Joey2B
Top 500 Contributor
Share Joey2B's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Joey2B's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    31
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    23 January 2012
  • Last Review
    16 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 May 2013
  • Last Question
    03 May 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    10 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    06 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Joey2B's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Reflex II Gilet is designed for maximum visibility with large reflective logos that wrap around from front to back - giving other road users no excuses for not seeing you.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal for keeping the core warm in the mornings
Posted16 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"It's not easy, commuting. It's colder in the morning than in the afternoon, but nobody wants to carry two sets of clothing to work. This, paired with arm and legwarmers, means that the cool t-shirt for the afternoon isn't freezing in the morning."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great commuting tyres all year round.
Posted06 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Now onto my second set, wore the first set out after about 8000 miles. Never gave me any punctures AT ALL until I'd worn them out, which was obvious when checking the tread after suffering a puncture, the green material was showing through. These tyres were on a 44lb bike with a 12 stone rider on it and panniers full of food, tools, work clothes, beer I'd bought at lunchtime, etc, so they are pretty durable even with a lot of weight on them (as long as you keep them at the right pressure, of course). First set were 35c, I went down to 32c on the second set but they're still good for grip. They are hard to fit at first, you'll need some cable ties or a toe strap or two, but once fitted they're good."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Ready for 2012, For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for if you're travelling to forn parts
Posted06 September 2013
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this recovery powder and SIS's Rego, depending on what's cheapest, I find them both good, but when you're going away and you're weight limited on what you can take with you you don't really want to take a 1.4 / 1.6kg tub of revovery powder with you, which is why I bought these. Worked very well. Obviously it's the same product as what's in the tub but the sachets are very convenient. Still got half a pack for next year."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cateye lights attach to this securely
Posted08 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Kind of what you'd expect really. This is the same bracket that comes with the larger lights. I bought it to attach some of my lights to on my second bike."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Viper Boost Gel - 24 x 70g
Viper Boost Gel - 24 x 70g
Elite sports-fuel gel for rapid mental and physical boost. Viper Boost gel is the convenient and scientific way to boost your performance on the run with the power of fast-acting Maxcarb carbohydrates and proven focus nutrients.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tastes better than most caffeinated gels
Posted14 June 2013
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Still a bit euurgh, but you can eat them. I prefer these to other brands of caffeinated gel I've used. Got me up Holme Moss at the end of a brutal sportive."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Giro Surface Matt MTB/BMX Helmet
Giro Surface Matt MTB/BMX Helmet
At first glance the Surface is an understated skate-style helmet with a clean exterior and a fashionable short brim. But beneath the stylish shell, the In-Form fit system provides comfort and stability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable, feels very sturdy, a bit stormtrooper
Posted29 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was sick of my road helmet geting covered in mud, and twigs were poking through the holes in the top, so I bought this for MTB riding. It's not that light (just under 500g) but it's very substantial. You do look a bit like a stormtrooper though. I've got a large head and the large size fits very comfortably. Easy to adjust."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Windslam Jacket is a warm soft shell jacket suitable for dry cold rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable, light, warm enough. Slightly ninja.
Posted15 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"If I was going to quibble, it's that when this arrived and I put it on the wife said "you look like a ninja" - you wouldn't want to wear this on rides where you're on the road and it's going to get dark, because there're practically no reflectives on it at all. That said, it's been very comfortable and dealt well with those annoying "do I need a jacket or not" days where the temps are around 10 degrees celsius and the wind is variable. Not quite warm enough for winter but fine for times when you need a softshell and would only need a thin waterproof over it if it did rain. Better than my last softshell which came from a budget German supermarket chain, much better made and much more comfortable. Has resisted mud spray at 20 mph with no mudguards for an hour. Front pockets doubling as an air vent work well."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices, not too visible
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Pro level holders and triple contour, dual compound brake pad inserts for the ultimate combination of precision, power, feel and durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Not squeaky and good braking.
Posted02 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Felt reliable on long descents (Holme Moss down into Holmfirth). Not squeaky, and I am extra sensitive to squeaky, I hate squeaky. Better than the Shimano pads that I've used, or the Tektro pads the callipers came with. Liking the fact that I can slot in new inserts."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Roubaix (fleeced) Lycra padded bib tight with enhanced visibility 3M detailing for cold dark commutes. Brand new for dhb 2012.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kept me warm in 15 mph winds over Holme Moss
Posted02 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The drifts were 5 feet high, there was snow in the wind, my Garmin was telling me it was 0 centigrade, and my legs were warm. Comfortable, pad is practically not noticeable, can't find any fault with these at all.
For sizing, I'm 6'3 and built like David Millar, and the XL fits very well."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A full spectrum recovery product for periods of intense training. Use immediately after exercise to help your body adapt to increased training demands and strengthen as quickly as possible.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tastes great (strawberry)
Posted23 January 2013
Joey2B
frommanchester, uk
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Less like a milkshake than the other recovery powder I have reviewed, so a pleasant change. Tastes great. Dissolves easily."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Joey2B's Questions
 
Available for the following manufacturers: Magura, Shimano, Diatech, Kinetic, RST, Hope, Formula, Avid, Promax, Hayes, Giant and Grimeca.
 

Are the Hayes option OK for Hayes MX5 disc brake systems?

as title...
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Joey2B's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 HL-EL530 LED Front Light
HL-EL530 LED Front Light
The EL-500 was the brightest normal battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 

Suitable for night mountain biking?

I need to know if it is up to the shocks and bumps of the trail and if it is suitable for this.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's all right for commuting but you might find it a bit dim for trail use.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 HL-EL530 LED Front Light
HL-EL530 LED Front Light
The EL-500 was the brightest normal battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 

Mounting for HL-EL530

Hello,
I have this front light (HL-EL530) but my bike was stolen and I need a new mounting kit. Can I buy just the mounting?
Thank you.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, the mount is available separately. This is the link to it on Wiggle:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/cateye-h34-flex-tight-light-bracket/
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 Carradice CarraDry Universal / Front Panniers (pair) 2013
Carradice CarraDry Universal / Front Panniers (pair) 2013
Fantastic Value Waterproof front or rear panniers.
 

OK on Tortec Ultralite?

Has anyone tried these on the Tortec Ultralite rack? In particular do the rather 'skeletal' bars on the Ultralite support this rather narrow bag OK and does the 'umbrella handle' bottom fixing lock on alright?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes; exactly what I have and fits fine.
2 years ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

Do these come with a cover over the holes for the cleats?

May want to use them with flats so wondered if they come with covers for the cleat holes that can be removed/inserted?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No cover I'm afraid.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

Any recomended cleats for this shoe

Has anyone added cleats to this shoe I will be using these for both road and MTB and would like to use cleats and spd pedals for road but not off road, if some one does the same please recomend both cleats and pedals

Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I use SPD-M20 pedals and Wellgo 98a cleats. Road and commuting.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

I'm 47 in Specialized BG. Would you recommend 47 or 48?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm a 46 in Shimano and a 46 in these fits just as well.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
 High Pressure Floor Pump
High Pressure Floor Pump
LifeLine High Pressure Floor Pump with High Mounted Gauge
 

Does this pump fit innertubes with presta valves?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

What kind of valve are they? I require a presta valve.

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Presta. :)
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

What sort of valves do Slime inner tubes have?

I need inner tubes with a schlauch valve.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They have Presta valves, or at least the 700xXXc ones do.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

700x19/23c?

I use 700x19/23c tubes - are either of these sizes compatible?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The smaller size is from 19c to 25c.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Joey2B
manchester, uk