BigMadDavey
Share BigMadDavey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BigMadDavey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    27 July 2013
  • Last Review
    27 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    05 April 2013
  • Last Question
    13 March 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    None
  • Last Answer
    None
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BigMadDavey's Reviews
 
As the benchmark in mid level bibshorts, the Velocissimo Due leads the way in styling, function and quality. An everyday short that stands up against competition way above its cost.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good but not outstanding
Posted27 July 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
"Was bought these as a present. When i first opened them, was worried they would be too small, as had read a lot of stuff online about Castelli sizing. I'm 6ft, 33inch waist and 88kg (apologies for mixing metric/imperial) and had assumed i would need an XL, however the Large i was bought, whilst beign tight to get on have actually proven to be extremely comfy when in use (though toilet stops are a bit of a challenge).
My real main concern though is the quality of them , the round red Castelli badges on the shorts had started to fall off after one ride and after the first wash (as per the instructions) the ones remaining had shrivelled and i had to pull them off. Also some loose threads, for the price i would have expected better.
The other thing currently putting me off buying any other Castelli kit, is that seemingly every on with a bike at the moment is wearing Castelli stuff.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, everyone wearing castelli
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Manufactured from completely new materials, Eclipse inner tubes are not only lighter than anything else on the market but they also offer massively improved puncture resistance over conventional tubes too.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sceptical at first, but now convinced.
Posted27 July 2013
BigMadDavey
fromScotland
"Was sceptical at first, paying over £40 for an inner tube, seemed ridiculous. However once fitted my bike felt instantaneously different, faster and more willing to accelerate.
They lasted 2weeks of hard riding in the Pyrenees with no punctures which just further convinced. I have admittedly had one puncture, but what ever caused that ripped a hole in my tyre as well, so not unreasonable that the tube would go (though has been subsequently replaced).
If you can stomach the price, then go for it.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BigMadDavey's Questions
 
First roller with integrated resistance unit. Fitted inside the rear roller, the adjustable inertial resistance unit offers two resistance levels including a zero-load.
 

Weight?

Do you have a rough idea of how much this weighs please? Just considering how portable it would be
1 month ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
The new SRAM RED Powerdome X 11 speed cassette is the most advanced cassette ever made. It‘s super light, deadly silent, and delivers an undeniable performance advantage.
 

Will this cassette work with a Dura Ace 11-speed groupset?

1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
Ceramic BB30 cartridge bearing for K-Force Light, Vision Tri-Max Carbon or BB30 chainset.
 

Can I use this to replace my Shimano BB71-41 PF BB?

Can I use this to replace my Shimano BB71-41 PF BB, so that I can fit an FSA Chainset?
11 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
Lightweight Hi-Modulus Monocoque carbon frame and fork with attractive lines make this Italian thoroughbred almost irresistible to look at. This bike is much more than and "entry level" bike, the R838 is elegant and built with top quality cycling brands.
 

Can you please suggest a size?

Height: 161cm
Inseem:78
Shoulder:36
Arm:57
Torso: 54

Thanks
11 months ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
 SL-K Light BB30 Compact Chainset 2011
SL-K Light BB30 Compact Chainset 2011
The SL-K Light carbon fibre chainset is manufactured using the same hollow carbon molding process FSA pioneered with their K-Force Light crankset.
 

What BB do I need

My bike is currently fitted with a Shimano press fit bb71-41, what BB would i need to run this chain set?
1 year ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
With this wheelset you are reaching the pinnacle of Mavic’s Carbon aero range. An 80mm full carbon deep-section rim, CX01 blades, aero flanged hubs, and Mavic’s Griplink/Powerlink tyres makes for an extremely aero set of wheels that are incredibly light.
 

Do these wheels include tyres?

1 year ago
by
BigMadDavey
Scotland
 
BigMadDavey's Answers
 
BigMadDavey has not submitted any answers.