ComradeSpear
Share ComradeSpear's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
ComradeSpear's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    10 January 2012
  • Last Review
    15 February 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    15 November 2012
  • Last Question
    15 November 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    07 February 2012
  • Last Answer
    13 February 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
ComradeSpear's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Fibre Flare Micro Flare Duo Combo Set
Fibre Flare Micro Flare Duo Combo Set
The Micro Flare Duo Combo Set contains a Red Micro Flare Single and a White Micro Flare Duo which are portable self contained safety devices that have flexible solid core side emitting fibre optic elements interposed between two electronic housing ends.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice idea for lights but needs refining
Posted15 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I got these lights because I wanted something different and easy to swap between two bikes.
I’ve used these lights a couple of times on my MTB & Road bikes in early morning rides. Two toggle modes for flashing and static light which can be activated via a flushed button.
I mounted these lights on the fork and A-Frame of both bikes. The latching system is a bit annoying to set up but once done the lights are held firm. The lights are bulkier than I initially imagined too.
I guess you can put the lights in so many different places on the bike but really you need to factor in protruding cables, ease of access/removal of the rubber straps and on/off buttons.
They’re not as flexible as I thought they would be; in fact, I would recommend that you don’t bend them too much as look like they’ll snap. The package comes with batteries (6 in total – CR 2035)
The lights can be clearly seen from a distance but you can’t use them for shining paths... they’re more “watch out, I am here” lights.
I haven’t latched them onto clothing items or the helmet but I reckon it’s possible."
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Bulky
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Mens Hybrid Long Sleeve Crew Neck Top SS11
Mens Hybrid Long Sleeve Crew Neck Top SS11
Hybrid uses seamless technology to provide optimal comfort during aerobic activity in cool to cold weather.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not bad but
Posted13 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've worn this top a number of times. The fit is comfortable ( I ordered M/L size). The arms are a bit long though and I am average height. One of issue I have with this stop is the Odour factor: Washing it still doesn't get rid of the odour. I don't notice this problem with my other garments. Dissipates sweat well and keeps you warm overall."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: odour retention
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chevron Air is aimed at the rider who has the highest aspirations in cycling. The slim, performance form fit jersey with discreet mesh breather panels allows for ventilation and comfort so that you can focus on getting the most out of your ride.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A great top for comfort and style
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got the Med size as I am 176cm/79Kg/33” waist and 91cm chest and the top fits snugly.
It’s comfortable to wear and the zip is good quality - It doesn’t unzip by itself. Plenty of storage with good pocket depth. There are four in total: 3 open pockets and a small zipped pocket for nic nacs. Of the three open pockets, the middle one, is covered for more secure storage.
The chevron design looks good and if you wear this top with a vest then it tends to soak with sweat. Without a vest or jacket then it’s not a problem. The collar doesn’t stay erect if not fully zipped which is the only minor annoyance I can report. It’s not too long at the back so you won’t look like a penguin on wheels!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Arm Warmers
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Arm Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Arm Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good arm warmers
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've had other arm warmers in the past but these are the most comfortable to wear. They’re not very thick and I think they’re only meant fresh morning/night rides.
I got the medium size and they fit snugly. My biceps are about 13-14” and I have no trouble wearing them and keeping them on without slipping. The silicon rubber at the top is comfortable but I found the wrist elastics a bit tight.
Nice design overall, light weight and highly packable."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Get fully kitted out with the new summer dhb unisex cycling socks. Available in 4 colours these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best socks i've had
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Size 8 Fit very well (size 43 but wear Shimano size 45)
Look good and handle perspiration well.
Good elasticity and hold well at the ankle without slipping. I will get a second pair
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A genuine Buff® product - highly breathable, astoundingly versatile - it is made from a fast wicking material which helps keep you warm and dry while riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So versatile and easy to wear
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"So versatile and easy to wear. Good quality material. Make sure your helmet will accommodate the extra thickness if you wear it as a headband or bandana."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable to wear and work as described
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"They’re comfortable to wear and work as described. I have a chest measuring 92cm and and 32” waist and XS is a snug fit. Prob Small size is more comfortable but I don’t mind the snugness. I wear them on commutes and longer rides.
I’ve already bought three of them"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
Custom Race Bottle Cage 2011
The undisputed number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solid & light bottle cage
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I’ve fitted two of these bottle cages on my bike. I’ve had them now for about 3 months and I can’t see any visible signs of cracks on the bottle cage frame.
They hold my bidons securely and it's easy to remove and insert the biddons.
A cinch to install and good value overall."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Light, weatherproof overshoes with a 3mm Neoprene construction and thermo welded seams to seal out the wind and rain. When your training plan pitches you against torrential rain and freezing cold, Diluvio (Flood) overshoes keep you dry and in control.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Hard to fit but they look good
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I’ve extenisvely used these shoe covers since July 2010 but not in pummelling rain. Overall, I found them effective during light drizzles and soaky roads where my shoes didn’t get wet.
A couple of things:
- The cleat opening can get caught in the cleat whilst you're unaware. This has caused a hole in the sole of the shoe covers but that’s really my fault.
- The seams are holding well but are starting to wear particularly at the back of the heel – I guess from the pulling the heel strap
- The velco strap around the ankle isn’t the most effective but does the job.
I found them effective in cold weather but 2-3 degrees.
I’ve used these shoe covers on both Road and MTB shoes and they fitted nicely albeit it was a bit harder on the MTB shoes. With the MTB shoes, the sole will be fully exposed to the ground so I highly recommend you watch where you tread.
They really look good in flight and I wear Shimano shoes size 45 and XXL fits snugly."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unadjustable, Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Presta to Schrader Valve Adapter
Presta to Schrader Valve Adapter
Adapter for Presta valves only.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Exactly what I was looking for
Posted07 February 2012
ComradeSpear
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"my plastic Presta to Schrader Valve Adapter broke and I got this instead. It fits like a charm and is solid!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ComradeSpear's Questions
 
 Selle Italia SLR Kit Carbonio Flow Saddle with Carbon Rail '13
Selle Italia SLR Kit Carbonio Flow Saddle with Carbon Rail '13
Safety is a key factor into the R&D of Selle Italia and the approved TUV / ISO standards guarantee maximum safety even on the lightweight and carbon products.
 

Does this seat fit on any seat post?

Not sure if the rails are wider than normal and hence a wider seatpost clamp is required. Pls advise.
2 years ago
by
ComradeSpear
Melbourne
 
ComradeSpear's Answers
 
 Mens Hybrid Long Sleeve Crew Neck Top SS11
Mens Hybrid Long Sleeve Crew Neck Top SS11
Hybrid uses seamless technology to provide optimal comfort during aerobic activity in cool to cold weather.
 

How does the M/L size compare to a traditional chest size measurement?

I have a 94cm chest and M/L fits well for me. I am 177cm & 79kg with 33" waist.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
ComradeSpear
Melbourne
 
Get fully kitted out with the new summer dhb unisex cycling socks. Available in 4 colours these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional.
 

Are the sizes in UK or US? I'm about a US Size 10 shoe. Thanks.

I am US size 10.5 and size 8 was good for me
2 years, 9 months ago
by
ComradeSpear
Melbourne
 
 Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Castelli Diluvio Overshoes
Light, weatherproof overshoes with a 3mm Neoprene construction and thermo welded seams to seal out the wind and rain. When your training plan pitches you against torrential rain and freezing cold, Diluvio (Flood) overshoes keep you dry and in control.
 

Hi Any rough ideas on the size and what shoe size they relate to?

You'll need to go up by one size at least based on your shoe size

To give you an idea, I wear Shimano shoes size 45 and XXL just fits snugly.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
ComradeSpear
Melbourne