djamckechan
Share djamckechan's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
djamckechan's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    29 January 2012
  • Last Review
    11 January 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 May 2012
  • Last Question
    19 May 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    29 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    29 January 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
djamckechan's Reviews
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Definitely roll faster than stock tyres
Posted11 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
djamckechan
fromSouthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have only done a few rides, but I enjoyed rolling past my friends down hills without pedaling after switching the tyres that came with my bike for these."
Pros: High Quality, roll fast
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Biologic Bike Mount for the iPhone 4 2013
Biologic Bike Mount for the iPhone 4 2013
The BioLogic Bike Mount for iPhone 4 lets you attach your iPhone 4 to the handlebar of your bike so you can use GPS and an appropriate app to track your position, your speed, or distance travelled, while you ride.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A gift that went down well
Posted24 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
djamckechan
fromSouthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this as a gift for my girlfriend's brother, who is not an out and out cyclist, but a regular commuter and he works in the health and fitness industry.
He is the sort that would never need to buy a bike specific GPS, but he uses Strava on his iPhone. He was really pleased with it as a gift.
I think it is a bit bulky for the serious cyclist, but it does the job it is designed for well."
Pros: Rugged, Adjustable
Cons: Bulky
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Tacx Antares Professional Training Rollers
Tacx Antares Professional Training Rollers
Tacx Antares Professional Training Rollers. These heavy-duty tapered rollers ensure that it is almost impossible to ride off the machine. High concentration on steering is required when riding without a brace; this reinforces your sense of balance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great way to train
Posted30 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
djamckechan
fromSouthampton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great if like me you don't have any spare time for proper training in the week.
I got used to balancing on them pretty quickly and can even ride down on my tri-bars, but I do use it next to my bed as the occasional fall is inevitable!
I wasn't sure whether to buy these or a turbo trainer, but I made the right choice for me - no faffing with a training tyre and no freewheeling. Just put the bike on and go.
I felt like I had more efficient pedaling on my first ride back on the road after just a couple of goes on the rollers."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
Breathable rain protection for your legs, lightweight and packable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value but size isn't great
Posted29 January 2012
djamckechan
fromSouthampton
Country : United Kingdom
"I prevously had the size medium, which I thought were great, but they were a little too small. (I am 6'0 with a 34" waist). The fit fine, but stretched when swinging my leg over the saddle. After a few months use, this caused a hole in the back of my trousers!
Not great, but I was pleased with them otherwise, so decided to buy a new pair in size large. They are a bit baggier then I would like, but other than that they are fine.
tl;dr - good value, get the right size!"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
djamckechan's Questions
 
 Laguna 105 2011
Laguna 105 2011
With its monocoque carbon fibre frame and built with Shimano 105 componentry, the Basso Laguna is the embodiment of a modern racing and sports bike.
 

Good for new road rider?

I'm looking to buy my first proper road bike soon and this looks like a great deal. However, I am not intending to race and I only really ride for fun, although I am keen to up my miles. I read that this bike is not going to be that comfortable and should only really be purchased with the view to racing it?
(http://www.cyclechat.net/threads/thoughts-on-basso-laguna-or-similar-please.47031/)
2 years, 6 months ago
by
djamckechan
Southampton
 
djamckechan's Answers
 
 dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
dhb Minima Waterproof Trousers
Breathable rain protection for your legs, lightweight and packable.
 

Size query

Hi

Could you advise what size would be best for 34" waist and 32" leg please ?

Many thanks.
I think Medium will fit best when wearing, but be careful of stretching. I had medium and they ripped so replaced them with large (6'0, 34")
2 years, 10 months ago
by
djamckechan
Southampton