mitche56
Share mitche56's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mitche56's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    12 September 2012
  • Last Review
    12 September 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    12 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    12 September 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
mitche56's Reviews
 
 Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good functional product, reasonably hard wearing
Posted12 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mitche56
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've gone through a few sets of these. I can't stand still on the bike so have to take my feet out whenever I have to stop, hence they get a bit more wear and tear on them than I suspect those who don't. Having said that though they have lasted a while and I don't really expect anything over and over that durability given the circumstances. Because I tend to takje my right foot out, after a while I just swap the right and the left to even out the wear and make them last longer. They are easy to fit and adjust."
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
An OK light weight non fleecy warmer
Posted12 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
mitche56
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have a fleecy set of leg warmers and was after a light weight non fleecy if only to stay a bit warmer without getting too hot in fleecy ones. They absolutely do the job. Having a zip at the back would help getting them on and off but they do stretch and haven't had too many problems otherwise."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
The anatomic dhb Vaeon Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Look good but slip down slightly after a while
Posted12 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
mitche56
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought the blue arm warmers to go with my mostly blue outfits. The warmers are easy to get on andf off. I don't have large upper arms and tend to find they slip down a little from the top exposing bare skin to the elements. I find I have to pull them up over the sleeve of my top in order to keep them in place, but otehrwise even on cold mornings they keep the wind and most of the cold out making riding a bit more pleasurable in such conditions."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Durano Plus Performance Folding Road Tyre 2014
Schwalbe Durano Plus Performance Folding Road Tyre 2014
Maximum puncture protection for race machines!
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Had too many punctures to recommend this product
Posted12 September 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
mitche56
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought the Durano plus as a replacement to the Stelvios I had previously, but have been disappointed in the durability of the tyre. Even though this tyre has the added puncture protection I've found you still get punctures and the tyre itself has many and some quite deep cuts. I ride to work on a regular basis and do a longer ride on the weekend. While they roll OK, I don't think they are as quick as the previoous Stelvios which are admittedly a slick by comparison. Tyre has been good in the wet as is does have the slight tread on the outside of the tyre. Also easy to get on and off the wheel when changing tubes. I've had a bit of practice !!!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
Cons: not durable, punctures too easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Easton Cork Bar Tape
Easton Cork Bar Tape
The finishing touch, comfortable padded tape with Easton logos on the surface and on end plugs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Complete bar tape package at reasonable price.
Posted12 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mitche56
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've beeen riding with this bar tape now for over 12 months and it has hardly worn. I'm a regular commuter to work and a weekend warrior so the tape has worn well over that period. I bought white tape and except for it now looking grey from the dirt, it is still in good nick physically.
It is easy to fit and has held in the overlap position since I fitted it myself. Bar plugs hasve also stayed on.
The additional padding strips also add extra value and make the bar very comfortable.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Selle Italia C2 Gelflow Saddle
Selle Italia C2 Gelflow Saddle
On the road or on rough ground, the C2 represents an ideal compomise between lightness and high levels of comfort.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent saddle, comfortable
Posted12 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
mitche56
fromMelbourne VIC, Australia
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've only just fitted the saddle to my bike in the last week or so and have ridden with it both on short (20kms) commutes to work and longer (60km) rides over the weekend. It immediately felt comfortable from the first moment I sat on it. It was certainly better fitting being smaller in width and slightly longer from what I had been sitting on for the last 6 years.
I tend to ride holding the handle bars low down and the extra length in the saddle gives me slightly more positions up and down the saddle to work with.
I need to do an even longer ride but my first impressions at the moment are it is a worthwhile saddle to sit on, and at a very reasonable price.
I've only rated the performance good rather than excellent as I haven't ridden on it for a long enough period.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mitche56's Questions
 
mitche56 has not submitted any questions.
 
mitche56's Answers
 
 Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

Do these cleats fit of to Shimano R087 SPD SL Cycling Shoes

Can't see why not. I have an old pair of R098 SPD SL shoes and with the yellow version they fit just fine.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
mitche56
Melbourne VIC, Australia
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
The anatomic dhb Vaeon Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 

Are these sold as a pair or singularly?

They came as a pair when I bought mine
2 years, 2 months ago
by
mitche56
Melbourne VIC, Australia
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Arm Warmers
The anatomic dhb Vaeon Arm Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 

Do these have a fleece type layer?

Some of the past dhb have been simply a lycra layer and other have had a proper fleecy sort of layer that keeps you warmer. The previous versions were the rubaix and earnley if I remember correctly.
NO. I was looking for something similar but the product description didn't cover it. Having said that, they are not too bad on a cold Melbourne morning.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
mitche56
Melbourne VIC, Australia
 
 Easton Cork Bar Tape
Easton Cork Bar Tape
The finishing touch, comfortable padded tape with Easton logos on the surface and on end plugs.
 

is this stuff adhesive backed or low tack

The tape has a small sticky line along its legth less than 5mm in width. So long as you fit it well and overlap properly, the tape will hold well. I've had mine on for over 12 months and there has been no slippage at all.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
mitche56
Melbourne VIC, Australia
 
 Easton Cork Bar Tape
Easton Cork Bar Tape
The finishing touch, comfortable padded tape with Easton logos on the surface and on end plugs.
 

Is the blue a Navy blue??

No, its a mid blue colour.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
mitche56
Melbourne VIC, Australia
 
 Selle Italia C2 Gelflow Saddle
Selle Italia C2 Gelflow Saddle
On the road or on rough ground, the C2 represents an ideal compomise between lightness and high levels of comfort.
 

Selle Italia C2 Gelflow Saddle - Red, can these be ordered?

Hi,

I'm interested in the Red Selle Italia C2 Gelflow Saddle, however you have none in stock. Can this be ordered for delivery to Australia? Thank you, Shariff.
Hi Shariff. I've just received the same saddle (white) and am resident in Melbourne. It will be worth the wait.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
mitche56
Melbourne VIC, Australia