Joey2B
Top 500 Contributor
Share Joey2B's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Joey2B's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    37
  • Helpfulness Votes
    16
  • First Review
    23 January 2012
  • Last Review
    12 June 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 May 2013
  • Last Question
    03 May 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    10 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    06 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Joey2B's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Garmin 820 Silicone Case offers extra protection for your device both on and off the bike and comes in a range of colours to match your bike or your favourite kit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted12 June 2017
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These things are only there to provide a bit of crash protection as the unit itself is IPX7 anyway. Tested it this weekend, direct impact at 32 mph and the Garmin still works. Can;t ask for more than that really."
Pros: Durable, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High quality replacement inserts for all Shimano cartridge brake road blocks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best bad weather brake pads I've used.
Posted26 May 2017
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I ride my winter road bike all winter in some very filthy conditions, and these pads have been great. They've survived one winter and will likely do some of the next too."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best pair of mitts I've had
Posted26 May 2017
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've always struggled to find decent short finger gloves, but these are excellent. Good padding, fit as advertised, great price. The snot wiper could maybe be more absorbent but other than that these are fantastic summer mitts. Bought two pairs, one for weekend, one dayglo for commuting."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A waterproof and lightweight shoe cover ideal for use on wet and windy days. The Orca has loads of functional details making it the perfect companion for commuters on those wet autumn/spring rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm & dry feet
Posted18 April 2017
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Lasted two winters so far, bought another pair for when they eventually wear out. Worn over summer shoes in the worst of weathers and didn't ever get wet feet."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Rapid Rob Kevlar Guard 29er MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Rapid Rob Kevlar Guard 29er MTB Tyre
The Rapid Rob is a top choice for rookies. Using the old Racing Ralph tread but used for a new purpose. With Schwable's K-Guard belt under the tread to increase puncture resistance makes it attractive option for beginners.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good.
Posted12 March 2016
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Fitted easily, works well, feels comfortable on various surfaces. Have not had a puncture yet, several hundred miles later."
Pros: Good Fit, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It's an inner tube and it fits a 29" wheel.
Posted12 March 2016
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Does exactly what I expected it to. It's an inner tube. Holds air."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful Reflex Vest
Sportful Reflex Vest
The Reflex II Gilet is designed for maximum visibility with large reflective logos that wrap around from front to back - giving other road users no excuses for not seeing you. Perfect for added visibility and protection to your core on chilly rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal for keeping the core warm in the mornings
Posted16 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It's not easy, commuting. It's colder in the morning than in the afternoon, but nobody wants to carry two sets of clothing to work. This, paired with arm and legwarmers, means that the cool t-shirt for the afternoon isn't freezing in the morning."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great commuting tyres all year round.
Posted06 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Now onto my second set, wore the first set out after about 8000 miles. Never gave me any punctures AT ALL until I'd worn them out, which was obvious when checking the tread after suffering a puncture, the green material was showing through. These tyres were on a 44lb bike with a 12 stone rider on it and panniers full of food, tools, work clothes, beer I'd bought at lunchtime, etc, so they are pretty durable even with a lot of weight on them (as long as you keep them at the right pressure, of course). First set were 35c, I went down to 32c on the second set but they're still good for grip. They are hard to fit at first, you'll need some cable ties or a toe strap or two, but once fitted they're good."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for if you're travelling to forn parts
Posted06 September 2013
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this recovery powder and SIS's Rego, depending on what's cheapest, I find them both good, but when you're going away and you're weight limited on what you can take with you you don't really want to take a 1.4 / 1.6kg tub of revovery powder with you, which is why I bought these. Worked very well. Obviously it's the same product as what's in the tub but the sachets are very convenient. Still got half a pack for next year."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cateye lights attach to this securely
Posted08 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Kind of what you'd expect really. This is the same bracket that comes with the larger lights. I bought it to attach some of my lights to on my second bike."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Joey2B's Questions
 
Available for the following manufacturers: Magura, Shimano, Diatech, Kinetic, RST, Hope, Formula, Avid, Promax, Hayes, Giant and Grimeca.
 

Are the Hayes option OK for Hayes MX5 disc brake systems?

as title...
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Joey2B's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 HL-EL530 LED Front Light
HL-EL530 LED Front Light
The EL-500 was the brightest normal battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 

Suitable for night mountain biking?

I need to know if it is up to the shocks and bumps of the trail and if it is suitable for this.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's all right for commuting but you might find it a bit dim for trail use.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 HL-EL530 LED Front Light
HL-EL530 LED Front Light
The EL-500 was the brightest normal battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 

Mounting for HL-EL530

Hello,
I have this front light (HL-EL530) but my bike was stolen and I need a new mounting kit. Can I buy just the mounting?
Thank you.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, the mount is available separately. This is the link to it on Wiggle:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/cateye-h34-flex-tight-light-bracket/
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 Carradice CarraDry Universal / Front Panniers (pair) 2013
Carradice CarraDry Universal / Front Panniers (pair) 2013
Fantastic Value Waterproof front or rear panniers.
 

OK on Tortec Ultralite?

Has anyone tried these on the Tortec Ultralite rack? In particular do the rather 'skeletal' bars on the Ultralite support this rather narrow bag OK and does the 'umbrella handle' bottom fixing lock on alright?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes; exactly what I have and fits fine.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

Do these come with a cover over the holes for the cleats?

May want to use them with flats so wondered if they come with covers for the cleat holes that can be removed/inserted?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No cover I'm afraid.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

Any recomended cleats for this shoe

Has anyone added cleats to this shoe I will be using these for both road and MTB and would like to use cleats and spd pedals for road but not off road, if some one does the same please recomend both cleats and pedals

Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I use SPD-M20 pedals and Wellgo 98a cleats. Road and commuting.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

I'm 47 in Specialized BG. Would you recommend 47 or 48?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm a 46 in Shimano and a 46 in these fits just as well.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 High Pressure Floor Pump
High Pressure Floor Pump
LifeLine High Pressure Floor Pump with High Mounted Gauge
 

Does this pump fit innertubes with presta valves?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

What kind of valve are they? I require a presta valve.

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Presta. :)
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

What sort of valves do Slime inner tubes have?

I need inner tubes with a schlauch valve.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They have Presta valves, or at least the 700xXXc ones do.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

700x19/23c?

I use 700x19/23c tubes - are either of these sizes compatible?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The smaller size is from 19c to 25c.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk