EdinCycler
Share EdinCycler's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
EdinCycler's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    03 September 2011
  • Last Review
    06 January 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    12 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    06 January 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
EdinCycler's Reviews
 
 Winter Cruiser Unpadded Waist Tights
Winter Cruiser Unpadded Waist Tights
Highly versatile mid weight tight, ideal for cycling and other outdoor activities.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Warm, but odd fit
Posted06 January 2012
EdinCycler
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
"Have been wearing these for two weeks now, in some pretty awful weather for my commute, and they have kept me toasty warm. I was absolutely drenched on the way home last, but did not notice at all thanks to these trousers - not sure if they kept the rain out or if (is suspect) they acted more like a wetsuit, and warmed the held water up, but either way they were absolutely fab.
As has been noted here, the fit is very strange, with the crotch sitting far too low for total comfort, but this is only really noticable when mounting the bike, or standing up to peddle. The ankle cuffs are a little loose as well, and I would rather they fit tightly to keep the breeze out, but that is solved by wearing socks on the outside (and defying fashion, of course)
So, a good warm buy, if you can put up with the odd fit."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A rugged, insulated, waterproof, and breathable glove with gel pad protection. Sealskins advanced membrane technology makes these gloves a great choice for wet weather trail rides and winter commutes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love these gloves!
Posted06 January 2012
EdinCycler
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
"I am absolutely delighted with these gloves; I have been using them for a month now, down to -2 degrees and in crazy winds with heavy driving rain. My hands have stayed warm and dry throughout, and the worst that has happened has been a slight chill in the tips of my fingers in the coldest weather.
They seemed very tight at first, but once you have ridden in them a few times you realise that this is by design to ensure you can control gears / brakes. The gel pads sit in the right place on my hand (although may not suit everyones' handlebar position) and the finger tip grips are really effective (allowing me to pick up a dropped 5p fully gloved from the pavement).
The ONLY complaint I have is that the cuffs are not elasticated - relying on the velcro fasteners to tighten them, which can be tricky once one glove is on and you are trying to fasten the other. However any issues with gaps is easily resolved by fastening the cuffs of my altura jacket over the gloves, thus eliminating the gap.
Overall, an excellent buy!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Night Vision Waterproof Cycling Jacket - AW10
Night Vision Waterproof Cycling Jacket - AW10
The Night Vision continues as the UK's number 1 commuting jacket.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Quality
Posted12 October 2011
EdinCycler
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
"I have been using this jacket (yellow edition) for just over a month now, and absolutely love it. It has kept me warm and dry through heavy rain and it tightens in all the right places to keep the driving wind out. As with all waterproofs, it has a tendency to gather sweat, but the inner lining does a good job of wicking it away from your skin, and as winter approaches I know I would rather be wet from sweat at 36.5 degrees as opposed to rain at 5 degrees!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Perpetual Waterproof Trousers 2011
Perpetual Waterproof Trousers 2011
Our most robust waterproof trouser designed to take some serious cycling abuse.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent quality - but a tendancy to slip down
Posted03 September 2011
EdinCycler
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
"I bought these trousers after the torrential Scottish rains of a few weeks ago, and the day they arrived, the weather cleared and has been fine since - so they get their first star for their God-like qualities of weather control. Unfortunately this means that I have not tried their waterproofing in real-life conditions, although they DID keep me dry whilst cleaning the bike last weekend... The material they are made from is extremely high quality, and when cycling they puff up enough to create a warm layer between leg and trouser, which has been appreciated on several days.
The main downside is, I believe, common across most cycling trousers (this is my first pair, so I have no real basis for comparison): there are two default settings whilst cycling - 1) ankle velcro tight and waist gradually slipping down and 2) ankle velcro looser and legs riding up by several inches. In the end I decided to pair them with a long backed jacket and put up with the waist slipping, although the crotch hovering a few inches below where it is supposed to DOES make it difficult to get on and off the bike. Perhaps it's just time for me to go for a recumbent...
Overall then four stars. This is a quality product with the minor issue of a too slack waist robbing it of that final point. Although I may add another if the omnipotent weather control function keeps the snow away this year..."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
EdinCycler's Questions
 
EdinCycler has not submitted any questions.
 
EdinCycler's Answers
 
A rugged, insulated, waterproof, and breathable glove with gel pad protection. Sealskins advanced membrane technology makes these gloves a great choice for wet weather trail rides and winter commutes.
 

Style of fit for Sealskinz winter gloves

Can you tell me what the fit is like for these gloves?

I have looked at the sizing chart and I am a Large, but quite close to the top end of the scale.

If these gloves are pretty close fitting I will need to go to XL, whereas if they are spacious, I will probably be OK with large.

Many thanks for your help.

Charlie
These gloves are very tight - but the size measurement guide on Wiggle is about right. If you are right at the top of one of the ranges, I would order both sizes, and return one under distance selling rules!
2 years, 6 months ago
by
EdinCycler
Edinburgh
 
 Perpetual Waterproof Trousers 2011
Perpetual Waterproof Trousers 2011
Our most robust waterproof trouser designed to take some serious cycling abuse.
 

are these trousers designed to be worn as over trousers or can they be worn for every day use

MrDee, I wear these as regular cycling trousers in bad weather, with just a pair of cycling shorts underneath, so fine for use on their own, as they are fairly thick. However I would suggest they are probably too cumbersome for everyday use in good weather. You could probably wear them as over trousers, but may need to go up a size as I not sure if they are designed for this purpose.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
EdinCycler
Edinburgh
 
 Night Vision Waterproof Cycling Jacket - AW10
Night Vision Waterproof Cycling Jacket - AW10
The Night Vision continues as the UK's number 1 commuting jacket.
 

Correct Size

I am 1.8 m(5' 10") & 83 kg(13 stone) and medium build
Is M or L the correct size
JohnPL - I am almost exactly the same dimensions as you, and the Medium fits perfectly, with enough room for a base layer, and possible a thin insulator as well underneath.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
EdinCycler
Edinburgh