BigMadDavey
Share BigMadDavey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BigMadDavey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    27 July 2013
  • Last Review
    30 April 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    05 April 2013
  • Last Question
    25 April 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    11 May 2014
  • Last Answer
    30 April 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BigMadDavey's Reviews
 
For weight conscious roadies, here's 55gms of pocket-sized pumping punch.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant Little Pump
Posted30 April 2015
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
Interest : Road Cyclist
Gender : Male
"Great little pump, easy to use, ease to engage on valve, lightweight, good quality and capable of inflating a road tyre to 100+psi. Worth the money and I will definately be buying another for the wifes bike."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Racing Zero Nite wheelset is new to the Fulcrum range & boasts a brand new, hard wearing Plasma braking surface as well as ceramic bearings, carbon hubs & differentiated rim heights. These wheels deliver high-end performance weighing in at 1420g.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light, stiff, smooth and look good.
Posted19 April 2015
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
Interest : Road Cyclist
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is my second set of Racing Zeros and I really like them. They're light, stiff, run smooth and look really good. Also the bearings etc in them are really easy to adjust and service.
These Zero night versions come with their own pads to complement the special braking surface, which despite squealling for the first 100-150k, seem to work great.
Also got a price match from Wiggle on these, so really happy with the price and service too."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Miler Singlet (Team) - HO14
Nike Miler Singlet (Team) - HO14
Offering strategic ventilation for breathability where runners need it most, the Nike Miler Team Men's Running Singlet is a distraction-free essential that's ultra light in weight.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Nipple rash - material not the smoothest.
Posted01 March 2015
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
"Wore once for a 25k run, 10k in an nipples were aching. Would have expected better quality from Nike, as I have a lot of their stuff and always happy with it.
Fine for the gym, but not recommended for medium to long runs."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Dri-Fit 360 Headband - FA14
Nike Dri-Fit 360 Headband - FA14
The Nike Dri-Fit 360 Headband is functional as well as stylish. Dri-Fit technology will keep you cool, dry and comfortable so you can push yourself even further.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice quality
Posted19 October 2014
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
"Nice quality headband with fairly low profile seam."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Slip-on crono gloves in printed Lycra. The glove features an anti-slip silicone material on the palm and a medium padding for comfort and shock absorption.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Comfortable, stylish but poor quality
Posted05 October 2014
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
"Bit of squeeze to get on, but were comfortable and looked good. However after only one ride the stitching had parted in two places.
Better quality available elsewhere for the money.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As the benchmark in mid level bibshorts, the Velocissimo Due leads the way in styling, function and quality. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost. Prepare for victory!
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good but not outstanding
Posted27 July 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
"Was bought these as a present. When i first opened them, was worried they would be too small, as had read a lot of stuff online about Castelli sizing. I'm 6ft, 33inch waist and 88kg (apologies for mixing metric/imperial) and had assumed i would need an XL, however the Large i was bought, whilst beign tight to get on have actually proven to be extremely comfy when in use (though toilet stops are a bit of a challenge).
My real main concern though is the quality of them , the round red Castelli badges on the shorts had started to fall off after one ride and after the first wash (as per the instructions) the ones remaining had shrivelled and i had to pull them off. Also some loose threads, for the price i would have expected better.
The other thing currently putting me off buying any other Castelli kit, is that seemingly every on with a bike at the moment is wearing Castelli stuff.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, everyone wearing castelli
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Road Superlight Inner Tube
Road Superlight Inner Tube
Manufactured from completely new materials, Eclipse inner tubes are not only lighter than anything else on the market but they also offer massively improved puncture resistance over conventional tubes too.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sceptical at first, but now convinced.
Posted27 July 2013
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
"Was sceptical at first, paying over £40 for an inner tube, seemed ridiculous. However once fitted my bike felt instantaneously different, faster and more willing to accelerate.
They lasted 2weeks of hard riding in the Pyrenees with no punctures which just further convinced. I have admittedly had one puncture, but what ever caused that ripped a hole in my tyre as well, so not unreasonable that the tube would go (though has been subsequently replaced).
If you can stomach the price, then go for it.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BigMadDavey's Questions
1 2 >>>
 
The Racing Zero Nite wheelset is new to the Fulcrum range & boasts a brand new, hard wearing Plasma braking surface as well as ceramic bearings, carbon hubs & differentiated rim heights. These wheels deliver high-end performance weighing in at 1420g.
 

Replacement Brake Pads

Can you please let me know the specification and how I can order additional pads to suit these wheels?

Thanks
3 weeks, 6 days ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
This simple kit will convert a Hope Pro 2 rear QR hub to either, by choice, 10mm Thru, 12mm Thru, or X12 Thru Kit.
 

Will this suit 11spd Shimano freehub?

I have Hope Pro II hubs on my road bike, with 11spd shimano freeehub will the QR version suit?
4 months, 1 week ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
The Garmin Forerunner 920XT with HRM enables you to elevate your training. Sleek and light, the 920XT transitions between sports at the press of a button. This multi sport watch bundle enable you to record distance, pace, stroke type, and more.
 

What HRM is included?

Does this include the new HRM-Run, which measures run metrics as well as HR?
7 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
The Garmin Forerunner 920XT with HRM enables you to elevate your training. Sleek and light, the 920XT transitions between sports at the press of a button. This multi sport watch bundle enable you to record distance, pace, stroke type, and more.
 

Why are UK buyers having to pay such a premium for this product?

It is available in the US direct from Garmin for $450 (aprox' £280).
7 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
The Zone3 Swim Skin suit has been developed in conjunction with top Ironman athletes who are looking for that extra support and reduced drag. These are perfect for non-wetsuit swims, or Aquathlons.
 

WTA legal?

Is this legal for wta events??
8 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
 Oakley Ladies Radar Edge Sunglasses
Oakley Ladies Radar Edge Sunglasses
Stellar performance, streamlined design: giving athletes an extra edge over the competition. The latest addition to our popular toric shield series has a more rounded frame for even better coverage. Beautiful and hard working.
 

Do these come with multiple lenses included??

If so what lenses??
9 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
 Geax Pit Stop Tyre Sealant Kit
Geax Pit Stop Tyre Sealant Kit
Repairs and inflates a 26 x 2.00 tyre from 0 to 2.2 bar in just 30 seconds!
 

Is this suitable for 700cc Road tyres?

Is this suitable for 700cc Road tyres?
10 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
The Park Tool Head Cup Remover makes headset cup removal easy. The tool is pulled through the frame until the flared ends snap in behind the cup. A blow on the tool head removes the cup.
 

Can this be used to remove a Shimano (24mm) press fit bottom bracket?

Can this be used to remove a Shimano (24mm) press fit bottom bracket?
11 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
State of the art Di2 electronic technology for instant, accurate shifts every time, at the push of a button. Now 11-speed compatible, with enhanced feedback and improved ergonomics for easier access to the shift buttons on top of the the hoods.
 

Will these work with a Ultegtra 6870 11spd Rear Derailleur?

1 year ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
 Elite V-Arion Parabolic Inertial Rollers
Elite V-Arion Parabolic Inertial Rollers
First roller with integrated resistance unit. Fitted inside the rear roller, the adjustable inertial resistance unit offers two resistance levels including a zero-load.
 

Weight?

Do you have a rough idea of how much this weighs please? Just considering how portable it would be
1 year, 2 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
BigMadDavey's Answers
 
As the benchmark in mid level bibshorts, the Velocissimo Due leads the way in styling, function and quality. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost. Prepare for victory!
 

6'2, 36" waist - what size to go for ?

I stopped cycling for a year (changed jobs and used to cycle 100 miles a week) and managed to put on two stone, so currently have a 36" waist but hoping to go down to a 34".

So what would people recommend for a size ?

I'm guess XL or XXL ?
I would suggest you are on the border of the two sizes. If you are happy with a tight, racing type fit I would say an XL would work, but if you want to play it more safe then go for th XXL.
3 weeks, 1 day ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
The Racing Zero Nite wheelset is new to the Fulcrum range & boasts a brand new, hard wearing Plasma braking surface as well as ceramic bearings, carbon hubs & differentiated rim heights. These wheels deliver high-end performance weighing in at 1420g.
 

Does the free hub body come attached to the rear wheel?

Yes, it does.
1 month ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
State of the art Di2 electronic technology for instant, accurate shifts every time, at the push of a button. Now 11-speed compatible, with enhanced feedback and improved ergonomics for easier access to the shift buttons on top of the the hoods.
 

Will these levers work with my Dura-Ace 7900 (cabled) brake calibers or must I upgrade them to the 9070 too?

Should do yes.
7 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
State of the art Di2 electronic technology for instant, accurate shifts every time, at the push of a button. Now 11-speed compatible, with enhanced feedback and improved ergonomics for easier access to the shift buttons on top of the the hoods.
 

Shimano 6870 Di2 Compatibility with 9070 Wiring

I am swapping out my Shimano 6870 Di2 10-speed Groupset for the Shimano Dura Ace 9070 Di2 11-speed Groupset.

Will the internal wiring of my 10 speed Shimano Ultegra 6870 Di2 Groupset need to be swapped out too?
The wiring on my (now) 9070 equipped bike was originally used with 6870, so I wouldn't foresee any problems.
7 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
As the benchmark in mid level bibshorts, the Velocissimo Due leads the way in styling, function and quality. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost. Prepare for victory!
 

Another size question - 5ft 11in

Hi - help with size please.
Height 5ft 11in (180cm), waist 32in (82cm), hips 37in (94cm), chest 37in (94cm). thighs 21.5in (55cm)
Thanks
Very similar to me and I wear a large, which is tight but very comfortable.
7 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
State of the art Di2 electronic technology for instant, accurate shifts every time, at the push of a button. Now 11-speed compatible, with enhanced feedback and improved ergonomics for easier access to the shift buttons on top of the the hoods.
 

Will these work with a Ultegtra 6870 11spd Rear Derailleur?

I have fitted these with a full 6870 and can confirm categorically that these are fully compatible.
1 year ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland