Millerman7
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Millerman7's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Millerman7's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    15 July 2013
  • Last Review
    02 May 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    15 July 2013
  • Last Answer
    02 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Millerman7's Reviews
 
These all weather cycle specific gloves are a real treat for your hands in winter, being both warm and waterproof, comfortable and dextrous. A very protective glove that features pressure point padding and box finger construction for lovely comfy hands.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
very good product
Posted02 May 2015
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these gloves are a great item for the price.
only issue i have is that they are too warm for early season (spring) but a great winter glove, if you are a hard and fast rider then again they may be a bit to warm as they heat up very quickly.
great wind stopper and stay dry, ideal for commuting on those sub 5 degree rides, i have size 10 hands and the xl is a good fit with linings.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Shimano 105 5700 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Outboard bottom bracket bearing cups for use with 105 FC-5700 and FC-5703 HollowTech II chainsets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
very good product
Posted18 July 2014
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"although i have not had this long, i can say that this is another quality item from Shimano, it is light and very east to fit, the bearings are smooth and so far i am very happy with it, as far as looks go, what you see is what you get, more choice would be nice as i wanted black or red, i would buy again."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fantastic upgrade
Posted17 July 2014
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I already had a 105 chainset but this was on the octalink ,so due to creaking and wear i decided to go for this,
very easy to fit, quality design with a much better assembly, eliminates all possible room for movement, its light and very stiff, the difference in changing gear is also noticeable, very smooth and quick transition,
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
105 Dual Control STi levers, sold as a pair, feature a short-stroke ergonomic design for effortless shifting, ergonomic bracket shape, clean cable routing, giving better operation, lighter steering action and a clean handlebar area.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fantastic upgrade
Posted24 June 2014
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"i already had the flight deck 8 speed, but fancied an upgrade to 10 speed,
these are very easy to fit and install cables, the gear changing is smooth fast and they are very precise, the large leavers make it effortless in changing up and down with ease of reach,
very much recommended
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM PG850 8 Speed Cassette with Power Glide II technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
top item
Posted31 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"i have been using this item for the past month and given it some hammer, it is slick durable and is very good for the price range and the ratios that i need in the peak district, even with only 8 speed, this thing gives me what i need and the legs do the res t ;-)"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM PC971 9 Speed Chain with PowerChain II Technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top value product
Posted15 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"As always they produce a good product at a good price, you can always spend more on a lighter chain, but I'm fine with the very slight extra weight as I'm not so light myself ;-)"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good drink tablets
Posted15 July 2013
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Hi, I have been using these ablest for the last month or so, I have tried other flavours and brands, to me they are much the same, but these with the pink grapefruit are very easy drinking, I only use them on 10 mile plus and I would recommend to anyone"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Trace Bib Short
dhb Trace Bib Short
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product, recommended
Posted15 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Millerman7
fromDerbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is my 3rd pair of bib shorts, I have tried the cheaper ones, they say you get what you pay for, we'll when you are sat on your bum for a long time I would recommend a pair of these, they not only fit nice and snug, like a second skin, comfortable and well worth the little extra you might want to pay, they do the job intended and the pad is just right with no movement during the ride,
Ps I'm 5'10" and 13 stone, I got the medium size, straps feel a bit tight at first, but they give, (very stretchy) you don't notice them in the ride position,
Hope this helps,
happy cycling
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Millerman7's Questions
 
Millerman7 has not submitted any questions.
 
Millerman7's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

Is this chainset compatible with ST 6600 shifters, FD 5600 front derailleur and RD 6600 rear derailleur

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes its just a bigger gear ratio, so you just need strong legs !!
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

Mactching Bottom Bracket?

The Shimano 105 5700 Bottom Bracket Cup Set is currently out of stock, can I use Shimano Ultegra 6700 Bottom Bracket Cup Set to work with this crank instead?
If so any pros and cons?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the Ultegra 6700 Bottom Bracket is supposed to be an upgrade but they arn't always best in quality, check out the reviews an all items first or just wait a bit to get the 105, i have that one and im happy with it.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

Upgrading existing 50/34 105 chainring

I'm looking for a bigger chainring to my existing 50t, if I upgrade to a 52t or 53t Will I need to change the BB or the chain on my existing 105 kit

Any other adjustments to be done or would it be best to buy kit and let local mechanic to fit ?

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i would recommend using a new chain, then it should be a simple swap with the right tools and confidence, look at you tube for help on doing it
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

compatible with MegaExo BB86 press fit bottom bracket

I have a Giant TCX SLR 2 2014 cross bike which has a MegaExo BB86 press fit bottom bracket. The chainset is a FSA Omega 36/46 and would like to swap it for the 105. Are they compatible or do I have to change the BB. If I need to change the BB which one should I buy?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
sorry i would love to help but i put in a Shimano BB-R60 Ultegra 6800/105 5800 Hollowtech ii to go with the new chain set, to make sure id was right, as for press fit there will be a way, you may have to google it first, good luck
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

Will a shimano 105. 5700 hollow tech chain set fit in my felt z6 2013 thanx

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
if you can fit a BB that suits then i see no reason, if it dont, just send it back,
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

Weight difference between the colours?

Is it right that one of the colours is heavier than the other between the two chainsets?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
LOL if it is true then who cares it will be small, very small, who ever told you that just tell them that you compensated by leaving your dust caps off your wheels, i would not worry about this very small difference, if there were a big difference they would not sell the heavier one !!!
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

Wich BCD has the Shimano-105 5700 crank (130mm or 110mm)?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i used Shimano BB-R60 Ultegra 6800/105 5800 Hollowtech ii
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

Can I replace my Shimano 105 50f compact with this?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
you mean compact to standard, yes as long as the BB is the same fitting ie hollowtec II, my BB i fitted with this is Shimano BB-R60 Ultegra 6800/105 5800 Hollowtech ii
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
 Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
Shimano 105 5700 Hollowtech II Double Chainset
105 Hollowtech II Cranksets are offered in Double, Triple and Compact versions all with a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of light weight & stiffness.
 

would it fit a BB marked "BC 1.37x24"?

Would this chainset fit the bottom bracket below?
The current bottom bracket on my bike has “BC 1.37x24” written on it, not sure about the brand nor model.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Shimano BB-R60 Ultegra 6800/105 5800 Hollowtech ii, this is what i put on mine if that helps
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire
 
105 Dual Control STi levers, sold as a pair, feature a short-stroke ergonomic design for effortless shifting, ergonomic bracket shape, clean cable routing, giving better operation, lighter steering action and a clean handlebar area.
 

5600 compatibility

I currently have a 5600 10-speed groupset with a 53/39 chainset. Will these be a direct swap for my current shifters? Would I need to upgrade the front derailleur too?

Also, will they work with any two-ring chainset? That is, 53/39, 52/36 or 50/34. I ask because it states "double" in the product name.

Thanks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
same set up as mine straight swap, and yes to second q, you would just need to lower front mec and adjust
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Millerman7
Derbyshire