sparky1967
Share sparky1967's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
sparky1967's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    09 August 2011
  • Last Review
    17 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    08 January 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    15 November 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    30 August 2011
  • Last Answer
    15 November 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
sparky1967's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Camelbak Podium 710ml Water Bottle
Camelbak Podium 710ml Water Bottle
The revolutionary Podium is the squeezable bottle for the 21st century.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great bottle
Posted17 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good bottle, as described and works well. Good flow of liquid when you need it and valve shuts off tightly with no leaks when you don't."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Cycling Shoe Footbeds (Insoles)
Northwave Cycling Shoe Footbeds (Insoles)
Northwave BioMap bike performance footbeds offer ultimate comfort and improved performance allowing the cyclist to keep the right foot position when pedaling. Three colour are available with each serving a different foot shape.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Didn't work for me
Posted18 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've suffered from severe foot cramps on rides over 50 miles for a while and finally decided it's time to do something about it as it's really spoiling my enjoyment of cycling. I've looked at several products and having read the reviews for these insoles thought they'd be worth a try. They were easy to trim to fit my shoes and fit perfectly but after a couple of 50 mile rides and a 40 miler today I'm sorry to report that they haven't worked for me. I was in a massive amount of pain by the time I got home today so I guess I'll have to consign these to the bin, revert back to my standard insoles that came with my shoes and look at other alternatives in the future."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, didn't work for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Xenon 2.0 WINDSTOPPER Softshell Gloves
Xenon 2.0 WINDSTOPPER Softshell Gloves
High performance full finger road cycling gloves with a slim, aerodynamic fit and a WINDSTOPPER softshell fabric back for and an extended wrist for full windchill coverage. A top quality piece for dedicated, year-round cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Another fantastic Gore product
Posted23 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I wanted and in between from my winter gloves and summer mitts and these fitted the bill perfectly. A little bit more than I wanted to pay but I've been happy with my other Gore purchases so I took the plunge.
I've worn them a few times now and they are brilliant. Padding in just the right places, keep hands warm but not too warm on colder days and I wore them last weekend when the temperature was quite warm just to see how they performed and my hands didn't get sweaty at all.
Great spring/autumn gloves."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit, breathable
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but.....
Posted16 March 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these whilst on offer and based on other reviews on the site. Basically, you get what you pay for. A good set of glasses for the money but they wont compete with the best. Optically OK but mark and scratch very easily (already had slight scratches when I received them). I'll be happy to gety a years useage out of them but for the money you can afford to replace them every year."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Grand Prix 4000s Tyres and Tubes Bundle
Grand Prix 4000s Tyres and Tubes Bundle
Versatile road tyres based on the Continental black chilli compound. With an ultra low rolling resistance and a Vectran Breaker Puncture resistant band, the Continental GP4000S is perfect your entire season on the roads. Supplied with 2 tyres and 5 tubes
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just buy them
Posted16 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I wrote in an earlier review about Conti Ultra Race tyres that I couldn't see why you'd pay more and to a point that still stands BUT I bought this bundle to go with a new set of wheels I bought and I can only say WOW, what a difference! Free rolling yet stick to the road like glue. Just completed a sportive in driving rain and rivers of water running down the road with people puncturing all around me. Got home and checked my tyres, not even a nick. Excellent value as part of this budle. Buy them."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good cassette at a good price
Posted16 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought as a direct replacement when my old one wore out. 105 is great kit at a competitive price point."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 No Excuses Sportive - Standard 2013
No Excuses Sportive - Standard 2013
We are offering an Extra 50 charity tickets for the sold out Wiggle No Excuses Sportive. The Original 1500 tickets were snapped up in days.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Ride
Posted15 November 2012
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Rode this last time (2012) and booked again for 2013 as soon as the ride was released. Well organised, great early season starter to get you going. Just hope the weather is a bit better next time!"
Pros: Great Value, very well organised
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Windslam Gilet is great for when the weather starts to turn cold. Wear the gilet over your long sleeve jersey to maintain your core body temperature in weather down to 10 degrees Celsius (depending on layering and ride intensity).
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Promised so much....
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm a big fan of DHB products as they represent excellent quality at an affordable price so when I decided to buy a Gilet it was almost a no brainer.
I carefully checked the size guide and according to the guide should be a large. Knowing the cycling mantra of ordering a size up, I ordered the XL. The product duly arrived in the usual speedy manner and I eagerly tried the gilet on only to find it so tight I couldn't breathe when fastened. I sent it back and ordered the XXL - biggest size available. Again delivery was very speedy and duly tried the next size bigger (2 sizes above what the size guide suggested) and again had to struggle to fasten the zip. Reluctantly had to send back again and now deciding what to order instead.
Just to clarify, I'm 42-43" chest - size guide shows large. According to the guide, XXL is 48" chest and was way too tight.
Such a shame as the quality of the product looked first class and if you can find one to fit I'm sure you won't be dissappointed."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit, size guide way out, don't make them big enough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for the money
Posted15 June 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've held off my review for a couple of months as I wanted to put these shorts through their paces before writing a review.
After a couple of months and several 60 mile and one 100 mile sportive later I have to say these shorts are nothing short of fantastic. Good fitting, supremely comfortable on the saddle and look good in an understated way.
The only downside is that they are starting to wear where the lycra rubs against the saddle - not bad but noticable.
Overall, for the money I doubt you can get better and would certainly buy again."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: long term durability?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Seriously fast tyre. Nimble and quick for the ambitious road racer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why pay more?
Posted06 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
sparky1967
fromStevenage, Herts
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've run a set of these for over a year now and have recently bought my second set.
These are not the cheapest tyres on the market but they're not far from it! I've ridden them all winter and through some pretty tought sportives where there have been people fixing punctures literally every few hundred meters. These Conti's have never let me down and have never punctured once - probably puncture next time out now!!
I'm sure the more expensive tyres have less rolling resitance and may be a bit lighter but at the end of the day I've never had to stop and fix a puncture which surely saves time over changing a tube??
Great value and to be honest I really can't see the point in paying more. Try them."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
sparky1967's Questions
 
sparky1967 has not submitted any questions.
 
sparky1967's Answers
 
This GPS-enabled cycling computer tracks time, distance, speed, location and calories burned. The Edge 200 is ideal for training, everyday and touring rides or any adventure you want to relive later at Garmin Connect™.
 

Does it have a countdown timer

Does this model have a countdown timer that repeats? I want to be able to set a timer to beep every 20 minutes to remidn me to eat on the bike.
Yes, though the timer is not visible. You can set it to sound an alert at pre-determined events such as time, distance, etc. I set mine for every 45 minutes to remind me to take a gel.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
sparky1967
Stevenage, Herts
 
This GPS-enabled cycling computer tracks time, distance, speed, location and calories burned. The Edge 200 is ideal for training, everyday and touring rides or any adventure you want to relive later at Garmin Connect™.
 

Is the courses feature suitable for long distances? Europe friendly?

Would this be good for putting a lot of long routes in, I am planning on going away soon and would like to plan some routes so say 10 lots of 80 mile routes?
Is it also Europe friendly, does it have inbuilt maps? If so what?
Thanks
You plan your routes on Garmin Connect website and upload them to your device. Please note - this device does not have mapping, merely a line drawing that you follow. I'm not sure about Europe but I don't see why not as you plan your routes via the website. You won't have any issue with uploading 10x 80 mile rides though
1 year, 11 months ago
by
sparky1967
Stevenage, Herts
 
This GPS-enabled cycling computer tracks time, distance, speed, location and calories burned. The Edge 200 is ideal for training, everyday and touring rides or any adventure you want to relive later at Garmin Connect™.
 

Does it let you race against the computer?

I have herd on the other models that there is a function that allows the user to race aginst a time on any courses you want. Does this model show 2 men racing against each other on the screen?
It does allow you to pace yourself against a virtual partner. This has to be set on the Garmin Connect website by adjusting average speed on the course parameters
1 year, 11 months ago
by
sparky1967
Stevenage, Herts
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Sizing question..

hey, im 6ft 1" but a 33 waist.. if i go by my waist size i would be a med but if i go by my height i'd be a large.. whats the best option?
I'm 6'1" but 34 waist and chunky thighs. Large fits me perfectly - Medium may be too small for you in body length.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
sparky1967
Stevenage, Herts
 
 BMP-15 WindRush Mini Pump 2011
BMP-15 WindRush Mini Pump 2011
A lightweight pump inflating upto 7 bar/100 psi. Ideal for the back pocket.
 

Presta

Does this pump work with Presta Valves?
Yes
3 years, 1 month ago
by
sparky1967
Stevenage, Herts
 
 Mini Master Blaster Pump with Gauge
Mini Master Blaster Pump with Gauge
A powerful multi purpose dual action mini pump includes an in-line guage.
 

How do I fit this pump to my bike?

For the Topeak Master Blaster Mini Pump With Gauge, does this product mount onto the water bottle fixtures (two little holes)? I have no regular size tubing so that's the only place it would go. Many thanks if you can tell me!

Charles
It comes with a bracket that fits to the water bottle fixtures and sits quite happily between the frame and a bottle cage.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
sparky1967
Stevenage, Herts