Pengu62
Share Pengu62's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Pengu62's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    11 October 2011
  • Last Review
    24 October 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    11 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    11 October 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Pengu62's Reviews
 
 Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
The Pro³ Race has one of the lowest rolling resistances of any commercial racing tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Michelin Pro 3's
Posted24 October 2011
Pengu62
fromPerth WA
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are excellent tyres and I'm curious to know how Michelin have improved on performance with the pro 4's.
I rode with these back in the UK with great results and have used them in races here with equally good results.
They are hard wearing and although the life expectancy is limited to say...Conti 4000, they have amazing grip round corners.
One slight drawback is that due to them being soft in compound, they cut up a fair bit. I've used superglue to prolong the lifespan a little. After speaking with other riders in the Perth area, it's a common issue with most tyres, especially on the gritty/sandy roads.
Price might also get lower now they've been upgraded, though recent shop visits have shown that $90+ is still being asked...!!
Just remembered too......I found that they discoloured very easily, especially the red, despite cleaning on a weekly basis the colour soon goes a dirty dark colour and makes it look like neglect. My new ones are black which make the rims look extra deep.
Ok, I hope you find this review useful
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A genuine Buff® product - highly breathable, astoundingly versatile - it is made from a fast wicking material which helps keep you warm and dry while riding.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Let down by the freebie
Posted11 October 2011
Pengu62
fromPerth WA
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This product was meant to be a set of glasses for registering with Wiggle.
I find it hard to review something that i didn't want in the first place and one which is better suited to colder climes. I live in Perth WA with an average temperature of 20 degrees.....not much use here then..!!
I guess if I was back in the UK....it would make a decent enough neck warmer, or fly guard, so for that reason there are some pro's when I tried it on.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: not much use in hot climes..!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
is what it is....
Posted11 October 2011
Pengu62
fromPerth WA
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As much as we all want to keep the corner cycle shop in business and love the friendly approach to selling, they do nothing but shoot themselves in the foot.
An online saving of $$$$'s made this a 'no brainer'. The product is exactly the same as what would be on sale in the shop but for around a 1/3 of the price off. If you can wait the 7 days delivery, then your quids in.
The chain was a direct replacement for the original which I'd raced on for almost 12mths, and I can see no reason why this new replacement will not exceed the 12mth period as I also purchased a couple of chains (to swop over after 5,000 km).
I do think that Campy will find that there will be a replacement model from other makers that'll be cheaper...only a matter of time. Could do with a similar product like the SRAM powerlink....can do away with that ridiculously priced chainbreaking tool..!!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TA only make their chainrings from the best 7075 T6 heat treated aluminium sheet. For use with Compact Campagnolo chainsets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beats the original Campy part
Posted11 October 2011
Pengu62
fromPerth WA
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As much as we all want to keep the corner cycle shop in business and love the friendly approach to selling, they do nothing but shoot themselves in the foot.
An online saving of $$$$'s made this a 'no brainer'. The product is exactly the same as what would be on sale in the shop but for around a 1/3 of the price off. If you can wait the 7 days delivery, then your quids in.
The chain ring was a direct replacement for the original campy one which I'd raced on for almost 12mths, and I can see no reason why this new replacement will not exceed the 12mth period as I also purchased a couple of chains (to swop over after 5,000 km).
I do think that Campy will find that there will be a replacement model from other makers that'll be cheaper...only a matter of time.
So far I've only raced on it four times, it shows no sign of wear, chips or other deformations and for the money, you can purchase two for the price of the campy.
The fit was easy and all the holes lined up, as they should. Good quality product and one that'll be bought again.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cassette combinations of 12-25, 12-27 and 12-29. Eleven sprockets to win. All sprockets in steel with Nickel-Chrome treatment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value for the money
Posted11 October 2011
Pengu62
fromPerth WA
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As much as we all want to keep the corner cycle shop in business and love the friendly approach to selling, they do nothing but shoot themselves in the foot.
An online saving of $$$$'s made this a 'no brainer'. The product is exactly the same as what would be on sale in the shop but for around a 1/3 of the price off. If you can wait the 7 days delivery, then your quids in.
The cassette was a direct replacement for the original which I'd raced on for almost 12mths, and I can see no reason why this new replacement will not exceed the 12mth period as I also purchased a couple of chains (to swop over after 5,000 km).
I do think that Campy will find that there will be a replacement model from other makers that'll be cheaper...only a matter of time.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pengu62's Questions
 
Pengu62 has not submitted any questions.
 
Pengu62's Answers
 
The 11 speed chain has been designed for shifting more rapidly and fluidly even under stress, and to be more resistant than the 10 speed one.
 

Does the chain come with a ultra link or pin for fitting?

Tebbs hi,

Yes they do....all Campy chains come with the pin for fitting....only one mind you, so make sure you have the right tool or you local bike shop knows what he's doing....
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Pengu62
Perth WA