BikerChris
Share BikerChris's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BikerChris's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    12 August 2011
  • Last Review
    17 April 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    12 August 2011
  • Last Answer
    29 January 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
BikerChris's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Topeak Fixer F33 Bracket for Saddle Wedge Bags
Topeak Fixer F33 Bracket for Saddle Wedge Bags
Wedge pack fixer for heavy duty spring style saddles. Allows quick and secure attachment of Topeak Wedge Bags.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted17 April 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Super easy to fit, and tucks the bag tightly under the saddle, but not so much as to feel it under your backside!"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Mini 9 Pro 9 Function Multi Tool
Topeak Mini 9 Pro 9 Function Multi Tool
The Mini 9 Pro features 9 precision tools folded into a sleek, machined body.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant tool for taking out on the road
Posted25 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's tiny!, but perfectly formed. Comes with a tough little pouch to put it in that will keep it clean and dry all the time.
I went for the gold colour so that I hopefully could easily find it and never lose it!
Definitely recommended, a bit cheaper would be have been even better.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Aero Wedge (Clip On) Medium Saddle Bag
Topeak Aero Wedge (Clip On) Medium Saddle Bag
A sleek, lightweight aero shaped wedge pack with the easy to use Topeak quick-release mounting system.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Flawed but worth buying
Posted21 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Don't get me wrong by the tile of my review, this is a good solid product that I can see I will be using for many years, and I love making my pockets a bit lighter by stowing the spare tube, CO2, levers and so on in the bag.
BUT, I think Topeak have screwed up on some of the finer details..
1) Zip finishes at the bottom, leaving me paranoid that it is perfectly closed, not a cm open and levers etc falling out. Why not have two zips to finish at top, or be able to clip the zip shut with a press stud?
2) I think it comes up smaller in reality than the dimensions suggest. beware.
3) The clip to attach the bag on to the saddle post mounted bracket (purchased separately) is too easy. Yes, the bag will never just fall off, it is secure in that sense. but the clip is way too easy to release - I'm paranoid in heavy traffic or at lights that someone could be away with my saddle bag and all its contents without me even knowing. The clip should need a lot more effort to release it.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Versatile, wont fall off
Cons: Not Enough Features, too easy for a thieve to steal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Quality Road Long Valve Inner Tube
Continental Quality Road Long Valve Inner Tube
The Continental quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Mine were faulty...
Posted21 March 2013
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nice easy tube to fit and feels strong. But I had the bad luck to be getting mine from what must have been a faulty batch as 2 failed in quick succession - within 3 miles! The rubber tore at the join between the valve and the tube.
Wiggle as usual are brilliant in organising refunds...
"
Cons: Low Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
NEW Compact performance light, very powerful unit with "infinite light" feature: Ideal for serious MTB and Road cycling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Amazing & Brilliant......when it works....
Posted02 February 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First reaction to seeing this light working out on the road at night is a big WOW! So bright, so visible, and car drivers just give you so much room because I think they can't work out quite what the light is coming from!
But as another reviewer wrote, after one use the on/off button stopped working on my unit. I was so disappointed that such a great product had such a weak component.
Full credit to Wiggle for replacing it, and I now look forward to my replacement unit hopefully lasting a bit longer! - i don't ever want to ride on a dull day or at night without this light again.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Coloured Balaclava
dhb Coloured Balaclava
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fabulous for those colder days
Posted29 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I love this balaclava. It's a really soft and comfortable material. I can't wear hats and the like 'cause I quickly get an itchy head from the retained heat, but this seems to breathe at the same time as keeping my head cosy warm on a cold day ride. For me it works perfectly to keep my head warm from about -3 degree C upward.
As other reviewers said, you can breathe pretty easy through the material from your mouth, and it pulls down easily for a moment to have a drink.
The neck piece is nice and long to properly tuck in to jackets etc, without feeling bulky round the neck.
I hope it lasts well and doesn't lose it's performance after a wash or two.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Bar Xtender Handlebar Extension
Topeak Bar Xtender Handlebar Extension
Gain more room on your handlebars or find the perfect position for lights, computers and other accessories with this versatile design.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great product, but flawed
Posted29 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i wanted to get my front lights higher than the bars so that cables were not in the way and to get them just that bit more at car driver eye level. For this the bar works excellently, and, on my road bike at least, also creates more space for bell, lights and computer in what is a small area.
But.... while that hollow in the T piece gives great flexibility to move the bar left or right, Topeak urgently need to redesign it. The gap each side is so large, it shrinks the diameter by 3 or 4mm and makes it more of a square than a round, which in turn gives problems getting accessories to clamp on well, and any padding pieces you use just sink in to the hollow!
"
Pros: Adjustable, Versatile
Cons: poor design
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental GatorSkin Road Wire Bead Tyre
Continental GatorSkin Road Wire Bead Tyre
The GatorSkin is the ultimate wire bead training & racing tyre where puncture protection is priority. Using the latest technology against flats the GatorSkin range uses an aramid breaker and Duraskin® sidewall ProTection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Outstanding Tyres for all purposes
Posted13 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"On to my 2nd pair of these, got about 2,000+ miles from the first pair before the wear level had me wondering if with winter coming on I might be wise to buy a fresh pair.
They roll beautifully, have loads of grip in all conditions. I even go out on tracks with friends with mountain bikes, and its not me that gets punctures all day long!!
I'd never use anything else for general road riding.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Rider Heart Rate Monitor Belt
Rider Heart Rate Monitor Belt
Heart rate monitor belt designed for use with the Bryton Rider 30 and 50 GPS cycle computers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works great and comfortable
Posted05 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to pair with my Bryton 50, and it works well every time.
It has to be put on pretty tight, but you've forgotten it's there within seconds.
Make sure to follow the instructions about where to where it, how to affix the reader to the belt, and how to wet the 2 conductor points on the inside of the belt before wearing. Also, do pop the reader off the belt before storing, as if left on it can go flat.
I'd buy another, but you only need 1 !!
"
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: could be slimmer fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Discrete safety whichever direction you're looking in, the convex Z Eye mirror attaches to any helmet quickly and easily.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Worth the appearance!!
Posted04 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
BikerChris
fromCanterbury, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I know these don't look cool hanging off the helmet!, but having now tried one my advice is to get over it. yes the mirror is tiny, and of course it vibrates as you ride along, but something like this can never be the big field of view and steady that you get from a car wing mirror!
I've found it invaluable when I need to pull away from the kerb to pass a parked vehicle or avoid a pot hole or make a right turn - i can see what is coming behind me as i plan ahead without having to turn to look over my shoulder and inevitably wobble or drift.
It doesn't replace that final lifesaver look over a shoulder for a right turn, but I'm finding it invaluable.
I always put practicality and safety over appearance, personally I value my life over looks - if you are the same, then buy it. If you are not, then you probably need to assess your priorities!! Buy it....
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, lifesaver
Cons: Unattractive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
BikerChris's Questions
 
BikerChris has not submitted any questions.
 
BikerChris's Answers
 
 dhb Coloured Balaclava
dhb Coloured Balaclava
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 

This or the skull cap ?

i was wondering what would be better to keep my ears warm, this or the skull cap ? and is this got a inner fleece ?

thanks
For me I'd say this, not the skull cap. If it's cold enough to need to keep the ears warm, then it's cold enough to want to keep your neck warm too?, and to stop chills down your jacket collar?
No lining, but it really doesn't need it either. It needs to work but fit so well and unobtrusively that you forget you are wearing it - this does exactly that for me.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
BikerChris
Canterbury, Kent
 
 Topeak Bar Xtender Handlebar Extension
Topeak Bar Xtender Handlebar Extension
Gain more room on your handlebars or find the perfect position for lights, computers and other accessories with this versatile design.
 

Dimensions

Please can you explain the dimensions. 1) What is the length along the top of the bar (horizontal in the picture shown) 2) What is the distance from the center of the handlebar clamp to the center of the horizontal bar. Thanks.
Best answer
1) 95mm
2) About 110mm, but as the middle of the stem is a flexible joint, the stem can for example, first go vertical up from the bars, then forward at 45 degree to reach out above cables.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
BikerChris
Canterbury, Kent
 
 Rider Heart Rate Monitor Belt
Rider Heart Rate Monitor Belt
Heart rate monitor belt designed for use with the Bryton Rider 30 and 50 GPS cycle computers.
 

How is this heart rate monitor powered/charged? Is it universally charged, that is with a battery to use in Australia?

Do I require to buy an Australian electrical adaptor.
It's a small flat Lithium battery inside that will last forever unless you flatten it by storing the belt with the monitor attached and the 2 contact points of the belt touching each other. I did that once, and changing the battery for a new one was easy.
The battery is like those in some watches, calculators etc, available for small change everywhere.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
BikerChris
Canterbury, Kent
 
 Topeak Lineup Bike Stand
Topeak Lineup Bike Stand
Compact, folding stand for storing or displaying bikes. A spring loaded arm holds front or rear wheel securely.
 

Is this a good stand for bike maintenance also?

ie. Can you spin the back wheel freely to work on your gears?
No, it's not a maintenance stand. But it is brilliant as a either a permanent stand, or a travel stand when you take you bike out in the car.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
BikerChris
Canterbury, Kent
 
 Topeak Lineup Bike Stand
Topeak Lineup Bike Stand
Compact, folding stand for storing or displaying bikes. A spring loaded arm holds front or rear wheel securely.
 

maintance

please can you advise how the front/rear wheel fixes into this, also does it lift the front/rear wheel off the ground, and can the wheel be spun around for maintance once the wheel is in the stand
Rear wheel just drops in and holds firm. Rear wheel will be slightly off the ground as it is sitting in the stand, but only an inch. No it can't be spun, this isn't a maintenance stand.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
BikerChris