livestrongdownunder
Share livestrongdownunder's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
livestrongdownunder's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    12 October 2011
  • Last Review
    07 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    27 March 2012
  • Last Answer
    27 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
livestrongdownunder's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Lezyne Steel Digital Floor Drive
Lezyne Steel Digital Floor Drive
The Lezyne Steel Digital Floor Drive combines Lezyne's sleek modern styling and performance with the added durability of a machined steel barrel.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Best Pump 'so far'
Posted07 November 2014
livestrongdownunder
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My three year old (other known brand) pump was disconnecting from the valve went under pressure, so it was time to buy a new one - the twist on connector and digital read-out makes this a great pump . . ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite V-Arion Parabolic Inertial Rollers
Elite V-Arion Parabolic Inertial Rollers
First roller with integrated resistance unit. Fitted inside the rear roller, the adjustable inertial resistance unit offers two resistance levels including a zero-load.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
some skill required
Posted16 October 2014
livestrongdownunder
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"we all have the idea that we'll ride more, even if we have to ride indoors, but do we really make the effort . . .
it's a great workout, takes some time to learn, but worth the time to learn . . ."
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Science in Sport 800ml Water Bottle
Science in Sport 800ml Water Bottle
Science in Sport 800ml Narrow Neck Cycling Bottle, with mixing measurements for SIS products.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
nice clean simple bottle
Posted30 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
livestrongdownunder
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Gender : Male
"I've been through many different types of bottles - this one is the best value for money - and I'd have to say that water bottles should be for just that - for water . . ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wiggle Essential Bicycle Rain Cover
Wiggle Essential Bicycle Rain Cover
A heavy duty Polyethylene bag that fits over your bike for protection from rain and dirt in storage. The Wiggle Essential Rain Cover also prevents dirt and grease from staining your car on the way back from your cycling adventures.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
just a big plastic bag
Posted30 March 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
livestrongdownunder
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Gender : Male
"like the other reviewers, this product should have the opening along it's length, rather than the short end - I would not bother . . ."
Cons: Unattractive, Not Enough Features, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Lightweight Running Hydration Pack 2013
Nike Lightweight Running Hydration Pack 2013
Dual-adjustable padded belt/Designed to stay in place and help prevent uncomfortable rubbing and chafing , Audio/Nike+ compatible/Holds iPod and Nike+ transmitter (or other music player), routes cords to keep them out of your way , Storage compartment/Holds iPod (or other music player), keys, I.D., ...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fine for walking / hiking
Posted13 February 2014
livestrongdownunder
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Gender : Male
"I did not purchase this for running, just walking or hiking, and it was the best option for a full size bottle - would have been better if could fit two full size bottles . . ."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Base Layer
Craft Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Base Layer
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted27 December 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
livestrongdownunder
"for rides on days over 26°c = money well spent. previously I would over-heat to the point of needing to pull over to the shade for 10 minutes after riding for over an hour - not any more . . .
and for days over 30°c = a light spray of cold water, and the zip open all the way, and you're good to keep riding much longer . . ."
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Park Tools CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Cleaner
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted27 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
livestrongdownunder
"Like others, I did not realise how messy it would get cleaning the chain. Which also may be due to how dirty the chain, the first time you clean it.
I did notice how much smoother the gear changes were after the clean.
The LBS guy said they use the same unit, and run Metho through the unit after a clean, then apply the chain oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fulcrum Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2014
Fulcrum Racing 3 Clincher Wheelset 2014
A light weight clincher wheelset with milled alloy rims and a MoMag inner profile to eliminate rim tape and reduce rotational mass. Racing 3s feature an oversized drive side flange and a 2:1 spoke ratio for quick handling out on the tarmac.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted27 December 2013
livestrongdownunder
"it was time to step up from the factory Shimano R500s that came with my bike, and to also replace the trusty GatorSkins.
I did my research here on Wiggle, and a few external reviews, and could not find a bad word about the Fulcrum Racing 3's, or the Grand Prix 4000S 25mm I paired them with.
I was impressed to read that the combination could make me 'faster' than my old wheels - although some said the 25mm were slower than the 23mm
What I did find was the ride is now so much more comfortable - and I'm feeling much much fresher after the 50km mark of each ride . . ."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Comfortable
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Roclite 315 Shoes AW12
Roclite 315 Shoes AW12
Ultra distance and off road running shoe providing high levels of comfort, upper support and grip. Medium profile cushioned midsole provides excellent under foot comfort while the fascia-band aids propulsion efficiency of the running cycle. Ideal for training and long distance running.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Blisters
Posted20 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
livestrongdownunder
"I was walking in 'standard' runners, no problem.
I understand these are 'tough' for hiking, but I've done over 30kms in them, and they are still giving me blisters on the ankles . . ."
Pros: Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 PowerBar Ride Bar Box Of 18 55g Bars
PowerBar Ride Bar Box Of 18 55g Bars
Tasting just as good as your favourite chocolate bar but without the high fat content, ride provides long lasting energy through a combination of complex carbohydrate and fibre.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted27 March 2012
livestrongdownunder
"the best fuel for any ride, above gels and even fruit . . ."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
livestrongdownunder's Questions
 
livestrongdownunder has not submitted any questions.
 
livestrongdownunder's Answers
 
 dhb EQ2.5 Waterproof Cycling Jacket
dhb EQ2.5 Waterproof Cycling Jacket
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Sizing

I am 5ft 11inches weighing 75kg. I am a large in the DHB bib shorts and jerseys but I am not sure about this jacket...any help would be greatly appreciated.
I'm 6ft even 76kg and I picked a medium and it's a snug fit, but unless you plan on waving your arms about while riding, the jacket fits well - the under arm zips can give you a bit more room if required . . .
2 years, 7 months ago
by
livestrongdownunder