for the frame just for skimping a few $s .
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
The Respro Cinqro mask is focused on the 'urban trainer', the 'home runner' or the multi-sport athlete, where breathing rates are typically higher than your average commuter.
 

¿Lleva los filtros incluidos en la caja? It wear the filters included in box?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes, one of each type
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

23 or 25mm ?

Does anyone have any comments re 23 v 25mm both in general and for these tyres in particular ? I understand that in general the difference in rolling resistance is minimal so I am inclined to go with 25mm for extra stability ?
Cheers
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
In general the difference between 23c and 25c is unnoticeably more rolling resistance (more rubber = more rolling resistance), a tiny bit more aerodynamic resistance, and more air volume in the tyres. The extra volume will help coping with pot-holes and make the ride more comfy. The difference is very noticeable when you get to a 28c tyre
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 6 Pack
An excellent value 6 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 

Do these tubes have removable valves as I want to use valve extenders?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I think so, I managed to remove a valve before I knew what I was doing...
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 

What is the difference between the pressure drive, the alloy drive and HP pumps?

I am interested in the smallest one which still works for road bikes.
Thanks
Ed
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hello,

The pressure drive works for presta and Schrader valves. So it should work for road bikes. I don't know about the other models, sorry.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 

Is the flex hose separate?

Is the flex hose separate from the pump itself, or does it all come together as one unit?

Just wanted to know as I'll be carrying this in my back pocket and not attached to the frame.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the hose goes inside the pump body, what you get is what you see in the photo, you take out the rubber cap at the top, unscrew the hose, take it out and screw it to the tyre valve, then you screw the hose to the pump's lower end (as seen in the photo). At least I see that is the most comfortable way for me.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Hybrid Team
Hybrid Team
Sprinting from the lights, braking for the next set, cornering and weaving around the traffic, then it's out into the lanes pushing hard up the climbs and descending. The new efficient and controlled Hybrid Team takes it all in its stride.
 

what is the max width of tyre on this bike? 700*35mm is fit?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have 35 mm tyres (Schwalbe Sammy Slick) and it works
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 HL-EL135 and TL-LD150 Light Set
HL-EL135 and TL-LD150 Light Set
Another great Cateye light set for commutes through town. Ideal for those dusky days and when the light fades after your hard day at work.
 

Does it have to flash?

Can I use the rear in 'constant-on' mode?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, there is constant on mode IIRC
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 dhb Aeron Cycling Short 2013
dhb Aeron Cycling Short 2013
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a very competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric and refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling short without compromise.
 

Are these shorts suitable for use for a triathlon?

I'm concerned that the chamois may get soaked in the swimming leg and then prove uncomfortable in the running leg.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I don't think it's worth it to wear something padded for a triathlon, unless you are doing a half-Ironman. I have run a sprint marathon in some cheap basketball compression shorts, and they looked the part. I could honestly not see much of a difference compared to some of the specialised triathlon clothing. You can swim with them, they are aerodinamic enough, they had no chafing and they were not see through. Also some nice support for the quads. But running with the padding in the aeron cycling shorts... I would not do it.
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Mike78
Madrid
 
 Unbottle 3.0 Litre Reservoir - 2010
Unbottle 3.0 Litre Reservoir - 2010
An Insulated reservoir sleeve that adds 2 to 3 hours of hydration to any pack. The best selling, versatile Unbottle has been refreshed to further increase its usability.
 

Does this include the bladder and if so what are the dimensions

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, it includes the bladder. Sorry, I cannot really say about the dimensions, never used the bladder without the sleeve.
6 years, 1 month ago
by
Mike78
Madrid